15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About WalkMe

WalkMe pioneered the Digital Adoption Platform (DAP) to transform the user experience in today's overwhelming digital world.

Learn more about WalkMe

Pros:

WalkMe lives on top of a website or software program. Currently, we utilize WalkMe on our B2B website, where we can reach our dealers and sales reps who are using the site around the globe.

Cons:

It's often mistaken and mislabeled as an "instructional" tool. Mobile is an added cost.

WalkMe ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

WalkMe has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 62 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WalkMe before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (62)

Aaron
Aaron
Business Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WalkMe is great for digital adoption - bringing software end users up to speed

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very happy with this software. The WalkMe support team was also amazing!

Pros:

My company used this software for a about 8 months to a year. We integrated Walk Me into our proprietary platform in order to help our web design agencies and their end users to better use our software, to become more self sufficient when using the platform, and to help make our platform more intuitive. The WalkMe interactive digital walk throughs made it extremely simple for customers to learn the ins and outs of our platform without our support team getting engaged. This software saved our support team significant time and energy!

Cons:

Managing the Walk Me software can be difficult in a situation which requires constant updates to the digital walk throughs - during periods in which our platform was undergoing significant changes. However, though the process of updating our library of walk throughs was tedious, it allowed our end users to become familiar with platform updates very quickly with limited engagement from support staff.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Extremely robust platform for digital adoption

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Customer self-onboarding. Benefits:
Scalability of new customer onboarding. We were able to onboard customers much faster after deploying WalkMe, allowing CS to focus on renewal and expansion with existing customers.

Pros:

WalkMe has a ton of functionality to allow you to create walk throughs and other types of dynamic user education. I love how easy it is to integrate outside content like videos, help desk articles, webpages, etc. with your custom walk throughs. Probably my favorite thing about walk me is that Customer Success and UX can use the platform to implement super detailed user education without needing to involve engineering much at all. In my experience, user education often gets deprioritized next to new feature development and bug fixes, so things like in-app onboarding and tool tips only get built when there's a bit of extra capacity, and it rarely is able to keep up with the evolution of the product. With WalkMe, the teams focused on customer success and experience can quickly implement the changes they want without involving half the company.

Cons:

It is a very robust platform, so learning all the functionality takes time. Unless you're a javascript and CSS pro, you will probably struggle with getting the jQuery selectors right and the CSS exactly how you want the experience to look and feel. The out-of-the box features will get you 90% of the way there though.

WalkMe Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on your WalkMe experience! We¿re glad to hear that our Digital Adoption Platform has helped scale your customer on-boarding efforts and beyond. It¿s also great to learn that WalkMe has enabled your Customer Success and UX teams to drive the value of your product to your customers. WalkMe is indeed a very robust platform, and for this matter we¿ve designed our Center of Excellence -- University, Community, and Playbooks -- to provide customers with a plethora of resources and templates to maximize the use of our platform and make it easy for our customers to customize content. We'll also continue to simplify our product in 2019. If you¿d like to learn me more about our Center of Excellence, or if you have any questions, please email us at [email protected]. Thanks again!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Disappointed Decision Maker

1.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The idea of WalkMe and their promised delivery over a multi-platformed environment was exciting.

Cons:

They failed to delivery, the support team has now stopped responding, and it's been extremely difficult to get them to finalize our cancellation request.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Top tool for creating interactive user onboarding

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It really helps us onboard our new users. Even those who are not willing to give it a go once they register for the first time, they can launch it later through the WalkMe menu. We definitely see positive effects of having WalkMe.

Pros:

With new Smart Walk-Thrus it is easier than ever to create a desired flow. I like the ability to style almost everything as I would like it to appear in the app (although you must have a good CSS knowledge too).

Cons:

Some things are harder to do but improving, like it was to manage existing content but then the folders were introduced to make it easier. So many room for improvements which does not mean the tool is not good, it's just means that they are on a good track to make it even better. Very pricey... there should be some lighter, start-up packages.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very good software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

How innovative and smart it is, it makes our relationship with our customers so much easier and fluid, so many great tools and functionalities, it has very to no little limitations on what you can do

Cons:

A bit more difficult to learn than expected, but that's all really, never encountered any actual issues or inconveniences

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on your WalkMe experience! It¿s great to hear that you think so highly of our Digital Adoption Platform and that we've been able to improve your relationship with your customers. WalkMe is a a very powerful tool and we¿ve designed our Center of Excellence -- like University, Community and Playbooks -- to provide you with several resources and templates to maximize the use of our platform. Please don¿t hesitate to reach out to learn more about some of our new capabilities, and we look forward to continuing our conversations on the Customer Community. Thanks again!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Digital Adoption with Walkme

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It is really easy to create launchers, tips, validation, and walk-thru to provide assistance to the users and assign tasks to newly hired employees to train them about the system and track their training record via reporting. We can also segregate different materials for different clients and we can also create segments for faster rule application on any item.

Cons:

the only con is that we cannot host any resources like videos and documents, we can only add their private links.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Just in time performance support

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The customer support and sales staff at WalkMe are great at helping unlock the potential benefits. We are currently considering a pilot program that I'm hopeful will take off and lead to enterprise-wide use.

Pros:

There are two things that I loved about WalkMe. 1. The overall premise of improving the user experience and guiding them at the time of need. 2. How easy it is for a non-technical person to author any type of WalkMe function.

Cons:

It's definitely better for form-based applications than more complicated non-linear applications. Some of the applications we wanted to use this on were too complex (at least for beginner authors) to have a meaningful impact on the end users.

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It¿s great to hear that you got to experience the potential of our Digital Adoption Platform during your free trial. We're also really proud to hear that you think so highly of our all-star Support and Customer Success team. WalkMe is a a very powerful tool and we¿ve designed our Center of Excellence -- University, Community, and Playbooks -- to provide customers with a plethora of resources and templates to maximize the use of our platform. We're excited about the possibility of working with your organization in the near future to tackle your digital adoption challenges. Below we'll leave you with a recent article that showcases how Roche uses WalkMe on 50+ platforms across their workforce of 90,000+ employees to solve several issues (https://www.constellationr.com/node/15785/vote/application/view/511). Please don¿t hesitate to reach out to [email protected] with any other questions/concerns. Thanks again!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Product Walk-throughs, Mistaken as Instructional Tool

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Great amount of customization, triggers and flows are intuitive and applicable to most all use cases, easy to use and train others on.

Cons:

It's often mistaken and mislabeled as an "instructional" tool. Mobile is an added cost.

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on your WalkMe experience! We¿re glad to hear that WalkMe is helping your team fulfill your training needs and more. It's also great to hear that you've found WalkMe to be easy to use and highly customizable. WalkMe is an end-to-end solution for digital adoption and many trainers & instructional designers use our platform instead of creating documentation, simulations, or videos, which is why we can be labeled as an instructional tool. If you have additional feedback, or if you would like to discuss further, please reach out to [email protected]. Thanks again for this review!

Rick
Rick
Marketing Content Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

So many cool potential uses!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It allows us to help our customers understand our complicated application process on our website.

Pros:

There are so many ways WalkMe can be implemented that are genuinely helpful to our customers. It takes a complicated process and gives helpful insights along the way to make it much more approachable.

Cons:

There is a bit of a learning curve before you can really get started making useful tools. It is also a pretty expensive solution.

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, Rick. It¿s good to hear that you¿re aware of how WalkMe can be implemented solve many issues around digital adoption. We¿ve also made significant strides over the past few months to improve our data & analytics capabilities even further within WalkMe Insights. As for getting past the WalkMe learning curve, both the Community and Playbooks resources are designed to provide our customers with resources and templates to maximize the use of our Digital Adoption Platform. Please don¿t hesitate to reach out to learn more about some all our new capabilities, and we look forward to continuing our conversations on the Customer Community! Thanks again, Rick.

Girivaru
Girivaru
Customer Success Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product Walkthrough tool

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great tool with plethora of features to increase product adoption, solve onboarding issues

Pros:

It has immense features that helps you build walkthroughs, onboarding lists and tool tips.

Cons:

It is difficult to navigate and discover items.

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, Girivaru. It's great to hear that WalkMe has helped Botmetric with product adoption, onboarding, and other areas. We do recommend that you take advantage of the Customer Community and Playbook resources which are designed to provide our customers with a plethora of resources and templates to maximize the use of our Digital Adoption Platform. We look forward to continuing our conversations on the Customer Community! Thanks again, Girivaru.

Adrian
Senior Business Operations Analyst in US
Telecommunications, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Train your users on-screen

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It saves one of the things we all need most - time. Give your users the ability to train themselves. Give them the support they need to help them get to where they need to go. Alleviate the stress on your support teams so they can focus on big ticket items.

Pros:

WalkMe has been useful in removing some of the daily questions support teams typically field. Simple questions on how do I access something, how do I get from point A to point B can be answered with on-screen guidance and allow your support team to focus on high priority tickets. Rolling out a new platform also becomes a bit easier and alleviates the pain of having to perform training after training.

Cons:

Not much I didn't like - the only piece that is tricky is creating WalkMe's across different platforms, but it is possible. The other challenge is trying to nail down some of the funnels to be more precise. However, WalkMe support teams do an amazing job in helping.

Elisabeth
Director of Member Support and Training in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Do anything you can imagine!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We originally purchased WalkMe to use when onboarding new users. We soon discovered we could use it for dozens of other things. For example, we’ve used it to let users know “Hey, we’re aware of this bug,” to avoid a zillion support requests. We’ve used it to run surveys, highlight new features, everything. I can’t imagine working without WalkMe.

Pros:

It’s amazingly versatile. Need to show users how to do something? Easy. Need to pop up messages about system status? You got it. Want to highlight a new feature? Done. Need to remind someone their fees are overdue? Done. You can do almost anything you can imagine with this system!!

Cons:

Our only complaint is really our own fault. The system relies on static “tags” that our software doesn’t have. We have been totally able to work around it, though, using visible elements on the screen.

Vince
Director of IT in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WalkMe Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: WalkMe is a pretty simple and creative tool to use to target your audience. It has benefited us in making it much easier to target our audience to download and use our services! We have received great customer support, which has helped us every bit of the way. WalkMe is definitely worth every cent with all of the feature reach functionality you receive!

Pros:

WalkMe has a great resource management dashboard . Easy-to-use dashboard. I can create customized walk-throughs for our customers to utilize to learn different tasks within the software. Overall WalkMe is just a fun and easy product to use. Connecting with my customers resources feels very rewarding, and is a HUGH Benefit for us. It keeps us connected to our customers and meeting there needs.

Cons:

Getting implemented was a bit tricky for us. It took longer than expected probably because our business and our process in general are a bit more difficult for others to grasp. You do need to have patience because you do need to build everything from scratch but once you are up and running that is when the fun begins. At least that was the case for us.

clinton
director in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good idea, has some improvements coming

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: overall this experience has been well worth the price. We have added a lot of training material that continues to help our customers with learning the software and being updated on changes.

Pros:

Recently they have added new features that make it easier to manage the walkthrus, etc.

Cons:

The reporting used to do real time for shoutouts, etc. but now it takes 24 hours for it to kick in on the reporting analytics

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Clinton. It¿s wonderful to hear you have found our Digital Adoption Platform to be so useful for training your customers and helping them learn your software. We have some exciting updates within our tracking and analytics coming very soon... stay tuned and please don't hesitate to email the WalkMe Community at [email protected] with any questions or concerns. Thanks again, Clinton!

Justin
Quality Analyst in US
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WalkMe for Business

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: WalkMe has cut down on our B2B related support tickets by over 25% since we've started in 2020. We have seen great success in our implementation and look to leverage this software in other areas of our business. We aim to cut down on our in-person training needs and training time by 50% using the tool.

Pros:

WalkMe lives on top of a website or software program. Currently, we utilize WalkMe on our B2B website, where we can reach our dealers and sales reps who are using the site around the globe. We have built Smart Walk-Thru's that allow users to train themselves on how to use the site and learn how to navigate around it to find what they need.

Cons:

WalkMe requires a significant onboarding/learning process. Knowledge of coding is necessary to take full advantage of the software, otherwise you need to lean on their technical team. The team is great, but you have to pay for the support hours and they can go quickly if you have a complicated build.

Pete
Customer Success Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

WalkMe is a nice tool to help clients navigate your website.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy setup, user friendly. WalkMe was used to enhance our client experience with our rather difficult to navigate user platform. It allows the user to select what they want to do and then be "walked-through" a step by step process to reach that goal.

Cons:

We had to abandon WalkMe in favor of a live chat system as our platform changed so frequently, the navigation steps got outdated quickly and required constant review and reassessment.

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on your WalkMe experience, Pete. It¿s great to hear that our platform was able to help your clients navigate your website and improve the client experience altogether. We are bummed to hear that the constant change was impacting scalability! We hope there¿s an opportunity to reevaluate in the future, as your product changes and we continue to evolve. Thank you for sharing.

Arpit
Manager in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Guided user experience!

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Walkme has multi step guided experience that helps users understand critical user journeys. Another thing I like about walkme is that it allows end users to create content and not always rely on the technical teams to help with content creation.

Cons:

Walkme UI components sometimes are a nuiance while creating or updating records. Setting up content is not easy and the content creation takes a lot of time.

Harrison
Customer Success in US
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The premier walk-through software

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

WalkMe offers a great resource management dashboard (i.e a "Help" button for your website). We can put all of our available resources in an easy-to-use dashboard. Even better, I can and have created customized walk-throughs for our customers to utilize to learn different tasks within the software. Overall WalkMe is just fun, which is not something that is easy to do. Connecting customers with resources feels very rewarding for both parties involved.

Cons:

Building a walk-through is NOT easy. Though, their professional services team helps out a bunch with that. You can only launch their editor using Firefox though, and I religiously use Chrome. I keep Firefox installed just to use Walkme. Starting off can also be daunting as you have to build everything from scratch to begin with. When I first started using WalkMe, I had to peruse their knowledge center and ask my supervisor for help with nearly everything. Now, I am pretty self-sufficient and would utilize my contact over at WalkMe If I need further help.

Alison
CRM Administrator in US
Events Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Walkme Review

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Walkme has been a great tool for us as a company especially in regions where we do not have an administrator to answer questions. It's a great tool for new users in understanding not only Salesforce but company customization in salesforce.

Pros:

Easy to install and great for new beginners

Cons:

Lots of set up required on the back end and if you move fields around, won't capture those changes

Olivia
Implementation Success Analyst in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WalkMe is a great tool for business!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've had a great experience with WalkMe. Their communication is great, I get help when I need it, and they are releasing new features that improve the use of the tools. It's made training new customers easy and is a great support tool!

Pros:

I like all the options there are when building with WalkMe. The options allow you to build in a way that makes sense for your website.

Cons:

Sometimes things that were built will randomly stop working. This is typical with most software but can be annoying.

WalkMe Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your positive feedback on your WalkMe experience, Olivia. We¿re glad to hear that our Digital Adoption Platform has helped train your customers and offer them step-by-step support within your application. We're also really proud to hear that you think so highly of our Support and Customer Success team's. You'll be happy to know that WalkMe has made significant strides to prevent walk-thru errors, and if one occurs our support team is available 24/7. We look forward to continuing our conversations in the Customer Community! Thanks again, Olivia.

Josh
Senior Venues and Events Trainer in Australia
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Using WalkMe to reduce on-boarding time for new clients and staff

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The system has an extremely deep rules engine that allows you to create a solution for pretty much all use cases. We have not come across anything that the system does not have several options to choose from to solve our problems

Cons:

You will need a committed staff member or team to champion the product from the beginning. Given the nature of our specific software, there was a steep learning curve, however we can now create solutions faster than the Marketing team can produce an EDM.

Jenn
Jenn
Automation Manager in US
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good experience overall with WalkMe

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I liked that it can take users step by step through the basic functions and can be used as a reference after their session with an instructional designer in case they forgot how to do anything.

Cons:

Updates to our platform's UI would often break a step in the smart walkthroughs so frequent maintenance was required to keep everything working.

WalkMe Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your feedback on your WalkMe experience, Jenn. It's great to hear that our Digital Adoption Platform helped your users navigate around your platform. You'll be happy to know that we've made significant strides to improve the way smart walk-thru's function, and ultimately adapt to UI updates within the given application. If you need any additional information on this, please email [email protected]! Thanks again, Jenn!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Onboarding app that needs to improve

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: The potential is there, but it has many room for improvement for it to be "self served"

Pros:

It lets you build complete workflows that take users "hand in hand" until they complete a desired flow, in addition to building "one-time" helpful popups

Cons:

It has many bugs. Maybe it works well for simple websites, but we have a problem with almost every implementation of a new onboarding workflow we want to run on our platform, which then requires the help of their support/tech team.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ironically, it's incredibly hard to use their product

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This can be very powerful software if set up properly. We were able to do advanced tutorials, though it took professional services to set it up for us. We found it the most powerful in the market from a feature standpoint.

Cons:

hard to use. WalkMe is a software that makes it easy to show visitors how to use any product. Unfortunately their product is prohibitively hard to use. They have set up a "walkme university" and require 10 hours of training and watching videos just to get started. They typically give you a CSM for 3 months to help you onboard and throw in free professional services because most things are too hard to figure out.

WalkMe Response

6 years ago

Pleasure to meet you, and thank you for sharing your feedback on WalkMe. I'm glad to hear that WalkMe is helping your organization with feature adoption, but disappointed to hear that you're experiencing difficulties using the platform. As this experience is atypical for our customers, I'd love to better understand some of the issues if you'd be open to a discussion. In regards to our Customer Support, the team is available 24/7 and is typically able to solve or escalate most issues fairly quickly. Please email us at [email protected] so we can learn more. Looking forward to discussing with you.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

WalkMe Onboarding Review

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Nice during evaluation but lack of pricing transparency made us look at alternative solution.

Pros:

covers beyond Onboarding across over all digital transformation

Cons:

pricing is not very clearly mentioned on the website

WalkMe Response

5 years ago

Pleasure to meet you, and thank you for sharing your feedback on WalkMe pricing. We're glad to hear that you understand the potential of our Digital Adoption Platform, but disappointed to hear that you decided to explore an alternative solution. Because WalkMe can be used for internal and external facing products, we aren't able to explicitly list our pricing publicly as it varies depending on number of users, company size, number of applications, etc... With that said, WalkMe has adjusted our product offering and pricing to accommodate small, mid-size and enterprise organizations; we're also able to offer competitive pricing despite our product being the only end-to-end solution for digital adoption being used by more than 2,000 organizations globally. If you'd be open to a discussion, please email us at [email protected] so we can learn more. We look forward to connecting.