15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Iperius Backup

Iperius Backup is a complete, reliable and lightweight software for Windows Server backup. Windows Server 2016 Windows Server 2019

Learn more about Iperius Backup

Pros:

Straight to the point, the interface walks you straight through the setup. More text based the gui.

Cons:

There are a few places where buttons don't follow Windows default layout recommendations which can be a bit confusing.

Iperius Backup ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Iperius Backup has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 134 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Iperius Backup before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (134)

Kevin
Kevin
Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Iperius Backup - little know gem of a product

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall we select this product as our "go to" backup application for new clients.

Pros:

Iperius is a very cost effective solution. It is the only backup solution we offer clients now.

Cons:

Backing up Exchange server VMs is more complicated than it should be.

David
VP-Technology in Canada
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The RIGHT backup solution

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Great! We are very happy with the product and the solution it provides to us.

Pros:

Ease of setup/configuration/implementation/restoration - you don't need any of these to be difficult. Iperius is not.

Cons:

Original bugs/features when first purchased in 2020. These have been fixed or eliminated resulting in a very stable product - that is continually adding more features.

Jon
Managing Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly recommended!

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Excellent performance and solid support.

Pros:

Realistic pricing. Simple to install and use. Excellent support (on the rare occasions when you need it).

Cons:

No major reservations - it is a very good product.

Omar
Omar
CEO in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

nothing to say

2.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like this software because is easy to use and set up, backup are fast enough and it has the features I need.

Cons:

IT support is really bad!!! They never solve my issues. The answers are never relevant and the new online ticketing is concentrated to close the ticket and not to solve the issues. It' not good!!! Very bad!!!

Enter Response

7 years ago

First of all, thank you for being a valued customer. Iperius provide to all customers Free support and Free updates and we are very sorry to read that your experience with our Support Service was so bad, recently we have introduced a new ticketing system for providing a better customers service and this system is partially automatic, It means that if we don't receive a reply from the customer within 72 hours, the system considers the ticket automatically closed. We're really sorry if you had a disservice for that but otherwise would be very hard to manage many thousands of customers in all of the world with support tickets opened and never closed, for delay often not depending to us. We hope that you can give us another chance and reconsider your opinion on our Customer Service. Thank you.

Christian
CEO in Germany
Computer Networking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All about

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: If in the next future the speed will crow, i am extrem lucky with Iperius Backup

Pros:

Price is the best i ever seen for a livetime licence

Cons:

The spped is much more bad against the other products on the market

Urko
Administrador de Sistemas in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Iperius Backup

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Good, been using it for years now and the price/quality is unbeatable.

Pros:

Easy of use, multilanguage and the integrated console

Cons:

Some features needs to be polished but the team is always doing updates.

William
William
CEO in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best backup tool i have experienced

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I have used the free version for over 5 years and i like the advanced full version now, am quite happy with this solution that i became a partner to create awareness around the country on how good the tool is for system admins.

Pros:

Scheduling of backups Restore time Easy to set up Notifications

Cons:

Office 365 functionality not available for backups

Joan
Tecnic in Spain
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Backups with Iperius

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Very good, for many years I have been using it as the only software to make security copies for our clients both on Servers and with Computers.

Pros:

the ease of configuration and a good technical service behind

Cons:

Yes, it fulfills and covers all my expectations

Gennaro
Director in Italy
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fast and easy

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: For now, nothing to say. It does its job and requires very little maintenance.

Pros:

Ease of use, reliability, backup speed and a wealth of features

Cons:

The lack of a calendar type screen for verifying backup scheduling and their outcome

Pirooz
President in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very reasonably priced server backup solution

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Full featured backup solution came in handy when server wouldn’t load Microsoft Server backup software

Cons:

No issues so far. Still learning the various options.

Daniel
CEO in Sweden
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been using this software on 20-30 computers and it runs like a charm everywhere.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It allows us effortlessly handle all our clients backup needs.

Pros:

It has just the right mix of features and simplicity. There are enough features to handle almost any backup scenario but not so many that the software becomes difficult to use.

Cons:

There are a few places where buttons don't follow Windows default layout recommendations which can be a bit confusing. But not much to complain about really.

Gerard
Vice president in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Effortless Data Protection

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent. Solve the backup issue with virtual machines.

Pros:

Iperius Backup has simplified my backup experience with our VMWARE environment. The user-friendly interface, automatic scheduling, and speedy backups make it a standout. Reliable restores and efficient background operation make it my go-to solution for hassle-free data protection. Highly recommended!

Cons:

I don't have complains about the Iperius Backup

Steven
Systems Developer and Administrator in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It was the easy to download, install and use. The purchase was easy and I had absolutely no issues.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Peace of mind!

Pros:

Easy to use. You get real value for money. I can use FTP, Dropbox, anything I want to. As many Schedules as I wish and its just so easy. There are a lot of features for the purchase price. I recommend this product when asked what do I use.

Cons:

Not everything is translated into English. Columns etc. A theme option would be a nice feature to add. Not much to say negatively about the product.

Lahav
Senior Advisor in Israel
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing low cost solution for server backup

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Frequent updates. Easy implementation. Very cost effective solution.

Cons:

In my opinion there is insufficient error logging

Brian
Tech in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient, and effective

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Generates revenue

Pros:

Straight to the point, the interface walks you straight through the setup. More text based the gui. Personally i perfer this.

Cons:

Have to add users in the ftp server seperately. Would be nice to have this functionality built in.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

good backup software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: the software was relatively easy to install. after getting around a couple of glitches on figuring out how to configure network backups, everything went fine. it also runs very quickly.

Pros:

this software is fast. it's easy to install and use. it backs up just about anything you need to backup.

Cons:

it was a little hard to get access to certain network drives and files, but after i figured that out, everything went well.

Jacopo
Musician in Italy
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very Bad

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: I installed the software. It was working. Later I went to my work place and Iperius stopped running!!!

Pros:

Nothing at all, absolutely! Why do you want me to write a long story instead of a word?

routier
Responsable SI in France
Consumer Electronics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

backup method on VM and real machine

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: backup of my critical vms

Pros:

realy nice to see. Easy to configure and use. the configuration of the vm with exsi server is really easy to select and comprehensive. The bandwith is shared by the software just like a charm.

Cons:

more configuration on the targed machine to backup, and not really want documented.... On exsi, goggle was my friend to see where are the problem and the configuration to include. Why don't using ssh and make the configuration automaticaly with your software?

Umit Murat
Teacher in Netherlands
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful and Easy!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Great availability of features and choice of backup (VMs, exchange backup, SQL server backup), among many destinations (ftp, NAS, cloud [e.g. Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive]).

Cons:

There are a few places where buttons don't follow Windows default layout recommendations which can be a bit confusing. But not much to complain about really.

Benjamin
Benjamin
Director of Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Everything you need, and several features you didn't know you wanted

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Backups exactly the way I want them every single time

Pros:

This software has literally everything you can ask for in a backup program. The fact that I can choose exactly where, when, how, etc I want to back things up is incredible. You aren't just stuck choosing to backup a local backup, but you have the options of backing up from FTP, disk cloning, esxi, hyper-v, Microsoft Exchange, and specifically tailored options for backing up an SQL server, or oracle systems. As far as destinations go, you can backup to the cloud, through ftp, a tape backup, a local disk or external drive with zero limitations. Scheduling can be as detailed as you want but what really makes this program shine in my eyes are the options you get for how to handle backups. (Advanced options) You can exclude or include system files with the click of a single button, you can easily change how detailed the logs are and very specific event triggers to notify you when something goes wrong, or even when it doesn't. It has file compression, incremental backups, you can choose file revision history, incremental backups, full backups, and even have the program start another program as soon as a backup ends or right before it starts. It uses hardly any system resources even if left running 24/7 for real time backups. If there is an error the logs are very specific allowing you to tell exactly what file caused an issue or what errors the program encountered. This is extremely helpful to me allowing me to backup exactly what was missed due to errors

Cons:

For a new user not versed in how to use the software it can absolutely be a daunting experience. The options and choices for how to do things can easily confuse someone not familiar with the program layout or how to navigate the software as there is such a huge selection of options to select from.

Terry
IT Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Iperius works well and great pricing

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We needed a reliable inexpensive backup solution to fit many scenarios and Iperius fits that very well. We backup data, VMs, full hard drives, I've restored VMs in a matter of hours, restored individual databases in minutes, its great software, and the free version works for most needs but we use paid for VMs. Support has always been responsive

Pros:

We use Iperius for daily backups of all out data, both full daily drive backups and VMs with full then incremental. We backup to a NAS which Iperius does without any issues. i get daily emails and good logs of the backups to easily troubleshoot any issues

Cons:

The scheduler defaults do not work for use, but its easily adjusted

Luciano
Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very good for ESXI backup

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It works as described and with the scheduling I can just leave it to get on with it.

Pros:

That it backs up a number of different sources from ESXI/SQL/Exchange 365

Cons:

The backups could be a bit faster especially exchange 365

Robert
Founder in Germany
Defense & Space, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Strong solution with a good value for the money

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Quite good, the logs could be more detailed (even in debugmode it would be nice to see the actual function call with their values) to aid debugging.

Pros:

It boils down to the very competitive price point. It has all the right features for a fair price, ideally for an SME to just give it a shot and risk deploying it. We will likely deploy further smaller installs in off-sites.

Cons:

There is some issue in backing up Exchange 2019 on-premise if the backup host is not domain joined. There is a KB page about it but sadly, implementing the details here did not help resolve the issue. I will now open a ticket and hope it can be fixed. However, general system and incremental backups of Exchange work perfectly so it is more a detail rather then an issue.

Paul
IT in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Low Cost Backup for VMware

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very happy with the multitude of backup types in the full license.

Pros:

Love the ability to backup vmware multiple ways with multiple destinations. The price cannot be beat, and it really is a fast nightly backup when you use changed block tracking. I have used several other much more expensive products, and after trying Iperius in multiple environments, there really is no comparison, Iperius outperforms them all when a cost vs. performance ratio is analyzed.

Cons:

If I had to choose a small negative about the software, I would say the English translation could be improved a bit, I have found some grammatical errors. Many versions ago this led to some difficulty configuring, but they seem to be improving in many areas with every new version.

Charles
IT Manager in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Iperius Products

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent support

Pros:

Great for looking after computers for Backup and also remote control

Cons:

Nothing, it did everything I wanted plus more.