15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Opigno LMS

Opigno® is a modern, open-source Drupal-based LMS for organizations that value security and sensitive data. Built for your objectives.

Learn more about Opigno LMS

Pros:

The ease of use, communication with the team, the team made themselves available even with the difference in time zones.

Cons:

Module creation for integrations with external technologies is difficult.

Opigno LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
4.1
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.6

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Opigno LMS has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 14 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Opigno LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14)

Adam
Global Content Manager in Switzerland
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We needed a flexible platform to support 90k employees.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We all love this LMS, its fits perfectly into our organization and training cultiure. We love that e could design the system to our vision and needs.

Pros:

We searched over 20 vendors and ran an RFP with 10 LMS providers. Opigno came out on top as it ticked all the boxes. We used Drupal for our website and searched for an LMS that was Drupal-based and on-premise for added data security. Opigno offered the security, flexibility, and scalability we needed. The user interface needed to be easy to use and an LMS that was easy to administrate. We feel we have complete control over the platform, and we are happy with the decision.

Cons:

Its an excellent LMS, a hidden gem not to be underestimated.

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Rene
Business Analyst in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nice All-in-one Tool

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Working with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and their team is a pleasure, they are always extremely responsive and eager to help with the software implementation. We're looking forward to the roadmap of Opigno 3 and eventually utilizing this tool in the app store as an app. My main concern/feedback is the admin user interface and switching between Drupal menus and Platon/Opigno interface to create and edit courses, groups, etc. If you do not have prior Drupal experience this scenario is a poor experience overall.

Pros:

Built-in reporting and integration with mainstream course content platforms to build courses such as H5P, scorm files and video files. Easy to build courses overall once you understand the way the system works.

Cons:

The admin user interface is a bit clunky between navigating the Drupal admin menu and the out-of-the-box Opigno/Platon interface. Very unclear when to use a course, class, learning path and benefits to each one (we originally built out the courses/classes incorrectly but realized too late so ended up having to reconfigure a few things to make it work). Reporting was great but integrating legacy user information could use some help overall so aggregate reporting is accurate if importing legacy users from other platforms. Developer costs to customize can make an affordable product extremely pricey. Offering a marketplace with pre-built themes that offer color and font customizations would help keep costs low for users who want a plug-and-play experience without large dev agency costs. Some teams would like to use Opigno as a marketing automation product with more personalization around weekly cadence of users starting at different weeks/pre-reqs and corresponding communications based on this personalization. This might be available but more workbooks/tutorials with setup could help utilize better. We might not be using a lot of cool features because lack of showcasing these options on Opigno demo sites.

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Thank you very much Rene for your sharing your review. Feel free to share any ideas with us or feedback.

Pat
Stationary Engineer in US
Government Relations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

No customer service? Nowhere to take tests or assessments

3.0 last month New

Comments: Poor so far. No help from Opigno resolving my issues.

Pros:

I haven't found anything I like about this service yet.

Cons:

I can't get past the first section as the test/assessment is not available.

Rudraksh
Head Technology in India
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Provides all features, which corporate requires. It is open source with no restrictions.

Cons:

Module creation for integrations with external technologies is difficult

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Dear Rudraksh, thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy you like the LMS. Many thanks.

Nicolai
Project Manager in Germany
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software out-ouf-the-box done by a great Team

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: As already mentioned above Opingo offer a great tool of functionality right out of the box, while working with Connect-i in order to implement own features feels really smooth. There is a little bit of a learning curve for Drupal, but I guess that´s due to the power of it.

Pros:

Open Source, Customizable, great Out-of-the-box Features, good UI/UX, relative easy to implement APIs

Cons:

None, since all the feature were developed according to our spec or customized, so not much use of "standard" features (even though they´re already quite good).

Connect-i Response

3 years ago

Dear Nicolai, many thanks for taking the time to leave a very positive review. This is very much appreciated.

Julia
VP of Networks in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Flexible with a Learning Curve

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been using online trainings hosted on our website that do not capture any data. With the onset of the pandemic our online training use sky rocketed and we needed to find a different platform to host our virtual asynchronous trainings. This seems to be the best platform for our needs.

Pros:

I love that we can design exactly what we need. The out of the box features of any LMS don't work for exactly how we need it to. Opigno has been flexible. We also have A LOT of user each year so we don't want to pay by users and this allows us to host the LMS.

Cons:

There is definitely a learning curve. Opigno has been wonderful in helping us but we have required training to understand exatly how to make it work for us.

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Hi Julia, Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy that the LMS training is going well. And we will ensure that the learning curve becomes easier. We are investing further into UX/UI to ensure this is implemented in future releases for the open-source version.

Nels
Senior Developer in US
Government Relations, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Meh.

2.0 2 years ago

Pros:

n/a. No "pros" about this software come to mind.

Cons:

Opigno's Drupal installation lags behind security releases by several months. Forces integration with another paid services. Learning Path Manager is too complex for our content managers.

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Dear Nels, Thank you for leaving a review. We would like to learn more about the challenges you are facing. We recommend buying a support pack so we can take a look and offer support. We look forward to learning more and supporting you. Best regards, Adam

Jerry
Lead Tech in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software has major issues

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: very bad - training required - went through the course states passed want provide certificate.

Cons:

6 Hours of flustration

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Hello Jerry, My apologies. I can see that you experienced some frustration with the Free version. Feel free to contact us to share any bugs (if any). You can purchase our support pack for development or training services. We can check if your instance was set up and configured correctly and offer training. However, most developers setting up Opigno and learning the platform has no issues and learn the platform quickly. For most users, Opigno is quite simple and easy to use, so I am unsure of the issues you are facing. Do get in touch so we can help you. Please remember this is an open-source platform made available freely. Much effort and resources are put into making it available to everyone for free. Best regards, Opigno Team

Katie
Scrum Master/ Project Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ease of Use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Solved the LMS MVP problem rather quickly and more strategy and thinking can be put into an optimized launch.

Pros:

The ease of use, communication with the team, the team made themselves available even with the difference in time zones.

Cons:

It would be nice if there was a how to doc created and shared with the team.

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Hi Katie, Many thanks for your review. We are glad you liked Opigno, and it was a pleasure working with you. We will certainly focus on creating a more detailed ''how-to'' documentation that can be shared with the team. I will also be creating some ''How-to'' videos on YouTube. Best wishes,

Dana Jane
council adviser in Philippines
Professional Training & Coaching, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Council management Training

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: still improving and exploring for learnings

Pros:

This platform was timely to the situation that could help transfer knowledge in a comprehensive way

Cons:

not enough knowledge on how to use and explore this platform

Connect-i Response

2 years ago

Hi Dana, Many thanks for the wonderful review. We really appreciate it. Have you seen the documentation on our website here: https://opigno.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/OUM3/overview Feel free to contact me with any questions or topics you are unsure about, and I'll prepare some videos for our YouTube channel addressing your questions in the near future. Best wishes,

Tina
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

OPIGNO Creates an elegant, easy to use, fully functional LMS - Thanks!

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: Pros:
Strengths: The Opigno Team - The team is very strong with support. Their goal is to make a simple, high quality free and customizable LMS....they have accomplished this goal!
Look - The look is clean and simple and refreshing. This is important because users need to be able to enjoy and feel comfortable looking at a page. Web pages can be so cluttered and often program pages can be so boring and sterile but the Opigno LMS is clean, sleek and refreshing to look at.
Functionality: The LMS functions easily. It is simple to use and because it can be customized the functionality can be made to meet any particular audience.
Cons:
Any cons I've run up against were able to be made into pros because the Opigno team has worked with me to make the LMS fit my audience's needs.

Connect-i Response

3 years ago

Hi Tina Many thanks for leaving your review and highlighting the service level of our service team. They are happy to see this. Best wishes, Opigno Team

Jeff
Director of Education Services in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great solution and Great Support

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: After an extensive vetting process to find an LMS that fit our needs internally for our staff and externally for our clients we chose Opigno. It has been the right choice. The level of customization along with an easy to implement out of the box solution has been perfect! Our staff finds it easy to navigate and enjoy tracking their professional development. The level of service has been AMAZING! As a software company i often share stories with my own staff as to the world class experience the Opigno team provides to me as the administrator. Kudos to a great solution that allows our company to deliver lessons and learning environments that speak to our students in an easy to understand format. Cheers!

Connect-i Response

3 years ago

Hi Jeff, Many thanks for leaving an exceptional review. We appreciate it immensely Best wishes, Opigno Team

Michael
Owner
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Our choice for Opigno Lms at Personal Trainers

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: Our company is specialized in fitness and sport training. We were looking for on online training platform, in order to provide our customers with online theoretical resources and activities, complementary to our coaching programs. We choosed Opigno because of the great interactivity possible between users, which was for us a mandatory prerequisite. We selected the cloud offer, which allowed us to get very quickly an operational platform, and because of its simplicity. This offer is very flexible and allows to readapt on a monthly basis the number of users, according to our new clients.

Connect-i Response

3 years ago

Hi Michael Many thanks for leaving your review and taking the time to share feedback with others. Really appreciated. Best wishes, Opigno Team

Amal
ICL & Networkng Specialist
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Opigno LMS @ ICL Education Group

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: We started using Opigno LMS to improve our standards of teaching and learning and it is working perfectly well for the moment. Also great customer service from the Opigno team special Axel who helped me to customize the interfaces. The only requirement that we really need and Opigno didn't had was the mobile app/s and I was informed that it is on development stage. Thank you Opigno Team...

Connect-i Response

3 years ago

Hi Amal Many thanks for leaving your review and highlighting the impact Opigno had on your organization. I am happy to say we have a white-label mobile app and a better version in May 2022 with offline training abilities. Best wishes, Opigno Team