15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Forma LMS

Open-source eLearning platform focused on corporate training needs such as integrability, automated tasks, talent management.

Learn more about Forma LMS

Pros:

And to manage and customising is not difficult. You can get support on the forum "elearningcommunity.net" very quickly.

Cons:

Menus and functionalities are difficult to find and use for users and for the administrators.

Forma LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Forma LMS has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 155 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Forma LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (155)

Ankur
Ankur
Credit Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Bringing revolution in e learning through Forma LMS. Its the need of the hour for businesses !

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS is the most comprehensive web based platform for making the e learning and authoring activities seamless without any major trouble. Also, its the savior for businesses as it meets the digital needs and requirements of businesses in most effective manner possible. Cheaper alternative to most of its competitors and stands out of the crowd due to its excellent features and utilities.
The authoring is collaborative and is fully available and functional on lower bandwidth also. The e content are stored in LMS appropriately and suits to the needs of the learners effectively.

Pros:

Best open source web based e learning platform and software for strengthened learning for hybrid and remote workforce. The training and orientation of workforce is done effortlessly though Forma as it is one of the best collaborative tool for professionals and businesses presently. Talent management is easy and comprehensive through Forma LMS as it helps in selection of candidates through online assessment evaluation and selection. Online training in post pandemic era has become easiest than ever. Authoring e content is easy and is securely accessible to target learners.

Cons:

No dislikes till date. Keep improving the addition of new features and utilities so that it never become obsolete from the market and stay relevant forever. The premium version should be provided in such a tariff mode so that utilities can be best met in most customizable mode. Rest of the features are superb.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your review!

Shivam
Shivam
System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Transform Your e-Learning Experience with Forma LMS

4.0 last year

Comments: As a Forma LMS user, I am amazed with the platform's level of customization and adaptability. The interface is straightforward to use and intuitive, making it easy to navigate and obtain course materials. The programme has enabled me to customise my learning experience to my specific requirements, and the reporting and analytics have been invaluable in tracking my progress and suggesting areas for growth. I like the platform's dependability, as well as its great video conferencing and online streaming capabilities, which have made my learning experience truly immersive and interesting. Overall, I am very pleased with Forma LMS and would suggest it to anyone seeking a comprehensive e-learning solution.

Pros:

As a user, I can certainly claim that Forma LMS has exceeded my expectations. This platform offers a comprehensive and user-friendly learning management system, which has been extremely valuable to both myself and my clients. The ease of course creation is one of Forma LMS's distinguishing qualities. It is simple to create new courses and add content such as videos, papers, and quizzes. I really like the learning paths function since it helps me create a structured learning environment for my students.Forma LMS is distinguished by its social learning features, which have aided in the creation of a collaborative and interactive environment for my clients' e-learning programmes. Students can readily interact with one another via forums, chat rooms, and online conferences, resulting in an immersive learning environment.

Cons:

I had a great experience with Forma LMS, as everything functioned well.It has been an effective tool for my team's e-learning needs, and I appreciate the platform's dedication to providing cutting-edge online and blended learning features. I'm excited to see what fresh developments Forma LMS will offer in the future.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Stable and reliable LMS platform with an improvable UX

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We chose this platform to address the request of our cliente who wanted a low price LMS platform.
After 3+ years of using with 2000+ users, we can say that the choice has not been so wise.
The user support we had to set up and the difficult maintenance of the platform made the costs grow significantly.

Pros:

The platform is stable and reliable. It has advanced features and can be integrated with other services.

Cons:

The platform is not easy to use and it doesn't have an overall pleasant user experience. Menus and functionalities are difficult to find and use for users and for the administrators.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Hello, thanks for your review, although I think it's a bit unfair. Forma is used by thousands of users and one of the main reasons is that it's much easier to use than Moodle, for example. Also it's unclear to me what kind of user support you need, we have several installations with thousands of users and barely any support request. If you think we can help you in any way, let us know. Max

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Forma LMS great way to start your online learning tools

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Generally, I like it as my students don't have any problem using it and navigating it.

Pros:

there is no initial cost associate with it, where if you want to use WP or any platform you need to spend more than $200/year. I like the straight forward course creation and adding a registration page and be able to create courses and share materials between the students

Cons:

the difficult process for me was to figure out how to create a course and how they gonna look like for the end-user. I strongly believe Forma LMS needs to create a course to teach how to use the software. Also some of the options you need to integrate with, it would be great if it comes with it.

FormaLms Response

3 years ago

Hi, thank you for your reviews. Please look into our documentation website: it's full of resources on how to create courses. Max

Imon
Deputy Manager in India
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly recommended eLMS software for digital training and online course authoring !

5.0 last year

Comments: Forma LMS is best in class solution for online learning and online course authoring in the most easy manner without any trouble. It is easily integrated with 3rd party platforms and dashboards. It generates customized reports within fraction of seconds without any hassle. Taking and giving online tutorials and live webinars is easy than ever with this software and you will never face any app integration issues. Its compatibility across any internet bandwidth is just fantastic.

Pros:

Work at fast pace and does not slows down while functioning. Also, Forma LMS is widely used for online digital training and hybrid learning. It works with great efficiency and never lags during operation. All the courses can be uploaded through online mode and can be made available to wide masses within fraction of seconds anytime, anywhere. It has huge customization features embedded which helps in generating customized reports and customized functioning. It's a unified platform available to multiple clients in one go. The LMS has great engaging experience with interactive customer interfaces and works well with all kinds of API interfaces of 3rd party dashboards and platforms.

Cons:

No problem encountered so far. Worked really well for my team so far. Keep innovating and offer cutting edge best in class online and blended learning features.

Srikanth
Assistant Manager-Projects & MIS in India
Management Consulting, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Best-in-class e learning platform solution for businesses and educational hubs ! Must try

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Forma LMS is pretty good and satisfying so far. This e LMS platform is the one stop destination for all readers and learners who look for 24*7 seamless and uninterruped learning experience anytime, anywhere. One of the best learning platforms in the market which enables and strengthens one's learning experience and make it a fantastic one .
They are the only cost effective solution which helps all kinds of users on part of affordability and is accepted by one and all. Video conferencing and online streaming is extremely good with Forma LMS and is been recommended to all my peers.

Pros:

The easy plugin installation and deployment across any devices is seamless and quick. Our Training, Assessment and Certification vertical is using the Forma LMS services for certification management and tracking the certification status now and then. Businesses enable their Learning management team to strengthen the knowledge transfer and management process through Forma LMS due to its advanced and high utility capabilities. It's an open source learning platform, mainly web based and comes with high utility features ranging from video conferencing, LMS management, customised module development online and curating blended (Both offline and online) courses so that it is relevant and accepted by all kinds of businesses and their users. Keep upgrading their utility features by improving the service offerings now and then.

Cons:

We liked all the features and its utilities. No complaints till now. They should bring in more customised module features with high end application features for its applicability across different working sectoral environment.

Shrinkhala
Project Consultant in India
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Online learning & training is easy with Forma LMS. Highly recommended e learning platform for all !

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Its awesome and worth satisfying. The Forma LMS is the best LMS solutioning in the market. It helped us greatly during pandemic times, when everything was stopped at a point and we ensured that learning and training should not be stopped under any case. For this, we adopted lot of LMS system and evaluated all of them and found Forma LMS as the best. Because of its high efficiency and low cost burdening on part of expense, it was great for all users to use the software at its best. High stability and high replicability of the software across diverse environment made this software favorite of all. Audio and Video conferencing at its best is being experience by Forma LMS.

Pros:

Best open source e learning platform for efficient and easy delivery of online training in remote workshops and learning remotely.Video conferencing along with complete tracking management is done easily through Forma LMSCertificate management system for seamless delivery of certificates with end to end bar code tracking is feasible through Forma LMS.Authoring different e courses into different vernacular languages is possible via this amazing LMS .

Cons:

We liked all the features and parameters greatly and found the software absolutely great. One of the best open source softwares in the market with lowest costing and is absolutely free for accessing majority of the features. More mobility system can be added into this so that on one login, multiple uses can have access at same point of time without much trouble.

Ridwan
Training Manager in Bangladesh
Human Resources, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great, professional looking, open source, option perfect for establishing a no cost LMS

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS helped me to launch a low cost, professional looking and easy to use LMS. My audience loved it too as they can dive right in without crossing a complex learning path.

Pros:

I was trying out different LMS solutions in the market. I tried several paid options which are mostly out of my league just to get the taste of the current innovations in LMS. Then I came back to the real world and started test riding all the open source options. My 1st test was with Moodle as it was the go to option recommended by most websites. I didn't like Moodle's interface. It has a ton of options but doesn't have the looks of a corporate LMS where it is very inviting and easy for users to jump instantly inside a course. So, I went for the second best, "Forma LMS". Forma amazed me because I could set it up instantly in my website. Uploading courses are also a breeze. Yes I face some hiccups as I didn't know it works well with PHP version 7.0 and lower but the basic functions were working fine. I was able to test run my LMS within hours of deployment. If you are geek like me you know how does it feel when everything works the first time. If you have softiculous support with your hosting provider then it is more convenient. You will have a working LMS within 15 minutes if you have the contents ready. So, all the poor people who wants to role out his own easy to use and pro looking LMS, Go for Forma LMS.

Cons:

Certification Module is very irritating. You have trial so many times to get your working certificate template. And it is broken if you use any PHP version later than 7.0. Another thing is the exam module. No doubt its very powerful. But powerful doesn't mean the UI have to look complex.

FormaLms Response

3 years ago

Hi Ridwan, thanks for your excellent review. Version 3 will be out in a few weeks, with added support for php 7.4 I will report your comments on the certificates and on the exam module to the UX team.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Great Platform for your LMS needs with High Customization Support!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been a great experience for me , Forma LMS has helped me in creating courses for the new joiners in the team for their faster training and ramp up. Have also allowed keeping track of compliance trainings. Also helped me in creating tests to check their project readiness.

Pros:

1. Easy to create and design training and learning courses. 2. Good support for plugins and integration option making it quite flexible for usage. 3. Allows you to easily keep track of your learnings 4. Users can easily setup test and assessments in the end of the trainings 5. Support for real time webinars and workshop trainings 6. Quick customer support in case of issues.

Cons:

1. User interface can be more robust and dynamic to increase engagement of learners. 2. Lesser documentation available thus takes sometime to understand and design courses

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

very useful and user friendly

5.0 last month New

Pros:

the mobile app is user friendly and very useful for fast pace environments

Cons:

sometimes when i am in a hurry it is difficult to use it

Palla
Web Master and IT Professional in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Dynamic Tool for Developing Effective E-Learning Programs

4.0 last year

Comments: The creation tool that allows users to create engaging and interactive e-learning content. The platform's mobile compatibility ensures that learners can access the content on the go, making it more convenient for them to complete their courses. The mobile support is seamless and responsive, allowing for a smooth transition from desktop to mobile devices. The platform's ability to create mobile-friendly content is especially important for organizations with remote or distributed workforces. Overall, Forma LMS's course creation and mobile support capabilities make it a valuable learning technology platform for organizations looking to develop effective e-learning programs.

Pros:

Open-source platform: Forma LMS is an open-source platform, which means that it can be customized and extended according to the unique needs of an organization.User-friendly interface: Forma LMS has a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate, making it accessible to users with varying levels of technical expertise.Multi-language support: Forma LMS supports multiple languages, which is essential for organizations operating in global markets.

Cons:

Limited third-party integrations: While Forma LMS offers a range of features, it has limited third-party integrations. This can be a disadvantage for organizations that rely on specific tools or services that are not supported by the platform.Steep learning curve for customization: While Forma LMS is a user-friendly platform, customization of the platform can be challenging for those who lack technical expertise.

BHAVIK
Software Engineer in India
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Powerful LMS solution for Organisations of any size.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Forma Lms has been really satisfactory. It is a great solution for learning management and provides a lot of flexibility which enables different sections of an organisation to use and implement it.

Pros:

The thing I like the most about Forma Lms is the ease it provides in creating, maintaining, managing and sharing learning objects. The reporting and Gradebook feature is also very useful. Integrated skill management also helps in tracking and enables enhanced learning.

Cons:

The thing I like the least about Forma Lms is the UI part, which can be improved. Also, the onboarding experience can be improved and a manual could be provided.

FormaLms Response

3 years ago

Hi Bhavik, thanks for your review! We're about to release version 3.0 with some major improvements on the UI. Namely, a dashboard page and a refactoring of the LO views for learners and for admins. Concerning the manual, there is actually more than one. Please go to docs.formalms.org and you'll find reference guides and tutorials.

Marilena
Company Administrator in Italy
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use Forma Lms for several years, the experience is very satisfactory.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I was able to develop the online training business in my company, with great satisfaction!

Pros:

Forma Lms is simple, intuitive and designed for the corporate world so much more practical and intuitive to use than other open source LMS designed for the academic world. The new responsive version responds to a need that we have been waiting for a long time. Now we hope that developers continue to optimize the project more and more by following the suggestions of users who use the LMS daily

Cons:

More things I like about those I do not like about Forma Lms. The exchange of ideas with the team of developers in the forum is very active and above all reactive so even things that do not work now are always resolved within a reasonable time.

FormaLms Response

6 years ago

Thank you Marilena, your review makes us very proud of our product! The best part of the review is that thanks to Forma you could develop your business, that's one of the core reasons behind our project: the idea that if many people benefit from it, we'll benefit too. We will always do our best to improve Forma every day: stay tuned, important news are coming fast!

Mario
CIO in Italy
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent lms to manage courses

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been using Forma LMS for many years and I find it much simpler and more intuitive than the various competitors. It is reliable in reporting and easy in installation and configuration

Pros:

it is very intuitive and precise in reporting thanks to SCORM compatibility. Excellent support from large user base

Cons:

Integration with videoconferencing systems is limited as is the interface for selling courses

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Hi Mario, thanks for your review! We've added many more integrations for videoconferencing systems, and we also have a couple of integrations for ecommerce. You might want to check them out!

Regina
Business Development Specialist in Philippines
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful and Flexible Learning Management System

5.0 last year

Pros:

Branding, workflows, and connectors with other business tools can all be changed on the platform to suit the particular requirements of various enterprises. Business Development Experts can design training courses that complement the goals, values, and culture of their company because of its versatility.

Cons:

might need assistance with technical experts as it's a bit complex specially for firs time users.

Alessandro
Web Developer in Spain
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good way to learn

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A lot of fixes

Pros:

I think the gradebook system and courses management interface

Cons:

It is not a performing system (in 2022) as the code is poorly written and has many years with numerous developers

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Thank you Alessandro for your review.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly scalable open-source LMS.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS is an excellent LMS. The stocked features make management of course paths a breeze. I have been able to produce several courses for new interns in my department with great ease.

Pros:

The open source LMS is free! You can manage your multimedia and html pages from a central location. It automatically generates verifiable certificates upon completion of a course. Plenty of configurations and automation to make your courses as engaging as possible.

Cons:

I had a had time fully understanding how Forma LMS work but this was solved with time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

LMS of the Future

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma has been our preferred LMS to carry out all internal trainings within the company. While joining Actionet, I trained using the LMS and now as a senior engineer in the company, I am creating courses and trainings for new recruits.
The basic features of the LMS are easy to use and it gets better with every new version release.

Pros:

Forma has a modern design that fosters learners engagement. Creates custom reports of the trainings and courses for accountability Offers advanced customization of features to suit the user's needs.

Cons:

The software works really well although the company should improve on new users training. There's limited information sources on how to fully explore All Forma's features.

Nikhil
Nikhil
Assistant marketing manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Forma LMS is very productive

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good experience, Forma LMS is going very well. A totally recommendable product.

Pros:

. Worthy product . Easy to use . Very nice customer care support service . Provides computer-based training . Social learning platform . Safe, secure, and reliable . Attractive interface

Cons:

I have not found any major issue to dislike this tool. I m loving this.

Leah
Leah
Design Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Forma LMS Robust Open-source Learning Platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Manage blended courses and learning materials in one single integrated solution.

Pros:

It streamlines learning process in cloud by managing learning materials in one place. It integrates with video conferencing tools which makes it easy to create webinars.

Cons:

No missing capability nor overwhelming to integrate with external apps.

Naziwa
Communication Manager in Uganda
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Forma lms is my best eLearning platform

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with forma lms has been so good, it has a lot of amazing features as mentioned in the pros and many more, even the pricing is fair for small businesses.

Pros:

I can integrate forma lms with other video conferencing systems to create webinars and virtual classroom to conduct lessons. It allows me to manage classes and blended courses by creating endless editions of the same course with separate inscriptions and locations.

Cons:

Sometimes the online payment systems within forma lms are not so effective and they delay payment from learners who sometimes complain.

Mindy
Business Development Specialist in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

One of the most Comprehensive LMS

5.0 last year

Pros:

As one of the most recently used platform LMS, this has to be the most reliable tool we've ever had for quite sometime. Easy to keep track of the courses which is very advantageous to our internal teams/departments.

Cons:

Integration with different languages would be the best addition for this.

Damion
CFO in Jamaica
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Corp. Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's Easy to use and very intuitive. The interface also is simply to navigate

Cons:

At this point and cannot think of what about the system a like least.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Hi Damion, thanks for your nice review!

Samuel
Samuel
Financial Analyst in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MY Overall Experience with Forma LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Managing learning materials and enhancing corporate training as well as certification tracking in one place.

Pros:

Forma LMS offers built-in learning management system tools that accelerated implementation.

Cons:

All the LMS tools are handy and easy to use without outsourcing support.

Francesco
Ux Designer in UK
Design, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very good usability and really flexible tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good overall experience.

Pros:

As a user it's very easy to get accustomed to and lets you focus on the learning process. Very easy to manage certifications and keep track of the progress throughout the course, which turned out to be very advantageous to adapt to my own learning schedule.

Cons:

Would really like a dark mode available.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your excellent review!