Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Ellucian

Deliver the tech-savvy school experience today's students expect. Empower their future and yours.

Learn more about Ellucian

Showing 66 reviews

Neisha P.
Marketing Administrative Assistant
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"Ellucian for Community College"

Comments: In the beginning I had to constantly keep my list of instructions handy if I wanted to enter a requisition for a purchase order, now its easy because I've done so many. Practice makes perfect!!!!

Pros: I liked how you can add features, customize it for the needs of the institution. I work for a small college and we don't need all the extra features that the larger colleges might implement.

Cons: It can be a little difficult to navigate for the beginner. Unless the user knows what they want there is a chance of getting lost. Ive been using the software for about 4 years now and i sometimes get lost or have to search for specific information. There is no menu with a list of options. So I guess what I'm saying is that it would be nice if it was more user friendly, easier to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Accountant - Internal Controls
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2019

"University Accounting"

Comments: Overall we are very satisfied with Ellucian. It provides our business and finance team books that are used for easy reporting and a clean UI interface.

Pros: I have been a user of Ellucian banner for over six years and have been through countless updates. The product keeps improving where I think things are already good, and is quick to address current issues. Our organization loves the fact that we can use a web based version as well. Additionally, the UI is very clean and I can understand what is affecting our balance sheet, income statement, ect., all at a quick glance. Finally, the reports that are generated from Ellucian are very helpful and make it so I can create accurate reconciliations.

Cons: The one problem we run into with Ellucian is that training to use the product is difficult. Many screens have specific acronyms to access them, which is hard for people to remember. However, they have introduced a search function that allows you to use words and it acts more like a google search, which is helpful to find what you need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Mike J.
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2016

"Colleague as an ERP"

Comments: Colleague is an overall great product. Ellucian has been working hard to improve Colleague's features and functionality, especially on the Self-Service platform. This work has kept them at the front edge of innovation with responsive design that allows your constituents serve themselves from any device. This takes pressure off of administrative staff so they can focus on quality support to your students. Ellucian does a good job at being connected to their customers and understanding the constantly changing needs in the academic world. They hold focus groups, beta testing groups to allow the engaged community of customers to provide input, and it shows in the quality of the newer products they have created.

Pros: Mobile friendly self service
Integration through Ellucian XE
Active user community on Ellucian's eCommunities social media platform

Cons: Reporting. Expect to spend money on a reporting tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2016
Kathy K.
FA Technology Specialist
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2017

"I work with one module for the software and they have a great network for help."

Comments: The Ellucian software is very helpful in keeping our school on track and making it easier for the student to navigate Admissions to registration to financial aid to graduation.

Pros: Very functional and customizable to your school. We get the opportunity to let the company know what we want in the software and they usually update to meet the various schools needs. Very aware of all federal guidelines and requirements.

Cons: Training for use of the module or processes would be nice when something new is implemented. Several screens and options are usually available with short descriptions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2017
Jenny K.
HR Assistant
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017

"Use HR module on daily basis"

Pros: the support for Ellucian is awesome. It took a while to learn how to use Colleague but once I learned my area, it was very useful.

Cons: it's not intuitive. I wish there was a training that new employees could go to in their area to learn about the Colleague product to help understand how the change I make affects others.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017
Steven S.
SystemAdmin/Programmer/Analyst
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Difficult to use | Difficult to maintain | Expensive | Releases are poorly tested by Ellucian QA"

Comments: -Business users in all departments find Banner difficult to use
-Database engineers find Banner difficult to maintain
-IT staff finds Banner difficult to support
Banner is obsolete in the technological age we live; there are cloud finance, HCM, CRM, and student information applications which integrate well with each-other and outperform banner in nearly every category.

Pros: Customer support Is friendly and responsive.

Cons: -There is a Massive maintenance overhead
-There is a need for business users to constantly watch the community for systemic issue and bug alerts
-Documentation is intentionally over-complicated to encourage the purchase of Ellucian consulting
-Implementation is more complicated than competitor applications due to the age of the product
-Data is stored un-uniformly in 'shotgun' style in the database making migration away from banner very difficult.
-There is no dashboard -- the entire user interface is a very weak showing
-Self service is impossible to leverage for reliable company-wide / student-wide document delivery.
-Almost no reporting capabilities are built-in; admins must instead write database queries for end users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Isaac S.
Finance Systems & Projects Manager
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"Overall good customer service."

Pros: The community that is always ready to help each other. You can reach out to hundreds of users and get answers.

Cons: Upgrades can be very time consuming and complex, the reporting is not up to standard and some user functionality is not easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Justin S.
Director of Enrollment Systems and Data
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019

"A mess of a company and a patchwork of modules"

Comments: Covers general SIS/ERP for a college but causes more frustrations than solutions

Pros: Ellucian Banner is comprehensive in that it can cover most of the core functions of a college/university. But that's about it.

Cons: Ellucian hasn't advanced the products in years. Every attempt for updates have been met with upgrade issues, compatibility problems, and user frustration. New products are rare and generally poor, whether they use COTS or homegrown applications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Richard S.
Blackboard Support and Services Manager
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2018

"Unfortunately...It' what we've got..."

Pros: I guess the only good thing I can say about this software is that it works (kind of) most of the time.

Cons: This software is the least user friendly software I have ever used. I understand that databases are boring, but this software (until the last update) looked like it was from 1996. Nothing about this is intuitive for the general user. For ease of use I would have given it zero stars, but I was unable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2018
Chris W.
Student/Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2018

"User-friendly but a new experience."

Comments: Good experience but takes time.

Pros: It was super easy to use when we didn't run into freezing issues. Allows us to pull up any student information that we need and found a way to troubleshoot successfully.

Cons: Sometimes it seems that there are way too many extra steps for no reason. Although it was easy to use, there is a learning curve to master.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Shandus P.
HR Generalist
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017

"It provides the system I need to organize my work."

Pros: It is comprehensive. It provides the ability to digitally organize any information we could possibly need.

Cons: It is not intuitive. It is requires several weeks of use to fully understand it's capability, and if you need to figure out how to do a particular function, it can be almost impossible to figure it out unless there is someone to tell you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Verified Reviewer
Student
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019

"Access your university from your pc"

Comments: I have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student

Pros: This product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.

Cons: If there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2019
Cyrus C.
Application Analyst/Developer
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"Mixed Reviews"

Comments: They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.

Pros: Offers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.

Cons: Cost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Connie T.
Prospect Research Coordinator
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018

"Easy to use"

Comments: We use this as our database for all alumni and friends.

Pros: It's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!

Cons: When it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Sarah T.
Accounts Payable Specialist
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2019

"Ellucian"

Pros: I like that you can see a lot of different types of information and don't necessarily need additional software to get the job done.

Cons: It can be difficult to navigate through the different windows until you are really well versed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Babysitter
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2018

"Improves education experience"

Pros: I like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.

Cons: I do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounts Receivable Manager
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2018

"Use this for University student records, receiving payments, accounts Payables, P/R and financials."

Comments: With angst and time we get what we need from it.

Pros: Contains a lot of integrated and complex data. From Human Resources, Student Records and Services, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable all in one softward

Cons: so NOT intuitive or user friendly. We have to have a whole IT department just overseeing the functionality of this software. Users are frustrated in each area - Payroll, Accounts Payables, Student Services... no one seems to feel the software was created for their unique purposes. We keep trying to find the department that loves it...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Assessment Center Proctor
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2019

"Quality Updates with Ellucian"

Pros: I like the user interface of Ellucian! It's easily navigable and very functional in every way. I work in Education and Ellucian is really helpful when inputting various forms of information into the system. It's quick and easy to use with every click you make.

Cons: I wish the keyboard shortcuts for Ellucian were easy to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2019
Iris S.
UX Architect
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019

"Can't begin to describe how horrible"

Comments: The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and find your way to the proper information. Absolutely unintuitive and simply extremely ugly. It looks like it's built in the 90ies.

Pros: Absolutely nothing, besides it just being horribly ugly the UX and Usability is utterly terrible.

Cons: As professional in tech I decided to enroll in some part time college classes for enrichment and I was appalled at the software system both schools had for students. Both systems for some reason look and navigate completely different but I found out are still made by the same company. Both is so complicated to use (again both totally different though students need to perform the same tasks) and I'm not sure why people (both school but especially the software company) think this acceptable is beyond me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Analyst II, Operations
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2020

"The Industry Standard but why?"

Comments: This product is very commonly used and it feels like they rely on this fact to put in minimal efforts towards innovation. If you have a different option, I would recommend investigating that.

Pros: This product is very commonly used in industry. The online support community around this product is very active and is very helpful when you encounter issues, bugs, odd behavior, etc. (which is often). It is based on a relational database so query writing is easy enough.

Cons: Software patches and updates from Ellucian are notorious for breaking various modules, connections between modules, etc. The UI is a very outdated model and tends to be very unfriendly for those who are not tech savvy. Customer service from Ellucian leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
Career Counselor
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020

"Decent, but like use improvement."

Comments: I think it could be a great software for higher education/universities. However, there are flaws and it’s not the most user friendly.

Pros: Ellucian has a lot of different capabilities and options for multiple departments to use. I like that all offices across campus can see the same information for students once it is updated by another user. It’s a one stop shop for those who work at the university, instead of each department using their own software system.

Cons: Very complicated codes to search for pages, it takes a long time to memorize them and the training for ellucian wasn’t the greatest. We struggled to get questions answered in a timely manner or correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020
Cyrus C.
Application Developer/Analyst
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2017

"Higher Ed and Ellucian"

Comments: As for an ERP it works they continually develop products that do well but then should have been tested or better yet more thought should have been thought through before deploying to customers.

Pros: offers multiple products gives great support

Cons: Cost: is more costly than some of its competitors
Deployment of newer products to end users could be smoother

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Technology Support
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/09/2019

"Ellucians"

Comments: The ability to update our Customer Relationship Management system with exported data-sets.

Pros: Since this uses Oracle and SQL, I like having the ability to write reports for assistance in extracting data from the data tables we use.

Cons: The software has many different modules and the last version of software released helped out with a more intuitive interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Clerical/Graphic Designer/Website Admin
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018

"Consolidates all of my educational needs in one place"

Pros: Ellucian has made it easy to consolidate all of our educational needs and resources, from billing to grades, in one easy to navigate space. Students are able to find what they need with ease.

Cons: It is beginning to look a little dated in comparison to other sites in general, but as a tool for higher ed it is still fully functional and acceptable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Jennifer R.
Banner Business Systems Analyst
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018

"It's hard to be vanilla"

Comments: We were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.

Pros: I like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.

Cons: Banner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018