Iperius Backup Reviews

4.3 (24) Write a Review!

About Iperius Backup

Iperius Backup for Servers, VMware ESXi, Hyper-V, SQL Server, MySQL, Exchange - To Cloud, NAS, RDX, Tape, FTP, Google Drive, S3.

Learn more about Iperius Backup

Pros:

Straight to the point, the interface walks you straight through the setup. More text based the gui.

Cons:

The lack of a calendar type screen for verifying backup scheduling and their outcome.

Iperius Backup ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Iperius Backup has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 24 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Iperius Backup before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (24)

Benjamin J.
Benjamin J.
Director of Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Everything you need, and several features you didn't know you wanted

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Backups exactly the way I want them every single time

Pros:

This software has literally everything you can ask for in a backup program. The fact that I can choose exactly where, when, how, etc I want to back things up is incredible. You aren't just stuck choosing to backup a local backup, but you have the options of backing up from FTP, disk cloning, esxi, hyper-v, Microsoft Exchange, and specifically tailored options for backing up an SQL server, or oracle systems. As far as destinations go, you can backup to the cloud, through ftp, a tape backup, a local disk or external drive with zero limitations. Scheduling can be as detailed as you want but what really makes this program shine in my eyes are the options you get for how to handle backups. (Advanced options) You can exclude or include system files with the click of a single button, you can easily change how detailed the logs are and very specific event triggers to notify you when something goes wrong, or even when it doesn't. It has file compression, incremental backups, you can choose file revision history, incremental backups, full backups, and even have the program start another program as soon as a backup ends or right before it starts. It uses hardly any system resources even if left running 24/7 for real time backups. If there is an error the logs are very specific allowing you to tell exactly what file caused an issue or what errors the program encountered. This is extremely helpful to me allowing me to backup exactly what was missed due to errors

Cons:

For a new user not versed in how to use the software it can absolutely be a daunting experience. The options and choices for how to do things can easily confuse someone not familiar with the program layout or how to navigate the software as there is such a huge selection of options to select from.

Terry S.
IT Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Iperius works well and great pricing

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: We needed a reliable inexpensive backup solution to fit many scenarios and Iperius fits that very well. We backup data, VMs, full hard drives, I've restored VMs in a matter of hours, restored individual databases in minutes, its great software, and the free version works for most needs but we use paid for VMs. Support has always been responsive

Pros:

We use Iperius for daily backups of all out data, both full daily drive backups and VMs with full then incremental. We backup to a NAS which Iperius does without any issues. i get daily emails and good logs of the backups to easily troubleshoot any issues

Cons:

The scheduler defaults do not work for use, but its easily adjusted

Omar G.
Omar G.
CEO in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

nothing to say

2.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like this software because is easy to use and set up, backup are fast enough and it has the features I need.

Cons:

IT support is really bad!!! They never solve my issues. The answers are never relevant and the new online ticketing is concentrated to close the ticket and not to solve the issues. It' not good!!! Very bad!!!

Enter Response

5 years ago

First of all, thank you for being a valued customer. Iperius provide to all customers Free support and Free updates and we are very sorry to read that your experience with our Support Service was so bad, recently we have introduced a new ticketing system for providing a better customers service and this system is partially automatic, It means that if we don't receive a reply from the customer within 72 hours, the system considers the ticket automatically closed. We're really sorry if you had a disservice for that but otherwise would be very hard to manage many thousands of customers in all of the world with support tickets opened and never closed, for delay often not depending to us. We hope that you can give us another chance and reconsider your opinion on our Customer Service. Thank you.

Gennaro D.
Director in Italy
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fast and easy

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: For now, nothing to say. It does its job and requires very little maintenance.

Pros:

Ease of use, reliability, backup speed and a wealth of features

Cons:

The lack of a calendar type screen for verifying backup scheduling and their outcome

Paul S.
IT in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Low Cost Backup for VMware

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very happy with the multitude of backup types in the full license.

Pros:

Love the ability to backup vmware multiple ways with multiple destinations. The price cannot be beat, and it really is a fast nightly backup when you use changed block tracking. I have used several other much more expensive products, and after trying Iperius in multiple environments, there really is no comparison, Iperius outperforms them all when a cost vs. performance ratio is analyzed.

Cons:

If I had to choose a small negative about the software, I would say the English translation could be improved a bit, I have found some grammatical errors. Many versions ago this led to some difficulty configuring, but they seem to be improving in many areas with every new version.

Charles D.
IT Manager in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Iperius Products

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Excellent support

Pros:

Great for looking after computers for Backup and also remote control

Cons:

Nothing, it did everything I wanted plus more.

Riyas R.
Riyas R.
IT Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very Stable Backup Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is very good.

Pros:

Installed on all of our workstations for backing up the file to the NAS. It running on the background without much system resources and copying the files to destinations without a single issue. I can also disable or enable notifications like other software. But this is stable.

Cons:

Since it installed 6 month ago, it never checked automatically for any version updates.

Enter Response

3 years ago

Thank you for reviewing Iperius Backup. We really appreciate it! Your feedback helps us to do better. Auto-updates are on our roadmap. Sign-up to our website https://www.iperiusbackup.com/user-registration.aspx?r=1 and subscribe to the newsletter for receiving updates.

Giorgio F.
Mr. in Italy
Computer Hardware, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Inexpensive, Powerful, Easy!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: backup speed and ease of use

Pros:

Manage Multiple Windows Image Backups, disconnect the USB disks when the file backup is complete.

Cons:

does not zip virtual machines, do not disconnect the USB disks when the image backup is complete.

Brian H.
Tech in US
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient, and effective

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Generates revenue

Pros:

Straight to the point, the interface walks you straight through the setup. More text based the gui. Personally i perfer this.

Cons:

Have to add users in the ftp server seperately. Would be nice to have this functionality built in.

Daniel K.
CEO in Sweden
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have been using this software on 20-30 computers and it runs like a charm everywhere.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It allows us effortlessly handle all our clients backup needs.

Pros:

It has just the right mix of features and simplicity. There are enough features to handle almost any backup scenario but not so many that the software becomes difficult to use.

Cons:

There are a few places where buttons don't follow Windows default layout recommendations which can be a bit confusing. But not much to complain about really.

Steven P.
Systems Developer and Administrator in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It was the easy to download, install and use. The purchase was easy and I had absolutely no issues.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Peace of mind!

Pros:

Easy to use. You get real value for money. I can use FTP, Dropbox, anything I want to. As many Schedules as I wish and its just so easy. There are a lot of features for the purchase price. I recommend this product when asked what do I use.

Cons:

Not everything is translated into English. Columns etc. A theme option would be a nice feature to add. Not much to say negatively about the product.

Thierry D.
General Manager in Côte d’Ivoire
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good product for SMB

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is a good low cost solution for SMB fora good level backup solution.

Pros:

Easy to use. Free of charge for support and update. The full version with a lot of interesting functionalities. The easy way to collect the activation key.

Cons:

the restore from the image with the Windows utility which is not enough sure and easy to use. We would prefer specific tools for making and restoring an image from the hard disk drive.

Yezid M.
Network and Servers Administrator in Venezuela
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I've implemented this backup software for some of my particular costumers

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Version free for file backup is very good and stable, and it´s capable to give IP admins the option to get backups with certain backup policies for retention. If you have a DB engine and it is capable to backup itself to a file, this can be backed up with same policies

Cons:

The way to organize incremental or differential backups is not easy to understand, maybe you are expected to get a file for each day the backup task is configured and the validity of it, and this is not in that way

Joan M.
Técnic in Spain
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

very good

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It covers most of the needs of small and medium enterprises, at an affordable and easy to use price

Pros:

is an easy program to install and configure, and very secure with many configuration possibilities that allow us to cover most of our customers' needs.

Cons:

in the backup options, there is a lack of periodicity options that other programs do have, for the rest it is quite good.

Verified Reviewer
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

good backup software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: the software was relatively easy to install. after getting around a couple of glitches on figuring out how to configure network backups, everything went fine. it also runs very quickly.

Pros:

this software is fast. it's easy to install and use. it backs up just about anything you need to backup.

Cons:

it was a little hard to get access to certain network drives and files, but after i figured that out, everything went well.

Les S.
Principal Integration Consultant in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product, Simple and It works

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good Value for money for small organisation

Pros:

Reasonably Simple to setup, Works, the only product that backs up VM's using ESXi 6.5 FREE for small organisations it is ideal with only a few VM's Simple Interface

Cons:

The interface not very intuitive, Logs are not very intuitive or explain the problem

Enter Response

3 years ago

Thank you for reviewing Iperius Backup. We really appreciate it! For user-interface honestly, It sounds new because one of the most well-known value recognized by our customers is the intuitiveness, anyway your feedback matter, feel free to send your suggestions to our development department. The log files are detailed but if you have any problem you can count on our support team for free.

Ron C.
MSP Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

5 Stars

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Value based professional solution that meets and exceeds my needs.

Pros:

Very simple and intuitive, yet boasts a robust feature set. Software is cost effective without sacrificing features. There is a version for every situation I have come across. Support is very responsive.

Michael I.
API Business Systems Consultant in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Top notch!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Increased security

Pros:

Great availability of features and choice of backup (VMs, exchange backup, SQL server backup), among many destinations (ftp, NAS, cloud [e.g. Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive]).

Routier F.
Responsable SI in France
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

backup method on VM and real machine

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: backup of my critical vms

Pros:

realy nice to see. Easy to configure and use. the configuration of the vm with exsi server is really easy to select and comprehensive. The bandwith is shared by the software just like a charm.

Cons:

more configuration on the targed machine to backup, and not really want documented.... On exsi, goggle was my friend to see where are the problem and the configuration to include. Why don't using ssh and make the configuration automaticaly with your software?

Verified Reviewer
Sviluppatore in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A great backup software

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Iperius allows you to backup all your files easily and securely. You can plan periodic backups, network backups or even in removable devices such as external hard disks or usb drives.

Cons:

Iperius make its job perfectly, but there are also similar tools that do (almost) the same, but for free. I feel like it's a wise purchase, as the software is great, but you might want to consider cheaper solutions as well.

Umit murat K.
Teacher in Netherlands
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful and Easy!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Great availability of features and choice of backup (VMs, exchange backup, SQL server backup), among many destinations (ftp, NAS, cloud [e.g. Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive]).

Cons:

There are a few places where buttons don't follow Windows default layout recommendations which can be a bit confusing. But not much to complain about really.

Noelis Q.
Noelis Q.
Geografa in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Muy completo y flexible!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The product is very intuitive and easy to use

Pros:

It allows to use several devices and includes on-line storage The product is very intuitive and easy to use, very good customer service and has a good price.

Cons:

Until now I have not had any problem during the use of the product, I find it very complete and friendly

Thierry D.
Manager in Côte d’Ivoire
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Iperius Backup

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Des sauvegardes simples et pratiques en mode local comme en mode cloud.

Pros:

Simple d'utilisation et licence perpétuelle. Parfait pour un usage personnel ou en PME. De nombreuses possibilités de sauvegardes en local, cloud. Prise en charge des modes image et VM (Vmware).

Cons:

La restauration en mode image demande des connaissances plus poussées. En effet, le logiciel utilise le mode de sauvegarde image intégré à Windows et demande donc de respecter certaines règles à la sauvegarde pour avoir des restaurations sans problème.

Ben R.
Dir in Netherlands
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Meer gericht op verkoop dan op functionaliteit de service is niet gericht op een oplossing.

1.0 6 months ago

Comments: Ben gestart met de eenvoudigste versie van € 54,- met 10% korting, Daarna € 200,- moeten bijbetalen, voor de tape versie. Daarna een kerst 20% korting maar die werd al verbruikt door de € 54,- versie. Dus een miskoop.

Pros:

Gratis volledig werkende proefversie en eenvoudig te installeren

Cons:

Geen tape erase funtie. Onduidelijke fouten die niet met de helpdesk worden opgelost. Het is volstrekt onduidelijk welke versie je nodig hebt.