15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About TallyPrime

We design our software keeping your business in mind. From accounting to reporting, manage it all with our one-stop solution.

Learn more about TallyPrime

Pros:

It is very easy to use and can be used by anyone who knows the basic accounting rules. Ledger creation in tally is very simple.

Cons:

It is difficult to work with multiple windows.

TallyPrime ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

TallyPrime has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 213 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TallyPrime before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (213)

RAJ KUMAR
RAJ KUMAR
Accountant in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of TallyPrime

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It has a multiple features which makes easier to the user. This software gives overall data for audit compliance and financial review.

Cons:

Sometimes its feel lagging in different windows.

MOHD ABDUL
MOHD ABDUL
Accounts Manager in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use ERP9 Software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Ease to the business not only in Accounting side but also in analytics side

Pros:

It's all ERP module are very easy to learn and use unlike other accounting software It's statutory feature ease the business

Cons:

Firstly, It's aging feature of sundries need to be improved, Secondly, for calculating tax for cgst and sgst we need to calculate it manually which needs to be improved

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

TallyPrime supports you for all your GST needs. With TallyPrime, all your tax calculations and return filing is automated with inbuilt error detection and prevention capabilities.

Praveen
Manager in India
Pharmaceuticals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tally - Simplifying Accounting for Businesses**

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: In conclusion, Tally is a game-changer for businesses of all sizes. Its user-friendly interface, accuracy, and customization options make it a top choice for efficient accounting and financial management.

Pros:

Tally software has revolutionized the way businesses manage their finances. With its user-friendly interface and powerful features, Tally makes accounting tasks efficient and accurate. One of the standout features of Tally is its ease of use. Even for those with minimal accounting knowledge, Tally's intuitive design makes navigating through financial data a breeze. This accessibility is crucial for small businesses and startups that may not have dedicated accounting teams.

Cons:

Accuracy is another key strength of Tally. The software handles complex calculations effortlessly, reducing the chances of human error. This reliability is essential for maintaining financial integrity and making informed business decisions. Tally also offers a range of customization options to suit different business needs. From generating detailed financial reports to managing inventory, Tally provides comprehensive solutions that streamline operations.

CA Ankit
CA Ankit
Proprietor in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TallyPrime is a waste of Time

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: Waste of time. I had to migrate out of it to Quickbooks, Zoho, etc. as it works super slow in my system, since I migrated to Tally Prime!

Pros:

Few integration with other softwares & sound accounting features integrated.

Cons:

1. No automation. In fact, to get automation, you need to pay someone to build, develop, implement & learn how to automate for each and every new automation you want! 2. Hangs a lot and the cloud version is designed to make money, not to sell the product! 3. A lot of good features are now obsolete. They haven't designed the product to upgrade with the digital world. 4. Bad UI/UX for a person who doesnt understand how accounting works. It's designed to discourage people, who do not know about accounting, not to pursue it!

Rajesh
Sr Sales Manager in India
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback as my view

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall is good for accounts, inventory and gst

Pros:

Very good for accounts and GST. Reports of account and GST related is available easily

Cons:

Location was stock management was not up to the mark

kothari m
System Administrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent enterprise resource planning and GST helper software.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is positive. Its online back up solutions is wonderful feature as it can reinstall those data from its back up solutions. It depends upon modern computing so that it can run in multiple computers. Most of the functions of Tally are there and in addition to this some of more functions such as the same shortcuts and after working with TallyPrime for some days then one can be acquainted with it, and while working with multiple computers the real time data updates is quite fast and secure/

Pros:

Excellent invoicing and accounting software, precious inventory management software, excellent in GST calculation and proper management of Banking credit and debit management software.

Cons:

For GST information addition, one needs to do some calculations with offline calculator addition as it is not automated calculations through TallyPrime, but after putting these informations to TallyPrime, then overall calculations becomes simple. TallyPrime does not work in Wireless connectivity but it works through LAN connections. So in order to use in multiple computers wireless data transmission within computers should be made available.

Atul
ARTICALSHIP ASSOCIATE in India
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Most Suitable and easy to understand Accounting Software

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: My experience with tally Prime has been where good in fact excellent, it is easy to understand without any accounting knowledge, It makes Financial Reporting and inventory management easy. And in terms of Invoice creation is better than any Software's in the market.

Pros:

Tally Prime is much easy to understand and record your transactions than any other software in the market.It has various shortcuts and predefined letters which makes your task faster, its integration with other software's makes it one of the best for Tax computation and Financial Reporting.

Cons:

The UI of the software is old school which makes it too rigid, There is many Factors in which it needs to improve but Updates are not that often.It becomes difficult to use when you have enter bulk entry's at the same time if internal working is not known.

Tally Solutions Response

10 months ago

Thank you for sharing your views. We would like to share with you about our future product roadmap, refer this link for more details - https://tallysolutions.com/product-roadmap/"

Mannan
Accounts Officer in Qatar
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TallyPrime

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My Overall experience of using this software for like a decade now is that it is so much easy to adopt in any kind of industry. also a person who is fresh can learn to operate this software in no time.

Pros:

The most likeable of this software is the usage and reliability of this software towards daily use in businesses. We can design this software so easily to meet all of our business needs. We can use this software from Issuing quotations to placing orders to suppliers and delivering those orders to customers. We can keep track of all transactions.

Cons:

There are no such cons of this software, but what I like least is that there is lack of interface to this software. we cannot change the display or views of reports.

Ravikumar
Ravikumar
Head IT in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally prime review

5.0 last year

Comments: Very good and provides rich experience of ERP

Pros:

Multiligual capability, Imprint of auto Digital signature, Multiple invoice formats are few functionalities which i like the most.

Cons:

Transactions can be deleted with out reversing it

Tally Solutions Response

last year

Thanks for sharing your views.

John
John
Account Assistant in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Tally has solve most of the errors in Accounting

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The accounting software Tally is very simple to use. It wouldn't take long for a new user to become familiar with this software. The best feature of the software is also that it allows users to enter data for previous months, which simplifies accounting. This allows users to book invoices in the past.

Cons:

It is not possible to customize the report to meet our needs. Some shortcuts in Tally Prime are different from those in Tally ERP 9, which causes some user discomfort.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with Tally erp9 is very good. it helps us in maintaining all records of our client.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I help me in maintaining records of large number of client in a limited time daily. Helps in timely filing of returns and other business reports. Which results increase of my profit.

Pros:

This software is best and most trusted software. It provides automated solution for maintaining records and timely compliance with laws. The Best in this software is that one can customize this software according to requirements. Even special customization for every kind of business is available. It is very easy to use and learn for a fresher, Shortcut Keys are given on right side. Data can be easily compiled and migrated to PDF, Excel and Other Forms. Tally.net user is another very good feature, which provides you to access your data while sitting anywhere. These days it is very helpful for preparation and uploading of GST Returns directly from Software

Cons:

This software is not on cloud storage basis. But In all, this software is very good and best software for maintaining complete records of a business

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks!Tally Virtual User (TVU) along with virtualisation technologies like RDP, RDS, and so on, allow you to access TallyPrime from anywhere, anytime. You can use your office computer or a cloud/virtual server to host your TallyPrime. When the server is connected to the Internet, you can use any computer or device, on which the third party tool works, to access the desktop of your server computer. After you access the remote desktop, you can start TallyPrime as on your local desktop. Tally Virtual User (TVU) options refer this link for more details https://bit.ly/3yjJd07

Gisele
Server in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Talley is the best I will never go to a different system!

5.0 last year

Pros:

From start to finish this system is stupid proof it is the easiest most productive and efficient system to keep your business staying profitable and knowing your sales/product inventory and tips make it even better giving the whole team a push to do better and keep selling! My team loves the system we changed over once 5 years ago for two weeks and went right back to tally!

Cons:

Nothing I love this system I trust it. Easy. Simple. Productive. Cover all your bases and make it easy for you and your staff to use.

Tally Solutions Response

last year

That's so good to hear! We are glad that we able to meet your expectations.

Rahul
CA Article in India
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TallyPrime - In the Age of Cloud Solutions

4.0 last year

Comments: TallyPrime is easily recommendable to small businesses and accountants. Although there is a learning curve for using shortcut keys, it becomes the best feature with long term use. It is easy to set up, and adding client data couldn't be easier. Data is secure as it operates in backup files. You may have to use another cloud based solution to raise customer invoices as there is no customizability when it comes to bills. And honestly, it is not very interesting to operate. It looks dull and accounting can seem even more mundane than it is. It is still widely used in India, and the pricing is better than most. Recommended.

Pros:

The most loved feature about this software is that you do not need a mouse to operate it, yes that is the best feature, that it can be used with only a keyboard as shortcuts are its forte. I wish other cloud based software had this ease of use.

Cons:

There is no customization when it comes to invoicing. We use a different cloud based bookkeeping application for raising customer invoices.

Shashikala
Admin executive in India
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes my work more easier

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Am been working with this software since 2014 and it’s so easy to operate or accounting, everything is easy to calculate,, means everyday I can see profits and loss just by entering expenses, I even print cheque’s through tally erp 9, after many years I can the details of the cheque’s I issued. This is best software to any small or multinational companies

Pros:

Can create account for multiple companies and use at multiple windows,, need not to do calculations by hand, everything percentage and deductions are calculated in tally itself

Cons:

Doesn’t have automatic backups,, would be good if they have an option that data will be saved somewhere when computer get corrupted

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

"Currently auto backup is not available , however, backup of Data can be still performed using Backup functionality available in the default product. As a alternative, you can use external application Cobian software to take Auto backup"

SREEKALA
ACCOUNTANT in India
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ONE OF THE BEST ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE AND VERY MUCH HELPFUL FOR GST RETURN FILING IN INDIA

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am a user of Tally Erp 9 for seven years. I feel it is the best accounting software available in India.

Pros:

It is very easy to use and can be used by anyone who knows the basic accounting rules. Ledger creation in tally is very simple.Tally Erp 9 is very user friendly and can be used in small as well as corporate business enterprises because it has a lot of features. Any one can set it's features as per their requirements.Multi companies can be created and GST consultants and Auditors can easily take statutory reports and file GST returns through Tally Erp 9 very quickly.

Cons:

When we use remote control feature sometimes it takes more time. Statutory reports can be taken slowly if there is company with huge data.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the feedback. Enhancing remote access capabilities is one of our top priorities. Stay tuned for more on this from us.

Jinendra
IT Support Administrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally- Accounting Software

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: When we need to surrender tally from 1 computer to another computer we face some issue. I have done this as well but some time we face issue. I have installed tally ERP ,no have done backup it's very easy to use.

Pros:

Tally this software is very user friendly and you can say very intuitive. They have single user & multiple user licesense. On multiuser lisence we can access tally on multiple devices , computers, laptops. Even they have remote facility so you can give remote. Tally support also very nice.we have single user means Silver license. We are happy to using this. Our accountant can easily maintain all purchase, sale, payment , receipt, invoice entries. It is very easy to take data backup also.

Cons:

Actually software is good but when tally version we need to update they will charge for this. This charges for service support. And we need to update version manually. After all software is very good very light version.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

"Tally license is a perpetual license. You would need subscription to upgrade to latest releases. In addtion to this TSS also provides many options like a trusted and secure medium to connect to your data remotely with no additional software or hardware requirements. Refer this page for more details. https://help.tallysolutions.com/article/Tally.ERP9/faqs/8173.html "

Manoj
Owner in India
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tally ERP 9 is good software for office use

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy interface and no confusion using most part of this software.

Cons:

Pos feature not added on this software and print invoice setting is to much complicated

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

We suggest you to refer these links for information on POS features and printing configurations - https://bit.ly/338L1KZ & for Printing configuration you can refer the link "https://bit.ly/3eHGzIK

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The accounting tool for all your needs

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Since my work is straight-forward, I don't require any customizations but yes integration to the tax-regimes is a must which Tally has already deployed in its upgrades and would continue to do so in it's future releases. Extremely fast and responsive once you get accustomed to using it. I've been using Tally for the past 6 years now and no complaints whatsoever. Cheers!

Pros:

Tally has made it extremely easy for me to move from old tax regime to GST. Allows me to custom-view sales and purchase data based on my requirements and generate various reports on a daily/weekly/monthly/yearly basis as required.

Cons:

It's a bit costly and it takes time to get accustomed to the User-Interface. Also customization is very limited so if you're in requirement of a scalable tool that allows you to customize its utility, you should look for other accounting tools.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

We thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate you for taking time out to write such a detailed review.

Akash
Self Employed in India
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Tally Prime Best GST and accounting Solution

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very useful accounting Software, in india Context.

Cons:

Price and payment gateway cant be integrated also its on prime not cloudbased software.

Smita
Sr. Accountant in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best and worth to buy accounting software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall good experience with tally. I am using a tally for the last couple of years.I like to use for my company accounting.

Pros:

It is very helpful for GST complaince .Also we can get TDS data easily. We can maintain financial data very safetly.We can easily maintain purchases, sales, taxation,payment,receipts.Its very user friendly and very helpful for company accountant,managment and auditors.

Cons:

the overall good experience with tally.Thre is no automation.It will be good if you can customize automation for bank entries and other entries.

Abel
Abel
Accountant in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tally Pime: The Best Accounting Software Ever....

5.0 last year

Comments: OMG! I have been able to carryout bank reconciliation regularly with ease, thanks to the automated reconciliation feature in Tally prime. The E- invoicing, E- way billing, expense tracking of stock items and the very many financial reports has turn my weekly management meeting presentation to interesting time. Tally Prime is so so good.

Pros:

Wao, the E-invoicing and E-way billing as well as financial reporting in Tally Prime has made my daily task as accountant less stressfully, it is great great great.

Cons:

Well I only notice the UI and UX may not be splendid but what is that compare to the great functionalities.

Tally Solutions Response

last year

That's so good to hear! We are glad that we able to meet your expectations.

Rohit
General Manager in India
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are using this application as a financial accounting system and it is helping us keep track of all accounting entries and its reporting from both user as well as statutory point of view.

Pros:

The software has been used my many Companies and is easy to manage from the IT Admin point of view. The users too find extreme satisfaction when using it as the reports and working of the system is simple and configurable.

Cons:

The software is not online enabled. It is a desktop based application and the Company is not thinking of making it available as an online application or on mobile.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

For online access of Tally from anywhere we have Remote access and Tally on Browser options. You may refer this link for more details. Tally on Browser - https://bit.ly/3eac3bz Remote Access - https://bit.ly/3e2FjRl

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One stop Business Solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is very good for this. It helps me a lot pursue my career.

Pros:

It's every features are impactful and helpful. It's one stop business Solution for us we are managing accounting, inventory, and payroll management.

Cons:

Sometimes it gets closed unexpectedly disturb a lot. Expect it every features are very good and helpful.

Tally Solutions Response

last year

Thanks for sharing your feedback! If you are still facing issue related to application getting closed unexpectedly, we recommend you reach out to support https://tallysolutions.com/support/,our team will assist you.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best accounting package for India atleast

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Anyone in India form the SME space would have used this for sure. I am no different.

Pros:

Compliance with the norms in India and mind you they keep changing frequently. Tally updates the product on a regular basis to give us the latest.

Cons:

The UI is pretty tacky. Can do a lot to enhance that. No true web experience as it is a thick client.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

"Our latest product TallyPrime comes with a UI refresh. We suggest you to take a look and share your feedback. For Tally on web you may refer to this link https://help.tallysolutions.com/tally-prime/connected-services/tally-reports-in-browser-tally/"

Hussain
Student / Part Timer in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Like a life line in Buisiness!!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

After the addition of GST in the Indian Market, tally has been one of the best and supportive software throughout. It was one the first software to support this functionality. Updates are lot quicker compare to others.

Cons:

It has a lot of features and functions which is good, but the UI is not so simple. One needs to go through a course to understand it completely. I think more tutorial and FAQs could have been better.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks! Our latest product TallyPrime comes with a UI refresh. We suggest you to take a look and share your feedback.