Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Cin7

Cin7 is a highly configurable inventory and order management solution for scaling product sellers.

Learn more about Cin7

Showing 448 reviews

Sean S.
Sean S.
Owner & IT Manager in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Extremely powerful inventory and order processing and logistic package

4 2 years ago

Comments: While challenging to learn and deploy, it's unique feature set and capabilities mean they don't have any one direct competitor and you'd have to piece together multiple platform and cloud services to get the same level of features and functionality.

Pros:

Cin7 has allowed us to integrate and resolve most of our order processing, logistics, inventory and accounting functions into one platform. The API integration into Xero is critical for our business. The reporting capabilities are very powerful and can be used to resolve a number of sales, inventory and regulatory reporting requirements. There really isn't any product on the market that rolls all these features into one package.

Cons:

The price is very expensive and the learning curve is quite steep. The CRM functions are pretty light and need fleshing out. Of most concern were the surprisingly large number of bugs and errors in the reports. Support has been responsive and fixed most issues we have discovered in a timely fashion, but it has been surprising how many bugs we have identified and had to report. This left us feeling like we were paying to be a beta tester. As time goes on and the product matures, this should become less of an issue and I don't consider it a deal breaker, but Cin7 could really improve in this area.

Alternatives Considered: Unleashed

Reasons for Choosing Cin7: Other platforms lacked full cloud and API support into accounting software.

Switched From: osCommerce Online Merchant

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: Unleashed is great for just inventory, but it didn't offer the same level of features we require.

Cin7 Response

2 years ago

Hi Sean, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found value in our software system and support team. We will share your feedback with the product team, as we are always looking for improvements.

Keah K.
Co-Founder in US
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best omnichannel inventory and order management system we've found

5 7 months ago

Comments: We're very happy with Cin7 overall. We were ready to graduate from a simpler inventory and order management system that didn't support our manufacturing processes and had no integration with our accounting software. Cin7 has thankfully done the trick. If we hadn't found Cin7, we likely would've had to go with NetSuite or something like that, which is both significantly more costly and more complicated to integrate. I would highly recommend Cin7 for businesses with multiple sales channels and relatively straightforward sourcing/manufacturing processes.

Pros:

- Supports B2B and B2C channels well, including integrated sales channels (Shopify, BigCommerce, multiple Amazon marketplaces, etc.), manual order entry, and EDI. - Accurate inventory management across multiple warehouses and sales channels. - FIFO inventory and manufacturing cost tracking from raw goods through processing/assembly and finished inventory. - Supportive, knowledgeable staff to help with scoping, implementation, and rollout.

Cons:

- Account manager/implementation reps are attentive and helpful, but when something has to get escalated to Support, they are at times slow to respond and address issues. However, they are thankfully quick if something is urgent and business-critical. - There are a lot of details to learn how to use the software correctly, and unfortunately there is not a great way to learn these best practices. There are video training resources, but they rarely address the special situations that seem to emerge often in a system that is trying to manage so much complexity. For a business with channel complexity like ours, this means it takes a lot of trial and error to establish best practices in Cin7 and then to get the data flowing correctly between Cin7 and our accounting software (Xero). - EDI integrations have taken longer than we expected because the support team is backed up.

Alternatives Considered: NetSuite

Reasons for Choosing Cin7: Stitch Labs was being discontinued and our business was ready for a more sophisticated solution.

Switched From: Stitch Labs

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: Better value for the functionality we needed.

Cin7 Response

7 months ago

Hi Keah, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. They really help us to make our software and service better for you and other customers! It's great to know you've been enjoying the features Cin7 has to offer. As for some of the cons you've listed, we definitely understand those difficulties and can assure you that we're working on each and every one of them. Our training is being consistently improved in order to help our customers, and give you a great working knowledge of our product. We do appreciate your patience and understanding when it comes to our support. Cin7 is always growing and so is our support capability! I hope our software manages to exceed your business expectations all the same. We're always happy to hear and take on your feedback. Thank you for being a Cin7 customer, Keah! Warmest Regards, Erin (Marketing Team)

Iliano C.
Owner/Director in Australia
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Overall good - relatively steep learning curve but manageable

4 last year

Comments: We used excel spreadsheets to track orders from multiple sales channels (Shopify, email, phone, Instagram, messages etc). We manually entered every single Shopify invoice into Xero AND onto our spreadsheet.
We then manually entered every single tracking number onto our spreadsheet too AND into Shopify.
This was all fine when we had 1 or 2 employees and doing 100 or 200 sales per month.
Now at 1000+ sales per month and growing, we needed a way to automate this process. We looked at Cin7 and 2 other similar software for Inventory management and decided this was the best. We are paying extra to have this custom integrated into our 3PL warehouse so orders will be automatically sent for picking and tracking numbers etc will automatically flow back. Currently we're still a couple of weeks away from the integration being finalised so we are still manually bulk exporting orders to the warehouse. However all Shopify invoices are automatically imported into Cin7 and then flow into Xero.
My advice would be to dedicate 1 (if possible 2) people to the implementation. Do the training vidoes and then when you are ready to 'Go Live' make sure you have 2 or 3 days clear as you will need it to get up to speed and get comfortable.

Pros:

To switch Cin7 on was relatively easy. Once we went live with it, it all works quite well, it's just a matter of learning how it differs to the software we used previously. Support when going live is good, i had pages of questions over several days, all of which have been answered.

Cons:

There are still manual processes required when it comes to Xero however the time savings and automation are obivous.

Alternatives Considered: Unleashed and QuickBooks Commerce

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: I felt Cin7 had better sales and support processes and was a more 'comprehensive' package. Plus their 3PL integration is custom made for you (at a cost of course).

Cin7 Response

12 months ago

Hi IIiano, Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to know our software and support have met your business expectations. Thank you for being a Cin7 customer! Sincerely, Erin (Marketing Team)

Peter R.
Past General Manager/ Board Member in Australia
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Maxlight Cin7 Integration

5 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Cin7 meets the needs of our Business, we have used this platform across 5 different businesses.
Our knowledge will continue to grow on how to best operate Cin7.
We signed up for premium support to assist with API integration for another part of the business group which was very successful

Pros:

As a project based business we have found Cin7 simple to setup and run while providing us the tools to manage the business, it has direct integration with Xero our accounting software. We can track and import product, warehouse locally and remotely, control purchase orders, sales order and invoices. We also use Cin7 to assist with local manufacturing , production jobs are key to this, we can also buy components overseas and ship to and overseas manufacturer and control all components and roll up landed costs

Cons:

Some of Cin7 warehouse functions are not as sophisticated as other software, namely cycle counting and and total location bin transfers.( only be component) Also a planning and scheduling module would be a welcome addition. We have had problems with the imbedded exchange rates on purchase orders causing stock valuation errors

Michael R.
MD in UK
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Softwear with huge potential let down by inability of staff

4 last year

Comments: We were intending to create a central platform for processing of orders from several channels. Unfortunately, the knowldege of the Cin7 team, and their abilty to understand our requirements, let down what would otherwise be a great product. I have no doubt the software has far greater ability than we would ever need, but without a knowlegeable team and willingness to understand the basic requirements, it makes it extremely hard work.

Pros:

The flexibility and ability to adapt to our business needs, and the relative ease of configuring to our requirements. Good plug-ins, although obviously a new development still very much in beta stage.

Cons:

Quality and attitude of the team, lets down what would otherwise be a great system, emphasised by an over enthusiatic initial sales person who promised everything, and leave the implimenttation team to pick up the tab. Implimentation dragged on for many many months longer than planned, with poor communication, and having to resort to strongly worded emails to get any response at all. 9 months on, and still no end in sight to the implimenttation process, with one team member blaming another, or a different department being the common issue. Some basic business and customer service training of their staff would go a long way to improving the experience.

Alternatives Considered: OrderWise and Linnworks

Reasons for Choosing Cin7: To provide better visability of the order processflow, and to endeavour to smooth the integration into our 3PL process, and ecommerce platforms

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: More ability to enter orders and manage stock centrally.

Cin7 Response

last year

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review Cin7 and for sharing your concerns. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with our customer support didn't meet your needs or expectations. We understand some of our staff have already been in touch with you to understand and resolve the issues you were experiencing. We understand some of the delays were a result of a lack of response from your 3PL contact. We also recognise some of your unique customization requests were not feasible from our end. We are currently making improvements to our sales approach to be sure we understand customer requirements upfront. We've also recently hired more support team members with experience in leading SaaS businesses to meet the growing demand for Cin7. All of this to help ensure this won't happen to anyone else. Thank you again for the feedback and choosing Cin7. It really helps us improve for you and our other customers. Doug (CMO)

Elioth F.
President in US
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Terrible Custumer Support

4 2 years ago

Pros:

The software has great functionality and streamlines many aspects of the business. They have put lots of work into the bugs but their documentation is often outdated. It is effective for handling ecommerce sales but lacks on the pick-n-pack system.

Cons:

The customer support is terrible! If you want to chat or talk to anyone they try to enroll you onto "premium support" for almost $3000 - $5000 per year. Standard support takes over 1 week to get back to you. Additionally, the on-boarding team has no experience with accounting or the financial setup. More often than ever they tell you they will consult with one of their teams and make you waste time until the on-boarding is over and you have to pay for premium support. I would recommend it but note, you will spend a lot of time trying to set it up correctly. Be prepared to allocate additional time reconciling inventory if you use shipstation (does not integrate well).

Alternatives Considered: SAP Concur and Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: I was promised more than reality.

Cin7 Response

2 years ago

Hi Elioth, Thank you for sharing your feedback, which has been shared with the team. While we're glad you're finding our software useful and would recommend it, we regret that your customer service experience with us hasn't been more positive. We care deeply about all of our customers and will work to improve our services going forward.

Katrina G.
Finance Manager in Australia
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Customer Support

5 2 years ago

Comments: I've had some incredibly positive experiences with the Support team - our Implementation Specialist, was phenomenal and really made the transition from our old system to Cin7 extremely smooth for us. He was able to explain things in plain English to us, and I always felt that he 'understood' what we needed. Our post-live onboarding specialist has also been wonderful, very responsive and so helpful. It's great that I get the same support specialist to work with - someone who understands our business and what we're after. We've recently had executive help us out on our account as well, and she has been so prompt to attend to my queries, and when I needed some urgent assistance, we turned it around extremely quickly, and exactly to my specifications. I could not be happier!

Pros:

It's easy to use, very beginner friendly. Love that it is all available online - I can work from home or from work, or even on the go! It's also significantly cheaper that our old system, and Cin7 integrates with a lot more apps!

Cons:

The Warehouse Management System is extremely lacking at this stage, which is a problem because we move stock around frequently, being a low-volume, fast-moving retailer.

Cin7 Response

2 years ago

Hi Katrina, Thank you so much for your detailed and thoughtful review. Our Customer Success team strives to provide exemplary service and will be delighted to hear your feedback. Cin7 is an ever-evolving product and service, and we're always looking at ways to improve our offerings. While we do not have a full-fledged warehouse management system at this time, we are working on some exciting warehouse management features that we hope will address the issue you mentioned.

John H.
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

"BEST VALUE SOFTWARE PACKAGE FOR MOST SMALL BUSINESS'S

4 5 years ago

Comments: "BEST VALUE SOFTWARE PACKAGE FOR MOST SMALL BUSINESS'S This is a review based on using Cin7 for apparel/fashion based products. I had been looking for a replacement for a highly developed in house software system and had not been able to find anything that could handle style/colour and sizes involved with apparel or for that matter most fashion products. My first evaluation gave me a glimpse of an extremely versatile piece of software but because of my attachment and familiarity to our existing system could not see the benefits of what Cin7 had to offer.
After 6 months I discovered Cin7 was available as a monthly subscription that represented excellent value for what was on offer so decided to have another look at it with a more open mind. WOW. What I discovered was an extremely well developed and powerful program that had a lot to offer anyone in the fashion business or for that matter any business. It also developed enough to accommodate the growth of your business up to a larger scale.
From the apparel perspective we not only manufacture but also have retail which most software systems struggle to deal with. Cin7 manages this very well.
I have only scratched the surface of the program and based on my initial use of Cin7 can only say how much I underestimated its capabilities.
The support to date has been excellent especially with getting set up.
The user interface once you have learnt the basics is very easy to get to grips with as there is a pattern that follows through on most of the main templates that are used.
Based on my experience with Cin7 I would recommend getting some initial training to gain a better understanding of what the system can do for you because setting it up in the beginning to meet your requirements will reward you with a software package that will help getting your team on board as well as provide you with a valuable reporting system.
Another benefit is because it is cloud based you can utilise it from anywhere you have an internet connection which has allowed me to operate from anywhere I happen to be.
My background is 40 years in the clothing industry both as a manufacturing wholesaler and a retailer with 20 years of developing a bespoke software system for our business."

Aleksei K.
Office worker in New Zealand
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Let's give routine to robots and start thinking more!

4 4 years ago

Pros:

I know the Cin7 for a couple of years. I can see guys are growing very fast and the management quite delays to the growing of the company. The company spending a lot of time to advertise the Cin7. In my opinion, the company does not spend enough time to develop the Cin7 and work with customers especially to make customization for them. The developers and support team quite late for the fast growing company. Simple things working very well, but if you want something special for your special business process Cin7 answer we can not do it. And at the same time, I receive the same answer for some simple things which should be done by default. The Cin7 developers develop firstly what more popular under the requests from customers, so this is just one way of communication. They do not ask all customers if they need something and do not share information what other customers ask from Cin7 to make for them. Because some of the customers just simply do not know what they could possibly have from Cin7 to make their business better they need to have a support from Cin7, otherwise, some companies will loosing money on something which Cin7 could possible automatise for them or show the short cut. So the priority of development not actually going the right way. Would like to see more options for users create their own interface, reports, etc. without asking Cin7 make it for them. Cin7 can save a lot of time for the customers if Cin7 will work more to customization way.

Joe S.
Director of Operations in US
Food Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Product, Especially at its Price-Point

4 last year

Comments: Cin7 has helped us streamline our business, identify shortfalls, and helped us to leap into where today's technology is operating at vs. our previous, DOS-based software.

Pros:

SAAS is huge for us. It's available whenever and wherever we need it since it works offline. We're using it for purchasing, inventory management, creating orders at our customers locations, fulfilling the orders in warehouse, then delivering. Although we're hacking the POS module to function as our order taking module, we've been able to work with the support time to accomplish what we need to keep our business running. Cin7 is very reasonable from a cost perspective. An ERP would run us north of $25k, in some cases $40k! Cin7 is a great solution to help our small business grow, and we anticipate Cin7 being able to scale with us. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in sales, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in onboarding, and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in support have been integral in our success with Cin7.

Cons:

Given we're on the most affordable plan, the support is challenging given we don't have a dedicated rep. So the onus is on me to be dilligent in getting our issues resolved. That said, whenever I've pushed, Cin7 has been there to help us find the solution. The fact we're "hacking" the POS module to be an order taking module is a con, but again, that's us being frugal and not wanting to invest in an ERP.

Cin7 Response

last year

Hello Joe, Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to have you as a customer and happy to learn that Cin7 has been able to help in so many aspects of your business. We'll be sure to share your words with the rest of the team. We also take to heart your comments about support. With our recent change in leadership, we have started to put more resources into areas where we know improvement is needed. That includes finding ways to ensure our customers get the help need in as timely manner as possible. While we keep working on that, we look forward to continuing to work with you and to see your business succeed. Sincerely, The Cin7 Team

Samuel R.
Director in New Zealand
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of Cin7

5 last month New

Pros:

Good reporting and insights. Fairly straight forward to set up. Good Dashboard. Links easily with Xero and our freight company via EDI.

Cons:

No major Cons. It suits what we need it for.

Alternatives Considered: Unleashed

Reasons for Choosing Cin7: Insights not as good.

Switched From: Unleashed

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: Insights were not as good.

Julie N.
Director of Post Production/Fulfillment Director in New Zealand
Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An excellent tool for inventory tracking and their virtual stock feature has been a life saver!

5 3 years ago

Comments: We purchased Cin7 for our production and fulfillment facility and it has been an excellent tool for not only inventory tracking, but their virtual stock feature has been a life saver! Virtual stock from Cin7 looks at the ingredients sitting in our warehouse and tells me automatically how much of a particular product we can create without distracting the production team with accounting questions. We private label for multiple clients and then offer individual customer fulfillment in addition to manufacturing. I am someone with zero experience in mapping these sorts of programs, but one of the rep has been great as our client manager. He is incredibly helpful even after our initial training phase and has, on many occasions, walked us through various integrations. I can provide our clients with excellent service and accurate projections because of this. All of our meetings took place on our schedule and although my company and his are worlds away, he made himself available to us when we needed him. This is now running seamlessly and even though live assistance is over, he is really great at answering any questions we have and helping us with the little adjustments as we move forward. We are obviously very excited about this software and grateful to our client manager for all the assistance he provides.

Pros:

Virtual Stock Production Jobs Multiple Integrations

Cons:

None

Cin7 Response

3 years ago

Hi Julie, we're so glad to hear Cin7 has been able to help your business and our customer success team has been able to make things easier for you! Thank you for your wonderful review.

Carlos M.
Director in Australia
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Software

5 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Information accuracy was key to choosing CIN7, it has made transacting much quicker and simpler. Inventory management was extremely important, maintaining spreadsheets doesn't work in the long run and CIN7 is brilliant.

Pros:

I love the integrations, my entire system is linked between B2B, shipping, ecommerce platforms and the warehouse for distribution. Cin7 does the job of several people, and it does it fast and accurately. We'd be completely lost without CIN7. We researched other similar platforms but nothing comes close to CIN7.

Cons:

There is little to dislike, but if I had to say something it would be that it is sometimes slow. It could be related to other factors. I would love it if there was app for tablet.

Ben M.
Director of Operations in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best thing about Cin7 is the range of features they provide compared to other inventory software

5 4 years ago

Pros:

I am a manufacturer who sells retail (online, email, phone and in person) and wholesale. Since I don't fit into one particular niche I love that Cin7 has all the features that I need for each one of my divisions. I looked for a long time for an inventory software that met all of my needs. I tried one and it failed to do what I need it to, it was geared too much towards eCommerce and didn't have any order entry or manufacturing capabilities. Then I found Cin7. I was very cautious at first because of my experience with my previous software not performing the way I wanted it to. But as I learned everything Cin7 could do I was very pleased with my decision. It gives each of my departments the functionality they need and also seamlessly connects them together saving lots of time and money. It also integrates with Quickbooks Desktop and ShipStation very well. You can import batch invoices into QB as well which is a huge time saver when reconciling. If you are like me and you require a lot of functionality in your inventory system then you need Cin7.

Cons:

I'd like to see it work with more eCommerce shopping carts right out of the box. We had to develop our own API integration to import orders from our shopping cart OpenCart. Their API works just fine, it just takes time to implement.

Cin7 Response

4 years ago

Thanks Ben, for a fantastic review. We are glad you liked Cin7 and the fact that it has worked well for your business requirements.

Tony G.
sales / logistics in Australia
Chemicals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cin7 useage

5 2 years ago

Comments: - I was using Green Tree before Cin7. Cin7 has more functionality than Green Tree and it is more user freindly.

Pros:

- the system is easy to use - support by the rep has been very good, always prompt and courteous. - up time has been very good, a few outages over the last few months but quickly resolved.

Cons:

- based on the systems price point not many cons. - it would be nice if it was a bit more custom configurable, again good based on the price point. - I would like the reporting functionality to be a little bit better. For example I wanted to run a report recently for all customer receiving a category discount, but I could not find a report that would give me that information.

Cin7 Response

2 years ago

Hi Tony, thank you for your review. We're happy that you're able to find value in our software system and support team. We will share your feedback with the product team as we are always looking for improvements.

Verified Reviewer
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Expensive, comprehensive but slightly cumbersome

4 3 years ago

Comments: We had real issues with clients managing their stock levels, movement of stock, manufacturing of goods, and warehouse management. We moved several clients onto CIN7 and it does the job very well. We can have a stock figure live, online any time of the day or night.

Pros:

Fully featured software. They really have thought of every eventuality and cater for it. There are so many things you can do with this software.

Cons:

It's so big and bitty that it doesn't feel good or easy to use. It is stable and reliable but doesn't feel that way. It has so many features that it's really difficult to set up and not that easy to learn to use. It's not the most intuitive software.

Cin7 Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review and feedback. We are glad Cin7 was able to address some of the critical issues faced earlier.

Bruce C.
Managing Director in New Zealand
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Initially excited but have been let down in too many areas to be happy. Looking for other options.

2 4 years ago

Comments: It's cloud based and can be accessed and used from anywhere.

Pros:

New Zealand based with local offices. They do run training sessions hands on and say good things. Inventory side works okay.

Cons:

The POS can't cope with our volume discounts and is unusable. No action to help us with that though we have pleaded with them for years. We're expected to change the way we classify quantities to fit their system, not fit the system to our needs. Also the "product cost" figure loaded against the product gets changed by the PO's. As product is sold and shipped the cost is pulled from the PO's in FIFO order and it changes the cost against the product. I want to load the "cost" then monitor our purchasing against the expected cost, not be driven by the system. Also, when Cin7 make changes to their software we often have very negative events happen that have no obvious connection to the change they made and they have been slow to help rectify. We are also not sure that the Cin7-Xero link works properly. We have seen historical "changes" happen to COGS in Cin7 vis-a-vis Xero back for two years with no apparent explanation. We're talking hundreds of thousands of dollars differences in the COGS figure. The charges they make to us to use the system are escalating and seem out of control. When trying to contact them about charges they don't have an "accounts" department. Really? It seems to be charge what they like and ignore the queries.

Cin7 Response

3 years ago

Dear Bruce, Sorry to hear about your experience. Our accounting specialist is already in touch with your accounting specialist to resolve some of the issues. There are certain software functions which are developed using accounting best practices and so COGS are calculated based on the cost entered during the purchasing process. This practice is accepted industry wide and being a SAAS company we have adopted this keeping it consistent across all our customers. We are working on your specific requirement about POS discount and one of our subject matter experts to give you an update on the progress. We take customer service seriously and would like to work with you to find an appropriate solution

Karen D.
Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great potential - poor customer communication hobbles it

2 4 years ago

Pros:

Solid database with easy search functionality. Cloud-based is fantastic. It never goes down and we can work remotely. Easy interface makes order entry fast. If you are using nothing or spread-sheets you will think this is the greatest thing ever! We were using MYOB Exo, so we noticed some improvements, but also some lost attributes. If you look at it on paper, Cin7 has fantastic features that should make running a business effortlessly. These include integrations with ECommerce sites, Smart Buyer for purchasing, integration with Xero, B2B website etc. We were sold on many of these but in reality, Cin7 is not a complete product. Most of the features seem to work, however, if you want two features, they don't work together. If you want the features to work properly they will fix it for a cost.

Cons:

Most of the problems I see with Cin7 are to do with customer support and knowledge about how business works. We try to be clear about what our requirements are: we are a mid-sized company with 40 years experience experience in import/export. Despite having an excellent team that are quite computer-saavy, I've repeatedly been told by support its 'user error' when reporting a bug. Tickets often get closed when the problem being fixed. Support lost so many of our tickets I was asked to reenter all those outstanding (so I have to project manage their bug fixes) Following that we was accused of being 'high maintenance customer' because we had more than 20 tickets entered in a month. That might give some scope to our problems with Cin7. I have offered to meet with the developers and explain what we need and why it makes business sense, but have been told they are busy with other projects and have continued to battle with support to get our issues fixed. One error we reported (products with 3 options freezing in B2B website) they insisted wasn't an error. Then they said it was couldnt be fixed. Then they said it was a new feature request (it had worked for 8 months lol) and we could pay them to programme it for us... outrageous given its not a feature unique for us. In the end, our newest employee (who claims he doesnt know much about computers) found the problem and fixed it. No acknowledgement from Cin7. Another example is why I'm doing this review to get fixed - Smart Buyer calculates how much to order based on previous sales and what you want to hold on your shelf BUT ignores any incoming stock and any back orders. Obviously not logical. CIN7 need to stop and listen to their customers and be less concerned with squeezing more money out of us.

Cin7 Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your feedback Karen. I'm sorry we have not been able to meet your expectations in this case. One of our team will be in touch today regarding the smart buyer changes you are looking for.

Verified Reviewer
Paramédico in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Accountant and precise organizer.

4 3 years ago

Pros:

This software of maximum reach really is a tool of great help and usefulness that allows us to have organized and monitored our products in existence in the organization, in the same way it allows our organization to grow in an improbable way since it helps us to have Through its capacity and systematic process the complete control of our business in real time.

Cons:

Actually sometimes it is with limitations in terms of functions and features, we must be very careful when working with the system of this software because if you are not using it at the beginning correctly, in the end the recording of data will not be precise and concise.

Cin7 Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your feedback on Cin7. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying our software and all of its features. To help you get the best results, we do offer account managers who can provide ongoing assistance and advice to ensure everything is being done correctly and help grow your brand. Just let us know if you are interested by contacting our helpful support team. [email protected]

Dale H.
Owner in New Zealand
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Does the majority of what we need very well

4 5 years ago

Comments: We've been using Cin7 for over a year now and it's definitely an improvement over what we previously had. It does 95% of what we need it to very well. Customer support is good and their knowledge is very good. Value for money is ok. I have experienced a few outages in the back office but these tend to be fixed quickly and even when outside of business hours. It doesn't have a debtors module which is crucial for us doing trade sales on credit but we link it with Xero and this seems to go well. The only downside is the price has increased quite a bit from the level it was at when we made the decision to switch over. Overall though I'd recommend others to come on board with Cin7.

Cin7 Response

5 years ago

Hi Dale, thank you for the overall 4 star review! It's great to hear that you have noticed Cin7 is an improvement from your last system. We look forward to the continued support and value you as a customer.

Leonie H.
CEO in Australia
Cosmetics, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Onboarding to Cin7 was a great experience!

5 2 years ago

Comments: The representative was our onboarder. She was with us every step of the way.
Whilst it took time to complete the on-boarding due to the complexity of the setup, there wasn't a problem or issue that couldn't be resolved. She was very helpful and I am grateful that I got to work with her.

Pros:

This software allows customisation depending on your business workflow. With 2 different brands, beauty's got soul and Soul Baby Gifts. We have slightly different set-ups for the varied nature of each business. It feels intuitive. It is easy to use. It saves time and money. We now have 2 Cin7 files that are humming!

Cons:

The image quality that imports into magento is not good enough to use.

Cin7 Response

2 years ago

Hi Leonie, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great experience with our onboarding team. We will share your Magento feedback with the product team as we are always looking for improvements.

Juliette H.
Procurement in New Zealand
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

CIN7 Review

5 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall we are happy with CIN7 product, general functionality is good and we have been able to customise parts of it to suit our requirements.

Pros:

Point of Sale is great for sales reps out on the road, especially as it can be used offline. Like how it is easy to use, kit products are easy to manage.

Cons:

Goes through patches where we get error messages all the time and we are unable to save transactions.

Ian W.
Founder and director in Australia
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cin7 implementation for a fashion designer

5 last year

Comments: From start to implementation we were supported by an implementation specialist who understood who took the time to understand our needs.

Pros:

User friendly, great training videos, solid support team.

Cons:

No Integration of stock codes with third party logistics company (3pl). And no integration of purchase orders with the 3pl. This is not necessarily a weakness with Cin7.

Alternatives Considered: Hike

Reasons for Switching to Cin7: User friendliness and integration with so many other apps and marketplaces.

Cin7 Response

last year

Hi Ian, Thank you for your review! We are glad to know that we have been able to support you and that our software could meet your business requirements. Thank you for choosing Cin7. Sincerely, Erin (Marketing Team)

Michael P.
Managing Director in Australia
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Well featured, powerful, good value for money.

5 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Very happy with Cin7 overall. We moved from a whole of business software package we used for 19 years to Xero and another parts and POS 18 months ago. Xero was good, which we still use but the parts and POS system we selected wasn't a good choice. We changed to Cin7 after a few months and wish we'd made the initial switch to Cin7 instead. Since then we've never looked back.

Pros:

Product ordering & management is powerful and makes managing our retail shop straight forward. Point of Sale is easy to use. Multi user functionality never conflicts so we don't get IT issues with Cin7.

Cons:

Functionality between Cin7 & Shopify is limited.

Ahmad A.
Owner in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Expensive and buggy

2 4 years ago

Pros:

It provides you with open-ended functionality and is less restrictive. I am able to pull good reports and track my sales and products. Sale orders are easy to generate

Cons:

It is still a software full of bugs also they have had a huge increase in price one after the other. Their explanation is that they have so many more new features. the reality is we don't use any of the new plugin and or features but we went from paying lesser amount to now more amount. We are locked in of course and it will take many months before we can move on which we will pay more a month for the functionality we use is grossly overpriced. with a phone call and two weeks notice to increase the price by more than 40% Soon I am sure there will be more software makers on the market in this field to bring these ridiculous prices for these types of apps and I hope that day comes sooner rather than later. Some cons in dot point *layout for the category is out *you cant have bundled products

Cin7 Response

4 years ago

Dear Ahmad, We are sorry to hear of your concerns. We want Cin7 to work for you, and we do place a high value on customer satisfaction. An account manager will be in touch with you today, and we hope to address any issues you have.