Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.6 /5

About Forma Lms

Open-source eLearning platform focused on corporate training needs such as integrability, automated tasks, talent management.

Learn more about Forma Lms

Showing 43 reviews

Kristen O.
Training and Development Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019

"FORMA LMS"

Pros: The ability to customize the LMS - the login page; tabs and buttons; reports, etc. This enables us to be able to create a unique training experience for each of our customers based on their needs and requirements.

Cons: It would be nice to have some more automatic email notification options in the system.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 29/07/2019

Hi Kristen,
thank you for your review!

We already do have plugins to add more automatic notifications to the system. Moreover, in the next major release we'll also add more notification options to the LMS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Marilena C.
Company Administrator
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2018

"We use Forma Lms for several years, the experience is very satisfactory."

Comments: I was able to develop the online training business in my company, with great satisfaction!

Pros: Forma Lms is simple, intuitive and designed for the corporate world so much more practical and intuitive to use than other open source LMS designed for the academic world. The new responsive version responds to a need that we have been waiting for a long time. Now we hope that developers continue to optimize the project more and more by following the suggestions of users who use the LMS daily

Cons: More things I like about those I do not like about Forma Lms. The exchange of ideas with the team of developers in the forum is very active and above all reactive so even things that do not work now are always resolved within a reasonable time.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 18/07/2018

Thank you Marilena, your review makes us very proud of our product!
The best part of the review is that thanks to Forma you could develop your business, that's one of the core reasons behind our project: the idea that if many people benefit from it, we'll benefit too.

We will always do our best to improve Forma every day: stay tuned, important news are coming fast!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2018
Graeme C.
Director of eLearning
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2017

"Simply the best opensource platform out there."

Comments: I manage all of my multiple clients training requirements through this platform

Pros: Simple set up
Easy to manage as super admin
Quick
Scorm compliant
Multi site
Great support community
Simple reporting
Automated certificates
Learning plans
API's
Sell courses through paypal
Groups
The list is endless!

Cons: Currently the UI on mobile is non responsive, this is being addressed in the soon to be released update. Integrating with other platforms is not as easy as other LMS I have used though that's not to say it can be achieved it just may be beyond my skill set.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 19/07/2018

Thank you Mr Clarke for this excellent review.
We'll keep pushing to release the responsive Forma 2.0 as soon as possible, it will also include many new features.

(update): in the meanwhile
- we have version 2.0 available
- we published API, so integration has become easier

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2017
Massimiliano F.
Founder & Partner
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2014

"Forma Lms - an excellent, corporate oriented Learning Management System"

Comments: If you're looking for an open-source LMS solution, this is a good place to start. Nice look&feel, although it still has to be improved and made even more contemporary, easy to use for both managers and users. Its main pros are under the hood and will appeal to the most demanding HR managers: great user management, course management and subscription management. Most of the repetitive tasks can be done with just a few clicks. Customized reporting, integrated skills management, and much more. It can be improved by making it even easier to integrate with third party applications and by adding some features to the course materials management.
Teacher area can also be made a little bit simpler and more usable.
Nevertheless, if compared to similar open-source alternatives, most of FormaLms features stand out. Customer service by the members of FormaLms' partnership is generally very appreciated by their customers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2014
Nihat A.
Engineer
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019

"Why Forma LMS we use and trust"

Comments: The Helty and Safety Environment (HSE) trainning sector in Turkey, people who want to be expert on HSE must attend the courses and 90 hours of these courses had been taken on a LMS. But the LMS must meet the requirements of Ministry of Labor. So we customise the software for these requirements in 2012 and till today over 4000 experts attended these courses and use forma lms.

Pros: We have used the forma LMS since 2012 for training the tech. people to prepare the exam of HSE experts in Turkey. It is very easy for using as attendies/students. And to manage and customising is not difficult.
You can get support on the forum "elearningcommunity.net" very quickly. And there are so many published/shared fixed problems on the forum.
so it did not let us down till today.

Cons: On the previous version the template was not supported via mobile . but now on the new version this problem is solved.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 12/02/2021

Hi Nihat,
Thank you for your very nice review!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019
Antony C.
Responsabile Area E-learning
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2018

"Excellent e-learning platform. All you need is here!"

Pros: I love the flexibility of this product. Ideal for every division and company, easy to maintain, intuitive and quick to set up. The interface is modern and attractive, very user friendly system from admin to learner

Cons: User manual.
No built-in Authoring. Is not really a problem for me because i prefer creating high quality courses using external authoring tool.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 19/07/2018

Thank you Antony,
we're proud of your feedback!

We'll do our best to improve our customer support to reach the 5 stars and to include more tutorials and the user manual, as you suggest.

Built-in authoring tools: you already have the creation of tests, glossaries, polls, linkographies, html pages and other types of LO's.

We also have a plugin to upload videos and treat them like scorm objects, with the same type of tracking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2018
Stefano P.
IT and Elearning Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2014

"Powerful and Effective LMS, great community"

Comments: After a LMS selection that lasted several months, including commercial and open source systems, We decided to start our new elearning adventure with Forma LMS, because of its overall very good corporate features.
Pro: General Stability and ease of Use for students, Reporting system, User Administration, Certificates Management, Player working fine with tablets and mobile, etc.
Cons: Graphical User interface could be improved, some minor bugs in several functions that need to be solved. Administration is not 100% intuitive, due to its great flexibility, though.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 19/07/2018

Thank you Stefano for your very nice review and for the insights you shared about your decision process.

Concerning the cons you highlight: the GUI will indeed be improved in the next months, bugs will be solved.

As for the intuitivity in the administration: there is a trade-off between power and intuitivity, we'll try to make administration more easily understandable without losing power.

(update)
UI has been improved in the meanwhile, and bugs have been solved.
Administration has also been made much more intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2014
Joseph G.
Owner-Founder
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2014

"Orion High School"

Comments: Orion High School has been using Docebo since we opened in 2006. We are an accredited high school serving students from across the world. We recently upgraded to FormaLMS, and have found Forma to be a great addition to our school! Keep up the great work on Forma, you all! The team is helpful, kind, knowledgeable, and responsive to our needs. I could not have asked for a better, smoother transition! Thank you thank you thank you!!!

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 26/08/2014

Thank you Dr. Gallegos for your review and for your very nice opinions on our community support!
And yes, we'll keep up the good work and we'll keep growing the Lms with new features!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2014
Chiara B.
Instructional designer, sviluppatrice e-learning
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2021

"Leggerezza, praticità e versatilità"

Pros: FormaLMS è una piattaforma e-learning completa, particolarmente indicata per l'utenza italiana in quanto ha un sistema di reportistica già integrata che traccia - tra le altre cose - il tempo di permanenza di ogni utente sugli oggetti didattici, requisito richiesto da varie normative.
La piattaforma è semplice da usare e completa di tutte le funzionalità già nella versione base, senza necessità di installare componenti aggiuntivi a pagamento, che rimangono opzionali.
Permette di gestire in modo intuitivo utenti, corsi, competenze, la creazione di certificati, la gestione di corsi e-learning e d'aula.
Ha numerose possibilità di personalizzazione, anche grafica, e si integra con piattaforme esterne di videoconferenza, integrandone tutte le funzionalità.
Vanta un forum dedicato sia in italiano che in inglese, dove confrontarsi con altri utenti sulle problematiche più comuni, un manuale completo e ben strutturato e un servizio di assistenza puntuale e impeccabile.

Cons: Rispetto a una piattaforma come Moodle ha meno plugin e meno funzionalità: d'altro canto ha già tutto quello che serve per una gestione efficace di corsi e-learning e un'interfaccia decisamente meno caotica e più intuitiva.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 17/02/2021

Wow, grazie Chiara per l'ottima recensione!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
Programmatore
Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021

"Impressioni di lunga data"

Pros: Il suo essere open source rende l'integrazione con gli altri sistemi aziendali semplice e alla portata di tutti.

Cons: Talvolta la complessità del codice rende complicato capire perché avvengono determinati errori, o dove si originano.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 22/02/2021

Grazie per la recensione articolata e ponderata

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021
Eman D.
Responsabile di area
Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2021

"Recensione Studio Formazione"

Pros: Da quando è stato fatto il Plug in con Zoom, è stato facilitato di molto il processo di creazione dei webinar e il loro monitoraggio

Cons: Abbiamo avuto delle difficoltà inizialmente con i tracciati ma con il supporto dei tecnici abbiamo risolto il tutto

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 17/02/2021

Grazie Eman!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2021
Claudio S.
Consulente
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021

"Ottimo sistema"

Comments: L'esperienza complessiva è molto più che soddisfacente.
Attualmente, in fase di ampliamento, gestiamo circa 30 sedi dislocate su tutto il territorio italiano, 950 corsi di formazione con l'emissione dell'attestato creato per ogni gruppo di corsi distribuiti per le sedi indicate. Ogni sede ha il proprio catalogo e...
Insomma un grande e potente strumento per la creazione e gestione di una FAD come normativa chiede. Parliamo di Sicurezza nei Luoghi di Lavoro.
Non da meno la possibilità di creare report sui tempi, numero sessioni, operazioni eseguite e molto altro.

Pros: in merito ai vantaggi legati all'uso del sistema FORMA LMS ci tengo a sottolinearne vari.
Si ha la possibilità di creare e gestire in assoluta autonomia sedi dislocate ovunque come se fossero delle entità autonome ma legate alla gestione del super amministratore. Per ogni sede è possibile decidere quali restrizioni imporre con una facilità estrema. Altro grande, grandissimo vantaggio è la possibilità di dialogare direttamente con i programmatori attraverso il forum molto attivo e di rapidissima soluzione ai quesiti posti.
Altro...per chi si approccia al sistema FAD, provando FORMA LMS, di sicuro adotta il sistema.

Cons: Di inconvenienti se ne possono incontrare pochi o tanti.
Quelli che abbiamo riscontrati sono stati risolti con il supporto del forum.
Qualche intoppo per i cron macchinosi da gestire.
Ritengo comunque l'aspetto di poco conto in quanto un programmatore riuscirebbe a risolvere il problema in 15/20 minuti.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 16/02/2021

Grazie Claudio, bellissima recensione!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021
Danilo A.
Resp. IT, formatore
Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021

"Recensione di Danilo"

Comments: Sono generalmente soddisfatto del prodotto nel complesso. Alcune caratteristiche potrebbero essere migliorate.

Pros: La piattaforma offre la possibilità di iniziare e sviluppare l'erogazione dei corsi in modalità e-learning, senza richiedere costi elevanti, competenze specifiche e offrendo una buona personalizzazione e strutturazione della piattaforma nel suo insieme. Il sistema è utilizzabile anche senza intervenire sulle caratteristiche avanzate, a meno che non siano utili all'attività. Altro vantaggio, è la possibilità di integrazione con altri prodotti software.

Cons: Le operazioni di aggiornamento alle versioni successive dovrebbero essere rese più semplice (ad es. similmente ai siti basati su wordpress).

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 22/02/2021

Grazie Danilo,
terremo conto dei suggerimenti!

Massimiliano

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021
Barbara B.
Training manager
Machinery, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021

"LMS aziendale"

Comments: Abbiamo scelto Forma come primo LMS aziendale, implementando il progetto da zero. Una volta messo a punto il programma è veramente di facile utilizzo e permette con pochi click di pubblicare i corsi e iscrivere i partecipanti. Ha richiesto un po' di personalizzazione soprattutto l'implementazione con l'HR aziendale ma ora che i due programmi dialogano costantemente il beneficio dell'organigramma sempre aggiornato e la possibilità di registrare la formazione avvenuta è veramente importante. In generale consigliato!

Pros: Relativa facilità di utilizzo una volta capiti i meccanismi di funzionamento. Integrazione con il gestionale del personale. Interfaccia grafica molto pulita.

Cons: La gestione statistica e i report sono migliorabili.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 16/02/2021

Buongiorno Barbara,
Grazie mille!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021
Alessandro E.
Academy Manager
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021

"Full Optional, Ottimo UI, qualche cosa da migliorare nel back end"

Comments: Il vantaggio principale è stato di poter avere un LMS completo e attuale con la possibilità di uno sviluppo di integrazioni e API spinto per parlare con i nostri sistemi e complessità ad un valore molto ragionevole.

Pros: Piena compatibilità con le esigenze interne, integrazione con ERP e gestore risorse interno (docenti, aule, programmazione), intergrazione con webmeeting platform, Struttura per gestione utenti: sedi clienti, ruoli e albero complesso per esterni. Gestione di programmi in presenza, blended, seminari, elearning. Gestione di iniziative brevi, master, percorsi con moduli multipli e integrati e partecipazioni parziali.

Cons: Unica difficoltà, in via di risoluzione nel 2021 con una nuova release, alcuni aspetti gestionali delle impostazioni degli operatori di back end non hanno lo stesso livello di UE e facilità del front end e sono un po' macchinosi.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 16/02/2021

Ciao Alessandro,

grazie mille per la recensione

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021
Roberta C.
Responsabile commerciale
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021

"Semplice ma completa e funzionale"

Comments: Ha permesso a Selflearning di ampliare la propria linea di business attraverso l’offerta non solo di contenuti elearning, ma anche di un software utile al tracciamento della formazione stessa.

Pros: Semplice da utilizzare lato utente è da gestire lato amministratore. Reportistica completa e semplice da generare. Ottimo software per la condivisione della conoscenza. Ben strutturata per l’iscrizione degli utenti ai corsi

Cons: Al momento manca la possibilità di aggiornare il contenuto di un corso già presente in piattaforma

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 16/02/2021

Grazie mille Roberta!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2021
Carla M.
Consulente marketing e comunicazione
Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2021

"Formazione poliedrica e funzionale"

Comments: Ormai da tempo cercavamo una soluzione che potesse permettere di gestire con una sola piattaforma diverse modalità alternative per proporre la formazione (in diretta, in differita, con la possibilità di integrare altri sistemi di gestione dei corsi).

Pros: Forma Lms è estremamente adattabile alle singole esigenze, grazie anche alla rete di sviluppatori che apportano costanti contributi e miglioramenti al sistema.
Si basa su logiche di programmazione che sono accessibili anche a chi non è informatico di mestiere.
È un software italiano e open-source, estremamente flessibile e in continuo sviluppo.

Cons: Per sfruttare al meglio tutte le potenzialità è necessario essere degli sviluppatori.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 16/02/2021

Grazie Carla!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2021
Marta M.
giornalista e docente universitario
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2021

"Aspetto e usabilità"

Pros: Il prodotto è molto facile da usare. Ma non è semplicissimo da personalizzare e richiede diverse competenze tecnico-informatiche. Molto semplice e intuitiva la navigazione nell'oggetto didattico. Penso che lato utente sia una piattaforma molto ben fatta.

Cons: E' da valutare la sua integrazione con altri siti, da migliorare il processo d'acquisto per rendere il look and feel della piattaforma più moderno. In generale alcune funzionalità vanno migliorate (catalogo corsi senza icone calendario, cognome nome al posto di nome e cognome). Chi acquista la piattaforma dovrebbe poter avere maggiore libertà di personalizzazione grafica in modo da rendere più coerente l'aspetto con le proprie esigenze aziendali.

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 16/02/2021

Grazie Marta della review, faremo tesoro dei suggerimenti

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2021
Elisa S.
Learning & Plant HR
Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021

"mai più senza"

Comments: E' stato un progetto sostanzialmente facile da implementare e che è arrivato a tutti, sia chi ha la mail azendale che personale. Nel 2020 non so come avremmo fatto senza uno strumento così

Pros: Strumento di facile utilizzo e che può gestire sia la parte impiegatizia che produttiva

Cons: A volte un po' macchinoso nel settare alcuni strumenti

Vendor Response

by FormaLms on 22/02/2021

Ciao Elisa,
grazie mille della bella recensione!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021