15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About WPS Office

A free office suite with writer, spreadsheets, and presentation applications.

Learn more about WPS Office

Pros:

Opens most of all the documentsUser friendlyCustomer support.

Cons:

But they can be close manually. That is the only concern i worry about this app.

WPS Office ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

WPS Office has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 1,481 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WPS Office before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,481)

Gbenga
Gbenga
construction manager in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An Affordable Alternative to Microsoft Office

5.0 last year

Comments: I highly recommend WPS Office to anyone in need of a good office software solution, whether for personal or work use. With its affordability, user-friendly interface, and compatibility with Microsoft Office formats, WPS Office provides a great alternative to more expensive productivity suites. While there may be some advanced features missing or some aspects that are more difficult to use, the overall benefits and value of the software make it a compelling option for those looking to increase their productivity and efficiency.

Pros:

I love the PDF editing features in WPS Office, which I find to be even better than other software, The most impactful features of WPS Office include its compatibility with Microsoft Office formats, its suite of productivity tools (word processing, spreadsheet creation, and presentation software), and its affordability. it is user-friendly and its interface is similar to Microsoft Office, making it easy to use for those familiar with that software.

Cons:

I don't have personal issues with the software, However, I notice WPS Office does offer the ability to open and edit some Microsoft Office documents, but it usually comes out in the wrong formats.

Oreneile
Driver in South Africa
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Why WPS Is important

5.0 last month New

Comments: WPS office is user-friendly and it's an office in your pocket because you can access and do anything from anywhere.

Pros:

I can view different types of files and convert them from one file to another. It's an easy app to easy app to use. After every 24 hours, the app deletes PDF data, which is useful for privacy. You can do file transfer and access files from the recycle bin in case you delete them by mistake. One more important thing is that it can help you scan documents and convert them to PDFs which it could not do before.

Cons:

It limits some other tools and for you to access them you must pay a fee.

Ray
researcher in Canada
Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cross-platform office suite with solid, but basic feature set that performs well.

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I began using WPS during a work-term in China in the early 2000s and found it useful for working dual-language documents in English and Chinese as the software could easily handle Unicode documents that mixed English and Chinese characters. Overall, its a good option, especially for multi-language documents where you wish to ensure that formatting and language character sets are properly preserved and displayed.

Pros:

- WPS performs basic tasks very well and without problems. - The basic version of WPS is free and is sufficient for many tasks. - The pro version reasonably priced for a yearly license. - Opens most MS Word documents and preserves formatting in the majority of cases. - WPS can open SmartArt diagrams created in MS Office. This is impressive! - Layout is intuitive and follows common office suite conventions so its easy to earn - Cross platform and runs well on Linux, Mac, and of course on Windows 10

Cons:

The WPS official website does not state anywhere that the software is a product of KingSoft, China. This seems misleading and leads users to wonder why. The desktop version of the free version requires the user to watch ads to gain access to certain features. I find this manipulative and detracts from considering the software as a serious work tool. Performance of the Android version is marred by an overabundance of advertisement which detracts from serious use. Lacks some of the advanced features of MS Office 360, but this is forgivable as it is much less costly. However, there are alternatives available that offer serious competition to WPS Office.

Chijioke
Manager in Nigeria
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PROS OF WPS

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: WPS office is a nice and very useful app, which is affordable for a lot of people. I honestly recommend

Pros:

WPS office gives the option to open various documents all at once, therefore saving the time and stress of open and closing apps every time you want to look at different documents. It also leaves a green check on your last previously viewed document, saving you the stress of trying to look for your last opened document. Most of the essential features for your basic everyday life usage is free compared to some other similar apps

Cons:

Trying to find a saved document on WPS office might be difficult to find for first time users.

Kibet
Technical Writers in Kenya
Higher Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WPS Office Suite

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It is easy to use and maneuvering is quite straightforward. Files storage and display are next to perfect.

Cons:

It has not incorporated all editing tools like complex software like Excel and Google spreadsheet.

Gretchen
Co Owner in US
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Use it everyday

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I will probably use this for the duration of my business ownership.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to use. Also keeps my documents safe and secure.

Cons:

Kind of pricey but well worth the money spent.

Sam
VP Sales and Marketing in India
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pretty straightforward

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I like using WPS Office for all office documentation and other day to day file works

Cons:

I am happy with all the featureset of WPS Office

Anthony
Anthony
BIM modeler in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the best office software

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: On my cell phone I have everything in one with WPS office, it has saved me space and time searching for files since I've been using it.

Pros:

I am comfortable with your spreadsheets as it is powerful. The security is also good and the constant updates help in improving my user experience. In addition, the free version meets the needs I require.

Cons:

Macros are not yet present in this software, it would be good to include it as well as mail merge.

Amy
Talent Acquisition in Netherlands
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best document management tool

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I love that WPS Office is extremely good in sending, receiving, editing and converting documents. It makes handling documents so easy for me.

Cons:

I haven't found any faults while using WPS Office.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WPS Office is Helpful to me

4.0 last month New

Pros:

The best feature that I very much like in using WPS Office is that it can open any type of documents or file and it is very user friendly because it is very simple to use.

Cons:

One thing I hate when using WPS Office is that it takes too long to open a file sometimes. And also when you are using it for too long, it sometimes crash so you need to open it again and wait again.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Office Suite for home and office needs

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I think WPS Office offers a great assortment of features considering it's free. Though it doesn't come with a complete set of softwares (like with Microsoft, that has MS Access, Publisher, etc), it is a loghtweight application that provides you the basics of any Office Suite - Writer, Presentation maker, and Spreadsheet. It also has a cool UI, even better than most other alternatives. Despite the few issues it has, I am completely satisfied with WPS Office.

Pros:

When I started using WPS Office, I was a bit skeptical. But the simple interface and amazing UI won me over. My favorite feature is the single-window mode. You no longer have to switch between windows and waste time to take a look at your spreadsheet while working on a presentation. You can switch between single-window mode or multi-window mode according to your needs. I also love the assortment of templates in every category. Be it a resume, a monthly schedule, or a presentation, WPS Office library has all sorts of templates for you. Even if you are a free user, you get access to a decent collection of templates. The appearance is also highly customizable with lot of color and character themes. It is lightweight and doesn't take up a lot of system resources, so that's a bonus. Most of all, it's free, and is offers much in terms of features compared to many other Office Suites.

Cons:

I was disappointed to find that WPS Office cannot be integrated with Grammarly, which was a huge minus point for me. I have to open Grammarly separately to edit my documents. But otherwise, the in-built spellchecker is fine. Sometimes, when I installed the software for all users in my PC, it failed to show up on other user accounts. I also have had crashing issues a few times.

Basma Ehab
student in Egypt
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An office with you anywhere and everywhere!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been using this app since 2 years and it is really a wonderful experience for me. I can get an access to document files of any format either from any PC or smartphone. Also, it has helped me to maintain different types of documents .My overall experience has been great and I strongly recommend using WPS Office.

Pros:

WPS office is a very friendly App and its well equipped free version makes it a perfect choice for students like me as it makes me able to have all documents in a single app with all different options of PowerPoint, word, PDF etc. So it's very easy to find out required document. It doesn't need too much space in phone's memory unlike other apps I've used before. I found it more practical and much more easy to use.

Cons:

Nothing except the fact that the free version does not provide as many features for pdf like it does for office package which is completely free so I had to buy most of the extra features like file compressor, pdf handle tools, extract pages, pic sharing, etc.

Revanth
Revanth
Application Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Document Reader for Android

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My experience is good, Since I was able to open a range of Docs like Word, PPT, PDF, XLS and more with in just one application. This helped me save Storage, time and Effort.

Pros:

WPS office is an amazing alternative for all MS Applications in android. I have been using it quite a lot. Its simple and have many features useful for Reading or Editing wide range of Documents. It has helped me to maintain all type of documents in my android and with that it takes less storage which is amazing.

Cons:

Everything looks good but if Ads were not there few more people who doesn't like ads in Application they use might like it and prefer to use it. Apart from this I was not able to find any issues.

oscar alberto
oscar alberto
Supervisor de mantenimiento in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best and most efficient alternative to traditional Microsoft office

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Since I have office wps both in my every as well as in the work, it is easier to access the files that I have stored in the cloud, besides that I use several services and I find it excellent that both the desktop application and the mobile phone have the necessary integrations for the services in the cloud, so that at work I can use the storage services and in wps and upload or download the documents that are necessary.

Pros:

It is an alternative to Microsoft office that is compatible with almost all platforms and operating systems today, such as Windows, Linux, Android and IOS, which makes it an excellent alternative platform, it is free with some limitations, however it has two extremely economical payment plans compared to the office option, this is much more economical, has the advantage that supports all types of native files and even supports all Microsoft office files, allowing you to open documents made with Microsoft office in wps without any problem or limitation of any kind, on the other hand the Android version is excellent allowing to make editions without major problems and very easily, in all its versions it has support for pdf files and I must emphasize that it has integrated several services in the cloud including the company's own.

Cons:

What I do not like is with respect to the mobile version because despite having the Premium version installed it does not work full mobile version, I made all the recommendations and I still have the version but with limitations, I can view and open file but I can not make editions and create new documents, in technical support they have been good explaining me but I still have the problem

Bollin
Manager in US
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful and easy to use WPS Office software

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: I use WPS Office to handle office tasks such as word processing, spreadsheets and presentations. It provides me with a featuall experience has been positive and I have found that WPS Office meets my office needs and increases my productivity.

Pros:

What I like most about WPS Office is that it has the following features:Powerful features: WPS Office provides a wide range of features, including word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, etc., to meet my various needs in office work. Its features are comparable to mainstream office software and can easily handle a variety of office tasks.User-friendly interface: The interface of WPS Office software is designed to be simple and intuitive, easy to use. Both for beginners and experienced users, they can quickly adapt and perform its functions.Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Cons:

Missing advanced features: Compared to Microsoft Office, WPS Office may lack some options and tools for some advanced features. This may limit the breadth of use for users who need more sophisticated features.Document Format Compatibility: Although the compatibility of WPS Office with Microsoft Office file formats has been improved, there may still be some special formats that cannot be opened or displayed correctly.Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Martha
Occupational Heth Nurse in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An all in one document handling application

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: WPS has helped me to send signed business documents without pen and paper. I have been using it for more than a year now.

Pros:

I like WPS because it is an all in one app. It supports word, PowerPoint, Excell and pdf. It is both a reader and an editing tool for all these file formats and it does the job efficiently. One special feature about WPS is that it allows for file merging and file compression flawlessly, which does not happen with many of its competing apps. Another special feature is that apart from the ordinary ENTER Button available on your Android keyboard, on WPS Excel, there is an extra ENTER button, which has a different function. When pressed, it creates a new line of characters within a cell, while the keyboard ENTER Button enters a new cell. WPS also gives an extra numeric keypad for quick entry of digits. Good for those who like to work with numbers. There is also an option for drawing and scribbling anything on your document. You can add your signature or demonstrate anything with a drawing. When typing, there is flexibility to zoom text by text wrapping. This helps to type and proofread a long text comfortably on your device. On pdf, WPS is capable of editing a pdf file. You can edit text, change font, change image, put a signature and much more. You can also print files from other file formats like .doc or .xls to pdf. This you can do even while offline.

Cons:

Fonts do not give the impression of being genuine on WPS. That's the only challenge I have faced. Otherwise the app is uniquely good.

Halimatun
Halimatun
IT Manager in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good document editor for mobile usage

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The interface design is simple to use. The software has a variety of typefaces and formats to appeal to a wide range of users. It provides all of the features you want, such as spreadsheets, word processing, PowerPoint presentations, and even PDF editing, for a meager price compared to other choices such as Microsoft Office. If you load a WPS-edited document in Microsoft Word, the format will stay unaltered. Using your phone, you may make changes to documents and then send them to your computer.

Cons:

The most severe drawback I've encountered in its free edition is the lack of support for Pdf documents in generating new ones or modifying existing ones. The 1 GB of free cloud storage is insufficient for storing data unless you keep only tiny files. It is missing a few sophisticated capabilities for customizable formatting.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WPS Office

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I really like this software and I have been using it since 2017 and has had no problem with it what so ever.

Pros:

What I like most about this software is that it is free and it is about 90 percent close to Microsoft Office all the way down to the format. If a person create a document using WPS and transfer the document to a Microsoft Office software, the format will stay exactly the same. I also like that this office provides most of the features that Microsoft Office provides and the best part is, it is completely free to use for the home users and only charge a very affordable price for a business. I also like the interface of the software, the ability to download templates for free and the ability to upload the document up to the cloud is a golden experience.

Cons:

There is nothing I do not like about this software.

Abhishek
Abhishek
Sales Executive in India
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very reliable in every aspect

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are having a very nice experience about this wps word office. We use it daily to prepare a brief data of daily expenses on marketing and campaigns, uses it to create certain documents required for company to represent to the public. Many such things are there where the word is used and excel sheet is used.

Pros:

There are lots of things which i like about the wps office. The first thing is that it comes in very compact size compared to many word software like Microsoft and google which i have used earlier. But this comes in very compact size, which works with the same efficiency but with less storage. Then the other good thing about it is that this comes with less pricing and subscription plan is much cheaper compared to others. Their customer support team is much dedicated every time we need help.

Cons:

There's not a lot to dislike about the software. I have shifted to it from Microsoft word office due to it's smoothness and fast processing time.

Akila Tishan
Akila Tishan
Student in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easiest way to handle various files on the mobile

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have always used to open & edit documents (word, presentations, spreadsheet). I created attractive documents using templates easily. Templates are categorized in fields as design, finance, students &, etc.
The scanner is a very useful tool for the recognized text of documents and make pdf documents. Also, a QR code scanner. I used Pdf editing tool to include and remove pages on a pdf and to add notes on a pdf file. This is very helpful because I use many pdf types files on my academic works. Also, there are many developed tools like file compressor, merge documents. This helps to reduce the number of apps on my mobile.

Pros:

It is very compatible to use on a smartphone. Gives higher features to edit or make in all types of office files. It is the easiest way to handle office files (word, ppt, spreadsheets, memo, pdf, etc.) on my mobile. Making new or edit MS ppt is very easy with it that was amazing... I have not experienced this on any other apps for mobiles. Also, in editing word documents and spreadsheet, it gives higher abilities to editing and attaching files. Also, this app recently empowered with a large template library to create documents easily.

Cons:

Here I had to buy most of the extra features like pdf handle tools, file compressor, pic sharing, extract pages, etc. But the office package is completely free.

Nurain
Nurain
Human Resources Assistant in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Utilities, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, but not perfect

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with this software is quite okay, as it has help me to view and editing my files on-the-go from my mobile phone.

Pros:

I like that this software has its own desktop and mobile version of the platform. I can use the mobile version especially when i am out of my office and don't have my personal laptop with me at that time. This software can handle all of document type, like text processing and presentation document.

Cons:

This is a good document generation software, but some of the tools on the software is still not as good as other platform, like Microsoft Office. It is frustrating when some of the tools that i need is not available in here yet.

Hillary
Freelancer in Cameroon
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The perfect Office platform offered for free

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have made a countless presentations for both and large and small businesses. I have never had anyone tell me they couldn't open a file or report any problem with their presentation in all the months I have used the program and delivered presentations to folks in seminars . it takes some time to properly master, but after putting in the effort, one can achieve some amazing things with the software.

Pros:

WPS Office has many great features like converting PDF to DOC file easily, I love it and always prefer to use it. It's a good application, you can read any file, it can be a presentation, a pdf. it is of good quality as a reading software. . This is a big problem, especially when the software is free. I decided to give it a try and it worked really well. Glad to use and recommend it.

Cons:

Excel calculations don't work, files keep getting deleted. It would take me all day to write about how terrible this product is and how many hours, days, and weeks I wasted using it. But they can be closed manually. This is the only concern I have about this app. Terrible customer support and inconsistent performance. The desktop clipboard is corrupt all over the place and has wreaked havoc on other programs as well. It is completely unusable in our office software.

Tariro
Research Associate in Zimbabwe
Research, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WPS The most Friendly and universally compatible office software!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use WPS on a daily basis for data research data capturing in the field and the experience has been awesome. WPS so far has proved to be the best and its quite user friendly which makes it easy to teach a novice how to use it.

Pros:

Its very user friendly Very cool interface which makes it easy to follow through the functions Compatible with smartphones and tablets Compatible with electronic data capturing devices Enables quick and easy data capturing in the field Data captured in wps excel can easily be read using other office like microsoft on the laptop which makes it a very compatible software compared to others i have used You can read documents generated using other sottwares very easily with WPS

Cons:

So far ot has not disappointed in any way

Richard
Remote Assistant in US
Machinery, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent free alternative to MS Office

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I was ambivalent about trying this app, after so many years using Microsoft Office I thought that transitioning to something else would be awkward. However, the switch to WPS was not as uncomfortable as I imagined, and in fact I think it may be more user-friendly than the former, even if the app has less features.

Pros:

I have been using WPS Office since losing my access to Microsoft 365, and therefore MS Office. It was free to use, which is probably my favorite thing about the software. I think it's a great substitute for Office, and it is at least as user-friendly, if not more so.

Cons:

I sometimes get annoyed with the promos to upgrade to a premium version, or similar ads that will pop up from time to time while starting the software.

Emmanuel
Emmanuel
Building Engineer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Wps is the best of all

5.0 last year

Comments: I've had great success using this tool, and I've been able to do a little bit of everything, including reading various office files. It also gives me the option to tweak them and convert them into a variety of formats, making it a highly useful program.

Pros:

Word, spreadsheets, PowerPoint, and a PDF viewer are all included in the flexible office package known as WPS Office. It works with all smartphone systems and computer architectures. The UI is easy to use and transparent. The mobile version makes working while on the go quite convenient. You can view your files on many devices whenever you want if you have an account. The software's primary functions are also accessible in a free edition.

Cons:

The current PDF manager only provides a few simple features and is not very useful or intuitive. In addition, compared to other spreadsheet solutions now available, the spreadsheet layout is also simple and needs additional improvement.