Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.9 /5

About PM3

Designed to manage both small projects and large scale programmes. PM3 is developed by practitioners for practitioners.

Learn more about PM3

Showing 47 reviews

Andy S.
PMO Manager
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2018

"Flexible, versatile solution to managing portfolios, programmes & projects"

Comments: Helping us to standardise our project practices, particularly the reporting process.

Pros: I liked the flexible structure of portfolio, programme and project which was easy to set up and adapt to our various departmental approaches. Lots of reporting options offered as standard, and easy to tweak these to suit our needs. All our portfolio of projects are now in one place where all the PMs can access them – it’s also an advantage that you can access them from anywhere rather than needing to be in the office. Helping us to standardise our project practices and particularly the reporting process.
Support and training from Bestoutcome is excellent.

Cons: Because the range of functions and options is huge, it's sometimes easy to forget where the option you need is... however, I'd sooner have the options than a simpler product without them

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2018
Iain C.
Project Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2019

"Highly configurable and user friendly"

Comments: Very positive. The Bestoutcome team have been very supportive through the initial trial to implementation and training. Looking forward to building on the current configuration and putting the system to the test fully.

Pros: Easy to get to grips with. Particularly like how you can select which functions you can switch on/off so you can start small and build on that as maturity and familiarity with the system grows.

Cons: Although you can configure some fields and change them to what you want, it would be useful if you could create additional fields to be able to capture more variety of information in the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2019
Nicholas L.
PMO Manager
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2020

"PM3 has been a valuable tool for our business"

Comments: Our overall experience has been incredibly positive. The consultancy and support we have received really helped lay the ground work for us to implement the tool in the right way. The training design and execution was brilliantly done, and made sure we understood the tool and had the support network in place to ask questions. There are plenty of useful features within PM3 which provides great scalability to other departments and areas of our business, as well as introducing more functionality once we are ready utilise further features within the tool. We were able to be up and running quickly with the tool, and it has become valuable for our portfolio tracking and reporting.

Pros: - Intuitive design - very easy to use and navigate around which has helped us implement the tool quickly, customise the set up for what we need and onboard project teams to use it for reporting and tracking project and programme progress.
- Scalability to develop multiple portfolios and manage your work is very well thought out with some useful report templates
- Each project plan in the tool captures useful core information to track delivery progress, status, RAID, milestones and tasks

Cons: - Initially there was not a plan on the page solution, but this was quickly developed thanks to Best Outcome's support and has been incredibly valuable!
- Agile feature needs developing, but this is new within the tool and I believe the developers are working on adding to the Agile plugin

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/06/2020
Sarah H.
Programme Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020

"MIAA - Review of PM3"

Comments: Overall the experience of using PM3 is a positive one.
Bestoutcome are very responsive to queries and always professional.
As an organisation we have improved our governance, reporting across a range of programmes is now consistent for all project managers in all organisations. We have saved time as information is only inputted once into the system but is pulled into multiple different reports.

Pros: The product is extremely easy to use and most importantly user friendly.
The product can be configured to the users requirements.
It is versatile enough to be used across a range of clients.
The reporting functionality saves hours of time each month.
The integration to our existing business process was easy.
Ability to use the whole range of existing reports within the system and if needed commission a bespoke report.

Cons: For our company sadly we cannot use the lessons learned functionality as they are shared across all projects which will breach IG rules (we run projects for multiple different clients so cannot share the details).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020
Emily T.
Assistant Contract Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"PM3 for Project Management"

Comments: Prior to PM3, we were using excel spreadsheets, which were taking a long time to complete and didn't transparently demonstrate progress against milestones. It was difficult to understand project progress against programme outcomes as each were reported slightly differently. PM3 has standardised reporting and enabled our performance and delivery to be easily and clearly reported and monitored.

Pros: The PM3 software enables effective and efficient project management, the tools are easy to use and can be accessed in the office or when mobile. Once you've entered your project details and timescales, PM3 keeps you on track, there's enough flexibility in the system to allow you to work how you like but also to keep the project management principles at the core. Its transparent and clearly demonstrates progress against timescales, risks and issues. There's also a number of features which are incredibly useful, such as the decision making log.

Cons: No real points for improvement, the system is intuitive and captures project information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Russell G.
EPMO Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019

"PM3 Review"

Comments: Very good, provides a single source of the truth with a particularly useful means of reporting

Pros: It is a very good portfolio management tool, providing a top down portfolio view ideal for an Enterprise PMO. It is a very good, all round project management tool for PMs to manage projects on a day to day basis

Cons: The strict Business Change Programme (BCP) > Programme > Project structure does not quite suit all scenarios in my organisation, but it has been worked around

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019
Chris T.
Senior Project Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2020

"Excellent value for money"

Comments: The product has enabled us to bring consistency to our processes, improve governance and save effort on things like reporting. The support from Best Outcome, both during set up/take on and afterwards has been excellent too

Pros: The product provides an awful lot of functionality for a very reasonable license fee, having looked at many significantly more expensive products over the years, we're very happy with the slightly reduced feature set vs the very substantial savings

Cons: Some features are a little bit rudimentary

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2020
Mike P.
Musician
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"An easy to use, really useful PPM tool"

Comments: I recently needed to plan and deliver a 6-month project involving 20 people, and PM3 helped me keep them all informed of what everyone was up to throughout the project, and keep the project on track

Pros: The user interface is excellent, very intuitive and quick to learn. The reports are short, punchy and colourful, especially the high-level Milestone plans

Cons: Nothing really, it does what it says on the tin

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Coral A.
PMO Portfolo Manager
Hospitality, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2018

"Great intuitive tool.Enables us to drive best practice and consistency across the portfolio."

Comments: PM3 has helped drive consistency and standards across our portfolio. Following our upgrade to PM3 Cloud, we have also been able to drive efficiencies through the removal of duplication (e.g. Excel RAIDD) and manual reporting.

Pros: Great intuitive tool that enables us to drive best practice and consistency across the portfolio. We use it as the single source for our portfolio of change. It helps our project and programme management teams manage end to end delivery, as well as providing our stakeholders with timely status reporting.
The ‘out of the box’ reports have been designed with stakeholders at all levels in mind and the choice is far greater than other project management tool that I have used. The inbuilt governance features are a great fit with our project governance framework and hep provide additional assurance of project control.
The Bestoutome team are great to work with. They not only listen, but bring a considerable amount of practical PPM and technical knowledge, experience and expertise. Their support has been invaluable not only in preparing for the PM3 cloud upgrade and on boarding our users, but also the on-going embedding and service support.
PM3 is a great tool for any organisation, regardless of maturity.

Cons: Plan lock is a common issue when users finish their session. However, Bestoutcome have built in a flag that tells the user that the plan is locked and who to. Despite training and reminders, some users forget to do this correctly. It will be great if we could have a message appear telling the user that they have not logged out of their session, when exiting said session or logging out of the tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2018
Paul F.
Interim Operational Development Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2018

"In my opinion, the best cloud-based PMO and change management platform in the market today"

Comments: We are now able to drive the end-to-end delivery of all of our service improvement and change programmes consistently, and through robust governance. We will be able to provide executive delivery assurance, and manage each element of our programmes and projects effectively and efficiently.

Pros: From initial discussions and product demonstrations, it was clear that PM3 was an industry-strength portfolio, programme and project management software platform that we could set up, configure and start using quickly and effectively. The product is very configurable and we were able to set it up to our particular specification. The Bestoutcome team were very easy to work with, and because of their expertise working with other clients in health and social care, they were able to help us with our implementation. PM3 is competitively priced and is fairly straightforward to use. Comprehensive reporting is included in the standard platform, and there are also extra plug-ins that can be used with BI tools, such as PowerBI, which we use. We were given detailed initial training, and then further specific training with the service improvement change champions and administrators. Overall, the process from purchase to implementation was simple and hassle-free.

Cons: We have recently completed the initial training, and are now starting to upload our change programmes. To date, we have not found anything negative about the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2018
Nipa P.
Senior Project Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018

"PM3 - PMO"

Comments: PM3 is a very good tool which fits into my role as a project manager. We have had excellent support from Jack Watson, also quick to email back solutions, and always helpful. I would recommend PM3 to all trust.

Pros: PM3 dashboard easy to read, moving from one module to another easy to understand.
I did not have to wait to for information to be saved
Easy to delete and amend plans
Inputting of finance data very easy
Highlight reports easy to read, can also convert into excel format.

Cons: Changing and formatting reports very difficult
I couldnt change columns and rows

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Mark L.
PMO Portfolio Manager
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018

"PM3"

Comments: PM3 is in use at TCD to manage major capital projects and provide governance, reporting and query facilties for this portfolio. Our experience with the software and its support has been positive and we would definitely recommend it as a cost-effective option for any organisation seeking to manage project portfolios in a consistent and auditable manner.

Pros: Very intuitive and well-designed, it contains all of the features you'd expect from a PPM tool, with greater flexibility in reporting and dashboards.

Cons: While the interface has improved in the latest version, it still needs some upgrading to keep it in line with competitors. Not as much of an issue once you've become familiar with the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/08/2018
Xiaoyun L.
Project management trainee
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021

"Great Project management tool, user friendly and has powerful features."

Comments: Overall a very good experience using PM3. I would highly recommended it as an organisational PM platform.

Pros: Although I have only used PM3 for a short period, it has been the most powerful PM tool I ever used. The software includes all the essential features required for project/program/portfolio management, with a comprehensive design logic from the perspective of project managers. I am impressed about the automatic report generation, which saves me tons of efforts during project implementation. Besides the powerful automation function, the abundant types of reports really help since I could always find an optimal report for the required situation.

Cons: The only thing that I would recommend the company to improve is the responding speed. We are a small company based in Australia. As much as I like this software, the lagging time from server has been a problem on our side. The updating of newly input information normally takes time to refresh and sometime we see confusing information due to lagging of the updating.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2021
Sheena R.
Portfolio Manager
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"Simple & Effective"

Comments: I have used PM3 in 2 dfferent companies, it is not too complicated so the Project Managers can use it without issue and the information that is available is invaluble.

Pros: This software is simple to use and at the same time creates a live picture of the status of projects. The simplicity means that the uptake on it's use is high.

Cons: Copying and pasting into the tool can cause problems with formatting

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Amy K.
PMO Manager
Mental Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2019

"Great PPP Product!"

Comments: Very positive experience so far. The support team are always really helpful when we need them, and any little bug fixes are sorted straight away wherever possible. Without PM3 we would not have been able to produce a portfolio report as easily as comprehensive as we now have. Any suggestions for improvement are taken in to consideration for the regular updates that are provided to the system

Pros: The automated reports, you only have to input information once but can link projects to multiple programmes/portfolio's that then pulls all the relevant information through for reporting purposes.

Cons: Some pages automatically save, whilst others are manual. Not sure why there is a difference.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2019
Vikki S.
Senior Project Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2020

"Excellent Customer Service and Value for Money"

Comments: The implementation of PM3 has helped improve project management processes and governance across the organisation, it's also considerably reduced the time taken to produce reports which is a great benefit for a small team. What stood out when we were selecting the tool is the excellent customer service provided by the PM3 team and this remained consistent throughout customisation and implementation through to ongoing support. The team have always been very open to any feedback we have and continually look at how the system can be improved which is demonstrated through regular system updates.

Pros: PM3 offers a wide range of functionality as well as excellent account management support from the PM3 team at a very low cost. The tool can be adapted to use across varying levels of complexity which is very helpful when applying to a diverse project portfolio.

Cons: More bespoke reporting options would be helpful as would improved functionality of the resource module. However, this is offset by the value for money PM3 provides across a wide range of functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2020
Keith W.
PMO Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018

"The support to get the users up and running excellent. The company know the value of embedding"

Comments: Portfolio information all in one place. I have recently found if a project /programme manager is changed mid project. it's easy to carry out a handover.

Pros: The system is logically set out and easy to follow. it combines the various facets needed to carry out portfolio management all in one place and the it's not over complicated to use.
on PM3 I like the video tutorials, Definition description page, Action Log, Reporting and the way you can alert stakeholders they have a pending actions for them. The software has many more good features. "I have been looking for a package like this for a long time."

Cons: There are a few niggles like entering task on the Gantt chart, you can get a little lost.
Remembering to save or refresh can catch you out a little.
As a new user I am still getting use to reporting on large projects.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2018
Wendi M.
IT Support Officer
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2021

"Overall a great product"

Comments: From an IT's perspective, this product is easy to use and maintain, it reduces a lot of work for IT managers, but will take some time to learn from the documents supported and their friendly technical team.

Pros: This product is indeed made by practitioners for practitioners, functions, layouts, contents etc are high customizable. Your information stored there is always in safe hands. Support from Bestcome is so friendly to discuss and solve your questions, either it is from the user's perspective or from a manager's view.

Cons: There are tons of functions in the product and it is likely to forget where the function is located until you read the supporting document again.. not really a big deal still, it's made for the benefits of project managers after all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/04/2021
Stuart B.
Director
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/06/2020

"Getting control and visibility"

Comments: Excellent

Pros: The ease of use, the features that the product has lend themselves easily to the environment that we worked in.

Cons: There were a few minor details at the outset that we needed to work with Best Outcome to tailor the product to work more intuitivly with our data sets to make it almost user proof

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/06/2020
Joscelyn S.
Portfolio Reporting & Risk Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/01/2019

"Great project management software"

Comments: One of the things PM3 has helped us with is to connect up our projects and programmes that are running across the organisation, at local, regional and national levels.

Pros: It's easy to see the connections across the hierarchy from project up to portfolio level, plus the functionality to promote and demote risks and milestones is great.

Cons: Visually the system could look a bit more modern but it works.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/01/2019
Henry G.
Project Support Officer
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2020

"PM3"

Pros: Shared access to all projects/programmes etc
Access from anywhere
Ease of reporting

Cons: The need to refresh regularly as many of the features freeze/do not do what they are required to first time
Adding a milestone or task, then it not appearing, refreshing, then having to add it again
Character limit not appearing when adding milestones, so you have to guess
Names of milestone/task owners not appearing in the Gantt Chart report

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2020
Christopher P.
Projects and Change Manager
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020

"Refinement"

Comments: As a business we are still in the very early stages of using the tool. Initial observations are that it is excellent on some things and other areas need much more work to make the tool intuitive to use. This can be resolved via more updates I'm sure.
Support via the help desk and via my account managers has been first class and Best Outcome have shown great flexibility around changes in Licence application during the Covid 19 period when our Programme was put on hold.
Management of updates is clear and very thorough with release notes easy to follow.

Pros: The ability to draw a no.of projects together into a Programme and/or Portfolio and to draw in reports form all in selected views.
The ability to hold all major project governance in one place e.g risks/issues/ dependencies.
Reporting flexibility and range across plans/projects/programmes/portfolio
Ease of user control and self configurable access controls

Cons: Plans - Gantt Chart usage - This is clunky at best and not intuitive. Convincing users of Microsoft Project to switch to using the tool has been an on going challenge. An easier import function may help resolve this.
Using X to exit the plan. Many users forget and has caused frustrations in plans with joint PM use.
Inconsistency of areas with auto save functionality and those where it requires manual save.

Vendor Response

by Bestoutcome on 18/06/2020

We are improving the Gantt chart functionality as a priority and these improvements are due in July 2020. Some screens cannot auto save as they have manadatory fields which could result in spurious errors if auto saved was used. We are trying wherever possible to make all screens auto save.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020
Aaron P.
Head of Project Portfolio Management
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2020

"PM3 - a year on"

Comments: We are running our entire project portfolio out of the tool in a hybrid model. Large programmes are run directly in the tool. With small projects run in the business we just upload the business case and monthly progress data. This avoids us training people who will only ever run a single project in their careers. A bit more development on the resourcing module, and the ability for users to create new reports and this tool would be a world beater. Has immense functionality for the price.

Pros: Very good value for money. Easy to install and get started with. Core elements are configurable so we have been able to easily customise elements to our organisation. Updates and improvements are quite frequent so the product is always improving.
Customer service is good. Engaged account management and the support team are quick to respond.

Cons: No ability to create new reports ourselves, which means we have to pay to have new ones created.
Resource management tool is quite news and still evolving. It gets a bit slow when you add in lots of different resource types.

Vendor Response

by Bestoutcome on 15/07/2020

Thanks Aaron for your review. In July 2020 we will be updating the resourcing module which we think will meet your requirements. In terms of building your own reports, we have a PM3 BI license which allows you to build your own reports in a range of BI tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2020
Lynne C.
PMO Governance Analyst
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"PM3 PPM Tool"

Comments: PM3 is a very user intuitive tool. It is very easy to coach people how to use. There is new functionality which means that you can customise the experience for every different type of user that may require access to the tool, hiding the information they are not required to update and showing that they are.

Pros: PM3 has recently moved to a new cloud based version and it has made the tool even more intuitive for the users. It is a great tool for users and administrators alike as you can make many setting amendments as an Administrator that will apply to the users in real-time. Customisable fields mean that you have the flexibility to build the tool to fit the needs of your business. The way the tool is structured means that the information captured by your Project managers can be easily sliced using the portfolios structure and reported either immediately or at specified times for your recipients.

Cons: You need to think about the structure in tool when planning how you want to report as there are three levels within the reporting structure. This works well for a Project > Programme > Portfolio structure but needs amendment if you need to capture lots of detail around workstreams. However, there is always a work around within the tool that means it can work if you shift everything up a level or consider the levels you want to report at when structuring your tiers in the tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Stephen T.
Head of PMO
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2020

"Right tool for our PPPM Maturity Journey"

Pros: We needed a PPPM tool that would support our journey of achieving consistency in the way in which projects and programmes are incepted and run with a focus on delivering business outcomes, not just outputs. PM3 provides all the core elements for managing and reporting projects and programmes in a single package whilst enabling functionality to be "switched-on" commensurate with the ability of the organisation to adopt the associated disciplines in decision-making and reporting. Customer support has been responsive.

Cons: As is generally the case with software, there is a trade-off between what functionality is available out-of-the-box to make the application easy to set-up and train users, and the flexibility to configure it to meet the specific needs of an organisation. Whilst PM3 has given a good balance in this respect, with many out-of-the-box reports, it would be helpful to have a bit more flexibility in modifying existing reports without the need to use a further application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2020