15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ActivTrak

Get real-time visibility into work habits, productivity trends, remote vs. in-office performance & easily spot engagement issues.

Learn more about ActivTrak

Pros:

Software was easy to use and adapt to. I have not integrated it with other apps.

Cons:

The interface can be a bit of a maze. Multiple ways of getting to the same page and at the same time sometimes hard to get back to where you have been before.

ActivTrak ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

ActivTrak has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 549 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ActivTrak before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (549)

Richard
Richard
Owner in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My opinion

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I'm very happy, never run in any error and the agent program is constantly updated

Pros:

ActivTrak is a powerful tool for businesses. You can watch live the efficiency of every employee, if and were their are wasting their time on internet and very discreet. You have all the data in a simple web page with a lot of option and statistics for every user.

Cons:

The first time you login in the dashboard, its a little weird and you need some time to find everything, how to activate account and change the settings. The installation while is very fast and easy, sometimes is blocked from antivirus programs

Nathan
IT Manager in US
Defense & Space, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

ActivTrak - Excellent software to aid in compliance and InsiderThreat

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far, we've been thoroughly pleased with the software.

Pros:

ActivTrak gave us further insight as to what our staff really does throughout the day, applications they run, and aid with compliance.

Cons:

Categorizing sites and applications takes a bit, but I don't see another way around it.

Alternatives Considered: InterGuard

Reasons for Switching to ActivTrak: We chose ActivTrak because of their ease of use, quick and silent deployment, and ability to aid with Insider Threat. Terramind and InterGuard were too expensive and cumbersome to administer. Since we work with the Federal Government, we couldn't use StaffCop since it's made in Russia. We have users located across the globe, so it was imperative that we have a solution that allows remote users to be monitored and submit feedback when they're online regardless of connecting back to our headquarters on-prem network.

Sasha
Director of Business Intelligence in US
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Think Twice

1.0 9 months ago

Comments: We started the partnership (well we thought it was a partnership) in 2020 when our entire workforce went remote for Covid. We intended to use for productivity coaching but it became too cumbersome to be of any real value. The system never seemed to work just like it should and customer service was awful or none existent. We made the decision to leave for several reasons and even with the issues in the platform and poor customer service, they insisted on holding to the year contract they lock you into. I requested a partial refund for the remaining time and they ran me in circles for 8 full weeks (probably hoping i'd just go away) before they finally got on a call with me, just to try to upsell me more and waste my time. They say they care about a partnership but they have the legal right so no dice. I understand we have a contract but we are always willing to work with our own customers in individual circumstances and I believe we had a strong case to get a partial refund. If you look, they do an exceptional job with their digital marketing to not allow any reviews on most platforms... only on places they can pay to put their fake reviews in and real customers can't comment. That is not the practice of an honest company to me and doesn't let the consumer do real research. There are other platforms out there who do the same thing, while their UI may not be as pretty, their service and functionality ore than make up for the visual shortcomings.

Pros:

When it worked, could view live screens or screenshots to use for productivity coaching as well as catch behaviors like job searches early.

Cons:

Customer service was atrocious. Agressive with you to get you to buy /renew but abandon you as soon as you pay. Product never worked like it should. Alerts constantly broke. System was agonizingly slow to the point it was almost unusable unless you wanted to pay a full time person to review. The data classification system was not smart - you would expect once you classify a URL as one thing it would remember it but instead had to spend hours each week re-classifying the same thing over and over just to have the data show up correct to be able to coach the team. If you want any of the features or reporting that woudl actually maybe be helpful to give you insights and save you time... expect to shell out more money for each one.

joel
COO in Philippines
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

How to monitor activity and productvity of your team

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Activtrak is very easy to deploy. Very intuitive ui. Clean and simple design. Search function is very

Cons:

The price is a little bit high after they chnaged the pricing tiers a few years ago.

Muhammad
Muhammad
Owner in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It helped track my employees in stealth mode. I can judge behavior of my employees and keep eye on.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: peace of mind about progress of my employees.

Pros:

Recent screen shots help get overview at a glance about what your employees doing. One can monitor from anywhere or on the go. website blocking is very easy and its very difficult for employees to track whats going on their system. For home users its free to monitor 3 computers with enough data

Cons:

Price is bit high as compared to other solutions. Also paying annually is also a paid and they don't offer monthly payment options

Kimberly
Kimberly
Business Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good service but not for companies less than 5 people.

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I really liked the services but felt lied to when the free trial was over. At the check out you find out you have to pay a price higher than advertised.

Pros:

Good service, easy to use and lots of nice features. I really would have like to use this services. It was my first choice and would have use it if not for the cost.

Cons:

You shows a good price per users but when you go to subscribe it requires minimum of five users. I only needed one user which made the price was very high for me.

Alternatives Considered: Insightful

Reasons for Switching to ActivTrak: I like the features offered, felt Activtrak have more features.

Michael
Michael
System Administrator in Guyana
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Good Monitoring

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This is the kind of software that sensitive companies need to protect themselves, their data and their employees. The very nature of this software is stealth. Users will never know that they're being watched (that is if that's the way you want it set up). The reporting is excellent and very in-depth and detailed.

Cons:

Hard to uninstall. Because it doesn't work like conventional software, the removal (at least the first time) is kind of a chore.

Jean
Training Team Lead in Dominican Republic
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great way to monitor employee/team computer activity

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

This tool allows me to track my trainees' computer activity during training

Cons:

I have nothing negative to say about this tool

Birch Grove Software Response

8 months ago

Hi Jean - Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I always love to see how customers use ActivTrak in different ways - verifying attention to training is a great one! Thanks again for sharing! ~Megan

Jon
Jon
Business Development in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ActiveTrak - When you want to really monitor your employees/workers remotely

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good overall experience. Easy to use, and install.

Pros:

This lets you spy on their screen and see what they see. You can block out website from loading. For example: employees during working hours can't load Netflix. You can also monitor when their computer goes to sleep and when they are inactive.

Cons:

One of the employees uses a MacBook Pro. When his iOS updates sometimes the permission setting of ActiveTrak need resetting.

Naveen Kumar
Naveen Kumar
Head - Digital Marketing in India
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intuitive and Easy to use, Among the best

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I travel a lot due to my work profile, Activtrak makes my employees monitoring easy.

Pros:

almost impossible to detect user friendly dashboard optimum space to store screenshots free to use for 3 devices simple installation process

Cons:

could have been more economical for paid versions. to check out pricing you have to create an account.

Derek
Chief Deputy Township Assessor in US
Government Administration, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

From the initial download to the first use, it was so easy and intuitive.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Productivity is always hard to measure, but this software makes it easy to see what programs or websites are consuming or distracting from our work goals. I don't like to use it as a spy tool. I prefer to use it to troubleshoot areas for improvement. Or use the screenshots to see when an error or crash occurs to see the events that lead up to the software fail. This is a GREAT troubleshooter option, see what the station saw. Love that it can be accessed from remote seamlessly.

Pros:

The easy interface and how easy it is to code applications and website as productive or non-productive. It gives a GREAT picture of the productivity of the workstations. I like that it can block websites as well with one caveat (see cons). I will say this blocker is 100% effective, where websites blocked by the router can be accessed using an alternate method. The Screenshots are helpful, not as a spy tool, but in determining errors when one of our programs is having trouble, we can see the error screen the operator saw through the screenshots. Great troubleshooting. Screenshots also let me assist the operator when I am in a remote location, I can see what they are asking and assist quicker than actually remoting into the workstation for minor questions. EVERY INTERACTION WITH THIS PROVIDER HAS BEEN MORE THAN EXCELLENT, and they are eager to help and take suggestions and criticism to assist or improve their already great product. You are not alone after you download or purchase. Another good feature is on the workstation the program runs in the background and is completely invisible to workstation, it doesn't slow the system down, nor cause the workstation any troubles.

Cons:

When you block a website, it is always blocked. I would like to release the block during non-business hours. For instance, if my employees want to check their emails, Facebook, I have no problem with them doing this before work, after work or during lunch. I did load my work hours into the system, but tech support said right now it an "always" block. I don't want to have to come in and turn the blocks on and off manually. Other than that, this is the best program I have found.

Grietz
Senior Business Analyst in Philippines
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A BPO Essential Tool

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I would say that its worth its price. Ever since we started our Work From Home set up, managing the team has been made easy by ActivTrak. We are able to monitor our team's activities as it relates to their productivity and we are able to keep our word to our clients about protecting their data and prevent any data security breaches.

Pros:

I love how it integrates productivity tracking and security in one platform. This is the tool to help you manage your company effectively especially for outsourcing companies like us. It tracks the productivity of our offshore team and generates a comprehensive report that could help assess a staff or a team's needs in their operational day to day activities.

Cons:

None. I would say that the features offered by ActivTrak are functional and beneficial. This makes sense because they are open for suggestions and they conduct webinars from time to time where they provide information about a new feature and gather information about what could possibly be a helpful feature in the future.

Brandon
President in US
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Monitoring Software, Period.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Quick and easy reporting about employee activity on work computers. Specifically, productivity, activity log and real time screen viewing.

Pros:

ActivTrak does everything you need and nothing you don't. It's user friendly, visually appealing and robust. Additionally, they release the most updates of any related software. I have tried more than six applications for this purpose and theirs is the best.

Cons:

The software has a tendency to create multiple "users" (people you are tracking) for the same person. One record for the computer, another for their associated Windows/Chrome identity and sometimes others if they have multiple user accounts on the same computer. This can cause you to have 3 or more user records to track for a single person. You can group them together and use an alias, which is great, but the overall number of users reporting will affect your billing plan.

Eddy
IT Support Engineer in Mexico
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Keep an eye on problematic employees

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: We mostly use it to track the activities of problematic people, and help us prevent some incidentes and bad use of the computers and keep safe information of our customers.

Pros:

It is a great way to see how your team spends their shifts, if you have problematic people you can see what they are doing by installing an invisible client, this way you can ensure that your equipment is not being missused.It has great reporting capabilities.

Cons:

It sometimes does not updates as intended and it can be a bit problematic to delete the client if you want to be secretive.

Brandon
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Out of all the systems, we tested. ActivTrak was the most user-friendly and best overall.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Increase productivity in the office and hold my employees accountable.

Pros:

The software allows you to see real-time screenshots of the users your tracking. It can also block certain websites and show a pop-up. It has very advanced features but the overlay of the system is completely easy to use anyone can understand it. You can set up alarms to notify you of "unproductive" websites being viewed and with this feature we have 100% reduced the amount of unproductive website viewing.

Cons:

The only con we have with this program is that you are not able to have a constant live stream of your employee's computer. It gives you live screenshots but not a live feed.

Shane
Director in US
Industrial Automation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Get employee productivity back on track.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: With all the distractions from social media, streaming video, etc. employees can be tempted to waste a lot of time on the clock on unproductive activities when they believe no one is watching. This software is proving invaluable in restoring operator productivity and preventing restricted activities on company computer equipment that could result in viruses as well as wasting network bandwidth.

Pros:

Two main features that have been the most helpful are first, the ability to easily create custom alarm triggers along with personalized popup messages to the offending PC/operator. As soon as the employees realize the activities are being watched and flagged they immediately cleaned up their act. Second, the ability to produce a screen shot at timed intervals and upon trigger of an alarm allows us to paint a clear picture of what activities employees are wasting the most time doing as well as spot activities that may not easily trigger an alarm but are restricted based on company policy.

Cons:

Difficulty to find fault with this system. The only issue we have encountered was a bug in the Mac version of the agent software. Customer service was very helpful and responsive.

Kevin
Principal Consultant in Canada
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

ActivTrak helps me monitor productivity and computer usage. It's the best tool on the market.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Traacking

Pros:

1 - It's easy to use. All you do is download the program to install, and it will automatically do everything for you. 2 - Screenshots every minute. This is such an incredible feature that allows me to keep track of exactly what's going on. 3 - Graphs and data visualization for productivity. All you have to do is tag which applications/use cases are productive/unproductive, and you can get a quick overview of what the computers are being used for. 4 - Weekly summary emails. This way I don't even have to log in to check, but get a top level summary of the most important news. 5 - Website Blocking. It's really great to be able to block websites simply and easily.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

This is great software for the monitoring

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: ease of use and the reporting functionality is great, especially the full audit log of what has been happening on a computer. it even catches title bar data of when users are in incognito or private mode. this is extremely helpful, especially when you have setup screen grabbing and alerting when you have areas of concern that a member of staff is doing something inappropriatre.

Pros:

Its not a cheaper solution but it is a better solution if you want more detail into what your employees are doing. It really made the owner cringe at the level of detail we can see what the employees do, he almost thought it was too invasive

Cons:

We had some employees who were consistently missing deadlines that they shouldn't have been missing. ActivTrak enabled us to efficiently identify and address some of the employees' problematic behaviors. It worked so well that I actually installed it on my own computer to help me identify areas for improvement.

Tim
Director of Operations in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good monitoring product to keep an eye on productivity

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I use this product to keep an eye on my employees, block sites that they shouldn't be going to while on the clock, and to track productivity of my agents.

Cons:

I have the free version of the product and my biggest issue is that when you get to a certain amount of space used it stops recording screenshots and will not let you access any information. If you don't happen to log in for a few days and you hit that threshold then all of the information at that point is considered gone as you have to delete it all in order to start recording again or access your info which is annoying. Or you can upgrade to the paid version and this wouldn't happen but the free version is perfect for that I need it for.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product and Service

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: This product can do exactly what they are advertising. You can set this program up on a computer and once that computer is logged into, the program is tracking at all times. The activity report is very detailed and it shows when a screenshot was taken.

Pros:

You can see screenshots of different time intervals and you can export the time to excel for records. It has very easy to use interface and track the productive time effectively. it also provides two factor authentication along with Active directory integration which completed the feature list.

Cons:

All the stored information can eat up your hard drive space very quickly. No OCR for screenshots it captured and no keylogging mechanism is provided.

Josh
Founder/CEO in US
Photography, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A well designed employee monitoring software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have been able to improve the work production totals by nearly 50% this quarter, very impressed with the overall use

Pros:

ease of use. The menu was well designed and each category was easy enough to compare via the graphs. over all very clean

Cons:

.slow to access different screenshots It was very slow when changing from screenshots to simple data

Praveen
Sales and Marketing Executive in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software to tack productivity of your employees.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

You can track productivity of your employees by categorized application, website in to productivity and unproductive. Every screenshot captured secretly.

Cons:

Limitation of storage space there should be any provision link with box,one drive or dropbox so that all file can moved or save to these drives.

Craig
IT Director in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is the perfect tool for a parent who needs to see what their child is doing on their computer. It's completely hidden and enabled me to gather a tremendous about of information and proof that she was not doing homework when she was supposed to be. It was also very helpful to see when she was clearing her Internet history in attempt to hide her activity from us. Also loved the added bonus of being able to block sites where the majority of time was being wasted. I am so glad I found this tool and definitely see an application for it in the workplace as well which I am considering.

Cons:

I honestly can't think of anything I would consider a "con" of the product. It does exactly what it says it does and it does it very well. The only cons for me is that I'm currently using the free version and don't have access to some of the other features, but I would probably only need to have those in a workplace scenario.

Senad
Founder / CEO in Croatia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's very easy to start using software 5 minutes after installation. Reports and analysis potential are huge and alarming options above my expectations. We got the information about employees productivity that helped us optimize work for everyone to feel and work better.

Pros:

Easy to start and install, easy to navigate and everything is intuitive from the start. Reports are VERY detailed and show you everything you need and some more.

Cons:

Uninstall could be solved better. E.G. If you are using version 8 and you need to uninstall it, you first have to update with new version and then uninstall. There is no auto-update for MAC.

Julian
Product Manager in Portugal
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great monitoring software

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Reliable and packed with great reporting which includes screenshot and makes reviewing everything really easy. Great product and great value. I would like to see more users for example and using local space for screenshots and reports.

Cons:

Some links and websites appear in report and can't be excluded and too few users for a year license. Time cannot be ajuste the way it's displayed same for the date.