Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.1 /5

About CMiC

CMiC offers a unified, purpose-built ERP & Field management software platform for companies that serve the construction industry.

Learn more about CMiC

Showing 165 reviews

Christina H.
Project Accountant
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019

"Review"

Comments: Reports are not running properly. Program is extremely slow and not efficient. Some of the reports do not work properly. Wish there was a way we could view the invoices in Invoice query rather than imaging.

Pros: Program is easy to use and navigate and is compatible with Textura Payment Processing program

Cons: Very slow and some functions do not work properly which is frustrating when your brain works faster than the programs and reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Associate Engineering Manager
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"Tricky Customization"

Comments: We've been using another similar software for many years and recently switched to CMiC. The transition has been time consuming but the end result should justify the cost. We're looking forward to having the software fully implemented.

Pros: I love that we're able to replace 3-4 different softwares with 1 (CMiC). We were able to combine most of our company's departments into this one software which allows more seamless distribution of information. It's a powerful software that can be customized to meet our company's individual needs.

Cons: Customization was a very long process and we're still discovering issues as we roll it out to our employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Luis B.
Director of Construction Technologies
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017

"Integrated Accounting and Project Managment Solution"

Comments: If you are an operations-oriented firm (as opposed to an accounting-driven firm), this is the right ERP system for you. It is also the best commercial construction ERP system for your dollar. Like most ERP systems and large-scale software implementations, CMiC will take significant resources, planning, and training to deploy and maintain.

Pros: The fact the CMiC provides an integrated platform for our accounting and operations personnel to have real-time visibility into our projects without the need for custom-built integrations is the primary reason that we switched from Viewpoint to CMiC. This also provides us with a unified database to perform real-time data analytics through our BI applications.

Cons: - Environment Management (patch testing, hot fixes, bugs)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017
Heather B.
Application Manager
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2017

"Good Work Keep it up!"

Pros: For the most part, CMIC meets our needs. It has come a long way in the 11 years I have been using it and I like the direction it's going in. When ADF gets all the little nuances worked out it, it will be a great replacement for the old Forms screens. I think the JSP screens need to get a face lift next which mobile is helping with that. All in all, I've used a few other construction ERP systems and CMIC, while quirky at times, is my favorite.

Cons: Take the time to understand why the system is doing what it's doing. Once you understand the "why", then it makes determining your process easier. Sometimes, minor tweaks to processes can make the world of difference in how something is done and makes the process as a whole work better within the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2017
Jennifer V.
Sr. Project Engineer
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/09/2019

"Tough to use but gets the job done"

Comments: CMiC is certainly not the easiest software to pick up and start using. There are a lot of little nuances, and quite a few features that have more issues than uses. That being said, it handles the finances of a project VERY well.

Pros: The main thing I like most about this software is its wide breadth of abilities, and how it handles the finances of the projects.

Cons: Tough to learn and use; lots of nuances; not 100% reliable. Most recently I found that in the potential cost section that when I mark the overall COR as approved or cancelled, etc, that it doesn't waterfall down through all of the costs. No end-game failure of mechanics, but things like this that make it hard to trust this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/09/2019
Pascal P.
Programmer
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017

"A Complete ERP solution"

Comments: If your team has some programming knowledge, this software can do wonders!

Pros: Our business, being in the construction industry, has some particular needs and protocols to respect, and CMiC offers the perfect solution. It gives us the tools we need to do most of our project management, and also provide an easy way to customize and add modules we developed ourselves.
1. Highly customizable
2. Lots of shortcuts, and navigating in the software is consistent.
3. Their development team is consistently working toward new and innovative solutions.

Cons: 1. Currently between 2 technologies. "Forms" is old and not well adapted for latest computing protocols. 2. "ADF", even though appealing, still has some unresolved issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017
Jenn D.
IT Business Analyst
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017

"Very Good Software"

Comments: Take your time to really test and vet through your software before rolling it out to the masses.

Pros: I have been using CMiC for 16 years and it has definitely evolved for the better over that time. I am looking forward to moving to the ADF platform by next year. I usually get quick responses from CMiC when I have a problem with the system. The connect user conference is also a big plus.

Cons: 1. The Submittal process in CMiC Collab is not easy to use 2. It is not intuitive for a new user 3. There is a lot of functionality that users still don't about

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017
Ryan H.
Project Accountant
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017

"Overall good software"

Pros: Overall, CMiC is more user friendly than other project software I've used. 1) The AP Module is straightforward and user-friendly 2) The lookup module for AP and Subcontractor invoices are effective 3) The filters within the program allow for quick searches

Cons: There are idiosyncrasies to parts of CMiC that are not user friendly and can result in a frustrating experience. 1) Error messages provide no helpful guidance on how to correct and proceed 2) Ticket submissions often sit idle for months before resolution

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017
Connor M.
Operations Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017

"CMiC's Development"

Comments: Take time implementing the software, do not do it all at once as this was challenging.

Pros: We have been implementing and using CMiC now for 2 years. While challenging to implement at first, CMiC has grown into becoming an excellent communication device between field and office employees. With the added enhancement of the financials, CMiC benefits both field and office employees when tracking costs of each project. CMiC has been worth the time and money that was invested to implement the software.

Cons: 1. The cost and time to edit and change certain report formats.
2. Slow support time when tickets are submitted and at times it is difficult to speak with somebody.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017
J-ashley N.
CMiC Systems Analyst
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2017

"Ashley's CMiC review"

Comments: I have been using this software since 2004. CMiC has come a long way not only on functionality but in customer
service. From day one I have recommended CMiC to other Generals. I am looking forward to all the new functionality
we have yet to implement and what the future holds for CMiC and our company.

Pros: Integration: Accounting, Human Resources/Payroll and Project Management
Collaboration with the project team (internal & external users)

Cons: It is not always easy to extract the data into 'reports'
Changes/enhancements to the software can sometimes be a tedious process

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2017
Adam C.
Application Developer
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2017

"CMiC Review"

Comments: Overall CMiC is a solid product!

Pros: I mainly use the CMiC database for accessing data, occasionally entering equipment into the Equipment module, and entering my time sheet. For the most part, CMiC seems to work well but it would be nice if there was a consistent interface amongst all the different modules.

Cons: Too many interfaces (Forms, ADF, JSP, etc.) to access data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2017
Claudia G.
Director of Finance
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017

"Great Integrated System with lots of capability"

Comments: When rolling it out make sure to prioritize what the requirements are and setup accordingly.

Pros: Overall the system has huge capability. I love that it updates in real time and is fully integrated. It is also scalable thanks to the cloud meaning we will never outgrow the system.

Cons: Navigating through the system can be tricky and requires a good amount of time for initial setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017
Jerry C.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"Good Value"

Pros: CMiC is a great value pm/payroll software we have been using for many years. The connection with the software and our database is instant and never had a problem.

Cons: The software needs some time to get use to, once pass that phase, it will make everything you do with it much easier.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Jennifer A.
Office Accountant
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2017

"Jen's Review"

Pros: It took awhile to get used to but I feel comfortable with it now.\
I like the logs, which are exportable to excel. I like that it runs at a good speed most of the time. I like that it seems to have plenty of room for data/doesn't get bogged down.

Cons: 1099 module not useful. Lack of links to additional information within data points. Pay attention to the variable choices for reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2017
Allisson K.
Accounts Payable Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017

"Exceeds needs"

Pros: Our accounts payable department utilizes CMIC as our only system.The system ensures we are accurate with our daily transactions. Very thorough information in the screens. We are able to customize what is available by associate need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2017
Brittany D.
Construction Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017

"PMA Opinion"

Comments: I am new to construction but from what I see with this software it is and will be very beneficial as we become more familiar with the process.

Pros: Helps keep everything organized and fairly easy to use. I also like the Workflow area. It is always nice to have an additional check and balance making sure I have completed all my tasks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/02/2017
Cory D.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2017

"Overall satisfied with the CMiC experience"

Comments: I have so far liked my general use of the software.

Pros: My favorite part of CMiC is that the whole project management and superintendent side of the job can be encapsulated
into one easy to use software program.

Cons: redundancy in some of the functions and the inability to go back (like coding invoices) to prior activities after they have
been finalized.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2017
Akshay G.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017

"X Projects Review"

Pros: Easy navigation, Everything is linked together. The things can be saved on the cloud so can be accessed at any place.

Cons: Older platform, Old reports. The support needs to be better. They do not have a phone number which you can call to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017
Rashid K.
Sr. Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2017

"Definitely a product that can take over"

Pros: The cloud based software that will allow us to access work from anywhere. This makes it easy to work on the go.

Cons: The product is buggy. There's still a lot of things to work on and I think tech support gets bogged down by this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2017
Mario G.
Operation Management
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Ottawa Project Management"

Comments: Great in general. But would like to see a file folder tool that would allow savings of miscellaneous documents for each individual project.

Pros: Friendly user and clear readable panels.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Verified Reviewer
Associate Engineering Manager
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2019

"New User"

Pros: I like that the product has replaced a number of individual programs, allowing us to have one ultimate software solution.

Cons: The customization of the software was a very lengthy process which required a lot of internal testing and a staggered roll-out to the users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2019
Robert L.
Superintendent
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Time Saver"

Comments: very excellent software. very easy to use and a time saver

Pros: easy to use

Cons: nothing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Christina H.
project accountant
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019

"Helpful"

Comments: For the most part, it has been pleasant and productive

Pros: Textura is easy to navigate and there are lot of functions that you can build to your preference for billing and construction management

Cons: The system is slow and after a certain time we experience slow than others. There are some functions that stop working and needs to have CMIC Technical team fix which sometimes take a while

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2019
Jean V.
Project Engineer
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"It is a powerful tool"

Comments: The RFI, Submittal, and Meeting Minutes are great tools to use. It has taken a while to get the use of the software. It is a powerful tool once you figure out how to use it! It has so many capabilities and it takes time to learn them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Christina H.
project accountant
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018

"System offers many capabilities however is slow and kicks you out often"

Comments: Wish the software was faster

Pros: Easy to run reports, query data, is efficient in some areas oppose to our previous software, it allows up to upload images which is paper efficient.

Cons: System very slow, especially after 3:30, its not forgiving, sometimes kicks you out in the middles of data entry, does not allow you to view previous screen in some areas.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2018