Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Cision

Cision is a leading global provider of earned media management software and services to PR and marketing communications professionals.

Learn more about Cision

Showing 73 reviews

Eli S.
Sr. Comms Associate
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2020

"Great features"

Comments: Constantly improving experience for customers and would recommend.

Pros: Reporter database constantly updated, new features including social accounts and connections to other reporters covering similar topics are great

Cons: Sometimes can be hard to find niche outlets or outlets without clearly defined roles for staff to pitch

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
Account Coordinator
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018

"Quick, easy to use, impactful"

Pros: As a PR professional, Cision is vital to me. I use it everyday and it can be a huge help in identifying targets across the globe. They are always updating the platform and making it easy to save and search lists.

Cons: I don't like how when you use the quick search, having the right spacing of the publication name is important to finding the publication. Additionally, cision will sometimes kick you out of the platform while you are working on lists and those lists wont get saved and you have to start all over. The look and feel of the platform is a little outdated and could use a refresh.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Megan S.
Administrative PR Specialist
10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017

"Used it during Vocus/Cision transition"

Pros: Access to tens of thousands of journalists is useful as a PR practitioner. It also does a great job of tracking insights like tone and monitoring where your organization appears in the news.

Cons: We constantly found journalists who hadn't been at their newspaper for over two years. Contact information is frequently outdated. The cost is practically that of a full-time employee. The PRWeb newswire they advertise frequently sends releases to websites with zero traffic, but counts it as a hit. And while their analytics are useful, I'd often go back to a prior month and run the same search string as before and be returned different numbers than the first time. It's hard to trust data that doesn't remain constant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Manager
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019

"A solid tool"

Comments: Would recommend Cision for capturing media coverage.

Pros: I use Cision at least on a weekly basis to search for media coverage for a multitude of clients. What a lifesaver. It does an amazing job to find media coverage worldwide and some stuff on social media.

Cons: It takes a while to set up for each client. Thank god that Cision support helps with this. Sometimes connecting with your Cision rep is difficult and takes time. Their social media coverage needs some work but they have made strides.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019
Allison R.
Senior Marketing Coordinator
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2019

"Best way to get new releases to the wire."

Pros: The online portal makes it simple to upload and prepare a release for the wire.

Cons: Sometimes the approval process can get confusing especially if you have changes to the release after submission.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2019
Shalia S.
Marketing
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/06/2019

"Press Releases"

Comments: Love working with our account manager who is always on top of our support issues or questions.

Pros: Creating and distributing press releases is so intuitive and the reports are easy to read. Support is also great and very timely with our account manager.

Cons: Wish you could export all reports together for comparisons.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/06/2019
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Public Policy
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/06/2018

"Way Oversold, Barely Usable"

Comments: Not many.

Pros: PRWeb and PRNewswire market share drove our usage (we got upsold into trying Cision Cloud). There is some value in having filterable media contact lists....but not at their price points.

Cons: Horrifically bad value for money - our worst software purchase of 2017. We left. "Unified cloud" was 100% overhyped. Rolled out with unclear UX, broken features Too many of the media contacts emails bounce. Many of lists are poorly scrubbed - you end up with random contacts that don't fit the segment you are targetting. "Account managers" are useless at solving issues - lots of back and forth by email with no resolution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/06/2018
Danielle V.
PR & Community Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017

"Great PR Tool for Big Businesses"

Comments: Being able to create media lists and also being able to create reports to show upper management.

Pros: Ease of use is one of the biggest pros about this.
Their customer support is also outstanding and anytime I had a questions or was curious about a certain feature I got an automatic response.

Cons: Not tailored for smaller businesses that don't have a huge budget. There was no way to reduce the number of features given as well which would have maybe changed a few things.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Erin L.
Marketing Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2021

"Grow Your List Of PR Contacts"

Pros: It's a great way to grow your list of media contacts from a very large database. You can filter by criteria like location, industry, subject, etc, allowing you to tailor a media list depending on your specific needs.

Cons: The database willingly includes contact information for media who do not want to be contact by PR professionals. If you do not pay attention to this included information, you risk contacting these individuals and hurting your brand's reputation. At times you will find errors or duplicates in your list, so it's best to download and review in full to weed out any discrepancies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2021
Bianca C.
social media director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018

"Only Game in Town"

Comments: think they probably corner the market on PR software.. but that doesn't mean improvements can't be made.

Pros: Cision offers an extremely wide span of media outlets... from large to the insanely minute publication.. it defintiely provides a good scope of everything in between! I

Cons: I think this software is somewhat "clunky" ... think there is definitely room from improvement with the user interface. Moving between listings is a little complex.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Freelance
Publishing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018

"Cision"

Comments: It was never the only thing that we were using, but could occasionally be helpful if we couldn't find the information we needed anywhere else.

Pros: Cision can be really great when it comes to finding contact information for various writers, editors, and media people. Sometimes, there's information that is hard to come by elsewhere.

Cons: Sometimes, the information provided on Cision is outdated or accessible for free via the internet as opposed to using a paid service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director
Political Organization, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019

"PR Newswire for Mexico just did not work for us"

Comments: Overall we are very unhappy with PR Newswire. We won't be using it again, not after this first bad first impression.

Pros: The only pro that we can think of is the simplicity of submitting your release online. It seemed simple enough. Also their 1800 customer service was helpful with technical questions.

Cons: We started with PR Web and they wanted to sell us the services from PR Newswire, their promise was that they will have a better reporting, better chance to have press releases picked up by media, etc. -- We sent out a first press release and the results were terrible. The report was pretty much the same as PR Web, which is an automatic publication from their partners on sites that are really not reputable at all. They even have personal blogs listed. -- When we contacted the representative in charge of our account he said "Your press release had great results" and then he suggested we create a google alert to see where our press release was published.
We tried this service with the idea that it would be better than paying a free lance PR agent in México. We paid for 1 release double of what we paid the agent in a whole month and we absolutely regret joining this service. -- It might work for other areas but for Mexico it absolutely does not work. The WORST part is the lack of willingness to help the client resolve the problem. They offered no solutions or help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Mithil P.
Digital Marketing Strategist
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2021

"A great addition at a price."

Comments: I have been a user for 2 years now and it amazes me how much data it can pull for my brands.

Pros: Easy integrations. The set-up is simple and the solution is in-depth in terms of what marketers need.

Cons: Can be pricey. But if you are willing to invest in the technology, it is def. good value for money. Great ROI.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2021
Verified Reviewer
Summer Fellow
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2018

"Very helpful in the public relations field,"

Comments: Creating media lists, finding media target contact information

Pros: I love how it can easily create media lists, with very little time. It is great to use in a pinch to find media target contact information

Cons: The user experience seems to be a little outdated. The look and feel of the software could definitely use a more modern update

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2018
Krista S.
Editorial Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2017

"we decided to end our subscription and opt for HubSpot instead"

Pros: I liked our ability to send press releases and manage social media from the same account. However, other software offered more options and automation features in one central location.

Cons: The limited capabilities. We really needed something that automated more of what we do (email, social media, press releases, blog writing, analytics) all in one place. We ended up only using Vocus to send press releases, which wasn't worth the high price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2017
Amy R.
Senior Account Executive
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2020

"Media Friendly Platform"

Comments: Very pleasant experience and found a lot of useful tools, such as list building and more

Pros: The product is a publicists' dream, making it easier than ever to find media contacts and new outlets

Cons: The platform can be slow, there isn't much mobile presence and sometimes the contacts and insights are outdated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2020
Bruce F.
Sales & Marketing Manager
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2019

"An integral tool for social media marketing"

Comments: We have an opinion that this service is a great solution for social media marketing. It can help you to build new contacts, make researches and communicate with clients. Moreover, it is easy to use, so you need to try it for sure.

Pros: There is no doubt that Cision is a perfect tool for marketing. This service offers the easiest way to find a particular influencer. With a help of a special menu, you can choose a precise category and choose a proper category in order to get an exact outcome. Moreover, it offers to pick up a theme or a location in order to find a person that is connected with the same informational field as you do. Cision is a great service for social media marketing. It has a solid database, flexible and user-friendly interface and many useful tools for marketing. With its assistance, you can turn into reality different marketing strategies within a second.

Cons: Unfortunately, Cision isn’t perfect. An automated search doesn’t work properly, so you to rely only on your personal research. Despite the fact that Cision has a profound database, it still lacks the data itself. Sometimes, their researches can be a little bit slow and there is no chance to find a particular person that you really want to find. Moreover, if you don’t know the right name of the influencer, you won’t find him or her at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/04/2019
Heather W.
Director Of Communications
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019

"One stop shop for PR professionals"

Comments: Use it as a daily tool for media and influencer outreach.

Pros: You get contact info from journalist that you wouldn't be able to find online. And they all have opted in. Great search tool to find new outlets and great monitoring service.

Cons: Expensive software but you are purchasing a lot of contact information. Great if you have a big PR initiative, otherwise it's hard to validate the expense

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019
Jessica B.
Senior Digital Marketing Associate
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017

"While cision is a very large database, it doesn't provide the best insight into the journalist."

Pros: It's pretty easy to use. There are TONS of results and it's a very large database. There are a lot of ways in which you can break down your search (locations, topics, keywords, names, etc.)

Cons: The topics are pretty broad and it often leads to pitching the wrong journalist. There's no way to truly see what the person writes about.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Business Development Representative
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018

"Used to find the right numbers and contact info for prospects, overall good"

Comments: benefits were being able to find the right contact info for prospects and clients.

Pros: I liked the ease of use of this product and the different functions you could use to narrow down searches

Cons: I didn't like that this database is used mostly for advertising and or media relations, I think they should broaden their industry realm.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/05/2018
Javier victor marian B.
Network Security Auditor
Public Relations & Communications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2019

"great for us, not so great for latin america"

Comments: save you a lot of time to do media lists, but definitely need to improve.

Pros: this is my go-to software when having a pitch in the us market. have a lot of journalists and media for your pitch.

Cons: i wish the journalists for latin america were more complete. A lot of media ins't even in the database and when there is, is never updated. Other think i don't like is that this include name as directors of media or companies and/or s-suite contacts. If you send a pitch to this people you are bothering them. editors should be more clearly marked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2019
Alistair D.
CEO / CMO
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018

"Lacking some core features of free social tools, and data regularly out of date"

Comments: Can not recommend the software or the company as when you complain and we have many complaints they will happily respond with your under contract just keep paying

Pros: The sales pitch was great and we thought we had found a great tool, a solution that would combine all our PR and tracking needs

Cons: The frustrations started soon after go live and support and resolving the issues was not forth coming. This resulted in paying for a tool that reduced productivity and we soon have to result to our original approach of email marketing and social media. The PR is not always up to date and can be limited once you start to drill down.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Stacey B.
Marketing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018

"Great"

Comments: If we ever needed help understanding how to do something we got it right away.

Pros: This is an easy to use multi use platform that my company and myself utilizes regularly with great success.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Executive
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Really excellent communications software"

Comments: Definitely the best tool I have used for comms and PR. Really happy.

Pros: So easy to search for the right people. Wouldn't be able to find these journalists and PR people by using a simple web search. So it's really great for PR activity. Great for getting content out there.

Cons: I wouldn't exactly call this software cheap. Although excellence should come at a price! Initial training was also a bit confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Jessica S.
Public Relations Manager
Events Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Time saver boon for media database build-up"

Pros: Cision is an invaluable asset when it comes to building media databases quickly and effectively. I manage public relations across different countries, and this tool helps me save a considerable amount of time and resources. Not only it provides journalists' names, contact details, interests and social media accounts: Cision also offers outlet stats, including readership and ad rates, as well as editorial opportunities. A great aid when it comes to pitching the right story to the right journalist.

Cons: Cision's database is vast but it's not complete. Not all media contacts are actually working and updated, so there's a certain probability to get few bounce emails. Another minus is that it does not provide a list of the journalists' latest published articles - a functionality offered by Cision's competitors, which is extremely helpful when pitching to the media -.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017