15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

MetaCompliance Reviews

4.6 (34) Write a Review! United Kingdom Local product

About MetaCompliance

Drive real behaviour change with Security Awareness Training that gets employees to care.

Learn more about MetaCompliance

Pros:

I like being able to categorize the content making it easier for end user experience and also from a reporting perspective.

Cons:

Would like to see more upto date awareness videos of what is happening in the world, not just the usual Scams, Phishing etc. more variety in the Cyber world required.

MetaCompliance ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

MetaCompliance has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 34 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MetaCompliance before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (34)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

MetaPhish is a great platform for IT security work in user awareness

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: A great product, pleased we selected it.

Pros:

Really easy to launch quality Phishing tests to the business. Wide range of templates available. The platform makes it easy to set mandatory user training for any user that clicks on the Phishing email.

Cons:

There is nothing in the application that we do not like or find difficult to use.

Ashley
IT mgr in Ireland
Packaging & Containers, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great learning platform

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: This is a great platform to get you started teaching Cyber security. the videos are short, clear and the message is interesting to everyone.

Pros:

I liked the content characters and the way they got the massage across was visually pleasing.Some of the videos are based around current news events, and that is a really great way to tech the content.

Cons:

The campaign builder was difficult to get used to, for some reason i could never find the wider library when i needed it. I also used up most of the content inside 2 years. And im reluctant to reuse the same content.

Alternatives Considered: KnowBe4

Reasons for Choosing MetaCompliance: With teaching like this, i like to tech the same message over and over, but with different visuals and screen images

Switched From: Mimecast Awareness Training and KnowBe4

Reasons for Switching to MetaCompliance: Metacompliance was a great place to start

Fiona
Lead IT Business Analyst in Ireland
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A useful tool, though has it's limitations

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's a useful tool but if you are not using the admin console on a regular basis then it becomes time consuming as you need to refamiliarize yourself each time - it is not intuitive or obvious how to upload a document or course.

Pros:

I like being able to categorize the content making it easier for end user experience and also from a reporting perspective.

Cons:

When it comes to uploading a SCORM course, the user has to select "EXIT" (and not just close the screen) in order for the reporting / status of completion to update - this is regularly not done right by user resulting in inaccurate audits, and a lot of manual review drilling into "Adoption".

Vincenzo
Data Protection Officer in UK
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Generally good - cost effective, with a responsive support team.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's pretty good but there seem to be a lot of missed tricks. Some of the reporting functions are clunky.

Pros:

The policies feature is pretty good and the more recent developments. Fusion courses which allows mix and matching of the better out of the box content with our own.

Cons:

Older out of the box courses are dull and feature computerised narration that often emphasises the wrong word or pauses in the wrong places - and this undermines the ability for users to get the main point. Out of the box quizes - some of the wrong/right answers are arbitrary and seem designed to catch people out rather than educate. It would be useful if the answers to the questions could be amended. Policy/Course Adoption Reporting functions: data exports don't include the name of the course or policy the report relates to. Can only target courses/policies at OU level or manually-created circulation lists that must be manually maintained. Our OUs are based on physical location rather than department. but the software clearly pulls through the department name from our AD. But it doesn't allow targetting based on department name. Seems to be a missed trick. Automated reminders should be possible to an individual's manager, not just the targetted individual AD sync always seems to be cuasing problems resulting in account issues, policies not being targetted at new users etc. Overall compliance pie charts include all policies/training including the optional ones. Not useful if you have a number of information-only policies in the system. Would be better to have an overall status on mandatory policies as these are the ones that need to be reported on for compliance. Uncompliant user reports only contain people that have recieved all of the reminders.

Stephen
Information Governance and IT Projects Manager in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Policy Compliance made easy!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We* have been using Metacompliance for 3 years now to raise awareness of the organisation's key policies. Before this time we were reliant on staff searching for and reading policies on our intranet site without really knowing whether they had done so. Metacompliance has been hugely important for us to be able to be able to ensure that staff are aware of policies and also to also produce assurances for our regulators and in line with assurance frameworks such as CQC, Information Commissioners Office and Information Governance Toolkit.
The team at Metacompliance have been very responsive with regards to any problems or issues we have encountered along the way, resolving them quickly. There is always a friendly and calm voice at the end of the phone when contacting for help, advice and to raise any issues. Any issues are dealt with promptly and efficiently and the team always help us to identify solutions to any problems discovered. The main issue we have encountered in the past is around our Active directory integration and targeting policies to new starters.
We are now in the process of implementing the MyCompliance portal alongside Metacompliance to publish our full suite of Policies and are experiencing the same helpful and prompt service from the team that we have been used to.
* Provide are a Community Interest Company (CIC) that delivers NHS & local Authority Community services across East Anglia

Pros:

Ease of use, excellent customer service, fast results in gaining compliance

Cons:

The admin console is a little dated and could do with updating.

Steve
Group Privacy and Information Security Officer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Modern, intuitive security product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great company that has been very willing to engage with us and strives for excellent customer service. The product is flexible and simple to manage via the browser based interface.

Pros:

The product allows us to easily create and deploy phish tests to our global user base. Each phish can be highly customised and delivered from numerous domains to provide very realistic attacks. Tracking and tracing which users have been phished is simple and delivery of educational material possible straight from the clicked site.

Cons:

Wold like to see more advanced reporting available within the tool but it is easy to extract the base data and build reports outside the system.

Simon
IT Team Leader in UK
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Service

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have been very impressed by the support that I received from MetaCompliance. They responded quickly to my initial query, understood the position, and pitched a perfect presentation as to how the product can be used. This was followed by excellent information and installation support. They grasped our situation quickly and provided exactly the right response. Communication, both written and verbal was easy and clear. I wish that all our software suppliers were as helpful and efficient as MetaCompliance. I would not hesitate to recommend MetaCompliance. I always prefer to write in praise rather than criticism, and am pleased to be provided with this opportunity.

Derren
Director of IT and Comms in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Used for policy management and raising GDPR awareness

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Policy awareness and forced compliance across 1,000 users. Posters on a variety of issues, e.g. Data Protection, Phishing and SPAM. Ability to integrate with e-Learning system to use one product for policy approval and training.

Pros:

It's easy to deploy. As it can utilise Active Directory, you can target users by AD alone and therefore don't have to recreate user groups. It works also with Citrix. The simplicity of the user interface means that client compatibility issues are kept to a minimum. Features such as glassing the desktop and the ability to ask multiple-choice questions allow you to have quite a lot of control over critical policies within your organisation. The support team are generally excellent, and there are additional resources to support awareness and compliance campaigns, such as posters and videos. MyCompliance allows policies to be accessed securely from the cloud, and thus supports mobile working. We're currently investigating how we can use this to have new starters approve policies without sending them documents through the post.

Cons:

The admin interface is dated now and would benefit from a makeover. Policies are rendered locally, so you will need PDF or Word software on a PC if the policy is delivered in those formats. Reporting could also do with a makeover, although the essential reports are there.

Arsalan
Information Security Analyst in UK
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent for phishing and security awareness

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Really pleased with the service, expert advice, content and ease of use.

Pros:

It enabled me to create phishing campaigns from scratch from the get go. Having no previous experience, it was really impressive that I was able create effective campaigns with relative ease. Having the ability to create and launch the campaigns as often as we like was tremendous offering. The learning and development contents are updated on regular basis and there is tonne of videos, blogs etc. to share with employees. Above all is the support we have received from the very Knowledgeable staff members. I have spoken to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] on many occasions and she been incredible helpful to resolve the issues and to educate throughout this process.

Cons:

There is nothing really I can think of, I have been using it for over 1.5 years and haven't had any issues.

Holly
Assistant Code of Practice Manager in UK
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Metacompliance review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The experience has been great and really cut down time for us to communicate to everyone needed.

Pros:

The creation of policies and the ability to release them is very simple and easy to do. The ability to communicate to many users at once and keep a library has been vital for us.

Cons:

The feature that I find hardest to use for our purpose is loading of users and connecting them to user groups straight away.

Jonathan
Inforamation Security Specialist in
Utilities, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product and customer support

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great product with even better customer support. Thank to all the team at Metacompliance.

Pros:

Software provides the reporting that we need to support our Information Security and Awareness Program. The setup and support for this product is what makes this even more attractive, as the team go above and beyond to answer any queries and look for value add. The tool aids with not only simulating phishing but as an education to users after they have actioned the email.

Cons:

Areas that could be added to this are the report phish button, although this is due to be added in the near term.

Laura
Information Security Officer in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As previously stated.

Pros:

Easy to set up, great customer service and account management, ability to use own Policies and upload content, Phishing element is great, lots of content available. Fantastic.

Cons:

Missing features are you can't remove old users from the system or the auditing functionality, users stay on forever. Would like to see more upto date awareness videos of what is happening in the world, not just the usual Scams, Phishing etc. more variety in the Cyber world required.

Paul
DPO in Ireland
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Metacompliance and CIE

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: its overall been very positive and has assisted greatly in demonstarting our compliance to the board.

Pros:

As an administrator I like the ability to send weekly automatic reminder mails to staff members on the content they have yet to complete, I like the look and feel of the home page for regular users and the ease at which they can find their content. I also like the ability to customise bith the interface and the emails.

Cons:

the reporting is poor at best, it badly needs the ability to offer more depth to the reports but als the ability to export data from the platform (automatically ) to a reporting platform is lacking.

Ryan
Corporate Information Security Officer in UK
Government Relations, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A fantastic product and fantastic customer service.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have been longstanding customers of MetaCompliance and implemented MetaPhish in 2017. The solution was easy to implement and we had initial, and also ongoing, support from MetaCompliance to ensure we are getting the most out of the solution. It has already helped to raise so much awareness amongst our user base in terms of how to identify a Phishing scam. The learning experiences are also really helpful in raising awareness.

Pros:

The software is easy to use and provides a comprehensive Phishing simulating solution in order for organisations to raise awareness amongst their user base. The solution is always being updated and improved and MetaCompliance always consult with their customers about how they feel the system can be improved.

Cons:

There is nothing that I don't like about this software - it has been a fantastic solution for us to implement within our organisation.

Jennifer
IT ServiceDesk Manager in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Hugely Useful Resource With Excellent Customer Service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Thanks to this product our users are able to easily understand the threats around cyber security. The tool itself is easy to use, always up to date with current themes, and the support is fantastic for any questions or ideas, and ways to help improve efficiency with the product. If anything, they make you feel as you're part of the overall team and we are very happy with this service and product.

Pros:

How effective it is at getting essential messages about security across to people in a really simple way. The templates and content provided are always up to date, relatable, and explain easily the topic at hand to make it simple and clear to end users. The support team are fantastic too for any questions you might have.

Cons:

There is nothing that we dislike about the software!

Darragh
IT Operations Manager in Ireland
Military, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Metacompliance Advantage

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Also used for displaying notices to end users, such as alerting them about upcoming service downtime, etc.

Pros:

Great product for managing policies within an organisation. Very easy to set up and deploy. Fantastic customer service and follow up. Highly recommended for anyone looking to manage policies and have them displayed to end users who can then approve them.

Cons:

No major downsides to the software. It can take a bit of time to understand how to issue a policy for the first time but after doing it once or twice it becomes very straightforward.

Geoff
Information Security Analyst in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Metacompliance Advantage

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: We have used Metacompliance do distribute a rage of business policies and in particular information security policies to thousands of users across multiple sites. Using Metacompliance has saved us a lot of time and a lot of paper as we have largely been able to dispense with the old manual system. One of the key requirements for us was a strong audit trail of acceptance and the ability to lock users out if they don't accept our policies and Metacompliance does both of those things very well! Good things about Metacompliance
Simple and straight forward to administer
Strong audit trail
Lock out users who won't accept our policies - with a custom snooze period
Excellent responsive support
Things that could be better
The reporting is basic in the version we have
The admin console now looks a little outdated compared to newer products

Chris
Chris
Compliance & Inclusion Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of few products on the market for GDPR and Information Security

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Good customer service and are able to answer my questions promptly.

Pros:

The phishing and learning elements of Meta Compliance are great.

Cons:

Building DPIAs and reasons for processing database which we use it for is clunky but effective.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

MetaLearning review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Good addition to the MetaCompliance Suite, easy to use and of great benefit to new MetaCompliance Admin users

Pros:

Covers a wide range of topics relevant to MetaCompliance day to day usage. Videos are well paced and easy to follow/understand. Like the fact that videos can be paused to follow at your own pace.

Cons:

The Background music could be set to optional as it can get distracting after watching a few videos

David
Workforce Development Manager in UK
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

eLearning that works

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It was great to find eLearning that has moved on so far from "click and drag". The support of the team at MetaComplianace to introduce and manage it was exceptional.

Pros:

The individual sections are well designed and engaging. What I like most is that the company can create their own course/campaign using the sessions provided into a bespoke course. This has been really well received by colleagues. The phishing email has been a great eye opener for the business and a superb benchmark to see the impact of the overall MetaCompliance package.

Cons:

There is very little not to like with this software, once or twice we have had issues with our own security blocking the MetaCompliance, but this has been resolved.

Daniel
ISO in Malta
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

MetaLearning Review within MetaCompliance bundle

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Once again, customer support was very good.

Pros:

The quality of the videos are very good and effective. The nano learning, although very short are very informative and interesting for all types of users

Cons:

Although there is now the functionality to notify users of passing or failing survey, there is no (easy to use) resit option. That would be very useful.

Brian
Service Delivery in Ireland
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very positive and the support from the staff has been excellent.

Pros:

The platform has brought security awareness to our staff which they lacked hugely and as a result has reduced our data loss and strengthened our email security.

Cons:

After not logging into the platform it can take a while to get familiar again with setting up a campaign.

Peter
Information Governance Manager in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Metacompliance - Somerset CC

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Metacompliance has proved an invaluable tool in distributing information security policy across our 4,500 users. We have been able to circulate our key policies, including small questionnaires, to raise awareness and prove compliance for PSN, IGToolkit and for employee disciplinary hearings. The policies were easy to design and set up using PDF documentation, the only issue we had was that our Active Directory did not align well with the standard set up and required some work to get policies to all users. Support from the Metacompliance team has been excellent throughout implementation and the subsequent 2 years.

Michael
Information Manager in UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

MetaCompliance - making user awareness easy and robust!

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: We've been using MetaCompliance for a number of years. It is a great product that helps us develop the assurance of our many staff across different sites. It has helped us signficantly in achieving compliance against information security related standards such as Public Services Network and Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard, but has evolved to inlcude wider business areas such as Safeguarding and Finance. Above all, the great factors of MetaCompliance are its ease of use, and the customer service provided. No matter what the issue, it will be looked at immediately and fixed as soon as possible.

Marc
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

MetaCompliance

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros '
' Simple interface
' linked to AD so always up to date.
' Great support team
' Easy to create target groups
' Easy to create and manage policy's
' Compliance guaranteed
Cons '
' slow development cycle ' where we want to use the system to do things that have not been considered changes cannot be made quickly i.e. delay of deployment only available in hourly increments.
' Some bugs with first version of agent where policies did not appear. Resolution was a manual process and was time consuming to identify and resolve.
Overall Impression ' A good system, easy to use. Needs development.