Best and easy-to-use database software.

Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: MariaDB is great for business. It has better performance than other database software. Easy to install and host, with varies of configurations.

Pros: It has very similar queue style and command styling to MySQL. But with additional functions. It is easy to adapt to and I can export or import any database in MariaDB software. It also has a lot of storage type which we definitely need it.

Cons: Migration sometimes can be hard especially when you are upgrading the software. But most of the time we can solve it on our own or with the help of the community of MariaDB.

Great experience a fast database and without many novelties

Reviewed on 07/07/2018
Aníbal M.
Programador
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Currently I am carrying out a project independently for one of my clients and we have chosen MariaDB as a database, which gives me the advantage of being able to offer a simple and stable service without recharging the price of the licenses, although the time in what I have tried is little. I hope that this software is maintained over time and continues to grow. With MariaDB I have grown personally and professionally

Pros: MariaDB is something new in the market and at the beginning I was not sure about making the migration, but it has been very easy to use and has shown a lot of stability and speed, I really like it to be OpenSource with the software under the GPL license. This reduces many costs which gives a point in favor when choosing it, I like that it has a large community where there are always people willing to help in any problem, its configuration in the servers is quite simple and with very few resources can have the service operational, I like that the hosting providers have added it at no additional cost, which makes me consider it a lot when I'm going to implement a content manager or an electronic commerce system. New tables are an advantage in INFORMATION_SCHEMA

Cons: Although the community has tried to guarantee 100% compatibility with MySQL the reality is that it is not quite true when migrating to MariaDB it is necessary to change some data types that are not available. I did not like that it is necessary to uninstall MySQL on my development servers in order to install MariaDB. This software is fine for small and medium projects but it is limited when you need a robust database and with many long and frequent queries so for large projects it is not a good option.

My second best RDBMS software and best opensource software.

Reviewed on 15/09/2018
Debjit B.
Freelancer
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I love the idea of open-source so as opensource this is my best DB software. I love the idea of it and similarity with mysql as it is a fork of it. If you already used any SQL software/server before then you can find this pice of software your next best thing. This fast and light feature of it is the dealbreaker. VPS with 512MB ram can run mariaDB with 1000's of users which I cant think with Mysql or any other software. Love to see this awesome pice of software success. For support you always have it sorted by someone before and you just need to search.

Pros: This is an opensource solutions which is a fork of MySql. I love how light it is compared to other softwares. It is reliable, light, much faster alternative. If you know mySQL then it is just the free version of it.

Cons: I ran into some configuration problem when trying to configure it on my VPS server. It doesn't have lots of tutorials like other, but you can always find a way around of it. You cannot get personalize support for this software like others, because it is a comunity based DB software. Less update and bug fixing sometime make word really hard.

MariaDB is fast and stable

Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Contest Director
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It's fast, it's actually free to use even in a cluster, and it works. Hasn't let us down yet!

Pros: It truly is a drop-in replacement for MySQL. Especially when you alter the table structure of an existing table with millions of rows the lock time goes down from 10s of minutes to 10s of seconds. Setting up a Galera cluster is not trivial, especially starting it the first time, but when it's up and running, it works really well.

Cons: Starting up a Galera cluster is annoying. The first node needs a manual start. They need to come up with a better way for non-database-people to easily start it up. Also we get many small Galera log files that sometimes just fill up the inodes on the server; why they don't just keep adding to the same log file is a mystery to us.

Home Server

Reviewed on 26/02/2019
Robert O.
GIS Analyst
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: overall the product does what it's supposed and doesn't complicate things too much. Using this software with docker has made my entire development environment as near to Plug-n-Play / Set-and-Forget as I can imagine it.

Pros: Stable and quick. I have multiple dev environments that I run for testing and general project development. MariaDB has more up to date releases on arm-type devices and has a much more supported docker container than other databases.

Cons: The only improvement really needs to be general support. SQL syntax is pretty universal but there are some minor quirks that I had to end up fixing with StackOverflow answers after having no luck with the forum.

Very good database engine, so far a drop in replacement for other engine

Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Miguel alejandro A.
Datbase Engineer
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is a very simple to use database engine, and the default engine for many Linux distros.
It's a fork of Mysql and so far it's fully compatible, the changes at this point are in the back end, it uses different engines, which gives more options for different types of loads.

Pros: Is a medium to lightweight database engine, in resource consumption, fast as long as you set it up correctly.
Database backups are simple, but no easy to automate.
Uses a very standard SQL language.
It's very easy to find libraries for this database in any operative system.

Cons: It does not include a default manager
It's all console by default

Powerful, flexible and reliable database platform.

Reviewed on 05/09/2018
Martin E.
Senior Programmer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I use MariaDB for a wide range of services, and it has become my 'go-to' database platform. It operates well out of the box, and with some configuration has proven to scale well (through load balanced servers). It integrates well in Linux environments, and I rely on it every day to handle millions of requests.

Pros: I have used MariaDB in small environments, and production environments handling millions of transactions. It has proven very reliable, robust, and I have come to rely on it.

Cons: Sometimes the configuration can be quite terse, but it is very well documented, and there is always somebody out there who can help!

Fast and Easy

Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
DevOps Engineer III
Telecommunications, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We are using it all over the place, when requirements do not push us into one of the big commercial products.

Pros: This is the relational database systems of choice if you need or want to switch MySQL. There is no client reconfigurationnecessary. It is developed by the open source community and it is broadly supported in all environments.

Cons: The shrinking of the idx log files is a bit tedious and needs downtime.

100% free and open source database management

Reviewed on 28/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Musico I
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Compatibility with mysql that allows easier use of the application.
Open source.
Easy to use and safe database management.

Pros: MariaDB is an alternative to MySql totally free and open source
Maintains full compatibility with MySQL, allowing migrations from MySql to MariaDB in a clean and smooth manner
When complex queries are received and you have to perform temporary tables, they are cached instead of being written to the disk
Being a very dynamic community and open to developers, MariaDB guarantees the fastest appearance of patches, which can solve any security problems
MariaDB can be used from most existing management systems for MySQL, such as PhpMyAdmin or HeidiSQL, and is compatible with popular applications such as WordPress, Drupal, and others

Cons: The migration of a very tested and reliable system such as MySQL. Although absolute compatibility is guaranteed, and a large stable and powerful system, we must assess whether today a complex system is worth passing to MariaDB

The improved fork of an excellent solution, integrate with a lot of software

Reviewed on 26/02/2018
Daniel P.
Innovation and product developer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: As a fork of another solution you have all the advantages of the old solution but with more actualizations and an improved experience.
Easy to connect with a wide variety of DB clients and integrates with a large amount of software-
Widely recommended as there are a lot of documentation on the web.

I've used MongoDB since 2012. Latest releases are even better. Great piece of software!

Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Nemanja S.
CTO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Schema-less design, flexibility, performance and scalability options. I have developed such a system with a help of MongoDB which would never be possible with RDBs.

Cons: Perhaps hardware resource consumption could be somewhat lower (even though it has been designed to work on commodity hardware).

Great Database Software

Reviewed on 12/04/2019
Anthony A.
Owner
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have had a great experience with this database software. It has not required any learning curve switching from Mysql, or vice versa.

Pros: I like that this software works just like Mysql. Not sure of any differences yet, but it is very reliable! I use it as a tool to manage an email queue for scheduled emails. It's fast, easy to use, and quick to install.

Cons: Not sure of any cons at the moment. I haven't had any negative issues related to this database software as of yet.

Lite database specially for web applications

Reviewed on 23/02/2019
Buddhini S.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Our company has several projects which use MariaDB. There is nothing much to complain. Great database!

Pros: This is a lite database which many many features.
Indexing is so fast.
You can retrieve information fast.
The database works flawlessly.

Cons: Error messages displayed on MariaDB is not enough to troubleshoot.

It is an easy-to-use DBMS, and its functions are very helpful when handling the BD

Reviewed on 02/05/2018
Eyamir U.
Profesora
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The new system tables, which keep statistics that are of great help for the optimization of the Database. Its new ARIA storage engines that replace MyISAM and XtraDB that replaces InnoDB and are fault-proof, and the PBXT engine: which is a transactional storage engine with a lot of new and beautiful features. On the other hand its speed improvement especially in complex queries when using the Aria storage engine, since Aria caches data from temporary tables in memory, which is a performance against the use of the hard drive. In the replication substantial improvements have been introduced, for example the "group commit for the binary log" that accelerates replication up to twice as much. Its ability to handle more than 200.00 connections.

Cons: I really have not got something so far that I do not like the driver. For which I recommend its use

Safe way to store data

Reviewed on 08/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Outsourcing/Offshoring
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Saved client inovices and settlement information.

Pros: We can easily switch to this database with simple steps. It provide better sequrity on data. Retrieve data from table is easy and fast. Easy to handle complex queries.

Cons: It should add more simplicity while implementing culstering on tables. Debugging tool it not good it does not tract all the missing indexes.

MariaDB - open source

Reviewed on 09/08/2019
Jisha M.
Software engineer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I uses MariaDB for managing our project's data securily and write SQL scripts for accessing the data.

Pros: MariaDB is a very popular relational database software. It has improved query optimizer and many other performance features. It compatible and quicker.

Cons: Migration of MariaDB back to MySQL has not been possible.

Excellent database for web and mobile apps

Reviewed on 10/02/2019
Isuri S.
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have used this database to implement many projects. Great database!

Pros: It is another product from the MySQL team.
But it has more features than MySql.
Maria Db is secure and fast.
Indexing is very fast on MariaDB.
The database is idle for web applications.

Cons: It can not handle the load of a huge database.

MariaDB is great!

Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Bradley C.
CTO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It performs everything we need from a relational database.

Cons: The performance could be better. Some queries could run faster.

Best Integration Software

Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Manny P.
Network Administrator / Cable Technician
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The best open source software taking technology to a new level by integrating other software's together.

Pros: Ideal for companies that want to take SQL to the next level. Efficient, secure, ideal for the user's wanting to integrate various application together.

Cons: Open source and hopefully the developers will keep on top of the software for years to come. Integration software works as long as other vendors stay together and keep on collaborating.

Nice free database for your application

Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Chanuka P.
Student
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Used this database for university assignment.

Pros: This application provide good security compared to other databases. And it can run large SQL queries quickly and accurately. Also it can give good performance with large amount of data.

Cons: Relational queries are hard implement in the MariaDB. The interfaces are less attractive and unpleasant. Replication on the database have some issues.

Open source

Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Développeur indépendant
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: A fork from mysql, much more updated and well maintained, doesn't require a lot of learning very simple and reliable!

Cons: I hate the option to log in without password after installing new mariadb server, I wish I could set a password before installing, but it doesn't prevent from doing it after the installation it's just extra steps...

Great Database server with open source

Reviewed on 07/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have been maintaining web application data in MariaDB.

Pros: Security features is very good as we get security patches more frequently. Easy to move from other database. It provider better speed performance that MYSQL.

Cons: Maintain the indexing on table is very complex. It provide many features but query performance feature is still missing.

nice mysql alternative

Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Web Developer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: MariaDB has better performance, more open development, compatibility with MySQL, supports additional storage engines, and has quicker security releases.

Cons: Might become incompatible in the future. I haven't run into any incompatibilities in my own deployment, but it's worth noting that MariaDB and MySQL have begun to diverge

Amazing

Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Jose D.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Excellent performance. We work with this DB solution on most of our sites and even if they receive plenty of visit at the same time, there no sights of delays.

Pros: Blading fast. We switched from MySQL DB a few months ago and couldn't be much more happy with this solution.

Backend pillar for your web applications!

Reviewed on 05/04/2019
Ankit J.
Database Consultant
Investment Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: 1. Fast querying for faster search results.
2. Strong Security
3. Processing efficiency
4. Integration with 3rd party connectors and Language support

Cons: MySQL queries and MariaDB queries sometimes mismatch the results. There is very less documentation for MariaDB. Also, many traditional hosting services do not support MariaDB.