15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Synerion

Synerions suite of solutions will provide you with everything you need to track, monitor and report on employee time and attendance.

Learn more about Synerion

Pros:

It is easy to use and give you all the revelent information.

Cons:

No mobile app for Synerion Agile. Past absence history on Employee portal is not available.

Synerion ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

Synerion has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 85 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Synerion before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (85)

Petya
Manager of Payroll and Financial Support in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Synerion implementation September 2023

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall, the Synerion experience has been very pleasant which I doubt many companies would say about switching systems. From the sales pitch, through implementation, to amazing support, to the ability to receive feedback and improve, this company has been a great choice for our needs.

Pros:

Synerion is very user friendly which was one of our key requirements. We have many employees who do not use technology and they are proficient with the mobile app with minimal to no guidance.The sales team was very kind, their demos were very relevant, and they worked with us to do not 2 or 3 but 4 live demos before we committed. But the system implementation process was outstanding - the assigned project manager was extremely knowledgeable, had valuable recommendations, and was there to answer hundreds of questions any time day or night. We love that the system is designed to make managers more efficient by using the Control Panel to complete tasks and move on with their day.It is very important to us that Synerion continues to improve and collect feedback from customers. As an example, it would be very helpful for managers to see under the Attendance the remaining days of the pay period so they can easily see who maybe reaching overtime if they have planned PTO towards the end of the pay period (we as a company include paid PTO in Overtime calculations).The reports are very useful and customizable, but it would be great if Synerion does a deeper training on the data tables and how to write formulas for admins that are more IT savvy and prefer to learn how to do it on their own rather than requesting support with report writing.

Cons:

A major enhancement request for us is the ability for employees to enter Absence Requests for the current day without having the ability to edit their own timesheet or schedule. We would also like to see the Attendance screen enhanced with columns to show the Paid PTO time along the Paid Attendance and a column to sum the total paid - it will allow managers to simply confirm their employees are being paid for the appropriate number of hours in one screen. This request would need to be mirrored for self-service.

Mike
Operations Manager in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Great product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Can review OT, hours spent on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Can look at the whole team or an individual employee. We can adjust any of the areas that will benefit us when discussed with a Synerion team member.

Pros:

Easily used on a daily basis, customer service on questions is a one on one meeting with an expert on their product, always looking to improve their product, and webinars often to cover any changes they make in their product.

Cons:

I did not have any least liked concerns about the product because it was implemented easily and fixed a big opportunity in our hourly payroll punching and reporting.

Carmen
HRIS Analyst in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

New Synerion users

3.5 8 years ago

Pros:

I really like that the forepersons can manage their employees. I like that they can see who is coming up for holidays.

Cons:

What I like least about this product is that when you deviate from your usual page by mistake it is not clear how to return to your page. The title of the pages are not the same you have Time and Attendance on one page and Attendance Management on the side bar. I don't like how you have to pull up or down the page every time you log on, I wish it would stay the same when you logged off. When booking a vacation day for salaried employees there should be a easier way to make adjustments after the fact to reflect an accurate vacation balance.

Lyne
Owner in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synerion made us save a lot of time & money

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Our employees are all unionised & there are many premiums to apply because of their convention. I am sooo amazed on how Synerion are able to program these work rules within the application & thus making it very easy for us to program & download our pays

Pros:

How much time we save by using this application which in turn makes of save a lot of money because of the time it takes & the errors in data entry that we used to make when doing the pays manually.

Cons:

We have been using this application for almost 10 years & I am able to say that the experience as gotten better & better because of the improvements that they have made throughout these 10 years. So, I really have nothing negative to say

Yvette
Human Resources
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellence in Customer Service

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I would recommend this company to any firm looking for a well support time keeping solution.

Pros:

The product meets our needs at the current time and the company goes out of their way to inform you of any upcoming changes. My favorite part of this system is the customer support. They go above and beyond to help their customers. You could not ask for better support services!

Cons:

The product is a bit complex in some areas so takes some training. The training and customer support given by the company more than make up for this. The sad part is it will no longer be supported at the end of this year so an upgrade in product is required. But Synerion has gone out of their way to keep us up to date on this and what is required to upgrade.

Marek
CEO in Poland
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Synerion

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with Synerion was positive.

Pros:

There were several aspects of Synerion that I found impressive. Firstly, I appreciated its comprehensive functionality for workforce management. The software offered a wide range of features, including time and attendance tracking, scheduling, labor costing, and employee management. This all-in-one solution was highly beneficial for businesses seeking to streamline their workforce processes and improve operational efficiency. Additionally, Synerion's ability to integrate with other systems and software was a significant advantage, allowing for seamless data exchange and increased automation.

Cons:

One aspect that I liked least was the user interface. While functional, it could have been more visually appealing and intuitive. Navigating through the software and accessing certain features required some familiarity, which might pose a learning curve for new users. Enhancing the user interface's aesthetics and usability could have made the overall experience even more enjoyable.

Jesse
Office Manager in Canada
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synerion - A Review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The thing I like most about Synerion is that it is easy to use the majority of the functions. It keeps detailed records, and gives accurate reporting which helps us with completing payroll

Cons:

What I don't like is the scheduling tool as it can't seem to build the schedules for employees properly. We have tried to rectify this but have for the most part not used the schedule part of the system due to its poor quality.

Jean
Vice-president, Finance in Canada
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product to manage your workforce and populate your payroll system

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great workforce management system. It's very easy to install and very flexible. You can easily adjust it to your needs.

Pros:

Synerion is a very intuitive system which is very easy to use for employees, managers and administrators

Cons:

No much to be improved. Synerion also offers regular updates and info sessions on new features.

Lisa
Supervisor in Canada
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

From a Supervisor's point of View

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Employees have more control over their own time and records. And if there is a change in their plans, it is easily changed by management. Makes it easier for our payroll company to confirm records.

Pros:

I find that the features that are most impactful are the vacation accrual. My staff can see at a glance how much time they have available to them at any given moment.

Cons:

The schedule calendar is challenging to use. Especially when inputting an employee's schedule. When using the "Copy Calendar" function, it does not know to skip a stat holiday, rather it includes that day in the schedule, which then messes up each week thereafter.

Alexander
Alexander
Senior Buyer in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This software allowed control working hours , vacation , day sicking .

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is good software to control employees working hours .

Pros:

This software allowed control working hours , vacation , day sicking . It is very helpful for company administration .

Cons:

Some time when you have make enter at system it is miss at Synerion .

Blaga
Superviseur in Canada
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Merci for your product

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to work with this software. I like it.

Cons:

No bad comment, all it's ok. Thanks for all.

Sherry
Payroll Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Successful Implementation and conversion process

4.0 8 years ago

Pros:

We have over 1000 unionized employees in 3 separate locations (on 15 terminals). The calculations are accurate, taking into account the different lunch periods of employees. We were able to automate and program our complicated statutory holiday rules, accruals and hourly rate increases in the middle of the pay-period (split pays) thus eliminating quite a lot of manual work and verification. Synerion created import/export features to move data back and forth between the time and attendance software and our payroll software. As we do not have HR software, the employee profile in the CoreHr module was programmed to our exact needs and meets our requirements. The Project Manager asked the right questions and suggested ways to give us the desired results. Synerion provides excellent customer service.

Cons:

The built in reporting features could be better. It is easy to extract employee profile data and create an excel file, but other fields are not as user-friendly. We are still going through the learning process but think that we may have to resort to Crystal or Tableau to give us the data that we need in the presentation required.

Beth
Accountant in Canada
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Synerion Payroll Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Tracking the job hours and Synerion has an awesome job tracking of hours

Pros:

It is easy to use, maintain and has lots of features

Cons:

The "in" and "Out" buttons are pretty close each other that causes punching the wrong button

Eric
Content Coordinator
Philanthropy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Solid offering, room for improvement

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Synerion's software is very easy to use and requires little setup time to begin using it's base features.

Cons:

The system feels like it is still in development in certain areas of its functionality. Manual workarounds have been required for options that are not present. The lack of a training manual (they offer a limited number of videos) has hampered our staff's ability to quickly adopt the system. As the implementation lead, I am tasked with writing a manual that includes visual examples and step-by-step instructions for our managers and employees. All of this being said, Synerion's knowledgeable and personal customer service agents have made the entire process a breeze and easy to understand.

Jeff
Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fantastic Employee Time Tracking Application!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The Synerion application has made employee time tracking a breeze. We have improved our time tracking efficiency by approximately 40% since implementation over our previous solution, and expect further improvements as we learn more about the additional features available as part of the application. Great ROI for our medium-sized business.

Cons:

Express implementation/setup took a bit more time than expected. However, when we ran into a setup issue we were unable to resolve, a tech representative from Synerion helped us through it on the phone and it was fixed to our satisfaction within 30 mins. No other notable cons at this time.

Ben
Payroll Administrator
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Quick Implementation

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Complete control. We now have visibility of our work force which is saving dollars! The system is easy to use once you play around with it. I highly recommend watching all the videos - there are various features that save you time, but without watching the videos you likely wouldn't see them.

Cons:

The system cannot automatically generate punches (for salaried employees we only want them to clock in, for attendance purposes) and therefore create a lot of errors each day that I manually have to fix. Without giving a manager complete visibility to other departments, they cannot see other departments vacation bookings.

Iain
HR Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Customer & Technical Service is Unparalleled!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The staff in the Customer & Technical Service Teams are extremely responsive, and provide fast turnaround to any questions/needs that arise.

Cons:

The ad-hoc report writing has been sketchy - steps have been taken to improve this feature, but still some progress to be made.

Kambiz
IT Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Customer Service

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

the product is very Dynamic, able to scale to our company size. Overall great product I love the new features such as CoreHR. the product is very user friendly Customer service is friendly, timely and helpful.

Cons:

the user manual is not as in depth as i would like.

Ted
System Architect in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great experience

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

accessible to all user, across all locations. Customer Support very responsive and helpful.

Cons:

the fact that its hard for us to troubleshoot some issues. There wasn't any documentation to help us understand at 1st. but Customer support walked us through it all now.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good workforce management software

4.0 last year

Pros:

I had an excellent experience with Synerion thanks to their amazing customer service. They were prompt, attentive, and resolved the issues I had. The product itself has a lot of features making it one of the best choices in the workforce management software category.

Cons:

I found the user interface to be quite disappointing. Navigating through the software is a struggle, and accessing specific features requires a certain level of familiarity which proved to be a steep learning curve for me as a new user.

Harjot Kaur
Instructor in Canada
Higher Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best Software

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Our college has setup this software for online punch system. Easy to use, understand and track things. Great software instead of punch in which sometime doesn;t read fingerprints. I am very happy with it.

Cons:

I haven't come across any problem so far.

Carla
Senior Administrative Assistant in Canada
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Excellent customer service!

Pros:

The ease of use, accruals, ESS for staff to view accrual balances, mass copy saves so much time in scheduling employees

Cons:

The phone app for the schedulers could be improved so there is more functionality to actually schedule people on/off, etc.

claudine
parts manager in Canada
Farming, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

great to work with

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: so far i had no problem and when i did i went into the tutorial section and it helped me

Pros:

easy to navigate the graphics are well presented

Cons:

you cannot add time to the people who are paid weekly instead of hourly

Middleton
CASHIER in Canada
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

my review of synerion so far

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: so far, it has been a smooth experience

Pros:

I am yet to experience any glitches since i have been using it, every time i sign in or sign off the timing is accurate

Cons:

the interface, i would like to suggest an updated version/upgrade of the ux/ix design as well as the font type.

Holly
HR Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Customer Review

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

Quick and does not freeze up when trying to view data. Customer support is also great; my questions get answered very quickly and thoroughly.

Cons:

Does not work with our pay period for exporting payroll data to Nethris. Our pay period is from the 22nd of each month to the 21st of the following month.