Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.9 /5

About Cision

Cision is a leading global provider of earned media management software and services to PR and marketing communications professionals.

Learn more about Cision

Showing 80 reviews

Heather W.
Director Of Communications
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019

"One stop shop for PR professionals"

Comments: Use it as a daily tool for media and influencer outreach.

Pros: You get contact info from journalist that you wouldn't be able to find online. And they all have opted in. Great search tool to find new outlets and great monitoring service.

Cons: Expensive software but you are purchasing a lot of contact information. Great if you have a big PR initiative, otherwise it's hard to validate the expense

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019
Chris C.
VP Brand Strategy
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020

"Quality of information gathering seems to have gone down"

Comments: We use Cision to monitor media mentions and for their media database

Pros: I've used Cision on and off throughout my (long) career. It has always been 'on top of things'. I always felt it was innovative and did a good job of gathering media data.

Cons: I've found that the database isn't as user friendly as some of the other databases that are out there. I also have a subscription to a competitor and have found that Cision does not pull in the same articles as this competitor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020
Jacqueline F.
Account Executive
Public Relations & Communications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020

"Easy to use"

Comments: I use Cision on a daily basis to reach out to the media with brand press releases. It is reliable and very user friendly.

Pros: I like that you can populate targeted results very easily!

Cons: I wish the contacts were updated. I also wish we could edit lists once they are created.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020
Christine J.
Associate Publicist; Crown, Hogarth, and Random House
Publishing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019

"A publicist's dream - perfect for researching media contacts"

Comments: We use Cision for all of our pitching needs, and it's an invaluable tool for us. I've built lists for specific media campaigns using Cision's "covering..." function, and found niche outlets that I wouldn't have otherwise found. Overall, Cision is a great one-stop for most publicity needs.

Pros: I love how easy it is to look up an outlet and find the correct contact to reach out to with a particular pitch. It's also extremely easy to look up outlet circulations, which we research all of the time in order to maximize visibility. Cision is normally pretty up-to-date with different outlets, which is impressive in a constantly shifting media landscape.

Cons: Sometimes the search requirements can be a little too specific, and an outlet has to be typed in a very specific way to appear (i.e. with or without "the" in front, etc.) It'd be great if there were suggested terms, similar to Google, so that if you don't know the exact spelling of a last name you could still track down the contact.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Megan S.
Administrative PR Specialist
10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017

"Used it during Vocus/Cision transition"

Pros: Access to tens of thousands of journalists is useful as a PR practitioner. It also does a great job of tracking insights like tone and monitoring where your organization appears in the news.

Cons: We constantly found journalists who hadn't been at their newspaper for over two years. Contact information is frequently outdated. The cost is practically that of a full-time employee. The PRWeb newswire they advertise frequently sends releases to websites with zero traffic, but counts it as a hit. And while their analytics are useful, I'd often go back to a prior month and run the same search string as before and be returned different numbers than the first time. It's hard to trust data that doesn't remain constant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017
Courtney R.
PR Specialist
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018

"Cision review"

Comments: My company can distribute materials in a broad and efficient manner thanks to Cision!

Pros: I like that Cision stores journalists information in a neat and efficient manner, making it easy to personally reach out and mass distribute public relations material.

Cons: I don't like that Cision's contact information can be outdated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018
Joshua T.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2019

"Cision does the work for you"

Comments: We did a lot of manual grind searching in Google and Bing for opportunities, Cision has helped us quicken that process without worrying if we had a good resource to reach out to or not.

Pros: The ability to reach out and find people for link ops or for content ops is amazing. The reach and database they have built for this is impressive. We've done several "expert pieces" for clients and the fact we can use this to curate the content we have has sped up our process. Cision's quality of reporters is also nice to trust. We know they don't let just anyone in their database and it allows us to pick and chose who we want to work with.

Cons: It's pricey, but you pay for the high quality of resources which benefits you and your clients in the long run.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2019
Jessica S.
Public Relations Manager
Events Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Time saver boon for media database build-up"

Pros: Cision is an invaluable asset when it comes to building media databases quickly and effectively. I manage public relations across different countries, and this tool helps me save a considerable amount of time and resources. Not only it provides journalists' names, contact details, interests and social media accounts: Cision also offers outlet stats, including readership and ad rates, as well as editorial opportunities. A great aid when it comes to pitching the right story to the right journalist.

Cons: Cision's database is vast but it's not complete. Not all media contacts are actually working and updated, so there's a certain probability to get few bounce emails. Another minus is that it does not provide a list of the journalists' latest published articles - a functionality offered by Cision's competitors, which is extremely helpful when pitching to the media -.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Stacey B.
Marketing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018

"Great"

Comments: If we ever needed help understanding how to do something we got it right away.

Pros: This is an easy to use multi use platform that my company and myself utilizes regularly with great success.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018
Laura B.
Marketing Manager
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2020

"Easy-to-use and intuitive features"

Comments: I like Cision so far, I like that it didn't come with the pressure that is usually attached to learning a new tool. It's easy-to-use, user-friendly, and efficient. I look forward to learning it more in-depth and using it more often.

Pros: I am only just beginning to use Cision but I like how easy it is to navigate through it. Learning the ins and outs is easy because the tool itself makes sense. It's intuitive, it has everything that one may need for PR activities. I also like that they enable access to educational resources and videos about features and functionalities.

Cons: The analytics side of Cision is not the greatest, kind of hard to break down and digest. But that is currently the only "flaw" that I can find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2020
Verified Reviewer
Senior Business Development Representative
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"Used to find the right numbers and contact info for prospects, overall good"

Comments: benefits were being able to find the right contact info for prospects and clients.

Pros: I liked the ease of use of this product and the different functions you could use to narrow down searches

Cons: I didn't like that this database is used mostly for advertising and or media relations, I think they should broaden their industry realm.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Debbie H.
Travel Agent
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2017

"Focus Now Cision"

Comments: Customer service is great, and the price is worth it. I love using this product, and hopefully it will give me even more options in the future to get my company out there.

Pros: As a travel company, we have to work hard to stay in the spotlight to compete with online bookings. We found a couple companies that would prefer using us, so it was quite helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2017
Robert K.
CEO
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Your editorial department"

Comments: Press release.

Pros: Usually easy to get out a press release.

Cons: Your current editorial department is horrible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Alex V.
Vice President
International Affairs, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"Great database and ability to filter contacts"

Comments: Powerful list building and monitoring capabilities

Pros: Cision put monitoring, and outreach together in one platform and made it easy to build media lists of relevant contacts

Cons: I was using an older version of Cision (CisionPoint) which was very slow, but this appears to have been fixed in the new cloud platform. Not intuitive or easy to fix search terms (again I think this has been updated)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Publicist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018

"Good tool for media contacts."

Comments: You need the contacts, Vocus has them.

Pros: Lots of great media contacts for all categories from technology to finance, consumer products to juvenile goods and everything in between.

Cons: It's expensive. I get that it is hard to keep these lists current with all the movement and magazine closings...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2018
Jake T.
Account Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2019

"The Only Press Release Tool Worth The Time & Money"

Comments: Cision is an excellent partner for releasing, disributing and getting visibility for press releases. Our news feels seen - in the best way possible - and feels like we have a very effective partner in Cision.

Pros: Cision makes users feel like their press releases and news are being seen and heard by the correct audiences and that such press releases actually make some waves - we have consistenly seen feeback, outreach and other traffic when posting to and using Cision.

Cons: My only complaint with Cision is that their internal search can sometimes qualify or disqualify press releases for certain topics/categories/indsutries into diferent baskets and categories than they ought to belong to, but this has a seemingly minimal impact on a campaign's overall performance.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
Associate Digital Strategist
Public Relations & Communications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018

"Cision"

Comments: While its a business necessity for my line of work, Cision could be a smoother experience overall and could be more user friendly.

Pros: Cision is a great resource to have when evaluating media outlets and using it as a database to access contacts of these media outlets

Cons: Hard to navigate, UVM seems overly inflated, and not all the outlets are accessible online. Also, when searching for outlets its hard to navigate because the online version of news is considered a separate outlet from the paper or magazine version, when they're owned by the same entity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/08/2018
Michelle G.
PR Consultant/Writer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017

"Cision is popular - but I find it hard to use for simple basics"

Pros: Cision is the most popular media database out there. It has the ability to do a lot of things. You can search for all types of media contacts, build lists, etc.

Cons: My experience is mixed, however, as I find it a bit hard to use for basics like searching or building a list. It's also expensive. I'd consider alternatives before purchasing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
Client Services Coordinator
Real Estate
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018

"Easy to fill out - not much to it!"

Comments: makes the clients happy - they have proof that were sending their news or new product releases to the world!

Pros: It's so easy to send something out. There is not much / it's not confusing to plug in the information that needs to go out. I also like the reporting feature so clients know views and clicks!

Cons: The tagging of types of businesses can get overwhelming. There are a ton of types and subtypes - which is great because you don't want to miss out on a market - but this part takes up some time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Communication Specialist
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018

"Nice for reaching variety!"

Comments: It's definitely nice to use for press purposes, I just wish it had a few more bells and whistles!

Pros: I like that I can mass pitch, search journalists and distribute press releases easily.

Cons: With certain packages, you can no longer rush press releases and have to plan way in advance. I also don't like how you can't be more specific when targeting when distributing press releases.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2018
John M.
Web Devloper
Biotechnology, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2018

"Cision is a great tool for our press release needs"

Pros: We are able to quickly and easily create contact lists and send our news items.

Cons: We are very happy with Cision and it serves our needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2018
Bianca C.
social media director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018

"Only Game in Town"

Comments: think they probably corner the market on PR software.. but that doesn't mean improvements can't be made.

Pros: Cision offers an extremely wide span of media outlets... from large to the insanely minute publication.. it defintiely provides a good scope of everything in between! I

Cons: I think this software is somewhat "clunky" ... think there is definitely room from improvement with the user interface. Moving between listings is a little complex.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Social Marketing Manager
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2018

"Used this product look up influencers/journalists to work with"

Pros: I liked that it had a huge directory of contacts to look up and is very easy to use. I looked up specific contacts and the program had it.

Cons: It's a bit old school in it's design. It definitely could use a refresh. Also, contacts should be updated frequently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2018