15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About RFgen

RFgen MobileEdge™ automates critical supply chain workflows with barcode scanning, mobile apps, and cutting-edge hardware.

Learn more about RFgen

Pros:

Integration to database is very easy. We use Oracle databases) Applications can be deployed to multiple platforms via different clients built in.

Cons:

This is logistically a hard endeavor because our handhelds are all over our branches in the US.

RFgen ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

RFgen has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 14 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (14)

Sort by

Have you used RFgen before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (14)

Eduardo
Eduardo
Corporate Procurement in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

RFgen is great for MRO control

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: RFgen has helped to speed up our warehouse transactions, also it has helped to reduce differences between system and real.
End users are pleased with the ease of use and how intuitive it is.

Pros:

The ease of use either for end user as for it's configuration.

Cons:

None. All has been very easy to work with.

Erwen
Applications Development Manager in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

RFgen

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Developing and deploying an application to handheld has never been this easy. Customer support is also very reliable and easy to contact.

Pros:

I like the ease of use/developing application for our specific needs. The applications created can be easily tested and deployed to demanding users. Integration to database is very easy. (we use Oracle databases) Applications can be deployed to multiple platforms via different clients built in. Windows CE, Windows Mobile and Android are the ones I have tried so far.

Cons:

Originally, when there is a major update, you would have to go to each client (handhelds, PC, etc) to update the client. This is logistically a hard endeavor because our handhelds are all over our branches in the US. I believe this has already been resolved in newer version. We started using version 4.2 now we are on 5.0.8.9

Nancy
Nancy
Programmer/Analyst Systems Integration in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works great for standard scanning functions

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: RFGen drives all our scanning functions - receiving, physical inventory counts, shipping, all warehouse movements, manufacturing production receipts and backflush transactions, etc. These are interfaced with with our EDI software, Oracle shipping software, and our ERP, making it the hub of our company's day to day activities. The more I work with it, the more I like it. It currently runs on SQL Server, so query and updates are fairly straightforward when necessary.

Pros:

Fanatastic integration and "screen scraping" capabIlities, fairly easy to navigate and program. Fun to write scanning functions for users.

Cons:

The only downfall we have with this software is that our initial custom programs have no documentation whatsoever. Whenever we attempt to modify or even read the code, we spend much of our time muddling around the great ball of spaghetti. I don't think this is fault of RFGen, since I do believe these modules were written by consultants (before my time). It would be great if there were some "where used" features for modules and tables, which would help us map out programs and determine which tables are actually being used in each module.

Blake
Blake
Ecommerce Product Manager in US
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid RF software to power your logistics

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's been solid and overall I would recommend it to anybody who asks. It was our first experience with RF software and it's definitely simplified accounting, inventory, and our manufacturing output process.

Pros:

It works exactly like it was sold, which is a nice change. It nicely integrates with Microsoft Dynamics and allows us to accurately keep tracking inventory, which was a headache before.

Cons:

You're essentially beholden to the licensing fees from RFgen. Make sure you truly know how much an RF solution will save you, since there will be hidden costs that pop up after implementation.

Steve
Sr Software Engineer in US
Printing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long time user

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use RFGen to track equipment repair time. The applications are used to check for open request for service and to track the repair. Data stored includes problem, solution, etc.
We also use it to interface to our WMS by the materials team to order and track delivery of stock and supplies used on the production floor.

Pros:

The ease to create custom forms. Interface to multiple databases. Easy to switch to new user devices without any code changes.

Cons:

Upgrading software can be a pain sometimes but their support team is always very helpful during the process. This is an issue with any software though so it really not unique to RFGen.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The RFGen experience

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: RFGen has been very helpful all through our development process and beyond. They communicate with you aside of support calls to make sure everything is running smoothly. When there have been technical issues, they have been able to solve them in 2 calls or less.

Pros:

Easily communicates with our applications. Reduces time and manpower needed to perform necessary data entry.

Cons:

Our specific connection requirements require much SQL scripting, causing us to outsource a lot of scripting.

Anthony
Systems Architect and Development Manager in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very flexible data collections software

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been outstanding. We ripped and replaced an older system that was preventing us from being able to upgrade to the latest and greatest version of JDE. Now we are in position to make that move.

Pros:

The biggest benefit for our organization is the fact that we can make changes in house or have RFgen do the work. This allows us to move quickly on hot items or save our internal resources for different projects when needed.

Cons:

Development environment lacks a true version compare function that would be useful prior to moving to changes to production.

Alan
IT Manager in US
Warehousing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

RFgen/Snyder Paper

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: RFgen has provided Snyder with receiving, picking, packing, proof of delivery and cycle counting within the warehouse operations and has enhanced our use of the JDE ERP system. Warehouse personnel are able to carry out data collection functions on the floor and off-site in real-time.

Pros:

GUI interface and portability across numerous types of O/S and hardware devices.

Cons:

Interface relies on JDE World screen scraping technology to handle business functions and data manipulation. Would rather interact directly with JDE tables to fine tune the product.

Dallin
Dallin
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Warehousing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great program!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have had to contact their support for various issues and they have been very quick to respond

Pros:

flexible easy to setup multiple databases supported

Cons:

removing telnet support in newest version

Anthony
Anthony
Senior Programmer Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Senior Programmer Analyst

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have greatly improved the accuracy of our inventory and traceability of components being used in the finish goods we produce.

Pros:

Coded in VBA and easy to understand. The design studio is easy to understand and debugging code is simple and very helpful.

Cons:

The upgrades don't always go as smoothly as I would like them to, but support is good.

Jim
Warehouse/Logistics Manager in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Carlisle Interconnct

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: the software allowed for a more stream lined warehouse operation, that plus the cycle counting transactions has put our accuracy above 99% since its inception.

Pros:

the ease of it use and the many different transactions.

Cons:

we spent allot of time blueprinting and testing, with that said we have not come across any cons.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quick configuration and excellent reliability

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: User friendly and adaptation by staff was quick.

Pros:

Easy to install, easy to configure and use. GUI was user friendly and adaptation by staff was quick.

Cons:

Limited ability to be more creative. Looking forward to a .Net solution in the future which can provide more flexibility.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Costpoint connectivity makes it

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are increasing our efficiencies and gaining lean savings by decreasing the time to complete transactions. We used to take manufacturing orders and have them completed, held on the floor until a planner could go around and pick them up, and then complete the orders. highly inefficient and lost costs.

Pros:

The fact that you can take transactions down to a very basic level and complete complex tasks that typically have to wait for a higher level person to complete and gain cost savings and accuracy at the user level.

Cons:

software is great, it all comes down to equipment being user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Flexible and Reliable

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have implemented RFgen to gain efficiencies and increase the accuracy of our inventory in our spare parts supplies. We have increased the accuracy of our quarterly cycle counts by 50% and eliminated the paper and clipboards from the inventory issue process.

Pros:

RFgen was flexible enough to meet our custom requirements. In application to the standards apps delivered with the platform, we built a couple applications from scratch to meet our business needs.

Cons:

No complaints so far. Support was very helpful every time we ran into an issue.