Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.9 /5

About Cision

Cision is a leading global provider of earned media management software and services to PR and marketing communications professionals.

Learn more about Cision

Showing 71 reviews

Alex V.
Vice President
International Affairs, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"Great database and ability to filter contacts"

Comments: Powerful list building and monitoring capabilities

Pros: Cision put monitoring, and outreach together in one platform and made it easy to build media lists of relevant contacts

Cons: I was using an older version of Cision (CisionPoint) which was very slow, but this appears to have been fixed in the new cloud platform. Not intuitive or easy to fix search terms (again I think this has been updated)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Manager
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019

"A solid tool"

Comments: Would recommend Cision for capturing media coverage.

Pros: I use Cision at least on a weekly basis to search for media coverage for a multitude of clients. What a lifesaver. It does an amazing job to find media coverage worldwide and some stuff on social media.

Cons: It takes a while to set up for each client. Thank god that Cision support helps with this. Sometimes connecting with your Cision rep is difficult and takes time. Their social media coverage needs some work but they have made strides.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019
Megan S.
Administrative PR Specialist
10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017

"Used it during Vocus/Cision transition"

Pros: Access to tens of thousands of journalists is useful as a PR practitioner. It also does a great job of tracking insights like tone and monitoring where your organization appears in the news.

Cons: We constantly found journalists who hadn't been at their newspaper for over two years. Contact information is frequently outdated. The cost is practically that of a full-time employee. The PRWeb newswire they advertise frequently sends releases to websites with zero traffic, but counts it as a hit. And while their analytics are useful, I'd often go back to a prior month and run the same search string as before and be returned different numbers than the first time. It's hard to trust data that doesn't remain constant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
Account Coordinator
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018

"Quick, easy to use, impactful"

Pros: As a PR professional, Cision is vital to me. I use it everyday and it can be a huge help in identifying targets across the globe. They are always updating the platform and making it easy to save and search lists.

Cons: I don't like how when you use the quick search, having the right spacing of the publication name is important to finding the publication. Additionally, cision will sometimes kick you out of the platform while you are working on lists and those lists wont get saved and you have to start all over. The look and feel of the platform is a little outdated and could use a refresh.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Eli S.
Sr. Comms Associate
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2020

"Great features"

Comments: Constantly improving experience for customers and would recommend.

Pros: Reporter database constantly updated, new features including social accounts and connections to other reporters covering similar topics are great

Cons: Sometimes can be hard to find niche outlets or outlets without clearly defined roles for staff to pitch

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2020
Kathy N.
Chief Operating Officer
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"Cision Platform Review"

Comments: The benefits I received are the open & click rates of my new releases. So if I notice that one of my important editors didn't open it it allows me to resend to that editor.

Pros: The ease of the platform is extremely good! The on-board training I received from account manager was extremely through. Also, sending out emails are very easy.

Cons: I don't really have any cons about the platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Associate Digital Strategist
Public Relations & Communications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018

"Cision"

Comments: While its a business necessity for my line of work, Cision could be a smoother experience overall and could be more user friendly.

Pros: Cision is a great resource to have when evaluating media outlets and using it as a database to access contacts of these media outlets

Cons: Hard to navigate, UVM seems overly inflated, and not all the outlets are accessible online. Also, when searching for outlets its hard to navigate because the online version of news is considered a separate outlet from the paper or magazine version, when they're owned by the same entity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018
Lauren T.
Marketing Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2017

"It's expensive but has up-to-date lists of hard-to-find contacts at major media outlets."

Pros: The contact information and search features are extensive, so you can find exactly who you want to reach in the markets that you need. Even the pesky ones who purposely don't want their information published.

Cons: List-building can be confusing (or at least, it used to be before I had to cancel), and sometimes too much knowledge can be overwhelming--without knowing how PR works, you can easily blast your information to all the wrong people, and make a gigantic fool out of yourself. This is not for DIY-ers just getting started!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2017
Verified Reviewer
Law Department- Litigation Clerk
Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2018

"Makes PR work easier than ever"

Pros: I used this when i interned in the PR world. It made my job SO much easier. The searches are effortless and it brings you right to the contact information that you need.

Cons: Sometimes you can be searching for a blogger or media outlet with a very general name and have to pick through to find the right one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Assistant
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019

"Cision is an industry leader for a reason"

Pros: I love the new capabilities that Cision rolled-out about a year ago, including a new user interface. I really like that, as a press person, I can easily search using multiple criteria - this really helps when I'm looking for press in a very specific industry.

Cons: The only con about Cision that I see is its high price - I think that there should be an option that allows smaller companies to buy-in to some of Cision's basic functionalities for a lower price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2019
Dylan C.
Digital Marketing Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/10/2018

"PRweb with Cisiion"

Comments: Great experience! We are able to push out PR posts to PRweb quickly and in a timely manner. It has helped us get visibility as well.

Pros: The ability to get out a press release, the ease of posting a press release, its easy-to-use posting UI, customer service, boosting posts, and visibility reporting direct to my email.

Cons: The contact of reporters and bloggers information isn't always up to date.
The UI of the list builder function can be difficult to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
PR Assistant
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2019

"Cision Review"

Comments: I often use Cision to find out the readership of different media outlets, or to find emails of media contacts.

Pros: I use this software in my work in PR, and find it useful for finding information needed regarding media outlets and media contacts.

Cons: I find that often the information is out dated when it comes to numbers, emails, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2019
Katie S.
Marketing/Sales
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017

"Another Great Option for Marketing on Social Media"

Comments: This is for marketing professionals who need a boost on social media. So may deem it unnecessary--especially the millennials

Pros: As someone who is in the younger crowd, this is useful to me because when I started, I was unsure about how to reach who I needed to. Helped me immensely!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017
Kathy N.
CFO
Public Relations & Communications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017

"I have been a Cision user for about a month. I really like the media contact section."

Comments: My ability to an attach a press release to an email to make it more personal to our specific editors.

Pros: The media contact section - while this is the section I've used the most the email functionality is fantastic as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017
Debbie H.
Travel Agent
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2017

"Focus Now Cision"

Comments: Customer service is great, and the price is worth it. I love using this product, and hopefully it will give me even more options in the future to get my company out there.

Pros: As a travel company, we have to work hard to stay in the spotlight to compete with online bookings. We found a couple companies that would prefer using us, so it was quite helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2017
Verified Reviewer
Public Relations Intern
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2018

"Incredibly beneficial being in the PR industry"

Pros: It is absolutely the best way to find contact information for journalists from the biggest papers to the smallest local publications

Cons: Not every journalist is on there and some entire papers do not have people, it is rare but they could step up their rolodex

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2018
Robert K.
CEO
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Your editorial department"

Comments: Press release.

Pros: Usually easy to get out a press release.

Cons: Your current editorial department is horrible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Ruth C.
Digital marketing specialist
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2018

"Powerful but difficult to use"

Pros: It's powerful with the ability to find and reach out to many influencers, fine-tuning it by industry etc

Cons: I found that it was too difficult and awkward to use effectively, it took ages to produce lists and filtering them was complicated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2018
Laura B.
Sole Trader
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2017

"Poor customer service, bad interface"

Comments: None

Pros: It's cheap but that's probably the only good thing about it. It's hard to download the lists but I'm told you can?

Cons: You really get what you pay for with Cision. The interface is cheap and clunky, they don't monitor as many titles as you'll need them to, the press lists are far from definitive and their customer service is poor. They're great when you're signing up, but good luck after that!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2017
Jessica S.
Public Relations Manager
Events Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Time saver boon for media database build-up"

Pros: Cision is an invaluable asset when it comes to building media databases quickly and effectively. I manage public relations across different countries, and this tool helps me save a considerable amount of time and resources. Not only it provides journalists' names, contact details, interests and social media accounts: Cision also offers outlet stats, including readership and ad rates, as well as editorial opportunities. A great aid when it comes to pitching the right story to the right journalist.

Cons: Cision's database is vast but it's not complete. Not all media contacts are actually working and updated, so there's a certain probability to get few bounce emails. Another minus is that it does not provide a list of the journalists' latest published articles - a functionality offered by Cision's competitors, which is extremely helpful when pitching to the media -.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Executive
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Really excellent communications software"

Comments: Definitely the best tool I have used for comms and PR. Really happy.

Pros: So easy to search for the right people. Wouldn't be able to find these journalists and PR people by using a simple web search. So it's really great for PR activity. Great for getting content out there.

Cons: I wouldn't exactly call this software cheap. Although excellence should come at a price! Initial training was also a bit confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Stacey B.
Marketing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018

"Great"

Comments: If we ever needed help understanding how to do something we got it right away.

Pros: This is an easy to use multi use platform that my company and myself utilizes regularly with great success.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018
Alistair D.
CEO / CMO
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018

"Lacking some core features of free social tools, and data regularly out of date"

Comments: Can not recommend the software or the company as when you complain and we have many complaints they will happily respond with your under contract just keep paying

Pros: The sales pitch was great and we thought we had found a great tool, a solution that would combine all our PR and tracking needs

Cons: The frustrations started soon after go live and support and resolving the issues was not forth coming. This resulted in paying for a tool that reduced productivity and we soon have to result to our original approach of email marketing and social media. The PR is not always up to date and can be limited once you start to drill down.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Javier victor marian B.
Network Security Auditor
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2019

"great for us, not so great for latin america"

Comments: save you a lot of time to do media lists, but definitely need to improve.

Pros: this is my go-to software when having a pitch in the us market. have a lot of journalists and media for your pitch.

Cons: i wish the journalists for latin america were more complete. A lot of media ins't even in the database and when there is, is never updated. Other think i don't like is that this include name as directors of media or companies and/or s-suite contacts. If you send a pitch to this people you are bothering them. editors should be more clearly marked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Business Development Representative
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"Used to find the right numbers and contact info for prospects, overall good"

Comments: benefits were being able to find the right contact info for prospects and clients.

Pros: I liked the ease of use of this product and the different functions you could use to narrow down searches

Cons: I didn't like that this database is used mostly for advertising and or media relations, I think they should broaden their industry realm.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018