15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Sched

Plan, promote, and execute events like a pro (even if you're not one) with Sched. Start free now!

Learn more about Sched

Pros:

The ability to build the schedule and Presenter bios in Sched and embed them on my web page saved hours of tedious web development time.

Cons:

Small landing/home page with limited customization.

Sched ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Sched has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 74 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sched before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (74)

Heather
Heather
Producer, Lit Crawl Portland in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Fine Art, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sched is my best friend!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Communication is the main problem that Sched solves. It's an at-a-glance snapshot of an entire evening that easily drills down into specifics. It invites interaction, so that's another communication problem solved/helped. I couldn't be more thrilled to have Sched working on my event's behalf. Thank you!

Pros:

What DON'T I love about this software? I love that it does whatever I want--I love that it's accessible and can be organized in so many different views, I love that it's embeddable on other sites, that the links to individual events are shareable, that it's COLOR CODED. I guess if I had to boil it down, I love that Sched creates a central place where my entire event can be housed, with all its moving pieces and participants, and that it's equally friendly to internal and external audiences.

Cons:

I might be missing this, but it might be fun to be able to upload artwork for individual sessions. I've also had people ask for a maps function, so it might be cool to be able to see all my venues on a map or diagram, with addresses attached. I'm sure I haven't even begun to understand all that Sched is capable of. I just love that it works for me every year and that my users are getting more acquainted with it, so. . . thanks for staying consistent and continuously improving our experience!

Mohammed
Field Manager in Ghana
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sched shares the responsibilities and fun in event planning fairly among guests and organizers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My first experience with Sched was as a speaker on a conference event being organized by our foreign collaborators. As my first foreign speaking engagement, I was naturally extremely nervous, but Sched made collaborating with the organizers so easy and that I felt very much at ease and ended up delivering an exceptional session. After that experience, I recommended trying Sched for our own subsequent conference events.

Pros:

Sched allows event invitees to build their own schedules within the frame of the general event. This facility empowers us as organizers to make the necessary adjustments to redirect resources to sessions where they will be most-needed. As speaker in Sched-facilitated events, I can also attest that the control it offers me over my profile to directly suggest changes and modifications to event structure makes the entire experience amazingly rewarding.

Cons:

It can be a bit overwhelming for planning smaller events. Perhaps, there could be a basic version release which can be more suited for planning fun and less professional gatherings.

Lane
Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Horrible Customer Service

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: It wasn't too difficult to get everything set up, but we needed a human to help us select the right package to purchase. It was way too difficult reaching someone and we were actually told that no one could assist us for at least another week because that department was going to a conference.

Pros:

We liked that if needed, you could print out the schedule.

Cons:

There is no customer support. The only way to reach someone for assistance is to find a spot on THEIR calendar for them to call you.

Sched Response

5 years ago

Hi Lane, I'm very sorry we were not available for a call right away when you reached out. As a fully remote company, we take one trip a year to do big-picture planning and foster connection. We will be working together to create a better system for handling inquiries during our future off-site team events.

James
James
Technical Evangelist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent package and service

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We used to publish our own website with conference info; it had the basic info, but it was hard to keep the pieces consistent. Now we link to the Sched site from our event page and attendees find everything there. Speakers can post their pix and handouts and complete/update their profiles and send e-mail blasts to all who signed up for their workshop. We got good reporting and from it (and Google Analytics) see a high engagement rate (not just page views; over half set up accounts and created a personal schedule). This is all from their lowest service level/tier; higher levels integrate more with registration/payment etc., but we already have an online store and used it for front-end registration.

Pros:

One-stop shop for event management: attendees, speakers/handouts, exhibitors, rooms, messaging, feedback, social sharing.... Mobile-friendly site and app for participants to create/manage their schedules, submit feedback, share content, etc.. Smart import/export/update Responsive personal tech support Good pricing plans especially for nonprofits

Cons:

We ran into a couple of small limitations (e.g. can't embed image in e-mail blast), but we found workarounds and Sched team is using our feedback to improve their platform.

Kristen
Instructional Coach in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Couldn't Do It Without Sched

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are a preK-12 school district that hosts a yearly EdCamp in which teachers sign up for workshops delivered by their peers. Sched is a huge time saver, in that it allows us to communicate directly with presenters and attendees, to control the schedule, to create room signage, to add venue maps, and to generally make the day run smoothly. It saves paper, as we don't have to print all those workshop overviews (which we were always doing at the last minute because we had to chase people down for them!), and helps us control the numbers of people attending workshops so they are not overbooked. I don't know how we would be able to do this at this scale without Sched!

Pros:

This software takes so much of the redundancy out of event organizing. No need to copy and paste information into twenty different locations, or to type in email addresses multiple times. It is a huge time saver!

Cons:

I would like to be able to add a bit more design to the room signage (but it is a hugely helpful feature). It would also be nice for workshop presenters who are also attendees to have their own workshops in their own schedules, without it looking like they are taking up a seat.

Marci
Marci
Archivist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Go to Conference Scheduling App

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Sched works seamlessly on computers and as a smartphone app. As a conference attendee, I loved how events were coded into different categories, with different colors representing those categories. I also liked how you could create your daily schedule ahead of the conference, and receive email alerts about the events you were scheduled to go to. Sched also allows you to schedule multiple things at the same time, which is key at a busy conference where you have many events and sessions you would like to attend. This capability allows you to see the possible events you've already narrowed your choice down to, but does not restrict you to one.

Cons:

I did not like how in order to select events to add to your calendar, you had to scroll through every session/event on every day. The app was not dynamic enough to restrict your options to only one category of events. Similarly, when the conference day was over, you could not easily go back and look at all of the sessions that occurred the day before. To do that, you had to go use the web version.

Ami
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sched.org review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to import and export to Excel. Messages available to several types of attendees, and automatic emails with attendees' sessions.

Cons:

Missing some automatic refreshing of screens.

Kelly
Kelly
Program Director for Residential Colleges in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love this Event Scheduling software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The folks are great! So responsive when I need help, and have a great sense of humor. They keep things fun :D

Pros:

I really like the ease of use, both for the admins when putting the schedule together, and the speakers and attendees in figuring out what's going on and where to go. The feature that sold it to us is that presenters can upload their presentations directly to their presentation description, so it's so easy for them to have everything they need at their fingertips.

Cons:

I can't think of anything, honestly. It's a really great product.

Susan
Susan
Director, Faculty Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sched’s intuitive design taught me how to conference-plan

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are building momentum for professional development by keeping Sched as the “look” of our event for the past three years.

Pros:

Visually appealing and professional, easy to collaborate with facilitators and speakers to add their own session info, great feedback reports. Support is fast and super helpful. Appreciate the discounted rate for educational/non-profits.

Cons:

Some people want a print program, but I feel great about supporting our organization’s sustainability initiative by using an electronic schedule. Easy to update as needed, too!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sched is helpful in my everyday life

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Sched is a very great program and intuitive of my needs. Highly recommend to the workplace!

Cons:

I have nothing to complain about. It's a great program.

Eva
Program Coordinator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Well worth the investment!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The sched team was extremely helpful, timely and consistent. If I had a problem someone was always on it within at least an hour. They make it easy to build out this app!

Pros:

Sched is our "go-to" conference schedule for our annual conference. As the one who built out and managed the conference agenda, I found Sched very easy to use, update and edit as needed. Our conference attendees also appreciated the layout of the app and fetures it comes with. We decided to go with the "native" option of the app, which was definitely worth the price. The native sched app made it easy for us to customize the app to our branding needs. It also made it easier for our members to find in the app store. I really enjoy the ease of developing this sched app. Thankfully, sched provides you with formatted spreadsheets, to make loading your conference agenda much easier. They saved me a lot of time, (though, Idid have to go in and edit each individual session because we have multiple presenters for a concurrent session.) Sched's CMS for editing descriptions is pretty straightforward. I am also EXTREMELY grateful for the opportunity to upload .pdfs to each session. This came in very helpful this year. Favorite features of Sched: spreadsheets to make uploading and developing easier, the ability for attendees to rate sessions (giving us great follow up data!), ability to attach .pdfs, .jpgs, .docs, to each individual session, ease of assigning speakers to sessions, ability to add in exhibitors/sponsor information. You can't beat this price. If you are looking for a conference app that is easy on both the management end and the user end, I would suggest Sched!

Cons:

The only bad thing I would ay about sched, is that it doesn't have as many fancy detures or plugins like other conference apps I have looked at. While there are some things I wish I could have added to our conference app, at the end of the day they weren't missed nor needed. It's also not the most robust app, so if you have multiple presentations in a concurrent session- it's not an ideal product for that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Think of it as the streamlined Everbrite app for both attendees and organizers

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Don't think of this web service/mobile app as a replacement for Everbrite. Think of it as a complimentary app that can quickly turn volunteers into productive teams and for users to avoid the bloatware of Everbrite as an option. Very impressed and thoroughly satisfied with Sched.

Pros:

I recently started using Sched when volunteering at an international business conference. In addition to Everbrite, we were trained on using Sched for checking in attendees and managing custom schedules for workshops, seminars, etc. Though it has less features than say Everbrite, Sched feels much faster and streamlined (especially on my older mobile devices). Fast loading and transitions. The minimalistic UX/UI makes learning how to use the app simple for even non-tech-savvy users. I really liked the website integration. It was very smooth to get people to register or sign up for events then have those events make up a custom schedule for attendees in the mobile Sched app. With thousands of attendees and dozens of workshops a day, we never ran into any technical issues. And I like their cute logo as well :)

Cons:

I didn't have any issues with using the app but the only hiccup was explaining the name to others who have never heard or used it. I think for non-native English users, the single syllable abbreviated name was confusing.

Sched Response

5 years ago

Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback. I'm so happy to hear Sched streamlined your event and love that we could "quickly turn volunteers into productive teams." This is exactly something we strive for every day. I've passed on your kind words to the whole team -- you made our week!

David
Director of Events in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

n/a

4.0 last year

Pros:

Simple and clear schedule display, relatively easy navigation.

Cons:

I want to be able to filter the attendee list to determine who hasn't logged in or completed a schedule, and then send a specific message just to that group. I also want to be able to better control an Eventbrite integration so that only certain ticket types are imported.

Allissa
Owner & Director in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Smooth & Simple for the Win

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I have used many similar products in the past and have never found one so easy to learn and simple to implement. Updates were made real time with seamless integration to my website. The ability to build the schedule and Presenter bios in Sched and embed them on my web page saved hours of tedious web development time. I nearly cried when I learned I could embed different pieces on separate pages of my website. What a gift! To say I am delighted with my experience is an understatement. Thank you for making the event management experience such a breeze!

Cons:

I do not have any cons. I was pleased with my experience and with the customer service I received.

lois
Legal Advocate Training Manager in Canada
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Used Sched to Organize our Annual Conference

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We needed to organize a virtual conference for advocates around BC on fairly short order. We found that Sched did all hat we wanted from a tool and was way cheaper than other options.

Pros:

The set up and format of the agenda is great! I like having colors for different streams - it makes the agenda easy to use. Speakers and participants generally found it easy to use.

Cons:

We are interested in looking at how to do follow up evaluations. We would like to be able to modify the basic sched questions to suit our needs. In webinars we were able to give participants a link for feedback. Will look into google options.

Sched Response

4 years ago

Hi Lois, thank you for the review. We're so glad Sched was what you needed for your event! We do get questions about how to pronounce the company name all the time. It's become a bit of a joke at this point so we made a silly video: https://sched.com/say-it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sched offers great value plus great support

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This makes it so much easier for our conference attendees to read descriptions and customize schedules. It is inexpensive and easy to use.

Pros:

I think Sched's customer service is TERRIFIC. Every time I had a problem or question, they responded promptly and helpfully. When we first used Sched in 2017, we had lots of questions about integrating it with Eventbrite and displaying it in particular ways, and their support made it so easy. We returned in 2018 because we had such a good experience. Overall, Sched is very easy to use and customize.

Cons:

Sched is still lacking some features that would be useful for academic conferences, but their customer support team has indicated that they are giving them some thought. Specifically, author order is alphabetical (except in the admin area and on Android phones), and multi-paper sessions aren't easy to group together. For this, we've tried two different hacks, neither that good. Nonetheless, these weren't deal breakers!

Sharon
Coordinator of Registration in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great way to manage your schedule for conferences

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall this app was so easy to use and allowed me to get the most out of the conference and all the activities being offered over the four days I was there.
We are now highly considering using this App for our adult programs during the summer. I think using this App will allow our participants to have access to information about all the great lectures and events we offer during their time at our camp.

Pros:

I recently attended a work conference in Boulder Colorado and they used the Sched app for managing the conference schedule. Sched is really user-friendly. I loved being able to check the app to see what my next session was and find the location of my workshop. The review feature allows you to review a session once it is over. This is great as it helps get really in the moment feedback. There are so many great features on this App for example having a directory of all the attendee helps you to find people that you meet or remember names of contact you made. Once of the best features is the information is live and can be changed if a correction needs to be made. There was a venue changes for the first evening event of the conference and the organizers were quickly able to make that change a few hours before the event.

Cons:

I wish you could include a map of the venue on the App. It does give you the location, however, their is no map to reference within the App. Luckily our venue was small and being able to move from one workshop to another was not a problem.

jasper
CEO in Hong Kong
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

NO NETWORKING FUNCTIONALITY?

2.0 8 years ago

Comments: As an attendee of an event, Sched is very easy to use, until you want to connect with another attendees and then it's TERRIBLE. You have to rely on the delegates uploading their social network accounts and then use Linked in or FB to message them. This is not good. We have received many complaints within 24 hours of launching the service. FAIL.

Pros:

Usability

Cons:

Connectivity between delegates is ZERO

Sched Response

7 years ago

Hey Jasper, Thank you for taking the time to review and help Sched improve. I'm sorry for my delayed response, Capterra didn't publish this review for me to see until December 2017 for some reason. Networking is something we're looking into improving down the road. It's definitely not our strong-suit currently and I'm really sorry that the lack of attendee messaging was a surprise to you. We should have done a better job clarifying that before you decided to use Sched at your event. Our current strength is on the planning / rsvp side of things, to help organizers like yourself better forecast what will be popular and help attendees reserve seats and check-in at the event. We also make it easy to manage your event from one place by publishing info both on your site and app in one go. We're passionate about improving and helping organizers like yourself throw better events. We'll keep at it and perhaps you'll give us another shot some day.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cheap Affordable App for Conference

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Sched is really simple to use. They have fantastic customer service. The price was very affordable for our budget. They are constantly developing their software to provide more services. We have over 250 events during our conference and they have a smiley face rating system and we were also able to post a survey for each session.

Cons:

There are a few reporting functions that are not available. Some were there before they updated their system and others features would be nice to add. We'd love a push notification on schedule changes. We'd love to download a report that included speaker bios or an alphabetical list of speakers and their sessions would be ideal.

Allison
ITRT in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We love Sched

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This is the first year we used Sched for our district wide technology conference we have every year. We are so thankful we did. We have more data, are able to share session resources, are able to get session feedback, and have a great community of teachers through this software. We will be back for more, Sched!

Cons:

One thing I would love to see is a few different levels of permissions within the software. We would like our speakers/presenters at our conference to be able to see their session attendees and have more information about them, even if a user has set themselves up as private.

Sched Response

5 years ago

Hi Allison, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with Sched! We look forward to working together again. We're brainstorming on better ways to handle the private profiles for speakers/presenters and we'll keep you posted on any changes.

Mary
Educational Technologist in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing for simple, visually apealling, and easy to use event organization.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I wish I could use Sched all day everyday, but unfortunately only get to use it a few times a year. My experience has been the best I could expect from an organization.

Pros:

Sched is easy to use behind the scenes, but also very very user friendly for those attending the event. Many options available through different sized packages, very few limitations as far as designing goes. Customer support is THE BEST of pretty much any company I've ever worked with. We've been using Sched for over three years for events and have never been disappointed.

Cons:

To find something as a con, I'd have to be pretty nitpicky here. It's perfectly functional and I never feel limited or frustrated by it.

Arthur
Senior Communications Officer in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple, effective, responsive and intuitive

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Managing our many annual events is much easier and more available across digital and print platforms using sched.

Pros:

Easy to organize and update. Simple for many of the contributing staff to use and access. Clean UI. Straightforward and easy to update with changes. Very responsive help.

Cons:

No ability for direct p2p interaction. Harder to print attendee lists in a well-formatted way.

Sched Response

5 years ago

Hi Arthur, Thank you so so much for taking the time to share your experience with our platform. I know Nick on our team documented your request for p2p connection so we'll be in touch when we start to tackle that. Looking forward to working on more events together!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Sched review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Positive. I highly recommend it if you have the money in the budget.

Pros:

The Sched app is a great option for managing events where attendees will register. I only have experience using it within the field of education, but was very pleased. The best aspects are the: 1. customer support and online help 2. ability to categorize sessions 3. ability to link with social media platforms 4. quick uploads with spreadsheets (importing) 5. visual layout of schedule 6. user-friendliness for attendees 7. mobile-friendly website and app

Cons:

I have no real major concerns to submit; however, I would point out that our attendees were confused by one feature (which was not Sched's fault). Attendees can "register" for sessions on the app; but we used this feature so that attendees could more so plan their schedule and find back-up sessions, not to actually reserve spots. It would be great if this was an actual feature somehow.

Valamere
Online Instructor in US
E-Learning, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy tool for attendees to view schedule at any conference or event

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Sched was mediocre, at best. I only used Sched to see my conference schedule at a glance. Although, if given the chance to use Sched again, I will try out the other features, such as using my profile to find others at an event to network and connect with.

Pros:

I like the ease in downloading the Sched app and the fact that it is free to use. Also, the interface is very user friendly with eye-catching colors to highlight your event schedule. This makes viewing your event agenda or workshop/session schedule easy to find.

Cons:

I have discovered the Sched application version is different from the web version. For example, I recently attended a conference that allowed attendees to access both versions. I logged into both versions of Sched and found the web version to be more accurate. The web version was updated more frequently with current information about the conference sessions. However, when accessing the app version, the updated information was not available and some of the session information was missing. This makes Sched unreliable if both versions do not sync accurately.

Sched Response

5 years ago

Hi Valamere, Thank you so much for reviewing Sched. I really appreciate you taking the time. You'll be happy to know we're working to improve how the app refreshes the data to ensure it always displays the most up-to-date information.

Amber
Literacy Association of Tennessee Conference Chair in US
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Decision our Organization Made!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My experience was very positive! I loved the supportive documents, materials, and videos that were provided for me, as the conference organizer. What was most beneficial for me was allowing all of the different Zoom links to be housed in a single location. The color-coded organization and ability to personalize the aesthetics was incredible.

Pros:

The software is incredibly intuitive to set up and manage. The set up allowed such an easy-to-navigate experience for conference attendees. I absolutely cannot imagine hosting an event without Sched!

Cons:

With all the many wonderful features Sched had to offer, it was difficult for me to know where to start when setting up the event. The more I immersed myself in the software, the more features I realized were available for use.