15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About VPO

- Microsoft 365 Cloud-based - Admin & Support for All Users - Serves Owners & CM Firms - Deploys in Just Weeks - 39+ Years in PM & Tech

Learn more about VPO

Pros:

Simplified document tracking, central repository accessible everyone on the team, easy tracking of to-dos and completed work, email integration.

Cons:

I have found sometimes it is hard to follow the logic behind the process.

VPO ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

VPO has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 64 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used VPO before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (64)

Brian
Construction Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Well done Simplex. Great tool to manage small to large projects. Implementation can be customized.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Saving time by using VPO. The automation is great. The system automatically logs the submittals, RFI, Etc is taking the risk off of our teams to keep eyes out for the importance instead of emailing, downloading, logging and resending out these items. The risk of sitting on an important document.

Pros:

The best construction management software I have used. It is customizable and offers time savings to log and automate the processes on a project. VPO uses SharePoint, a Microsoft Product as the strong backbone of this tool. The Simplex Company is very personable and great to work with.

Cons:

The risk to start the process and to use it for the first month. The best reward was it works great.

Joe
Vice President in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Visual

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

It has all the features that we need for project management, ie submittals, purchase orders, change orders, etc

Cons:

It's not easy on the eyes. Gray scale for the screen isn't as easy to read as black, just seems like the graphics on the screen could be better. We came from early 2000's version of Primavera Expedition, and the overall user interface of Expedition was better.

Stevan
Project Manager in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good concept but needs improvement

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: The product lacks some basic functionality that I would have expected to be included given the typical requirements of the construction industry, especially related to the pay applications and submittals. The system is fairly easy to use and seems to be relatively easily adaptable to scale to larger or smaller scale projects. Multiple "templates" can be developed for projects with different requirements such as building construction vs. horizontal work (roads, bridges, etc.) that have significantly different needs which is a big bonus. Overall the product is decent for the price but continual improvements should be provided as is the case with most competing software.

Pros:

Flexibility and relative familiarity is a bonus. As this system is Sharepoint based most users can navigate it with relative ease. It allows for modification to meet individual company requirements and is not as rigidly structured as other CM software. Modifications can be made by the administrator if your company has someone with Sharepoint skills that can perform this.

Cons:

The product does not receive any updated or expanded features after purchase. It lacks continuing product improvement. Any updates and improvements must be made by the user or require a fee to be developed for you.

Brian
Project Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

VPO for Highway Construction Team

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The biggest benefit of using VPO is organization. Our team is able to look back and find anything we had done in the past. It has also saved us time by using the customized forms VPO has tailored for us to meet our clients needs.

Pros:

The software is built to be very user friendly and is customizable to fit your company and/or client needs.

Cons:

Using the SharePoint app on an iPhone can sometimes be slow but eventually all of the data you need is at your fingertips.

Jared
Project Manager in US
Civil Engineering, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Product Review

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great.

Pros:

What I like the most about VPO is that it is easy to use. The processing steps are simple. Some products can be cumbersome and may have a lot of steps. Staff and the support.

Cons:

The base model comes out very basic. As it competes with other products and fancy bells and whistles, it may need an update. I've used this program probably since the early inception, so I know why its that way. Its the most common comment I'd hear.

Justina
Director, PMO in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Partners!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our team needed a platform that we could use to provide consistent delivery of capital projects AND the most important aspect was to track the budgets by integrating our SAP data into the tool. Although it has taken a little time to get our partners (GC's, Architects, Other Consultants) to understand the tool and how to use it - it has been worth the investment in time. We now have a tool that both our internal and external partners are familiar with which in turn makes collaboration on a project so much easier. The absolute bonus of using this product is the relationship we have built with the VPO team. They listen to our crazy ideas and find a way to turn them into a reality.

Pros:

It was easy to set up and get started. Less than 2 months. Very few IT integration touchpoints, which is what helped to speed up the integration.

Cons:

Refresh rate - this is really a Sharepoint issue that gets better with the Modern Page experience.

Marina
Office Engineer in Australia
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Valuable Cloud-Based Management Solution

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: VPO allows me to manage my projects in a streamlined way, providing numerous tools ranging from address books to document tracking to meeting minutes to invoice management. VPO even allows me to directly involve my clients and contractor - making VPO an efficient hub for all parties involved in a project. Being able to track submittals, RFIs, proposals, changes and much more on one simple interface takes the guesswork out of messy e-mail correspondence! With VPO I can efficiently manage my workflows, save time for both myself and my clients and seamlessly share project documents within my office. And, best of all, I can use VPO from home or anywhere with an internet connection!

Pros:

VPO has the ability to track every piece of information that I come across during a project. VPO is like my super filing cabinet that keeps me accountable for documents I receive or review and can be an extremely important tool in fighting claims i.e. VPO effectively reduces many risks associated with document control in the construction management field.

Cons:

VPO only gives back what you put in. While this is not necessarily a bad thing, having a better knowledge of technology generally defines how effective VPO will be. Those that are "tech-savvy" will have a much easier time adapting to the system than those who are not.

Stephanie
Sr Development Manager in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Project Management

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Interface format for ease of use. Allowing photos to display on main page is a nice feature. Able to find documents easily is super helpful.

Cons:

Sometimes, there are in consistent data and needing to manually push for calculation. Some hidden feature is hard to customize under List Settings. Will be great to have VPO able to show budget main page with an excel format thus all the edit can be done there but able to collapse the detail under the main category to show the summary budget view. Some features are abit redundant, aim for simplicity will be the best.

Marlene
Cost Accountant in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Construction Use of VPO

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Great place to organize info that makes it accessible for others to use

Cons:

It is difficult to delete or move items once you save them.

shawn
Revenue & Development Mgr in US
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Right for use

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I was on the front end of this implementation with my company so its evolution over the last 2+ years has been very good in my opinion. Customer service when gremlins show themselves has been on point and the adaptation to or needs for use has been good thus far.

Pros:

flexibility in structure and customization, ease of incorporating transfer vehicles such as Harmon.ie, One Note in use is nice.

Cons:

file structure and initial setup for specific projects can be a bit cumbersome. this may be a collaborative effect as much as anything, not sure...

Brianna
Construction Project Manager in US
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Awesome software for CM

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Workflow of submittals, RFIs, and potential changes is much simpler through VPO and I like having all my documents and reports in a single place for everyone to access.

Pros:

This product is the most bang for your buck as far as construction management tools go. It's inexpensive compared to others out there and the best part is it's totally customizable, so it's set up exactly how I want it for maximum ease of use and efficiency on my projects. As a CM group, we need particular workflows and modules for our work that a Contractor or a Developer wouldn't have. It is great to have exactly what I need and want. Other software programs don't have that option and cost a lot more. Also, the support crew is awesome, a shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] because they have been so helpful every step of the way for each specific thing I wanted customized. "No" is never an answer from these guys.

Cons:

The only thing that I could possibly complain about is that the setup process up front does take some time. The ability to customize is a double edged sword, because it's really great now that everything is specially tailored for the way I operate, but it did take several set up sessions over a few weeks to get it to that point. The nice thing is that now that I have my template set up how I like it, making new projects is as simple as clicking a few buttons and VPO will create a new project based on my custom project template.

Vincent
Project Geologist in US
Environmental Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

New User

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: For me it made my job easier. Tetra Tech is a large company wit about 30-35 subsidiaries. Each has their own methods of record keeping and documentation. I am in the ECI division, and they use SharePoint (SP). The SWW (formally BAS) division uses VPO. I tried to get my division to look into VPO but they were leery about the cost. I explained that VPO has a great support group and SP was more DIY. I have no idea how the business development divisions (proposals, etc.) use SP and they seem to like it for collaboration. Some of the accounting divisions are moving to Egnyte. But point being, for any division doing field construction work, the VPO, I think, is superior to SP.

Pros:

Just a great way to do a daily report and keep track of photos, submittals, RFIs and FCRs

Cons:

There were cliches. with trying to copy info from one report to the next. Most daily reports have the same info regarding labor, equipment, activities, etc. I know some of the sections would be synced but many times they failed to populate correctly. Sometimes the function would copy from some earlier report. Tech support indicated it may a be a problem with how the client is numbering the reports. Iam a ok boomer so it was not straight forward. Had to find work arounds in some cases.

Mark
President in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Life Altering without undue pain and suffering

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Morgan has been steadily growing for some time, but recently we have experienced explosive growth. We operate with a small core team that wears many hats at the same time throughout the course of every day. After years of trying to handling everything with a spreadsheet and Emails we realized that it was slow and certain death for all of us. we needed a system that houses all of the pertinent information, tracks issues, tasks, and change orders, actively notifies the team of changes and communicates clearly and concisely.

Pros:

I feel that the strongest part of this application is its flexibility and customization. While we are all trying to do the same thing ( execute projects and make money), we all have a different way of getting that done. The bottom line is that success is measured not only in bottom line dollars, but is how hard it is to maintain all of the projects in house, keep a widely diverse and location-ally wide spread team on the same page every minute of every day.

Cons:

Flexibility and Customization is a double edged sword. Identifying exactly what you want is difficult when you have never had a system like this. Also learning curve, its hard to learn to do things the easy way when you have had to do them the hard way for so long. the sooner you embrace the system the better it will all go.

David
Director of Sales in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Estimating Management

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Since we started using this platform in 2018 it has been a huge upgrade to how we were doing things. The VPO team has been responsive to our requests for support and many improvements have been made that help all departments for our management teams.

Pros:

Our entire team can be kept up to date on projects coming up for bid as well as projects that we have already bid. Everyone uses the same pages/forms in centralized locations.

Cons:

Our Bid List items sometimes require multiple efforts to create and update. Errors from VPO are frequent some days requiring extra/double work for simple data entry tasks.

Chuck
SCADA Manager in US
Utilities, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Needed it in a hurry

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far we are very pleased with the VPO application. We are reviewing a quote to implement the product internally for our company. I have used other products in this category, but they are no where near as good as VPO.
VPO technical support, although virtual, is very responsive.

Pros:

Our construction projects were already in progress when our company was hired to perform construction management. Due to a severe time crunch we had to roll out the software as we were customizing it. This is not the normal approach. However, the VPO team was exceptional working with us to get it setup and fully functional in under 2 months. The application will transition to the client when we are finished. The learning curve was easier than expected for our users. The software is comprehensive and very customizable.

Cons:

Haven't found anything I would complain about. I will admit that we did not implement all features of the platform. We decided not to use some of the financial features. Some minor issues we have come across are with Microsoft actually (e.g. spell check).

Dominick
President in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

VPO provides the user with the ability to have all the project information located in one place with access 24/7

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: If you are running projects today without a Collaborative Project Management System, you are wasting valuable human resources.

Pros:

The biggest pro is the ability of VPO to be customized to work with a company's internal project management and accounting systems, VPO also allows a very good level of security so that people outside the company can only see select information.

Cons:

I have found working with the Simplex Team that there are not any Cons regarding the use of VPO. VPO can be as productive as the end user wants it to be.

Mike
Project Specialist in US
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The program is very easy to learn & easy to use. Integrates well with other MIcrosoft apps.

Cons:

Since I was not in an administrator role on the VPO my range of use was limited.

Aditya Sudarshan
Project Coordinator in India
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

VPO - Very Perfect Oraganiser

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

I really like all the features. Especially the speed. We can do what ever we want to in terms of Project Management.

Cons:

I feel no Cons in VPO. Never felt disappointed with its ability.

Jeffrey
Construction Supervisor in US
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It's better than nothing . . .

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, this platform has helped our organization improve our document control and project management abilities.

Pros:

Customer support for VPO is a plus. They are responsive and willing to meet our needs within the construct of the system. The platform serves as a single portal of project information, thus streamlining and improving the overall effectiveness of project management.

Cons:

There are limitations to customizing the look and functionality of the system. Mobile interface has opportunity for improvement.

Andrew
Project Manager in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Working with VPO

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: One convenient site for all of the project files...meaning coordination with critical information is just a matter of logging on and finding the information you need. It clears up missed information through email chains and other past forms of communications.

Pros:

After using the software a few times, it was very easy to learn and use. Being an administrator, clients we share our files with had a lot of questions at first. But with understanding the product and having wonderful customer support, VPO has been a great addition to my projects.

Cons:

I wish it had a [.pdf] reader (currently Mircosoft Edge), uploader, editor, etc. With being in the construction industry, we deal with many [.pdf] drawings and files.

John
Technical Adviser in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for Organizing Data and Tracking Progress

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: VPO has been a major help in keeping track of work orders that are created on a daily basis. It allows the team to see a variety of data with a few clicks as well as keep track of who has the Ball in Court in the work order process

Pros:

Extremely helpful in keeping track of work orders and other necessary data tied to the work orders

Cons:

Simplification of report creating would be helpful

Brian
Electrical Engineer, Project Manager
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Internet Based - New Product

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Keep it simple. In regards to dates - do you ultimately need start and end dates? Or just end dates (because after you end something, you're onto the next phase - correct)? It's an extra step we have to add - and update when schedules slip.

Pros:

Could have been linked to my previously created Microsoft account - but for my coworkers and I - a completely different user name was created - simplification is key.

Cons:

Every week the software features are changing as they become apparent and applicable. It's internet based and has tendency to be sluggish - when trying to save data via the original procedure. The updated procedure makes it easier to update project data - but selecting cells and moving the window around on the screen are tedious.

Roxann
Regional Program Administrator in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

VPO Sharepoint Project Collaboration Tool

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: The Print to PDF feature has simplified and speeded up the archiving process substantially.

Pros:

Print to PDF feature that pulls all forms and attachments into a single file automatically; easy to use with very minimal training needed.

Cons:

Sometimes access via Microsoft Account can be problematic; company domains can be onerous.

Andrew
Capital Projects PM in US
Real Estate, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OK Product but Underutilized by Department

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: Mostly used as a centralized File Cabinet. All stuff that I could just as easily do with SharePoint.

Pros:

Sync ability to my OneDrive is useful. The Project Comments tracking for KPI's is OK.

Cons:

We are not using to its fullest potential. I think this is partly because the product is not the most intuitive. As such people only use for what they are required to use it for.

Basma
Project Engineer in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

VPO Review

3.0 8 months ago

Pros:

checking project documents and dealing with them on a daily basis are simple and navigating through them.

Cons:

alot of bugs and errors while copying daily reports or doing themflawed search toolerrors in automatic word corrector sometimesnot a friendly user to other participants