Adoddle Reviews

by Asite Solutions

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.8 /5

About Adoddle

The Asite Platform is cloud-based and enables seamless collaboration across disciplines, from concept to completion and beyond.

Learn more about Adoddle

Showing 106 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Part II Architectural Assistant
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"A fantastically easy and straight forward project coordination site that leaves no stone unturned!"

Comments: Easier coordination and single information portal for the entire project team.

Pros: The ability to share comments and track drawing and design progress using an online platformis great. We regularly go back and forth within the design team to create and design the best overall solution for the client. The ability to comment within minutes of a drawing being uploaded is exteremely useful.

Cons: The file viewing applet can sometimes take time to load but works well with patience. Sometimes when downloading files the QR code that is automatically applied to downloaded PDFs obscures details and text.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Mohammed A.
Senior Document Controller
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019

"Review on Addle"

Comments: 1. Overall experience superb with Adoddle - Asite
2. Enjoying the work with Adoddle - Asite

Pros: 1. Its very user friendly
2. Easy to adopt for new users
3. Bulk Editing is the easiest way to edit the document metadata.
4. Easy to Extract the reports.

Cons: Nothing noticed about the least in Adoddle Asite.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019
Ian G.
Project Manager
Civil Engineering, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Can be a bit difficult to get into, but once you are familiar with the set up it is fine."

Comments: Ability to manage the information on my projects effectively.

Pros: I think it does mostly what we expect of it once you know how to use it. The support has been good and quick when I have needed it on the odd occasion. The Adoddle home page is good to use once you know how it works.

Cons: It is not very intuitive to use. The file structure has always seemed odd to me although perhaps it was the Environment Agency who determined that. The files for a job are not all presented when you go into a job. You need to expand to 'all files'. That is not very straight forward on Adoddle.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Colin G.
Technical Supervisor
Construction, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Clunky and resource heavy, it works but hasn't developed like others."

Comments: Meets basic requirements

Pros: Classic view is usable and meets most of the requirements for our projects. The mark up function is user friendly and can be helpful if a little rudimentary.

Cons: Abosolutely, can't stand ADoddle. I have been using Asite for ten years now and whilst classic wasn't as good as some of their competitors, Adoddle seems to be even worse. There seems to be an impression that the user always knows what they want. with adoddle you can't spot things you may have already skimmed over that you may want to re-visit. Despite selecting classic view, it still insists on opening in adoddle.... which part of I don't like it don't they understand??? Forcing us to use start with it wont improve this dog of an interface. It's like tinder setting you up on a blind date with Anne Widdicome, and despite being told she's not your type, they set you up again. The constant clashes between the software and others over which version of java to use means most of the time it doesn't even open drawings without phoning the help desk, who to be fair are helpful but inconsistent. As someone who uses conject, 4projects and others I can confirm it is one of the poorest.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Middle England Sales Representative
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"Awkward, drawn out process, should be a lot smoother, not straightforward at all"

Pros: Nothing really, I'm sure the client receiving all the tenders etc can see the benefits but as a supplier/manufacturer it's really a bind

Cons: Time consuming, fiddly, awkward, I understand it's supposed to work as online filing for individual projects but I would prefer to not have to use it at all

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Sales Manager
Environmental Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"Client who sends us work through the platform does not seem to use it / understand how it works"

Pros: The software does seem to have the flexibility and configuration to handle complex projects projects and multistage technical tendering.

Cons: The user interface is not particularly intuitive. A significant problem at implementation was an instance on named e-mail addresses to recieve / log on to Asite which means our business has to set up an monitor specific group e-mails to make sure Asite requests are picked up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018

"Hamstrung, repetitive, slow, backward"

Pros: There's not a lot to think about that is a positive here. I can't think of a feature that we use as a user that is actually any way better than competitor products.

Cons: Folders as a paradigm for upload.
UI/UX is inconsistent.
UI is bloated and not focussed on critical path - style over function.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018
Steven G.
Tender Manager
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Do not know how this system works, keep getting emails everyday and don't know why"

Comments: I don't like this system at all. The best thing about it is that I don't have to use it on a daily basis.

Cons: Not having had any training on it, every time I have had call to use it ended up using an alternative system because it fails. I keep getting emails from regarding projects that have finished over a year ago and no one seems able to stop them, which is very annoying. This seems to be system for the sake of a system and I see no point in it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Peter A.
Project Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Whilst I use Asite on a monthly basis I would value a user guide ( it probably exists somewhere) in"

Pros: Asite provide both up to date information as well as a good historical record ( mine is a 25 year project)

Cons: Changes to front access screen and associated functionality made my use more complicated especially as I only use the system monthly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Daryl K.
Site Manager
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Good place to store all documents."

Pros: All drawings are in one place. Can also be viewed from multiple devices which is very good when out on site.

Cons: Inability to print from iPad. This may be that I need more training on the software, it would be nice to be able to air print drawings from iPhone or iPad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Gary W.
Operations Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"As a very light user, the system is difficult to navigate."

Pros: The only pro I have found is the customer support have been helpful where possible and the software allows.

Cons: Poor for users.Nothing. Even this survey does not permit flexibility. There are not many Pro's from a small private business viewpoint. You cannot use correct punctuation in sentences when creating responses to clients as the software does not allow comma's, full stops etc. Unfortunately I cannot find anything good to balance the Cons. Its very poor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
John D.
Senior Estimator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"It is the worst download site I have ever used"

Pros: There is absolutely nothing positive I can find about this site. There is not one single thing about it which, even remotely, strikes me as a good idea. It needs a complete rethink from the end users point of view, not the programmers ego.

Cons: The use has clearly been designed by a geek & is probably brilliant in their eyes. However, as an end user I don't have the time to spend mucking about trying to get logged in or password verified just to get some drawings & a specification.
It is not rocket science & does not need a level of security far in excess of the FBI.
It is not well thought out, it is over complex & unintuitive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Natalie G.
Producer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"Not intuitive to use"

Pros: It seems to have the capacity to do most things but knowing how to do them is not very easy and the layout is confusing.

Cons: Definitely the notifications are bad - the fact that you have to untick all of the notifications settings as they are all selected by default aren't good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Postgraduate Student - River Environments and their Management MSc
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"I use asite for project management of over 30 projects. The system is simple to use."

Comments: overview of project costs, simple to see all funding and spend in profile and to see where changes are needed.

Pros: The software is easy to use and to enter data into. It is also simple to use as a reviewing tool, quickly accessing projects to oversee their funding, spend profile and help manage their progression. A useful note tool allows users to jot down changes and reason for change to a project, allowing for continuity.

Cons: It is possible to change historic information on a project which is very useful however, there is no automatic or 'secure' note on the system to dictate what changes have been made and by whom. This means that projects could be updated and historic, important, information lost. I think a tool that provided an update of changes and by whom which is encrypted (so no changes can be made to the note) would be useful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Vicky S.
Hydrologist
Civil Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018

"A shockingly bad user experience. Too complex, too cluttered, no guidance"

Comments: None whatsoever

Pros: Closing it down. I don't like anything else about it, and I never look forward to having to do anything with Adoddle or Asite or whatever it is this week.

Cons: It is labyrinthine and nothing seems to work. Too many acronyms, no screen tips, no simple view. I hate it. It takes too long to do things which should be fast. It is a hoop I have to jump through and is massively less effiicient than the old ways of doing things.
Even the front page is annoying. If I never had to use it again, it would be too soon. I am not a Luddite with no idea of 'systems', I am perfectly comfortable with database systems, but this front end is truly dreadful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Design Admin
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Great!"

Pros: It is very easy to upload documents. It is really easy to find and view/ download documents. Would definitely recommend.

Cons: Software sometimes crashes and doesn't allow me to open mark ups/ comments on documents I have uploaded.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"Very helpful software when used correctly"

Pros: Easy to navigate
Provides ease of contract management
Provides contractual forms for use throughout the contract

Cons: Needs to be implemented properly to have positive impact
Sometimes difficult to locate items
Search bar sometimes difficult to use properly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Ricky L.
Digital Systems Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"Overall happy, customer service is mostly very good and pleasant."

Pros: Document management is really good, ability to create our own forms is great. We do like the customization in having what we want o our forms.

Cons: When creating forms we are stuck using InfoPath 2013 which isnt great, we're still waiting for the HTML form builder to see how far we can go with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Rachel G.
Office Assistant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"My colleagues use Asite almost all the time so it is a very useful computer software programme."

Pros: Easy to use. When I first started using Asite it did not take me long for me to learn how to use it.
No trouble finding or uploading documents/drawings on Asite.

Cons: I think the actual layout of the programme could do with being updated or modernised.
The actual software itself sometimes has trouble loading or does not load at all and 'Error' is shown on my screen.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Kevin B.
Partner
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Very straightforward software for me to use as a user rather than administrator"

Comments: Formally records the key information flows from the project. Provides an easy reference for what has been submitted/approved, and when.

Pros: Notifications are very clear and provide a good summary of what has been uploaded for my attention.
Dashboard is very useful to summarise information and to quickly navigate to key sections.
The notification down the side of the screen identifying what is due for action today is very useful.

Cons: The process for printing documents is not great and sometimes can be difficult or time consuming. Sometimes it can be time consuming to download to pdf format.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Assistant Design Coordinator
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Easy to Use Document Control System"

Pros: Files can be indexed and are easy to search. Multiple versions and revisions are easy to find and compare.

Cons: Further work is needed on outputting of reports. Whilst the inbuilt systems give an overview in order to produce meaningful reports you need to extract the data and use external systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"We use many electronic filing systems and ASite is by far the easiest to use."

Pros: The ease of use is non comparable on similar electronic systems. Everything is clearly laid out and it is easy to navigate and search for what is required.

Cons: Sometimes lots of java extensions etc. need to be updated and downloaded to view certain file types or preview the files without downloading which can get a bit annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Jaime D.
Document Controller
Railroad Manufacture, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2019

"It really is "A doddle""

Comments: Easy once you know how and not as complicated as other document control tools

Pros: Very easy and quick to use once you have the know-how. It works in a very similar way to attaching a file to an email and sending it but of course, with it being a cloud system you're not limited to the file size you can upload and distribute.

Cons: Some of the functions are not user friendly. I say this simply because the training course is basically a self-help guide but once you get to grips with it, it's straight forward

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2019
Adam K.
Associate Architect
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"This is one of the better collaboration software systems out there but still lacks functionality."

Comments: Collaboration is marginally better than email as the files are all in one place.

Pros: Ease of use and availability of files to all user when uploaded. Intuitive interface for the most parts.

Cons: This software still has a long way to go to be good as there are several major functionality problems, noted as follows. Searching is different to expected and needs to get used to and should be improved to be more user friendly. Folder displays sub folders content which is rather confusing and not like any other software such as windows explorer and there should be a toggle to turn this "feature" on and off. Uploading files is complex and there is no intelligence in the software so all data has to be input manually. A large amount of the uploading could be automated from file names using a input mask or similar which would automate uploading for ease. The file viewing system is total rubbish and several users in my practice could not get it to work at all and it crashed a lot of the time so we had to resort to downloading all the time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Michael E.
Associate
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"We use Asite for design phase of projects generally and it includes most of the features we need."

Comments: Provides excellent document control among design team members and provides compliance with PAS1192-2:2013 level 2 BIM standards.

Pros: Document control is very good once people are up to speed on the software. The ability to find documents especially on larger projects with numerous participants is very useful to us. Document Audit/ history is very good.

Cons: Security on folders is cumbersome - need some means to propagate rights form a parent folder to a sub folder. Audit system is very good but Distribution system could be improved - difficult to get the distributions like we would have on a traditional architects transmittal register where we can cross reference documents by date it was distributed. Can be done is reports but reporting system also needs improving.
Forms are good once setup but not intuitive for users unfamiliar with how they work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018