DATABASICS Time & Expense Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.7 /5

About DATABASICS Time & Expense

Time and Expense are better together. Our easy-to-use, all-in-one solution gives you the features and flexibility you need.

Learn more about DATABASICS Time & Expense

Showing 9 reviews

Jen V.
Accounting Consultant
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2017

"It's just a really easy software to use. One place to go for timesheets and PTO"

Pros: I have to track my time to projects. Now that we use DATABASICS it takes me half the time to do my timesheet

Cons: Not sure... we haven't begun using all of the modules yet. We're supposed to implement Expense module next quarter.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 13/06/2017

Thank you for your review. Please reach out to us if we can help when the Expense module is implemented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2017
Dyanna H.
Registration Systems Analyst
Events Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2017

"Time saver, easy to use"

Comments: Information at your finger tips, easy to use.

Pros: Leave Management has been such a great add for our company. It allows each employee to see how much PTO they accumulate per pay period, how much they used and when they would max out. It makes each employee responsible for managing their own PTO.
We can customize it to our needs. We have different accrual rates for length of service, as well as exceptions to the rule. Set them up once, assign them to the employee and it all works!
Customer support is amazing and responds very quickly when you need assistance.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 15/06/2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear about how leave management is working for you and solving problems. Please continue to reach out with questions or problems. We're always happy to help!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2017
Verified Reviewer
Editor
Media Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019

"It's very handy"

Pros: I love that they have an app for smartphones. It makes things so much easier.

Cons: There have been times it locked up, but it's rare. And less frequent lately.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 30/08/2019

Hello there!
Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you have had a positive experience with DATABASICS Time and the DATABASICS app; our staff will be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your time and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2019
Christina D.
Director of Human Resources
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2020

"Databasics is a good product."

Comments: Databasics was user friendly for our employees.

Pros: Easy for employees to access remotely.
Good customer service.

Cons: Sometimes difficult to understand how to make changes in the system.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 30/01/2020

Dear Christina,
Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you loved how easy the software is to use for employees; our team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We also appreciate the feedback on making changes in the system. So, thanks for your sharing your thoughts and we look forward to continuing to provide above-and-beyond customer service for your organization.
With all our best,
The DB Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2020
Cynthia T.
Director of Finance
Events Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2017

"DB has solved our issues with managing utilization, labor billing and expense reports"

Comments: HR compliance for hourly employees, time off management, electronic expense reports that seamlessly upload to our financial software, labor utilization by employees, departments and projects

Pros: Integration with Microsoft Dynamics/Solomon Project Controller and Financial Accounting is seamless and easy to manage

Cons: I think the report writing can be a little challenging and output not always pretty but it does work

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 13/06/2017

Thank you for your review and your feedback concerning report writing. We're happy to help with any problem or provide an answer to any question. We're also thrilled to hear about how useful DATABASICS has been for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2017
Matt S.
Sr. Financial Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017

"Great system for time keeping and reporting"

Pros: Easy to input time sheet data and submit time sheets. Great reporting functionality and ability to design and customize reports.

Cons: Administrative capabilities are not straight forward and difficult to navigate. Custom reports take significant time to run and load.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 13/06/2017

Thank you for your review and your feedback. Please reach out to us if we can help with the administrative capabilities or if we can help with running reports. We're here to help!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Jon N.
Business Systems Administrator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2017

"The product works and functions as needed for this organization. Customer support is top drawer."

Comments: 1. Automated time and expense tracking with solid interfaces to/from various other applications.
2. Improved (over the course of many years) end user time and expense interface.
3. Hosted environment with the database custody proviso.
4. Top drawer customer support

Pros: I like most:
1. Customer Support through the Databasics support website/portal
2. Application stability - little to no downtime
3. Application functionality
4. Ease of administration
5. End user experience
We have a 360+ employee user pool who all use the time sheets with a good portion of that total also using the expense reporting. We have used Databasics since version 4x, through the years upgrading to version 5x and now version 6x in the hosted environment. The application is generally easy to use, in most cases, requiring only a brief initial orientation and from there, minimal end user support for the application. Many employees have taken advantage of the mobile application to enter either time or expenses while traveling and this was a welcome functional addition received with version 6x. Receipt imaging and organization was another welcome addition. We extract and interface expense data (weekly) and time sheet data (semi-monthly) from Databasics to our accounting application. We also import and interface organizational data (employee information, accounting structural data, etc...) into Databasics from both our accounting and HRIS applications. While managing these interfaces requires some training, assistance is always available if needed.

Cons: User feedback indicates that the time sheet form could be improved. The one recurring complaint/suggestion sine version 4x is that time sheet lines cannot be drag-n-drop managed for user sorting preferences. As an administrator, I dislike the fact that I no longer have physical custody of the database for other analysis or reporting needs. All ad hoc reporting must be done through the embedded Jasper reporting application. This generally meets the needs but is sometimes inconvenient to use.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 13/06/2017

We very much appreciate your thorough review of DATABASICS. Hearing about how it benefits you makes our day!

Thank you, also, for your suggestions and feedback concerning reporting and the time sheet.

Please continue to reach out if you have questions or concerns. We're thrilled for the opportunity to help!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/06/2017
Cooper W.
Controller
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2017

"The ability to give employees access to see PTO in realtime is great!"

Comments: Con: I didn't hear about it sooner!?! There's really nothing to change about it, honestly. We get the view, we get the report... it's great.

Pros: Everything's automated. We set it up and it tracks and provides views to employees with me doing anything. It's a huge time saver and big benefit for our team members.

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 13/06/2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to help with any question in the future!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/06/2017
Chris C.
Lead Recruiter
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2018

"Easy to cut down on expenses"

Pros: Very easy for our staff to submit time and expenses. Administrators love this because it is also easy for them to gather the information.

Cons: The only challenge is you need to navigate through multiple screen to review and confirm information (dates and times entered)

Vendor Response

by DATABASICS on 11/07/2019

Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience with DATABASICS. We're so glad to hear that your administrators love DATABASICS.

We're also happy to take on your feedback about the multiple screens. The latest version minimizes the number of clicks you need to get your tasks done. Check out version 7 to see it for yourself!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2018