15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Freshservice

Online ITSM Service Desk with Incident, Problem, Change, Release & Asset Management, in addition to powerful ticketing & automation

Learn more about Freshservice

Pros:

It was easy to get started and allowed us to integrate into out ERP software to allow tickets from it.

Cons:

I feel bad even complaining about it because it's so simple to use but I feel as if the interface could use an update.

Freshservice ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Freshservice has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 575 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Freshservice before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (575)

Erick
Erick
Client Technologies Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Probably the best tool for Help Desk Management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is probably the best I used for ticketing. The support is really good, the only bad thing is that you have to contact mostly via chat.

Pros:

The features it provides are really good. The ticketing flow is easy to follow, we can handle our Service Catalog, integrate with Active Directory, manage Asset Inventory and now we started using the Project management tool.

Cons:

The configuration (Initial Setup) is kind of complex. Design the flows is friendly, but complex if you have many rules, but the good thing is that support guides all the way during this process.

Sarah
Sarah
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

You can do a lot of great things with Freshservice

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Complete platform for IT service management and reporting on client needs. It gives me the ability to develop material that can be provided as assistance to customers, as well as report back internally to the team and to top board management.

Pros:

I appreciate that it is not only affordable, but also demonstrates a lot of value due to the fact that it comes with a lot of features considering how much it costs. FreshService is capable of competing with ServiceNow in terms of IT service management, and I am accustomed to utilizing ServiceNow.

Cons:

The constraints placed on portal design, in addition to the requirement of having HTML coding skills. I have not been able to determine whether or not it is possible for us to have parent portal sites that include kid pages, and the process of developing these pages will require experience in coding.

Muhammad ShahRukh
Sr. IT Manager in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An Enterprise-grade IT Management System

4.0 last week New

Comments: Freshservice helps us drive intelligent decisions by letting us track data and streamline service management across teams using a unified platform for improved visibility and efficiency.

Pros:

Freshservice is innovative and new features and improvements roll out frequently. Most of the ITSM features are flexible and can be modified to meet the end users' needs.

Cons:

Inbuild Reporting and Analytics are complicated and do not always yield the desired results

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow Customer Service Management , Atera and SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: Covers all aspects of ITSM in a budget-friendly way. Very easy to implement and use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

No bang for the buck, an overpriced form submission tool that disappoints in reporting and integration

2.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Friendly user interface. Copy screenshots directly into the form (although there's a bug for the last 3 months that screenshots are displayed double in edit mode.) Plenty of fields to configure for more complex workflows.

Cons:

Default categories and labels with awkward naming (synonymous use of "Tickets" and "Incidents" for "Issues", "Change" for "Change Request", "Problem" for "Bugs") No possibility to convert issues to change requests. Agent needs to recreate the entire case in the back resulting in significant adminstrative overhead. Reporting is practically inexistent. REST API not covering many functions and object attributes. (You cannot substitute reporting externally.) HTML editor limited and bugged. (CSS code in support articles not supported, Bootstrap not supported, code gets changed or reformatted upon saving articles) No access to the file and image repository. Frankly, with every new cosmetic change and "functionality no can do" message from the Team, I am growing more and more wary of this application. At this point, I am thinking of it as an overpriced form tool with practically no reporting, a gimped Knowledge Management base, and an asset list functionality that quickly drains your wallet. I am spending significant time rewriting issues as change requests in order to subsequently manually attach them to the original issue ticket and explain to the user why I would want to close his ticket after all. Writing knowledge articles is best done in a separate HTML editor. The Text Editor lacks basic functionality, removes formatting and images in unpredictable ways with undoing, and stores images and files in a central repository you have no access to. You might as well do that with a forms tool readily available on the internet.

Mikaela
Chapter Management Lead in Sweden
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshservice can help you work more efficiently.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: If I have to make a new system choice today, I would choose Fresh again.

Pros:

In Fresh, the company can achieve a comprehensive ticket management solution. It's enjoyable to work in Fresh. It's educational, visually appealing, and helps us in our operations to deliver to our customers.

Cons:

Some of the requests we've made take time to be incorporated into the Fresh roadmap.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Switched From: SERVICE MANAGER

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: Several of our employees had more experience with Fresh than Zendesk. That's why we chose Fresh.

Phillip
ICT Support Officer in Australia
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great standard feature Set on the whole, but new features seem to lag behind their FreskDesk system

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

The ticketing system is really easy to use, with lots of options for workflow automations and ticket management. The app marketplace is great for extending the functionality.

Cons:

FreshService seems more like a new branching out for the company, with a complete set of tools, but lacking refinement in a lot of places. There are also odd quirks like Discuss feature button being available, even though the Discuss feature doesn't work on FreshService yet.The mobile app is a bit of a let down, as it doesn't have a dashboard like the main site which makes it much more tedious to lookup ticket queues.The Notification spam through the app is terrible, pinging each notification one at a time to the phone, which is especially annoying when it sends over 30 notifications and doesn't group them.The system has some other weird quirks, like sorting a list can only be saved when you also make a change to the filter for the list. Another issue is that there is a blur effect on the title text that doesn't always go away when scrolling back to the top of the page, resulting in some text looking very soft and fuzzy

Romil
IT Helpdesk in Canada
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great ITSM for Small team

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

We use Freshservice in a small team and it works great for us. It is very easy to use. It provides all ITSM requirements. Overall it meets our requirement in IT, security and accounting team.

Cons:

So far we are happy with the product and don't have anything to dislike about it.

Alternatives Considered: JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: Easy to work with. There is no complexity compared to Jira.

Tejas
Technical IT Support Manager in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Manage your IT Service Desk, Freshservice gets it done

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Great! IT Service Management has become lot easier with freshservice.

Pros:

Ease of use, cross platform compatibility, multiple channels of support available.

Cons:

Needs to be more flexible and feature rich in work automations and customized fields.

Alternatives Considered: iTOP

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: because it was more feature rich as compared and a paid product with support

Raymond
IT Specialists in Philippines
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SLA Killer

5.0 last month New

Comments: very great, you can close the ticket within SLA, easy to monitor the tickets

Pros:

this toll is very easy to use and manage

Cons:

in my 12 months of use, none so far that I don't like

Zack
Zack
Project Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Refresh on help

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The help was professional and appropriate informative.

Cons:

It was rather pleasant and do offer good service.

Paul
Lean System Analyst in UK
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

FreshService is Great but not consistent

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's amazing! it's just hard for me to hand over some of the responsibility due to the steep learning curve. Support could really do with arranging time to speak to you instead of email tennis, support can be slow but some agents are stella!

Pros:

The way it can be used to report on bottlenecks and problem areas as well and programmed to tackle them is a game changer. It's great but you do have to know what changes impact others and I think it could be made more clear even for those with experience it wouldn't hurt and for those learning it would speed up the learning curve a lot.

Cons:

Inconsistencies in user interface. Menus and options and ways of changing things differs on newer or older modules. Also the Employee Onboarding is great but a pain to adjust if you wish to change the Stakeholder order and initiators. Also linking to AD groups for requesters and agents would be ideal.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing Freshservice: KACE was old and lacked options. I had FreshDesk experience and suggested FreshDesk but we landed on FreshService which make FreshDesk look like BETA software.

Switched From: KACE

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: Previous experience using FreshDesk and how it was beneficial to our needs.

Ron
Systems Administrator in US
Mental Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best helpdesk software I have used

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Built-in approvals and automation were our most important needs, following that we wanted a system that integrated well with our asset management system or was capable of outright replacing it (which is pretty much what happened).

Pros:

I love the automation and customization that is possible.

Cons:

The only cons are that there is some minor missing functionality with automation (for instance, automatically creating a new ticket based on the properties of an existing ticket). I would still say it meets 99% of our needs though, so my only complaints are just nitpicks.

Alternatives Considered: Jira , Zoho Desk , ServiceNow and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshservice: We needed more robust functionality and the on-prem version of Spiceworks was no longer being supported. With our desire for automation and approvals workflows, Freshservice was an obvious step up.

Switched From: Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Andreas
Bereichsleiter IT in Germany
Human Resources, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I like the Produkt

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

It is easy to use and i like the workflow automator

Cons:

Only indian support not able to understand them good

Alternatives Considered: JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Choosing Freshservice: Because Track It do not support multible E-Mail accounts and no html mails

Switched From: Track-It!

Kathleen
Digital Marketing Manager in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

FreshService is great for IT ticketing, terrible for project management

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I dislike this tool and am ready to find a new solution.

Pros:

It has made our issue and service intake much cleaner and easier since we have a ticket users can submit requests through and it gets sent to our team members as required.

Cons:

Our team has been using FreshService for over a year now, and while it has made our issue and service intake much cleaner and easier, it is awful to use for project management. It is not intuitive, we have to remember all sorts of details to ensure our message gets through to team mates' emails, the calendar is not helpful, and we waste time by using this tool.

Chad
IT Technician in Canada
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hard to find something better

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Moving from a free ticketing solution I found FreshServices provided lots of features to allow us to automated mundane tasks and free up our time to work on more important issues and projects.

Pros:

The vast number of features presented for a fair price. New features and enhancements are being made constantly.

Cons:

Improvements could be made to helpdesk customization. A WYSIWYG interface with the option to go deeper to modify HTML and CSS would be nice.

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: FreshService having a better workflow editor was the sole reason we chose it over the others.

Aleksandr
Aleksandr
IT Service Desk Specialist III in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshservice Review from a daily user and admin

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Freshservice has been really good (despite the cons I listed). The interface from Agent point of view is easy to navigate, the ticket/problem/change management is clear. From an admin point of view, everything is well group under the admin section and even if you don't have experience with Freshservice you will find yourself picking everything up pretty quickly. The mobile app, while clunky, is still a good way to get notified about tickets coming in (especially urgent ones), and checking for replies and approvals. Bonus points for providing single sign on options (SSO). Customization is solid and allows you to integrate your company branding quite well. Good, and easy to create, manage, edit knowledge base system. Requesters have a very easy time creating a ticket in case of an incident. While it can feel frustrating to have to contact Freshservice support for some things, I can say that my overall experience has been very solid with their support and they have even taken and implement a number of our feature requests. I would most certainly recommend this product.

Pros:

- Easy to use - Good platform to manage incidents/problems/changes/releases as well as requests - Good CMDB for managing company assets - Pretty simple to perform administrative tasks - Good customization - Has mobile app that will notify you when someone performs an action on any of your items (Such as assignment of a ticket, replies, approvals, etc.) - Had good experience from Freshservice support staff - Has the ability to integrate into your domain account via Single Sing-On (SSO) - Good solution for storing your IT Support based knowledge base

Cons:

- Customization could be better in some areas - Some changes require you to contact Freshservice support directly - Digital asset management is a bit clunky - Mobile app is not as intuitive as desktop experience and can feel difficult to navigate for some users - Noticed that at times, usually in the morning hours of EST time zone, Freshservice access cuts out for 5 minutes

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Feature-rich and intuitive

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are back "with the times" compared to our previous ticket system.

Pros:

The FreshService interface is pleasant and pretty intuitive to work with. We had been using a different ticket system for more than a decade. Nonetheless, the switch to FreshService was relatively smooth for the whole team. I think the major reason is that the interface feels rather natural or comfortable to work with. The same kind of intuitiveness is also seen under the hood (Admin panel), which is where a lot of other systems fall short. Even though Fresh Service packs a ton of features under the hood, you are not battling against a maze of intertwined difficult-to-manage configurations. I personally don't need to do a lot of changes in the configuration (I'm rather the "backup" for those kind of things), but when I do, it doesn't take me too long to find out where I need to adapt what setting. I had to contact Fresh Service support a few times and so far always got a satisfactory reply in a decent reply time.

Cons:

With all of the above said, it also lacks some features you could see as "basic" or "take for granted" here and there. Agents can't configure an "out-of-office" period themselves. There's no possibility to set up a custom dashboard per agent. My major pet peeve is the text editor, which options are very limited (can't send a reply with a paragraph in fixed with font, can't edit the source ...) and which sometimes behaves unexpectedly (some odd behaviour with linebreaks, weird cursor position when pasting text ...) And finally, while there is integration with Jira, I have the feeling it tends to break quite easily. We've probably had it more half- or not-working-at-all than working as it should. This makes it unreliable, requires manual effort and follow-up and really undoes the usefulness of having integration at all.

Ehtesham
MIS Manager in Malaysia
Chemicals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshservice - Mid Tier, but power packed like enterprise IT ITSM tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Love it. We utilize Freshservice for our corporate helpdesk ticketing system.

Pros:

It is easy to create workflow and the navigation is easy to determine what you want to achieve / do. They have modernize the icons and look.

Cons:

Integration with outlook is not there - .ics calendar, easy guide on whatsapp API business - omnichannel should be included by default from Garden plans onward

Alternatives Considered: SysAid and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshservice: Need to have a proper ITSM tool

Switched From: Microsoft SharePoint

Jose
Support Services Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshservice is quite a solid ITSM solution in the Cloud, with no investment in IT infrastructure.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: The rapid deployment! Being Cloud, we were ready to start almost from day zero. The learning curve is quite smooth, and it was fairly easy to perform basic to moderate customizations on the portal and forms. Also the automation options were quite easy to follow (we basically used templates of the predefined ones) and one key for more novice users is that Freshservice has tutorials all around the solutions.

Pros:

It's literally "pay and use". Zero footprint in your current IT architecture, everything is habdled via any compatible web browser. And yet it includes advanced ITSM functionalities such as asset management and CMDB, in which you mdeploy Probes and Agents to Windows, Linux and Mac devices to scan and inventory hardware and software. And like every other Freshworks solution, it's very customizable interms of UI, automation and notifications, as well as integrations with third-party solutions and via API for developers.

Cons:

Perhaps adding new modules. Freshservice deals with this by integrations and automations, but out of the included modules (Tickets, Problems, Changes, Releases, CMDB, Projects, Solutions and Reports) you can't, at the moment, add a new one, such as Facilities or HR for example. However, provided that the included modules cover most, if not all, or ITSM's basic needs, and that the mnost generic modules (such as Tickets) are easily adaptable and customizable, that's not much of a problem.

Zac
Head of service delivery in UK
Broadcast Media, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very happy

Pros:

Ease of use, customer support and nice layouts

Cons:

Some things not configurable which makes us having to do workarounds

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow Customer Service Management

Reasons for Choosing Freshservice: Cost

Switched From: Hornbill

Reasons for Switching to Freshservice: Cost

Chad
Helpdesk Coordinator in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Create the support system that fits your organization!

5.0 last year

Pros:

Freshservice is a wonderful service management product! We use it for handling all our tickets and service requests. It differentiates between incidents and service requests so you can create a whole catalogue of hardware/software items that users can request. You can add approval requirements to these service requests and can create custom workflows to automate certain processes for incidents and requests.

Cons:

The Project Managment module is a little underwhelming. Feels a little underdeveloped and the visual interface and functionality fells somewhat lacking. We use the Kanban method of project management and Freshservice doesn't give us the ability to manage projects using that method. It uses lists and gantt charts. However, and a service desk management tool it is great!

Lee
Application Support Manager in UK
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

FreshService - Essential for Ticket Management and ITSM

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Change and Release Management have simplified and reduced the number of issues we have had as a business.One of the main benefits is the reduction in work duplication, using ticket assignation we have reduced the possibility of duplicating workloads across the teams.

Pros:

Ticket Management and Change Management are the two areas i appreciate the most. Over the years we have engaged with the Fresh Service support teams and community forums to provide feedback - which has been listened to and implemented in future updates.

Cons:

The alert management profiles and rules could do with an overhaul - at the moment we are having to setup multiple alert rules against a single Alert profile based on the content of the alert.Would be great to generate alert rules based on If / Or / And Statements.

Marty
Senior Support Engineer in UK
Shipbuilding, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshservice

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

The ease of use and flexibility of the product is what makes this a great product to use. The customer service is also very efficient with any issues we may have.

Cons:

The asset management interface could be improved.

Edward
Infrastructure Engineer in UK
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functional but has frustrations

4.0 last year

Comments: It's definately capable of doing the job and does get frequent improvements but has some frustrations

Pros:

Freshservice has most of the features you need. It's customisable and expensible to a point which allows for other features to be added.

Cons:

Some of the UX can be frustrating. The search is very lacking and often doesn't find the results you need. The "Solutions" feature for knowledge management is quite basic and can be frustrating to use.

Anna Rabeeca
Anna Rabeeca
Senior Software Engineer in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

An ITIL web-based help desk with effective ticketing and financial services

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: FreshService is a delightfully easy-to-use, easy-to-configure ITIL powered cloud-based IT desk management platform. FreshService suits brilliantly in companies whose employees require help from a broad spectrum of divisions. This offers customers the freedom to search for the choices that your business makes.

Pros:

FreshService serves our association as like a helpdesk, allowing us to accommodate a range of requests across the group, handled by few departments. Thanks to the ability to develop a catalog of items for customer support, they will perform operations related to knowledge processing, facilities and many others. Through making various choices within admin row, you can customize the support desk to the desires of each team.

Cons:

Workflow devices are awesome, but we also have issues with purchasing and business procedures are improperly applied because a variety of problems are reported in a one ticket. We can't discover the reports intended to be helpful and we like to be competent of building reports based on various areas or perhaps even keywords.