15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

United Kingdom Local product

About Synergist

UK's leading all-in-one agency and project management system, designed for agencies that want to improve performance and profitability.

Learn more about Synergist

Pros:

Having scheduling, job management, forecasting, costing all in one module is a rarity. The system integrates very well and gives fluidity through the job process.

Cons:

This is not a plug and play system, implementation is expensive in terms of time. However if implemented correctly you will get this investment back in a short time - which we did.

Synergist ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Synergist has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 25 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Synergist before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (25)

Ryan
Ryan
Founder & CEO in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The only package that does everything well

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a package (software + support), it's the best product in the market - and we tested 6 of the leading solutions in great depth. If you're looking for a system that's customisable for your own business and the way you do things, you won't find a better system.

Pros:

For us, the quoting side of the system is fantastic. It's super configurable and allows granular customisation across products, services and mark-ups. Time tracking is also very good. Support has been fantastic - very quick to respond to any questions and they always take the time to make sure you understand.

Cons:

There is a fairly steep learning curve. It's not immediately the easiest software to get in to, but it is worth the investment.

Synergist Express Response

2 years ago

Ryan, we're very proud that you choose Synergist after such a detailed assessment of the leading Agency Management Systems. And it's great to now hear the extent to which Synergist is meeting your needs. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I'll pass on your compliments to our support team.

Pete
Fractional Head of Finance in Ireland
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Agency PM software without the limitations found in many of its competitors

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: The implementation of Synergist was part of a wider (and thankfully successful) agency turnaround strategy I had been managing, and it certainly did its job!

Pros:

The depth of its functionality was not found in many other PM software when carrying out my research. Plenty of options for setting up projects, retainers, rate cards, roles, departments, etc. Its ease of use for non-financial agency staff, client services and PMs made for much happier teams compared to previously used PM software. There are lots of great options available for analysing project performance - and the variety of reports and data extraction options massively helped with timely management reporting.

Cons:

The data viewer option for creating bespoke reports took some time to get my head around.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Projects , WorkflowMax , Harvest , Basecamp and Scoro

Reasons for Switching to Synergist: Mostly due to functionality requirements. Synergist was the best fit for the agency based on what we needed it to do. Customer support from Agency Works (Synergist's implementation and support partner) was also a factor.

Synergist Express Response

4 months ago

Thanks for reviewing your experience with Synergist Pete. It's fantastic to read of the part it's played in the agency turnaround project you've been managing and congratulations on your success. We're pleased to see you selected Synergist due to the depth of functionality it offers and that you've really benefitted from this. The data viewer has proved very popular but as an advanced reporting tool it does take a little time to understand its capabilities . We've received hundreds of requests to add further options to it. As a result it's recently had an interface makeover to maintain the ease of use whilst delivering these additional features. We'll look at the guides and webinars we have on this and see if their is scope for additional learning resources in this area. We look forward to supporting your continued success Pete.

Sarah
Head of Operations in UK
Pharmaceuticals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Key tool for our agency

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Really good , especially the customer support provided by Agency Works who help us get the best from the system.

Pros:

It is an end to end system from CRM, project and time management / tracking through to billing. Keeps everything in one place.

Cons:

Scheduling feature doesn't quite suit our work flow and granularity of projects but this hasn't really negatively impacted our overall use of the system

Synergist Express Response

3 weeks ago

Sarah, thanks for your positive review of both Synergist and the customer service provided by Agency Works. It's always good to hear Synergist is fulfilling its key role as an end to end agency management solution. We'll take a look at the issue of the granularity of your work vs the functionality of our work scheduling tools, and see if we can enhance our offering in this area going forwards. We'll be in touch if we require further information and look forward to supporting your ongoing success.

Debra
Accounts Manager in UK
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Overall, pleased with the software as it is a 'whole approach in one place' .

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: One central area for the life of the project to be able to budget for future, fee quote more accurately for the future, track the life of the project and analyse data at the end of the project more efficiently.

Pros:

One central place for the life of the project i.e. from fee quote to completion, cutting down on previous needs for quite a few spreadsheets !

Cons:

Data Reviewer reporting isn't as simple as we would like it. We would like more things bespoking to our company. Calendar bookings if far too complicated for our needs.

Synergist Express Response

7 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Debra. Great to hear you're pleased with the system and have benefited from the efficiencies of bringing all aspects of your projects into one central place. The Data Viewer has proved to be a very popular reporting tool and we receive many requests from customers looking for more advanced options within this to create more complex reports. To deliver a solution to the overwhelming majority of these enhancement requests, we've had to enhance the Data Viewer with additional options whilst maintaining the drag and drop style approach. I take on board your feedback on this and will pass this to the product development team. The same applies to the calendar bookings tool which has been developed to meet the needs of most project based businesses. If your calendaring needs are particularly simple then its functionality may exceed your current needs. Many Thanks - Nick Lane - Commercial Director

Stuart
Managing Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great agency project management tool

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Synergist has a lot of very useful features to help support the running of a busy agency and its projects all of the way through their lifecycle. It sits at the heart of our agency, is used daily across the business, and has allowed us to make many data-driven decisions over the past five years. Our core use for Synergist is: - tracking opportunities, - building quotes, - monitoring billing plans, - resource scheduling, - time recording, - invoicing, - utilisation reporting Synergist is bigger than this though as it has many other features.

Cons:

Its vastness is also a challenge - there is so much it can do that we typically feel behind the curve on its use. This isn't too much of Synergist's fault though. The admin-side of agency life is a balancing act between efficiently staying on top of admin versus focusing on clients and their projects.

Alternatives Considered: TrafficLIVE

Synergist Express Response

3 months ago

Thanks for detailing the role Synergist plays in the running of your agency Stuart. We take onboard your comments about the breadth of Synergist's functionality and the feeling of not using all you could of it. No single customer uses all the features available. Some are designed to support particular ways of working that may not be required by yourselves at present. They are there if you need them in future though. The Agency Works team are always happy to do a review of your usage and requirements and recommend other features that are available to you that could add further value to your agency. It's great to hear how Synergist's enabled you to make solid, data-driven decisions over the last 5 years and we look forward to supporting your continued success.

Andrea
Operations Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Agency Management System

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Very positive - I have used it in 2 agencies now and i think compared to other tools it is very well developed.

Pros:

Synergist is made for marketing agencies and the development team have listened and incorporated alot of features that agencies need which other general workflow/ project management systems might not consider. It provides accurate data and insight, allows very good management and financial control of projects and allows you to manage and agency workflow by integrating into the agency processes well.

Cons:

the CRM needs some development to help new business categorisation

Synergist Express Response

5 months ago

Many thanks for posting a review of Synergist Andrea. We're pleased to hear that it's such a good fit for the needs of both the agencies. It's also great to read how Synergist is delivering the core visibility and control needed to ensure these agencies thrive. I can see our support team are already in communication with you to find the most appropriate solution to the new business categorisation topic. Thanks for passing on this feedback and we look forward to continuing to support you as a Synergist user.

Adrian
M.D in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Powerful Management Tool

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Great customer service, The Agency works are extremely knowledgable and helpful. The product is great but like any proprietary software there are compromises relating to config.

Pros:

Once you get used to Synergist it is an extremely versatile and powerful management tool.

Cons:

There are multiple options in how to use the system and configure it. It is not the simplest software to configure. I would recommend having a very clear vision of how you want the system to work before implemetation.

Alternatives Considered: Traffic Travis PRO

Synergist Express Response

4 months ago

Adrian, thanks for such a positive review of Synergist. Any system that offers the depth of functionality and flexibility needed to support an agency through its stages of growth will require configuration expertise. It's great to hear how The Agency Works have provided this expertise to help you achieve your vision. We look forward to supporting you in your journey for many years to come.

Jason
CFO in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Agency Management Software

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: I really like the system, having used other agency systems and had other systems demonstrated. Great system with a great support helpdesk.

Pros:

Great all in one agency management software. Good resource planning to help with efficient planning across the agency. The system enables you to look at client profitability at a job level and client level during and when the job has been completed. Manages with accrued and deferred income, we found that many systems state that they can manage and report on deferred and accrued income but very few systems can. A big plus of synergist is not only the deep dive on implementation but also the ongoing support from the helpdesk.

Cons:

This is not a plug and play system, implementation is expensive in terms of time. However if implemented correctly you will get this investment back in a short time - which we did.

Synergist Express Response

4 months ago

Receiving this review from someone with experience of the best agency management systems means a lot Jason. So many thanks for taking the time to review your experience with Synergist. It's also great to see that the features we've developed to properly support accrued and deferred revenue are delivering real value to you. I'll pass on your praises to our support team to ensure they understand their quality of work is appreciated.

Joanne
Operations Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Transforming the way we do business!

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Excellent, we are really pleased we implemented this system into the agency.

Pros:

An all in one solution- and now the backbone to our agency! We do not know what we would do without it, or how we ever managed,

Cons:

Its does take a while to really understand the set up and just what it can do. The management information you can get out of it is robust and extensive. We provably still dont know the half of what we can do....

Synergist Express Response

5 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with Synergist Joanne. Its always a lovely boost for us to hear the transformative effect Synergist has had on an agency. I'll pass this on to the wider team. The regular Synergist webinars run by The Agency Works will help in accessing further benefits that Synergist can deliver to your agency. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have specific product feedback or have any questions.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product with fantastic suppport

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Improvements in agency reporting leading to better and more profitable customer relationships.

Pros:

Reporting and analysis of projects and clients is second to none. We have improved client and agency profitability and process by a significant margin using Synergist.

Cons:

UI could be better, but does not distract greatly from solutions overall performance. I believe a new version out soon should provide a better experience.

Darryl
Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synergist for IT Professional Services Consultancy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Synergist got us off spreadsheets and onto a fully enterprise platform. Month on month is continues to surprise us with what else it can do and how else it can help our business. Invoicing for example used to take us a couple of days and these are now done in moments at month end as Synergist builds them for us based on the timesheets. We've also found the support to be the best we have ever experienced. Whenever we have a question or query it's resolved so quickly and the team are super helful!

Pros:

The features provide everything we need to run our business and move away from Excel. It's intuitive and very easy to learn and requires very little maintenance overhead. An absolute game changer for us!

Cons:

We work in professional days but Synergist is largely an hours based system. It still works for us but we just have a couple of calculation we need to do on certain screens where we can't see day rate, day cost etc.

Synergist Express Response

2 years ago

Darryl, it's great to see you have achieved your aims of moving Spike away from spreadsheets to a future-proof business management system. Whilst the majority of our customers do work in hours, we do support day based working. I'll pass on your comment to development to see where we can further enhance the display options eliminate the need for any calculations. Your kind words regarding the support team are very much valued and I'll make sure they reach them.

Andy
Head of Operations in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great Agency management tool

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: One of the best Agency management tools you can buy. Great customer service, tech support it very fast and helpful.

Pros:

It covers all areas of Agency management from onboarding new prospects, planning & build tasks and hours, traffic management, through to revenue recognition.

Cons:

attaching briefs to jobs isn't as easy as it could be.

Synergist Express Response

6 months ago

Many thanks Andy for taking the time to leave your review of Synergist. It's great to hear how you're gaining such extensive benefit across the whole of the agency. I'll pass on your feedback regarding job briefs and your kind words regarding the service you receive from our fantastic support team.

Gary
Project Director in UK
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synergist is pivotal to our profitability as an agency

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The ability to track our time and analyse the profitability of our jobs has really helped improve our future quoting and planning. Forecasting tools also help us plan effectively as a business.

Pros:

Synergist is a robust and tailored workflow management software which we use from budgeting and quoting through to invoicing. Our success as an agency has come through leveraging the reporting tools and insights that Synergist allows us to capture and analyse.

Cons:

Synergist has expanded to overlap with task management software. It is not a feature we currently use as it doesn’t offer the same level of user experience as more established software in this niche. We don’t find this an issue as it does what we require of it very well.

Rebecca
Managing Director in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synergist provides our small Engineering company with all the functionality we need to be successful

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Better business management, reporting and trustworthy information.

Pros:

Ease of use and functionality to adapt to any type of business requirement. We have 2 departments that both use Synergist differently for their needs, it is adaptable and flexible. Reporting is brilliant and again is an adaptable dependent on the needs. Synergist has allowed us to scrap unreliable excel spreadsheets and allows ONE centre for updating the whole company. Synergist has proven easy to learn also for our new starters who average about a week to understand the basics and roughly a month to get to a "superuser" level.

Cons:

Running reports takes a little time to get your head round how the data interacts but once you do its great.

Kirsty
Managing Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Couldn't run our agency without it

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Insight on job profitability and visibility of productivity by project type too

Cons:

Time to value requires input from the team but this would be the same with any implementation

Synergist Express Response

6 months ago

Thanks for the glowing Synergist review Kirsty. I'm pleased to hear how the commitment from your team to the initial implementation has ensured such a valued overall solution. We look forward to many more years of supporting your continued success.

Roy
Administrator in Australia
Environmental Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synergist Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The product is great for managing multiple clients and projects. It is simple to use and the training videos/information have been a great asset. We mainly utilise the functionality for quickly pricing new jobs and phases, invoicing and allocating work loads. Integration with the Xero accounting software is also great and saves time.

Cons:

Some of the error messaging isn't always clear on how the problem can be resolved. It may be useful to hyperlink to a more detailed explanation.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Could be done so much better

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Would not recommend, other tools such as Workfront would be better to use!

Pros:

I like the fact that it's a multi purpose tool. It allows you to add projects, complete timesheets and raise invoices in one area.

Cons:

The UX is awful. Navigation, use of features and elements and the overall slowness of the tool are things to name a few. There are too many sub-navigations on sub-navigations making moving around the tool awfully hard.

Synergist Express Response

5 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive comments regarding the comprehensive functionality Synergist provides. I'm sorry to hear of your frustrations regarding the UX. The usability of Synergist is affected by the configuration decisions made during each customers system implementation. We would love to have to opportunity to review the configuration of your system with you to see how we can improve this for you. If this is of interest please contact us at [email protected] or +44 1625 572690 and ask for Nick Lane and I look forward to improving this for you.

ed
md in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10 yrs in and going strong

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Positive, helps run the business

Pros:

The software is great for running jobs, which is vital to ensure we deliver to budget. The integration initially (10 yrs ago) was difficult, mainly due to us having to ‘know’ our processes, before we could integrate Synergist.

Cons:

The fact Synergist is database driven; means you can cut the data in so many different ways. Although this can be beneficial it can sometimes be confusing.

Phil
Phil
Founder and CEO in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Synergist is great for time based businesses where you need to track and manage your teams

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Productivity, reporting, profitability, better management of people and time.

Pros:

It has enabled my agency to understand the hours spent on client work, helped manage utilisation and productivity of the agency. It has helped agency profitability. It has helped us manage over servicing and most importantly where our team are being overworked or working too many hours.

Cons:

Nothing really in the cons - other than some people might find it labour intensive on top of the client work they are doing.

Joe
Operations Manager in UK
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great piece of software ideal for any consultancy who want to plan and track clients projects!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Helps to track all of our projects commercially and plan resource/workload.

Pros:

Great at managing everything from initial enquiry, estimating, project & company commercials and tracking live projects for all your clients.

Cons:

It's only as good as the information and effort you put into it. Detailed training and customisation is required prior to using in anger, but once set up correctly is fantastic.

Ben
Operations Manager in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A must have job management tool

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Full business visualisation

Pros:

The fact it can manage all aspects of job management, through Quoting to Invoicing, whilst utilising as many or as little features in between.

Cons:

Not all features are available in the cloud based version yet - However, this may change soon though!

Myrtle
Market Access Analyst in UK
Market Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Analyst review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I mainly use the software for time tracking which is really easy to do with this software. Tracking project progress is also easy through the software as there are so many project details which can be entered to ensure all members of the team are up to date on project information and progress.

Cons:

There are so many interesting features that this software provides so at times can be slightly confusing to navigate but have only been using the software for a short period of time.

Synergist Express Response

2 years ago

Great to receive a review from you as a new user of Synergist Myrtle. I pleased you're finding the core features so easy to use. If you need any assistance with the more advanced areas, then don't hesitate to contact either The Agency Works or our support team.

Paul
FD in UK
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best integrated job costing solution for professional services I have worked with in 20 years.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Having scheduling, job management, forecasting, costing all in one module is a rarity. The system integrates very well and gives fluidity through the job process

Cons:

A plus and minus, having too many options within configuration can get a little confusing and we personally changed our set up from the original mapped out system plan.

Nikki
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great software once fully implemented

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Synergist is worth the patience required to get it up and running. Its complex but this complexity makes it versatile. It has taken us many man hours to implement but we confident that this investment should pay off in the future

Pros:

Flexbility

Cons:

Complexity

Synergist Express Response

7 years ago

Hi Nikki, thanks for taking the time to review Synergist, we really appreciate it. As you've invested the time upfront to tailor Synergist to your business, you'll save a lot of time down the line. Thanks again.

Emma
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

New to Synergist

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We are currently learning the system with a view to rolling it out within the company early part of next year. We are still getting to grips with it all and find that the customer services are very helpful. We are looking forward to the new version being rolled out in the new year.