15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Accounting Seed Reviews

About Accounting Seed

Accounting Seed is the #1 accounting solution built on Salesforce. Streamline the back-office with all of your data in one place.

Learn more about Accounting Seed

Pros:

Because it is small, the CEO often provides customer support. It overlays onto SalesForce (more or less).

Cons:

Customisation for the currency format is limited only shows dollar sign.

Accounting Seed ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Accounting Seed has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 125 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Accounting Seed before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (125)

David
David
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Integration with Salesforce

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I'm so glad we chose Accounting Seed. If you like Salesforce, it "just feels right" and is quite intuitive. Very easy to customize, and to run reports with additional info already in Salesforce. Customer support has always been helpful.

Pros:

I love the native integration with Salesforce. This allows us to easily create reports with information about our accounts that are unrelated to a traditional accounting software. Having a central source of truth of all Account information, and that source being Salesforce, makes operations and financial reporting a breeze.

Cons:

"Bank Direct Connect" process to import transactions from our bank account can be glitchy and buggy and at times have caused us many extra hours of work and caused us to delay our monthly close.

Andersen
Business Analysis in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

HIG Capital Backing Moving Accounting Seed to the Next Level

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been working on the Salesforce platform for 17 years and with Accounting Seed for 10 years in accounting for my Legal Funding, Real Estate Rental and Professional Services businesses. It is the ability to leverage the strength of the Salesforce platform that makes the experience strong and the HIG Capital investment and Partner environment that makes the future look stronger.

Pros:

In 2021 HIG Capital made a majority investment in Accounting Seed that is moving this native Salesforce application to the next level. This investment has allowed the organization to move beyond an excellent leveraging of the Salesforce object architecture to add the competitive functionality of their more mature enterprise competitors such as Sage Intacct and Oracle Netsuite. Newly release features include Multi-Ledger Consolidation with Elimination Entries, further advancements in reporting. Focusing on the importance of the partner channel has brought much needed integration with Bill.com, Partner Portals and applications. Project Accounting is also been made stronger through a Project Management platform developed by the partner community.

Cons:

The Accounting Seed Orders and Entry do not add up to the functionality required in an enterprise resource planning application. One needs to use an outside partner integrated application such as Legendary Supply Chain. The budgeting and commission functionality could still be improved although several partners are stepping up in this area as well.

Lori
Office Manager in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Support

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've had issues on and off using the program since going live in January 2019, however, AccountingSeed Customer Support has helped us through all of those issues. They've even done some customization for us as a courtesy. I've been working on a custom template (with Conga) for months now and the fields I need on the form were not available to us. CSR with AccountingSeed helped me today with these custom fields; he added them as a courtesy and also sent me a video on how he did this. VERY helpful to have in the future.

Pros:

My favorite feature is being able to Clone repeat transactions; vendor invoices and journal entries. The Bank Reconciliation is a breeze. Submitting a Ticket for assistance is very convenient. I get an email within a few hours with a solution.

Cons:

My least favorite features are the Financial Reports and AccountingSeed-created Forms. The reports we run are very different than what AccountingSeed offers. We've found a way to make it work by exporting to Excel, updating fields, adding/deleting, etc. Another feature is the various forms that AccountingSeed created for us; Purchase Order, Packing List and Billing. When we first started using AccountingSeed we found out they didn't have Sales Orders (order confirmations). We had to purchase another App (Conga) who created the Sales Order form for us. I'm currently working on a new Purchase Order template with Conga. The issue I have with the Billing form is that is says Billing. A lot of our customers comment, asking for the Invoice number. It's just a terminology issue; billing vs invoice. We will be creating our own Invoice template with Conga as well.

Rickey
Director of International Operations in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting Software built into SalesForce

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We needed a system that integrated with our contacts and programs. We wanted to be able to see what programs a donor had given to along with financial data for those programs. With Accounting Seed working inside SalesForce, all our data, across all departments, is in one place can easily be linked, integrated, displayed, and reported. This allows us to better serve our constituents with accurate data immediately at our fingers via desktop or mobile apps with access anywhere in the world.

Pros:

Accounting Seed works splendidly inside SalesForce. You get all the advantages of a product that integrates with all your SalesForce data. No need for imports or exports. Everything is in one place. Employees learn one system and they can work all across the organization. The availability of multi-levels of security allows you to tailor applications to the appropriate person, department, or team. Internal control features and audit trails are securely automated. Backing up your data is simple with just a few clicks. Project managment allow each project to act almost like its own company and integrates well with any other Salesforce data.

Cons:

I would like to see more preformatted reports. There are a few in the system but I suspect there could be more that could print directly from the system in a more presentable format. All reports can be exported to Excel. This allows those that know Excel to manipulate the data as only Excel can do. That is nice but requires extra effort to format the data.

Jane
Accounting Specialist in US
Biotechnology, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AccountingSeed Review

5.0 last year

Comments: I have relied upon AccountingSeed support quite heavily. If I research what I need on their great website, and then concisely ask finish questions, I have great responses and I have had tremendous help that I have heavily relied upon throughout the three years of using AccountingSeed.

Pros:

The robustness of the software is admirable. Once it is understood, the details of all transactions are right there. The really great feature is that our sales department can help with the data entry and timing of the billings.

Cons:

It is not really a fault of the software, but I didn't have any training on reporting. The reporting is robust but I feel because of its flexibility, it is crucial to have up front training in order to know how to obtain the information needed.

Peter
President in US
Insurance, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Serious software for any business that needs and wants a comprehensive accounting system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very pleased with working with team at AS. I marvel at how they cross from one industry to another with skill. Insurance accounting is very different from traditional accounting systems and i am impressed with how well AS has handled learning and growing in our vertical.

Pros:

One we figure out the workflows and nuances with Accountingseed (AS), it is a pleasure to work with. The speed of the software is fast and AS is on top of regular updates to add important and necessary features. We have been a user of AS now for 3 years

Cons:

Updates are not always pretty and could be better tested however AS is not deaf to any problems that result from updates or patches

Shawn
Controller in US
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Worth the money

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We chose this product for it's ability to integrate with Salesforce. A few extra steps here or there, but overall it is a great product. Other products for our industry are dated and not intuitive. Accounting Seed has a great appearance and functionality.

Cons:

This product is not ready for the insurance industry.

Greg
CFO in Canada
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Aquatic Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Implementation and templates provided made the process straight forward. Because it is integrated with SaleForce, we can use the data loader to accomplish mass entries as needed. The system is fairly intuitive in nature.

Cons:

Our fiscal year ends in November and when we export financial reports, it always mislabels the months to a calendar year. Having to manually post transactions wastes time. There is not a lot of ability to customize financial reports. It is next to impossible to speak to someone live on the Support Team. The ability to talk to someone live about customer service and payment issues does not exist.

Andrea
VP Finance in US
Insurance, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Honest opinion

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I feel that we are still in the learning phase. Month end reporting could be made a little easier for payables and accounts receivables. Other than that, works great.

Pros:

Bank Connect, Cloning payable lines and journal entries. I think that is one of the best features.

Cons:

Payment processing in Accounts Payable. Only having one general ledger account options for various payable components, vendors, insurance companies, producers, all falls under the same account number .

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Senior Director Of Digital Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Accounting seed - easy to use and some things to improve

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Accounting seed has a very good integration with Salesforce, this is a great advantage. The API and automation features translate all of our business transactions into our ledgers, all without coding.

Pros:

What I especially like about Accounting Seed is its customization options that align perfectly with our specific needs, the platform easily connects with banks and other financial institutions, making management easier, what I like most is its scalability and flexibility, which prepare our accounting processes for the future. Even for those on our team who are not accounting professionals, the platform is easy to navigate and use.

Cons:

Something that is difficult at first is connecting the banks with the platform, it is not that easy, you have to try many times since it does not always synchronize the first time. Another weak point they have is customer support, the process is not easy, they take time to respond and once they respond, resolving a problem with the platform takes time.

Eric
Accountant in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Midway between QB and NS

4.0 last year

Comments: As a less common system, expect a heavy lift in time and cost for implementation and training. Be prepared to push back when your external support says "that can't be done." Whatever you're trying to push the system to do probably can be done, if you can find someone who's able to figure out how. If you have other SFDC-resident packages, you can probably get them to integrate, but expect to spend big for the custom flows that will be necessary. I wouldn't recommend for orgs any less than 50 employees, but for a growing mid-size company that's not ready for NS or SAP, this is a solid choice that scales well.

Pros:

Lives on top of Salesforce, makes for seamless integration with CPQ or other SFDC based packages. Reporting is fairly intuitive for those with SFDC or other cloud ERP exposure. Easy to implement and handle multiple ledgers, departments, cost centers, etc.

Cons:

Difficult to make adjustments or changes, or troubleshoot errors, without expensive external support or a seasoned internal admin. AR doesn't include unapplied cash from customers, adding significant overhead to generating accurate agings and statements. Accounting periods and transaction dates aren't locked in sync, which can throw off balances depending on how a report is run.

Accounting Seed Response

last year

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with Accounting Seed. We greatly appreciate it. We'd love to connect with you further on some of the items relating to troubleshooting errors, unapplied cash, accounting periods, and more to help you make the most of your Accounting Seed instance. Please contact us at [email protected] to set up a call to discuss your needs further. We look forward to connecting with you!

Donna
Accounting Manager in US
Machinery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting Seed Opinions

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Our company has a small amount of employees who all work from home. Accounting Seed is great because it allows all of us to have immediate access to the data and information at all times, and is much more powerful and customizable than QBO. And of course the integration with Salesforce goes without saying -everything is in one place. It is so simple to close an Opportunity, and create a Purchase Order and everything that follows with just a few clicks of some buttons.

Cons:

Some features are very complicated and tedious to set-up and implement, like customizing Financial Reports and setting up a Budget for example. The Knowledge Base is helpful to a point, but doesn't seem straight forward at times. Also, the cost per user is too high. We are paying for the convenience of having everything in the cloud rather than the value of the actual product.

Accounting Seed Response

5 years ago

Hi, Donna. Thank you so much for your review of Accounting Seed. We always appreciate the feedback from our customers. I'm glad to hear you have found value in Accounting Seed and our native connection to Salesforce. Regarding setting up budgets and customizing reports, these tasks can certainly take time. I'd be happy to connect you with a product consultant if you would like any assistance or direction. Please feel free to reach out to me at [email protected] or 443.825.0646. Happy to help ensure your success with Accounting Seed! Best, Shannon Cochran

William
Sys Admin in US
Computer Hardware, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Using this within Salesforce reaps huge reward. We can work together with our team spread far and wide!

Pros:

The Team is amazing and well versed, a pleasure to work with. Being in DF means access to everything from anywhere!

Cons:

The rate of change is touted as a benefit, but in reality is a bug. When your team complains about each new version, you know you have a problem. Multiple releases per year disrupt our org. Opting out is received negatively, and the belief that an org our size can have our team Beta Testing new releases in our sandbox several times a year indicated an unfamiliarity with our work loads. I hope they can stabilize the product and get to a maximum of a large yearly release, because the current "Improvements" are quite disruptive. That being said, I hope they prosper, because the software offers great promise, and a real shot at being the defacto standard for on system accounting in a Salesforce environment.

Pedro T
CIO in US
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Core Accounting Software for Salesforce Platform

5.0 last year

Pros:

Seamless integration with Salesforce Sales Cloud and Service Cloud.Same look and field as SalesforceEasy to deploy and to perform enhancementsCovers all the fundamental requirements of SMBs including, but not limited to Recurring Billing

Cons:

The slow release of new and value-added enhancements of features and functions that customers are craving, the limited out-of-the-box integration with vital entities to be able to automate accounting processes such as cash applications, and the lack of a seamless out-of-the-box integration with different Banks to ingest customer payments. Although I must say that they are becoming more and more proactive about filling in gaps and responding to popular customer requests.

Brian
CFO in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good value, doesn't scale well

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The integration with SF and our TMS is great, its fantastic to have all order information linked to the accounting objects. Reporting is great as well, that is mostly a SF feature.

Cons:

The inability to send ACH payments out of the box was a huge piece for us. I was referred to Check21 which was ridiculously expensive. Also cash application takes too long if you have a customer that has x number of invoices. Some of our larger accounts have more than 2000 invoices open at a given time. Paging through screens takes a very long time. Seems like we have outgrown AS's sweet spot of transactions. In addition daily billing/payable posting takes a long time, (exceeding lines). Bank rec gets split into multiple recs due to 4k item limit.

Rusty
CFO in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Customer Service

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Salesforce automation is great and they respond quickly to any issues.

Cons:

As anything in the Salesforce universe, it feels like we are not taking advantage of all the capabilities of the software.

Danielle
Office Manager in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting Seed Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Accounting seed is a very user friendly software

Cons:

It would be nice to have the ability to have a 13th month for accounting

Yarelis
Corporate Accountant in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software, meets needs for most mid sized company

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, not overly complicated. Most features are easy to find.

Cons:

Lightning has slowed things down significantly.

Stefanie
Lead Business Systems Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Introduced to AS 10 Months Ago and already feel like a pro using it

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We work with smaller clients often in the Manufacturing world. It was very easy for me to come up to speed and be able to train and assist our clients.

Pros:

I had never heard of Accounting Seed until October 2021. I was also new to Salesforece at that time. Accounting Seed integrates so well with Salesforce that I didn't even realize I was using 2 different platforms at first. Additionally it's highly customizeable but even works well when it's fresh "out of the box". I've even worked with ERP's that use Salesforce and have their own Accounting tools and Accounting Seed is easily integrated with the ERP.

Cons:

The biggest thing our client's have confusion on is the Bank Direct Connect and Bank Reconciliation process. BDC is there to help make reconciliations easier, however, many believe that they must be able to match up all BDC records in order for reconciliations to work.

Victor
Excellence and Quality Manager in Colombia
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AS make our financial lifes easier

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've been using AS over 4 years already and it has been an amazing tool for our company, fast, information on hands 24/7 and it allows to audit any financial record we want.

Pros:

The most I like is how easy it is to use, it is simple and matches most of our accounting requirements, specially since it is built in salesforce and you might integrate it with anything.

Cons:

Sometimes support limites to go to web, even when instrucions on web are great, you might require extra hand to tackle some doubts

Dorothy
Bookkeeper in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worth the time to get it right

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's been a learning curve but the improvements have kept up with our needs and we are able to utilize more features as they become more user friendly.

Pros:

The reports feature is highly customizable and flexible to create the data report exactly as you need it.

Cons:

The search feature in Lighting is cumbersome; selection check boxes are way too tiny; spreading out data rows across the whole page make reading reports difficult, and when screen is shrunk the data cuts off.

Althea
Data Analyst in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customer Support is great

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: My experience with Support has been great, they have been very helpful.

Pros:

Customer Support is great. I get assistance quickly. Reporting is very useful.

Cons:

Knowledgebase can be more user-friendly, especially for the Org Admin who has less experience with Accounting. Would also be helpful to not have a lot of Page Layouts, Apex, etc off limits for customization.

Josh
Owner in US
Business Supplies & Equipment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting Seed for Salesforce

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good overall experience, allowed us to run our entire org inside of Salesforce. Helpful support.

Pros:

Completely integrated Salesforce accounting software including quote to invoice, inventory, sales orders, gl, etc. Robust native Salesforce solution.

Cons:

Can be excessive button clicks at times for simple tasks. Requires a fair bit of optimization and process creation to increase efficiency.

Howard
Managing Partner in US
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Scalable and stable

5.0 last year

Comments: Used for Trust Accounting

Pros:

The killer feature is the integration with Salesforce

Cons:

Requires a high degree of customization. You must be prepared for considerable costs.

Adrian
VP of Technology in US
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Once you get it set up how you want it, it's a fantastic accounting system.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, AS is a good salesforce-native account software.

Pros:

How powerful it is and what all it can accomplish. It's been able to completely handle all of our accounting needs in Salesforce.

Cons:

Their support can be hard to deal with some times. There have been times that the support took so long to respond back that the issue became worse or never resolved.