15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About TeamCity

TeamCity lets you automate CI/CD pipelines of any complexity, with real-time build results and intelligent test reporting.

Learn more about TeamCity

Pros:

Easy to configure per instance CI /CD options. Can integrate with various frameworks.

Cons:

As of now, I don't have anything which I don't like about this software.

TeamCity ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

TeamCity has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 48 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TeamCity before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (48)

shaik
shaik
Associate Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best tool for build configuration,build history, and system maintenance in real time applications

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Every enterprise business uses this tool for maintaining their services enabled and establish the best business flow. All the services that are being build via Mule can be available via team city to be deployed.Its features include build history, user management and system maintenance. Build history has excellent feature of holding the various build version that are deployed earlier.Use service messages in your build scripts, interact via REST API, or create plugins for TeamCity using Open API. User Management has different ways of user authentication, and a log with all user actions for the transparency which can be used for tracking all activity on the server.Best feature is Version Control System(VCS) in which Team city in a single build it can take source code from different VCS Repositories.All the versions history is available environmental wise.

Cons:

The least of this software is there are some additional features required for the versions to avail across different enviroments like manual build configurations process can be avoided for the lower environments and UI part can be increased looking for new enhancements

Eric
Systems Engineer II in US
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Teamcity

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I am able to successfully manage over 600 projects in Teamcity in my environment. Updates are a breeze and downtime has been damn near zero in the five or six years I've used this product. The build configs are super flexible however I've not used another product so I'm not sure how my experience compares to the next.

Cons:

I'm not a huge fan of the experimental UI for some views but for other items I prefer it. I'm often switching back and forth between the two UIs

Alternatives Considered: Jenkins

Reasons for Switching to TeamCity: I wasn't part of that conversation as it was before my time but probably because we are an enterprise and require that level of support.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Nice Integrated CI

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It connects well with other JetBrains tools.

Cons:

It is not as popular as Jenkins so does not have as many plugins and the community using it is a lot smaller.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not an easy tool, but does the job

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It does its job, and once you've set it up it's pretty solid. Agents and server have never needed a reboot as far as I know, and upgrades are quick enough. The integration with the VCS (SVN where I work) can let you keep track of what you have down the pipeline and, if you use the right tracking tool and add ticket numbers to the commit comments, you might find useful seeing what brought to that commit. If you often create new projects, the template feature can enormously speed up the process.

Cons:

It's very very easy to screw up. It gives you quite enough rope to hang yourself and your whole team twice, like creating dependencies among builds so that a simple commit can make the agents run for hours, or other amenities where you're not really sure what's the code you're building from (or, you might even be sure, but wrong!) If you're not well organized and don't know your way around the myriads of configurations, you may well end up not knowing what features you are deploying. It really needs some serious study before using it in production, and since it's not something you configure everyday, it's not easy to keep trained. In this perspective, the template feature will make you forget what's going on. Sadly, it's the only CI/CD tool I've ever used, so I can't compare it to anything else.

Gurleen
Gurleen
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

TeamCity - A platform to approach Continuous Integration and Delivery.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: TeamCity By JetBrains provide the hassle free Continuous Integration & Delivery. The freeware license come with up to 100 build configuration and 3 build agent are enough to check the feasibility study of your product. The powerful build CI & smart configuration make it enterprise like DevOps tool.

Pros:

TeamCity by JetBrains is one of the best and simple tool to manage the build and Integration. The powerful integration features out of the box make it unique and operation team first choice. The DevOps approach helps in continuous Integration & Delivery. Smart Configuration feature like project hierarchy, in-build templates, build chains & dependencies split the build sequence in multiple step to serve in simplex form. The Version Control Systems integrate the process in comprehensive way. Build History is also helpful in tracking the issue & let us allow in tracking the changes in the development process. Statistics of build history and test result help in generating the reports.

Cons:

There are numbers of In-build configuration plugins for cloud integrations like Amazon, Azure, vSphere, Kubernetes and many more but cluster and creating the plugin for on-premises infrastructures is really a big and complex task to do with the TeamCity without the help of expertise.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not brilliant but OK

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Better than some other CI tools, liked the support for branching in Teamcity. (Previously even forked off an OpenSource CI product - that was a very expencive solution.)
Pretty reasonable product, but overhead of having own infrastructure, and always wanting more BuildAgents, made moving to AzurePipelines a more attractive proposition.

Pros:

Configuration and ability to quickly set up new builds, nice integration into GitHub and other tools

Cons:

Overly complex, I could never create a build without making a mistake, and having to go back and fix it up... Always got something wrong, although I have used it for around 10 years. Moved to Azure pipelines due to reduce cost, don't think it's any easier, but the build scripts are now in VersionControl

Nicholas
Nicholas
Software Engineer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Facilities Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great DevOps tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Highly customizable pipelines, supporting multiple build steps with intelligent links and flows between them. Integration with Azure and Octopus Deploy are easy.

Cons:

Integration with Azure could be deepened, as at the moment it is done via an ad in rather then being natively supported.

Christopher
Christopher
Independent Business Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Team City, My Personal Experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience with TeamCity is great, and I would recommend it to any developer looking for an enterprise build server without cost.

Pros:

Personally, I've used Jenkins, Team Foundation Server (DevOps), and a few others. For continuous integration, and multi-platform tool/build agent deployment nothing beats JetBrains TeamCity. Any kind of compiler, build tool, or plain application can be assimilated into your build model using JetBrains TeamCity. Best of all the application is free, the only limitation being the number of builds and branding.

Cons:

My only issue would be it's heavy memory footprint, but that's due to the java run-time. If you use Visual Studio 2017, and TeamCity simultaneously there's going to be a lack of performance.

Ekta
Ekta
Programmer Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for CI

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We manage all build configurations, deployments triggers, automated tests triggers through Team City. It is the best tool, I have used till now. It allows you to clone projects, mute/investigate failing tests, pause triggers.

Cons:

You need some time to master the use of team city. There is a lot to learn if you are new to team city. But with time and practice, you are good to go.

Vasyl
Vasyl
Speaker in Ukraine
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must have for continuous integration!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to use (for it specialists), it has clean and friendly interface, it's very customizable

Cons:

Have nothing to say about cons regarding this software

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool to build your Application with confidence for continious Integration

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We can solve a lot of problems using teamcity as it is one of the continuous integration tool which helps in never ending business success story. As it is been used for deploying our services to the server very easily. We can have teamcity configure with different various tools like ant maven which help us in continious integration process. Best of this it helps us understand where our build process went wrong and root cause for the failure rather than manual intervention in trouble shoot it directly show the issue we can dig the process and resolve the issue from there onwards and UI part is much more flexible so that we can organise as per our requirement

Pros:

The good thing i always like with the teamcity is its cross platform means we can configure agents of other OS types so it can build anything easily. It is Good integration with variosu different frameworks and it has various methodologies that can be used as a part of your application development and code dump. It also have an amazing feature of supporting the extension via plugin mechanism we can also integrate with other popular tools such as artifactory plugin or we can write our own. When ever a new build failed teamcity has a special feature of trouble shoot and provide us the root cause for the failure. It has a very user friendly interface which is very easy for the navigation and understanding the standard of each options in the panel. It is an opensource product and a happy news is startup are eligible for the 50% discount on the package

Cons:

There is nothing much least about this but there are few drawback like for a single person holding project teamcity is not right choice.Upgrading the teamcity is very lengthy process and consumes large amount of time. The logs that are being generated during the build process can be made much more beautiful with UI changes

Dushyant
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Integrates well with existing workflows, but access management is a pain

4.0 last year

Comments: The integrability is a major plus point, and it has taken away a major blocker of manually ensuring sonar and build validation is passed before PRs are merged to avoid code breakage. It can further see some improvement so as to make the process faster and more streamlined

Pros:

Teamcity allows us to implement CI CD pipelines for PR validation, by ensuring sonar checks are complete and builds pass before a PR is allowed to be merged. It integrates well with our VCS, Stash (Bitbucket Cloud) to ensure a Teamcity flag is present and applied before a PR is merged.The process is reliable and consistent, and works for new repos and configurations as well

Cons:

The admin panel is cluttered and hard to move around, with confusing mnemonics for different validation jobs. Access granting is also unclear.One major pain point is that TC doesn't allow manual trigger of first PR build, and the process takes a lot of time, reducing efficiency.

Adrian
Proprietor in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A big time saver

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I just love it. It saves us a lot of time, and makes every

Pros:

- Before using Teamcity, deployments took about 30 minutes and had to be performed during maintenance intervals. Now we can deploy to production servers during the day if necessary. - Running tests can take a while, so it might be forgotten if someone has to do it manually. Teamcity automates this, so that we don't even have to think about running them again.

Cons:

It's hard to say. Teamcity is really well polished, so I have very few and only minor suggestions. The only big downside to using TeamCity is that the initial setup takes a lot of time. But that's not not Teamcity's fault and the time is well invested.

Karol
Owner in Poland
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool for CI/DI

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Free for small configurations, enough to small teams. Fast and stable. Easy to configure and maintain.

Cons:

I guess the only drawback of this tool is that it runs on the JVM and thus requires a fair amount of memory resources.

Laura
Softwaredeveloper in Germany
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible CI tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very stable CI tool with very low maintenance.

Pros:

For smaller teams with less than 100 build configurations it is free of charge. It provides either an UI or an own language (Kotlin) for configuring the build configurations. Also offers wide options for automatical cleanups, reducing the required time for administering the application to almost zero

Cons:

Some features, like artifacts path or filters offer their own filter syntax. I think it is pretty difficult to get into this syntax as the documentation could be better. But once your into it, it is very flexible and covers all requirements.

Mahipal Singh
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

TeamCity Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with TeamCity is too good. It reduces the developer's efforts to push the changes in the server.

Pros:

The most impactful feature of this software is to help the CI/CD. Team members can easily deploy the changes done in the product application to the server. It supports multiple version controls like git, svn, etc. We can easily integrate different version control to different servers to push the changes in the server. While deploying the changes it will also let the user what all the pending changes he needs to push onto the server. It is easy to use.

Cons:

As of now, I don't have anything which I don't like about this software.

Matt
DevOps Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Changed the way I computer

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

My phone is my laptop- my laptop is my desktop. My work computer is my personal computer. I can control any of my computers from anywhere. When my kids need me to enter the admin password, I just do it from my phone. I've turned a dozen or more people on to it, because it's just that convenient.

Cons:

The only con I can think of is that it's enabled me to be even lazier than I used to be. Do I need to do something on the downstairs computer, but I'm upstairs? No problem, I just teamviewer in from upstairs. I've gained 15 lbs.

Terence
Software Developer in New Zealand
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Developer's Essential Tool

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Once you get this powerful CI tool up and running, it will save your development massive amount of time. We have been using this for years, all set up to build, run unit tests and deploy to a staging server. Also, JetBrains generously lets you use it for free up to 3 build agents from the get go, so cost is not a concern here.

Cons:

The tool can be a bit complex and overwhelming to get started if you are new to the tool. If you overcome this hurdle, it will be worth your while.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent continuous integration and automated build tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

TeamCity plays really well with .NET check-ins and continuous integration. If you've checked in something that breaks a build, or that won't pass the tests that have to be passed before a build commences, TeamCity will definitely let you know. This is a great kit for CI and getting builds out when you've got multiple players involved in updating and maintaining code throughout the day.

Cons:

The security options for TeamCity to let people run it from workstations and simulate a build to see what might break -- that can be a little tricky to get going.

Pravin kumar
Pravin kumar
Software development lead in US
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One stop tool for CI/CD

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have used the tool with my two previous employers.. definitely improved the productivity of team.. it was uself with both web and desktop application

Pros:

Highly flexibly and configurable.. filled with a ton of functionality.. if you don't find a functionality, you will still have option to configure through custom scripts

Cons:

Learning curve can be annoying especially if you don't have support within your team. It takes time to master the tool

Henry
Engineer in Australia
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Used this as part of the deployment pipeline. Using it everyday - although mostly automated already.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Deployment pipeline for programmers

Pros:

I'm familiar with it in regard to build and deployment pipeline. My current company uses it as well as my previous one. The UI seems quite intuitive, as I could modify existing pipeline quite easily. There are quite a lot of features (although I believe there are lots that I haven't explored yet).

Abhishek
Portfolio manager in Canada
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best teamcity review

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall I am very happy with the tool.

Pros:

Dashboard is very easy to understand and logging is user friendly.

Cons:

Support team is not that great. Usually they respond in two weeks time which does not help at all.

Juan Ramon
IT in Spain
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We use TeamCity for automation and CI and is great

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

TeamCity in comparison to other CI software have a better interface. It is clear and helps to understand the software. The integration with other software is algo great.

Cons:

Maybe that is not an open source software and the limit of free agents (Only 3) because if you have to compile code in different kernel versions of Linux (like us) is a problem. I think that a few more free agents will be great.

Philip
Web Developer in US
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for automating builds, especially with multiple devs

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good features overall and seems to be up to par with competitors such as Azure Pipelines; there is a learning curve for first-time users, and certain menus/settings are hard to find, but offers good options for configuration and flexibility

Pros:

Ability for continuous deployment to happen when multiple devs are involved in projects; ability to kick off builds from merges into Git. The "target" branches can be switched temporarily to monitor other branches for short periods

Cons:

Basic tiers only allow certain number of builds happening at the same time. Oftentimes automated testing tasks must be paused to allow site builds to happen

Tim
Tim
Systems Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

TeamCity is how CI should be done

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

As a former Jenkins user, I find TeamCity to be a much more user-friendly way to do Continuous Integration. There are recipes that cover the spectrum and integration with git/github is very cool. I also like the extensibility and integration vaialble through the various plugins.

Cons:

Continuous Integration can be daunting to set up and use - TeamCity handles this pretty well but there is a definite learning curve.