15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Podio

Podio is the new way for teams to communicate, organize and get work done. Free for up to 10 users.

Learn more about Podio

Pros:

Podio's CRM system is very simple to use, and you can get a lot of functionalities built in it as long as you have someone with the necessary coding abilities to do so.

Cons:

But the minute you need more then that you are going to find yourself just doing endless scrolling, and can't find anything. Views are a mess to build.

Podio ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Podio has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 329 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Podio before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (329)

Julian
Julian
CEO in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing platform for managing anything

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Podio is a fully featured platform that allows you to manage any process. We use it as our ERP and we manage all our company processes there. We are a corporate training organization and we sell workshops. In podio we create and keep track from the beginning of the process, the delivery of the courses and the follow up. We have developed with time a quite complex and at the same time simple custom platform for our needs.

Cons:

Reporting is quite limited and not very customizable. Also views could be more sophisticated and customizable.

Justin
Project Manager/Estimator in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Serves it's purpose

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The big boss also loves this program, because it can generate many different reports for him, from bid activity, pending logs, securement logs, win percentages with different customers or geographic areas. allows him to see many different metrics with just a few clicks.

Pros:

The website is incredibly customizable, which allows you make this program perform many tasks that vary greatly. Our main purpose was to use this as a bid center for our company, allowing all of our branches to see who was bidding which jobs. After setting that up, we were able to have podio send out reminders after certain amounts of time to follow up on the bid results. If we were awarded the job, it will then send out notices to our purchasing department, project managers, and super intendents with the relevant information (start end dates, contract prices, labor hours estimated, location, contact info, etc). It is very helpful to make sure our branches do not double up estimating the same projects.

Cons:

Being very customizable also means it can be quite tedious to set up initially. There are, however, many premade modules you can either use as is, or customize to fit you needs.

Cloud Software Group Response

5 years ago

Hi Justin, thanks for the review! Much appreciated. Cheers, Sara from Podio

paul
COO in US
Security & Investigations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10 Year Client

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: We loved it and did almost everything with it. Unfortunately they made a dramatic change that is unacceptable. They restricted our guest user functions in where subcontractors, collaborators, clients, and countless others we have worked with over the years can no longer perform functions like editing app items or create an app item which was a basic user function needed in all of our workspaces. We have been with them since 2013 have built hundreds of colabritives with clients, built entire security education curriculums and managed large government proposals using the platform. Now those free features that we became reliant on over the past 10 years were switched to employee only paid features. In order to restore those former functions. I would have to pay for a user account for each guest in the system. That would change my annual bill from $2400 a year to over $33K a year. That is like buying a new car every year so 130 guest could work with us. I would preach to others on how good the platform was but now after 10 years of customization of apps workspaces client and employee integration they want me to pay a factor of 13.4 x what we have been paying in order to do what we have been doing for the past 10 years. Absolutely criminal ! This is going to be painful and costly.

Pros:

Until Oct 11, 2023 I would argue they are the most powerful intuitive user friendly cloud based tool ever designed. The platform was ideal for project, client, and employee management with powerful tutorials and clean interface with a wide range of customization .

Cons:

They changed their business model effective Oct 11. It has completely disrupted our entire business. I was a huge advocate but no longer. The move is a financial fleecing of small business.

Rongen
Digital Developer in Brunei
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customisable Project Management System which can also be used as a CRM

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: It's easy to use and customise workflow to fit any business need.

Pros:

Customising apps, creating workflow, and implementation roll out are all easy and user friendly. Our team have quickly familiarised the user interface and functionalities.

Cons:

Limited native integrations. You will need Zapier account to integrate with other apps such as Time Tracker, Xero, Pandadoc, or Google Spreadsheet.

Eugenio
Professor in Spain
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

a good collaboration tool for begginners of companies that can spend a lot of time in it

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: it is quite good, the best for us was to share information about leads

Pros:

we can have in one place all the leads we have and all the workers can upload information about that lead, so we check there all we have from them.

Cons:

the support it is not very good, the price it is quite high and at the end we were moving to MNprogram but we still could not do the change

Matt "Griff"
Matt "Griff"
Sales Representative at Geist, a division of Vertiv in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Podi - O?

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We used it for 1-2 years for marketing projects and an internal goal alignment project.

Pros:

I used it for 1-2 years but really never got to a point where I liked the software. It did allow for team communications and project tracking, but I do not believe we used it appropriately.

Cons:

Podio seems to be a very specific style of project/task management software. We tried using it for implementation projects, so there was a lot of customizations that had to occur before it was usable. I did not feel like it was overly intuitive to use and had to do several follow up trainings.

Jorge
Marketing Systems Manager in Chile
Professional Training & Coaching, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Customization is the key

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: You can build a whole information system to support all your organization's areas in the same platform. Obviously, in a service with so many possibilities, everything can be as good as an average solution. If you need a specialized CRM, there's a more expensive alternative and the same is true for email marketing, database manager, webform embeds, etc. The upside of Podio is having it all in the same place, which makes it really convenient.

Pros:

Podio is like a canvas that comes blank and can be as deep as your imagination goes. It's extremely customizable and that makes it more than viable to any organization. It's a platform that can go in any direction you need, you just have to learn javascript to get it's full potential.

Cons:

Platform outages are more common than i'd like. Every month there are at least 2 or 3 incidents that make reliability the goal Citrix should be after.

Jon
Jon
CRM Developer in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PODIO is it for you?!

4.0 last year

Comments: VG, it's been my bread and butter

Pros:

Integration easy.. open source, use zapier from time to time too

Cons:

No Referrals / partner program Being provided for loyal users / programmers like me

Manuel
Manuel
Business Office Manager in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The best CRM and working software

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is amazing how it can integrate with so many things, send emails, sms, signatures. The files can be organized with just a click. It is also suitable for any type of business sin it can be customize. At a good price

Cons:

Extremely difficult to set up. Requires additional help to do it

Gage
Owner in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Podio Review

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: 7-8/10 overall. It wasn't a bad software to use and it'll help you stay organized.

Pros:

The ease of use after you get everything customized.

Cons:

The complexity of setting up a new profile and uploading contacts to get them to map correctly.

Rosalina
Executive Assistant (Freelancer) in Philippines
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An In-Depth Review of the Cloud-Based Project Management and Collaboration Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: Citrix Podio is an exceptionally adaptable and extensive task the board and joint effort arrangement that offers a scope of advantages for groups. Nonetheless, its restricted detailing capacities, high expectation to absorb information, restricted mixes, and client assistance issues might be disadvantages for certain clients.

Pros:

Adaptable: Citrix Podio offers a serious level of customization, permitting groups to make custom work processes, structures, and applications to accommodate their particular necessities. This makes it a profoundly versatile answer for groups with different requirements and work processes.Easy to understand interface: The product has a spotless and simple to-utilize interface that makes it open to clients of all expertise levels.Far reaching highlights: Citrix Podio offers a scope of elements intended to smooth out project the executives and cooperation, including task the board, document sharing, schedule combination, and continuous visit.Versatile availability: The product is open on both work area and cell phones, permitting groups to remain associated and work in a hurry.Solid security: Citrix Podio focuses on security and offers a scope of measures to safeguard client information, including two-factor validation and encryption.

Cons:

Restricted announcing capacities: Citrix Podio's detailing and investigation abilities are to some degree restricted contrasted with other venture the board and joint effort apparatuses. Groups might have to depend on outsider apparatuses to acquire top to bottom bits of knowledge into their work.High expectation to absorb information: While Citrix Podio is easy to understand, it can require some investment for groups to figure out how to utilize the elements really, especially on the off chance that they are all new to project the board and joint effort apparatuses.Restricted combinations: Citrix Podio offers incorporations with different instruments, however the scope of mixes is fairly restricted contrasted with other undertaking the executives and coordinated effort arrangements.Client service: A few clients have revealed troubles with client service, especially as far as reaction time and issue goal.

Juno
Software Engineer in France
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Extensive review from my Podio experience

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Podio has been great. It is a very intuitive and user-friendly platform that is easy to use and navigate. With its robust feature set, it is a great tool for managing projects, tasks, collaborations, and more. I have found it to be incredibly helpful in streamlining my workflow and keeping my team on the same page. Additionally, the customer support is top notch and the resources provided are extremely helpful. Overall, I'm very pleased with my experience with Podio.

Pros:

Podio is a perfect software for teams that need to collaborate and work together on projects. It is an intuitive, user friendly platform designed to help teams manage their projects and tasks in one place. Podio allows teams to communicate and collaborate, plan and track tasks, manage files and documents, and review progress. It is also great for tracking individual tasks and setting goals. Podio provides a secure and organized platform for teams to manage their projects and tasks in one place. It is easy to use and helps teams stay organized and on top of tasks. It also offers great reporting tools that allow teams to review progress and make sure deadlines are met.

Cons:

Podio offers limited customization options, which makes it difficult to tailor the platform to fit the specific needs of a business.

Praveen
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

This software has helped our teams to easily interact and work together.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The cloud-based application lets the organizations to communicate within the company or with another company for their requirements. It has helped us to collaboratively work using a single platform by sharing data such as business processes and project management reports, and through real time communication. Delegating and tracking the tasks has never been so easy! Using this software has improved our productivity and time management. We could build and maintain good relationships with the customer. The best thing about this software is that, it had given us the ability to control who can access the workspace environment, thus adding to the security feature. Since the files can be shared in one common place, multiple email threads and redundancy could be avoided.

Cons:

This utility does not provide phone support, which is a huge drawback. The users are expected to always work from their desktop computer environment. The developers of this application are not always ready to change the application features of the tool. The option of printing out the shared pdf, directly, is not present in the current version of the application. The user interface of this application also needs to be updated, as some find it cumbersome to use. If you are checking out for some automation in workflows, you would be disappointed as there are none!

Allison
Allison
Architectural Product Representative in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Resource for Businesses

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Podio is our main project management source and we love it! It allows us to assign project managers to projects, tag team members that need the information, others to add information they have gathered, copy emails directly to Podio, assign tasks, and so much more. I would highly recommend Podio for any type of business and think it is a great tool that is easy to use.

Pros:

What I like most about Podio is the organization of project management. It helps to keep track of current information, copying emails directly to Podio, tagging team members, and organizing the project with information that is useful in my business. It has been such a great management tool for our small business and relaying information that is easily searchable when the project information is needed quickly!

Cons:

What I like least about this software is that is can get confusing in the beginning and overwhelming of features. It does take some time to understand the functions of Podio and all that it can do. Once learned it is user friendly, but it is hard to get started!

Andrew
Office Manager in UK
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Podio - solid and reliable CRM customised to our needs

5.0 last year

Comments: I compared at least 5 or 6 products. I chose podio, citrix being known to me and found it good. I got support via messaging and phone and quickly had the system setup to meet admin needs and job tracking. 8 years later, have full access to all jobs, cloud based, can download backup and its a part of our IT system used byb4 users daily.

Pros:

Having used podio for over 8 years (!) As CRM and also as means of sharing tasks with certain staff it is perfect. I can setup projects, import excel, csv and track one-off jobs or larger contracts, sharing with workforce.

Cons:

Not much negative to say. We tried some features but overcomplicated our own ways of working. It does what we want it to anc now rely on it.

Michiel
CEO in Netherlands
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

NOT recommended for any mission-critical uses due to frequent slowdowns & outages

2.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We like the versatility of Podio: it really enables you to build a full-feature CRM with pretty complex workflow automation (using Globiflow) without having to code.

Cons:

The frequent slowdowns & outages. We use Podio every minute and find that it is slow at the best of times (for instance, loading a simple message template takes 10-15 seconds) but often suddenly slows down to the point that tasks take 3-4 times as long. Podio then disables certain functions in a way that we cannot control. And sometimes (like today) Podio stops working altogether for a few hour, killing our business activity completely. It looks like they are chronically short of server capacity: the severity of the problems has fluctuated over the years but we are now at the point where we'll probably have to migrate.

Abbas
Managing Director in United Arab Emirates
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am an early adopter, and love love Podio's clean-canvas approach to app building!

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

- That it is clean-canvas and you can set up basically any object, process, structure or workflow you need - The recent calculation field javascript functions are a life-saver! - I have been using Podio since its very early days (back when you could only add, subtract or multiple two fields at a time). It still had so much value for our process as a services company that wants to track what our consultants are billing. - Task management settings are excellent (even if i don't use it as much as i should, adding, assigning and tracking tasks is a breeze)

Cons:

- Being an app intended geeks, it feels like it would be hard to set up initially - Has limited app permissions (for e.g. field-based permissions for different user types is needed for any level of process above basic.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Podio is perfect

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Podio saves time, makes reporting a breeze and basically helps me run my entire department.

Pros:

I am not a developer or tech boffin. And you do not have to be when you are using Podio. It is so simple yet powerful that I don't understand why every company out there aren't using it. I use it for numerous functions in my business: workflow, registration, contacts, fun, events, etc. I like how easy it is to learn and use. I really like how fast I can build, update and change my own workspaces and apps. I use the web-form functionality all the time and it looks very professional.

Cons:

Is it a Podio or a user problem...? but it often happens that I will add a person a workspace and then they can't access it? And I haven't found the answer in the online help function.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Renewables & Environment, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall - Decent CRM software, definitely needs some more competitive enhancements to stay uptodate

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall- this is the main CRM software my company uses. It was sink or swim for me. I did a lot of research while home (after work). It should be easily adapted to new employees , in my opinion. Even now, 2 years later, I still struggle at times , figuring out the available functions, etc.

Pros:

I like the ability to upload as many docs as needed for the project/customer. All departments (in my workplace) can view what is going on with the project. It keeps the project organized and allows as many details as needed.

Cons:

Podio to me, isn't user friendly. It took quite some time to learn the quirks and how to maneuver through the different pages for the project. Definitely could use some enhancements.

Hailley
Client Services Coordinator in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Completely customizable way to store and share info across multiple office locations.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Our company was able to build our database from the ground up, which was very helpful for our specialized company who didn't fit a pre-determined mold when it came to the storing and sharing of info. The tasks section is extremely helpful to remind you or any member of your team about any items to complete both within Podio and externally. I loved the ease of the chat and group chat features, and the ability to send gifs in chat brought some fun and lightness to my day!

Cons:

Learning curve can be long, especially depending on how your administrator has chosen to set up Podio before you begin using it. Different people seem to gravitate towards different ways of organizing information, so this needs to be taken into account for complex records and your employees' different learning styles.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Podio for efficient online collaboration

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Podio is user friendly and flexible. We have used it as an online hub for our team in different locations. We have been able to customise it to suit our needs and it is growing as the business grows.

Pros:

Podio is the best online collaboration system I have used. It's flexible and there is an apps marketplace where you can find modules that can help your business in many different ways. You will be able to access apps that will help[ you with project management and accounting as well as other functions in your organisation. It also allows you to build apps for specific functions of your business. And you can scale it as your business grows.

Cons:

I found this tool to be extremely good for online collaboration. I cannot fault it against what it promises and what it can do.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of our favourites

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's highly flexible and easy to use, saves us time.

Pros:

* Podio is such a flexible solution. It's the only system I'd ever come across that let you design your system around your business, instead of them forcing your business to fit their system. * Really easy to use * Can track/store multiple types of data so is flexible to be used in various areas of the business.

Cons:

* Importing bulk changes isn't as easy as it could be * Advanced workflows require a higher package, so you're limited with the lower end packages in terms of automation, without using a third party service like Zapier.

John
John
Chief Executive Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Podio

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is very positive. I would definitely recommend polio to anyone needing a CRM follow up system. It definitely increases long term conversion.

Pros:

It was super easy to integrate contacts and begin utilizing all forms of initial AND follow up contact. They have multiple features to layout messages, formats, send timing, etc. Everything is easily trackable.

Cons:

The software functions as intended for the service the company offers and or provides. The features operate consistent and in line with what other similar service provides offer.

Sela
Assistant in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love it

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great. Customer service is hit or miss though. Either they go above and beyond and answer super quick or they suck, don’t get back to you and tell you to do something that has nothing to do with your issue

Pros:

Super easy to use and super easy to set up to work the way your company needs it to work. I also am in love with the project sharing abilities so that others can follow one or all projects free of charge!

Cons:

The app sucks. The desktop version is better but the app still works when you’re out and about. It’s just not as organized

Cloud Software Group Response

5 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience Sela! We'll do our best to make every interaction better for you in Support in the future. We have recently scaled up our team and striving for the best support experience overall. /Sara - Product Manager

Kristen
Director of Operations in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Online Business Community Sharing

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience with Podio has been very positive. If I have a question, I can pose it on Podio and typically someone has an answer because they've experienced the situation, or thought of a solution to my concern/problem. It's like a giant, interactive, messaging, bulletin-board where professionals share information.

Pros:

Podio allows me to connect with colleagues in the same field across the country. We can share resources, ideas, post articles and forms, etc. I'm fairly new to my position, so this software has been a great tool in helping me connect with colleagues and educational and training materials, etc. I love that I can find a ton of resources and don't have to recreate the wheel.

Cons:

What I like least about Podio is that I don't seem to have all of the individual's whom I've been in contact with contact information-I have to request their phone number. email, etc.