15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Apex LIS

Affordable LIS Perfect for Physicians Office ($350/month) or Commercial Lab ($500/month)! HL7 interfaces for EMR and Reference Lab.

Learn more about Apex LIS

Pros:

The software provides easy access for physician web portal. The interface to all the lab equipment is stable most of time.

Cons:

They totally ignore you. If a data transfer error occurs features don't help you remedy the problem.

Apex LIS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Apex LIS has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 11 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (11)

Sort by

Have you used Apex LIS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (11)

Maria Louisse
Maria Louisse
Laboratory Technician in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worth The Price

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: One of the best Medical Lab Software used in hospitals and other reference laboratories. Easy to use and adaptable to your organization's needs.

Pros:

Working in a government hospital, Been using this software 5 years now and this APEX LIS became our bestfriend in our workplace. It is very helpful especially when you are in health care industry. From order entry, specimen storage, data security and more. Files are safe and secure.

Cons:

It is confusing at first. So glad we had training for this software. Still a 10/10 for me.

David
Director of IT in US
Medical Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Support Behind The Product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: When I was brought on as the IT Director, this app was the biggest open issue. After doing some testing I found that our ISP latency response time was extremely high thus being the underlying issue with the app communicating with our cloud server. Called and had a discussion with Oscar, we had a test console deployed into our Citrix environment that evening and began testing the next day. Console ran like a champ and my staff couldn't be more thankful!

Pros:

For the price it's really hard to beat. Anytime we have any issue we are able to get a tech on the phone and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

Cons:

Sometimes devices stop communicating and the system needs to be rebooted. We've put in a process to simply reboot the workstation every evening and this seems to have minimized this issue.

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your kind review its a pleasure to be of service to Legacy ER

Shane
Physician in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Apex sucks! Unprofessional answer...... yes. Truthful?.......Absolutely

1.0 8 years ago

Comments: Apex had good customer service initially, in fact I referred several other clinics to them in the first year after opening in 2009. At first they seemed very responsive to our clinic needs, however, over the years they have gone significantly downhill. As in I don't think customer service could get any worse.

Pros:

Most of the time Apex works just fine. But how many software programs do you know that work perfectly all of the time? Its when it is NOT working is when you see their true colors. When see a companies response when things aren't working is when you measure the value of the company and the software program.

Cons:

For 13 months now we have been trying to get Apex to interface with LabCorp. This is a process that should only take 2 weeks or less. Our clinic is NOT the only one having problems with Apex. Here we are 13 months later and still no interface. The problem is that clinics are held hostage by software companies because it is frequently cost prohibitive to drop your LIS company and switch to another (same thing with EMR's). At MedNorth we are at the point where we are going to just bite the bullet and switch to a new LIS company....that's how bad it is.

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

Dr Hill we are sorry to hear of your frustration. Please note that this interface (1 of over 100) was completed by us in 10 weeks but we waited on your EMR for 9 months to complete delivery of insurance & guarantor data. what can we do to make this right for you?

Lisa
Lab Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Apex for your POL LIS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: An LIS in the POL results in more timely results without transcription errors. However, most LIS are designed for large hospitals and are so expensive that the average POL cannot even consider the cost of installing one. Apex has changed that. I am the Lab Manager in a POL with 8 providers performing over 100,000 labs on an annual basis, and I must say that this was our best purchase ever! As a plus, the customer support has been very timely and personable.

Pros:

The Apex LIS is perfect for the Physician Office Lab. Not only does it provide all the features needed, but, unlike most of its competitors, its is very affordable!

Cons:

I honestly do not have anything negative to say about the Apex system.

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

Thank you for you for allowing us to be your LIMS. Its a pleasure!

Khalid
CTO in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SignatureCare Emergency centers Love using Apex LIS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We love using the software as it provides us the central platform to manage our in-house lab. We are able to serve our patients faster and efficiently.

Pros:

It is user-friendly and easy to learn after it is initially set up by the expert staff at Apex support. We have worked with them to centralize the use across multiple facilities and successfully integrated with our EMR software. Results transfer to our EMR seamlessly.

Cons:

Sometimes communications to the devices break but Apex support has set up a robust recovery process.

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

You are most kind. It is a pleasure to be of service to SignaureCare!

Shannon
Lab Supervisor in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This software is garbage

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: No one ever teaches you really to use it. It works, but you will hate it because there is a lack of necessary functions. Looks like a kindergartner made it. HATE IT. HATE IT. HATE IT.

Pros:

It stores your data. Crashes all the time. Not many things I like about the software.

Cons:

There are a lot of bugs and the software team wants nothing to do with you. Customer service is terrible. They totally ignore you. If a data transfer error occurs features don't help you remedy the problem. Once we had to manually delete 1000s of accidental files. I remember asking to try the software before we bought it and they basically told me that wasn't possible....

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

Hi Mr Ealy just read your review and am mortified. With 100s of clients occasionally one falls thru the cracks. My apologies as founder of Apex i will make sure this is corrected quickly. What can i do to make this right for you?

Kyjuan
Owner in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust LIS with excellent support at affordable price!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: As [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of one of Bermuda’s largest medical clinics we carefully evaluated which LIS would be best for us 5 years ago. We selected Apex Healthware and have been very pleased with both the performance of the software as well as the professional and pleasant manner of the support services.

Pros:

The best things about the software are ease of use, reliability and adaptability to our needs.

Cons:

Can think of nothing that we are not happy with.

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

Thank you Dr Brown for your kind words. It has been our great pleasure to be of service to you and your excellent staff!

GREGORY
Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have been working with APEX for over 5 years and we have never had a major issue. They have created multiple interfaces for our laboratory and it has always been done relatively quickly. When there is a delay in my experience it is the other party that is slowing the projects down.

Pros:

I like the team behind Apex a lot. They are responsive to requests, and try to accommodate us without nickel and diming.

Cons:

The biggest shortcoming of the software for us is that there is no easy way to enter manual tests results from worksheets.

jiang
lab manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lab manager Auspicious Laboratroy

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our previous LIS system can not interface our Mass Spec to the system, we had to manually enter the data. Apex has experts to solve this problem, we have been happily using this LIS for 3 years.

Pros:

The software provides easy access for physician web portal. The interface to all the lab equipment is stable most of time.

Cons:

It is not web based, can not work at home.

Apex Healthware Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your kind review. FYI we are beta testing cloud version at large New Jersey Hospital.

Amanda
Laboratory Technologist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great value!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, the Apex LIS is definitely worth the price.

Pros:

The system was affordable and the customer service is great. I'm able to get on a first name basis with employees so it feels familiar and personal.

Cons:

Like most LIS systems, it can be confusing at first. But Apex is great about answering any questions and remotely logging into the system to help in any way possible.

Ralph
Lab Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great LIS excellent support!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Have enjoyed working with Apex.

Pros:

It does everything we need reliably and at an affordable price.

Cons:

Not applicable. The LIS is easy to use, does everything we need and support when needed is competent and friendly.