15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Sakai LMS

Sakai is an open-source learning system created by and for higher education to manage online courses and content.

Learn more about Sakai LMS

Pros:

Sakai is really easy to use. We were supposed to watch a tutorial once we were enrolled in the semester.

Cons:

Compared to Canvas, Sakai became an inferior software.

Sakai LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.7
Features
3.9
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

7.3/10

Sakai LMS has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 33 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sakai LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (33)

Davesh
Davesh
Automation Engineering Intern in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sakai Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to submit assignments, view grades, and take assessments. Professors, not always tech-oriented, still find a way to communicate resources effectively with Sakai.

Cons:

UI needs an update, text editors are old and outdated

Adam
Design Engineer in US
Architecture & Planning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid LMS platform

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Good amount of different tools available like grade entry, storing files, assigning homework and exams, etc Can set due dates, exam length, overall good level of control

Cons:

UI feels outdated, especially when compared to current industry competitors Feels slow at times Difficult to use on phone

Tamar
Clinical Quality Assurance Specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sakai as a Platform for Bachelor's Courses

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

As I mentioned previously, this system readily makes course grades accessible from any online outlet (iPad, smart phone/computer). There is also an option for email notifications with an encrypted link. I also liked how once you got the hang of the features, they were very easy to deploy with new courses.

Cons:

Sakai does experience site outages every now and then which makes signing up for new courses a small nightmare. Once it works though, everything is magical!

Chelsea
Chelsea
Graduate Student in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sakai is Great!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Sakai is great for students! Its really easy to navigate, stay organized, and collaborate with classmates. I would definitely recommend! I never had any issues.

Pros:

Sakai is really easy to use. We were supposed to watch a tutorial once we were enrolled in the semester. There was honestly no need. I figured it out myself easily! All of the tabs are well labeled and it's really easy to find everything you need to. I also love that you can see the roster for every class. This makes it really easy to collaborate with classmates! You can also choose to receive emails when assignments are added, announcements are made, changes are made, etc. This is very beneficial for someone who doesn't want to constantly be logging into Sakai. I also love that you can use Sakai on the computer or mobile phone. I would quite frequently use my phone and everything worked great!

Cons:

There's not much I dislike about Sakai. The only thing is that under "Gradebook" you cannot see your overall grade and there's no way to automatically calculate it. You have to ass up everything yourself to see what grade you have in the class. That was pretty annoying. The teachers always had a total percentage, but for some reason, students didn't have access to that.

Lauren
Lauren
Substitute Teacher in US
Primary/Secondary Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sakai Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use this for my class information and uploading documents to the class.

Pros:

A great place to upload documents, see work, and very user friendly. I love the bar on the side that has all the labels/tabes and you just click one and you are there. It is wonderful and very easy to change from one tab to the next. Uploading work is also very simple and easy to do. It works with all kinds of files, with is fantastic.

Cons:

I do not really have any complaints about this software. It has served me well and I am grateful for it.

Val
Student in US
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sakai Makes College Easy!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have had a great experience with Sakai. It has been an easy tool to use while I’m in college!

Pros:

It was so easy to keep track of all my classes. I can always see what courses I’m in, and how far I am in the class work in those courses. Taking quizzes and tests is also super easy with Sakai which is necessary when in college.

Cons:

The discussion boards can be a little confusing at times, it is difficult to tell which ones you have already posted on.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's okay.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As a student on this platform, I have found that it has some irritating quirks. The login screen frequently requires resetting my cache (I'm not sure if this is the auth my institution is using or the platform). Deep navigation links within forums do not always direct where one expects. And the mobile app is clunky to navigate. Although I understand that some of this is due in part by my institution's choices when constructing courses, it does not seem like the platform allows many options in the first place. The issues do not seem necessary for an un-customizable platform like this.

Pros:

- Simple layout - Simple to navigate (on desktop) - Supports templates

Cons:

- This platform has some quirks - Poor app layout - Basic in functionality - Boring design

Ilan
Professor in US
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Learning Management system

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Sakai is one of the best Learning Management systems in the market today. I have been using it for over five years and I can say with out a doubt that it has some of the most reliable features in the world of E-Learning. I am most impressed with the forum system and the assignment submission system.

Cons:

There is only one element missing for Sakai, a real time option for a class meeting

ZAiN
ZAiN
QA in Saudi Arabia
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Created by Educators for Educators

4.0 last year

Comments: Building Courses, grading of assessments and easy deliver makes this a breeze to use.

Pros:

The self-hosted option is free, and allows you to deploy locally on site for faster access times.Easy integration and an API available allows easy integration.Deeply influenced by educators

Cons:

Sakai Wiki and community is growing, which means more information is available. More video resources required.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very modular CMS, but clunky at times

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The modular aspect allows our IT department to create applications that suite our needs.

Cons:

There seemed to be less functionality out of the box than other CMS packages. Much of the interface is dated, so the UI takes more clicks to do something than you'd expect out of a modern software package.

Rebekah
Distance Learning Coordinator in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A truly "Open" Source LMS

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Our community college previously used Blackboard, but needed to upgrade. We looked at various LMS's available in 2012, and our faculty liked Sakai the best. Why? It was easy to use, accessible, reliable, and contains excellent tools we need to provide quality online, hybrid and face-to-face courses.

Pros:

I love the Sakai community. They are a dynamic, talented, committed community, who strive and succeed in making the LMS easier to use and accessible, and constantly improve tools so they best meet the needs of faculty and students. The community has developed a responsive user interface, and is working towards meeting all of the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level A and AA Success Criteria.

Cons:

Like a true community, sometimes you have to wait until the money and resources are available to work on the project you think is important. In the four years I've been involved, the community has always found a way to find the resources needed to make important updates and improvements.

Munetaka
Research Associate II in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We used to use Sakai and I wish we can go back

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sakai was a course management software that allowed easy organized access for students and faculty. This also played an equipment signup and scheduling tool for my group.

Pros:

The user interface was intuitive (from the user's side, I never saw the admin side). Asides the traditional course management feature, my group used it for equipment scheduling, which was a great added bonus.

Cons:

Overall, the software was great. I don't think they had an app, or at least I was not aware of one. With mobile devices becoming a mainstream method of content consumption, having to go to a website and sign in seemed dated.

Abritty
Research Assistant in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I wish it was a bit more user friendly

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

After using online web modules in Sakai for a while, it grows on you. If you know where the options are for the things you are looking for, you will be fine. But like I said, it takes time to grow on you.

Cons:

The options are not clear at all. Nothing is self explanatory, I have had senior learners struggling with it the most as the courses do not show up automatically in the home page after signing up. Every aspect of Sakai seems not so unified, it requires different set of skills to do different things.

Rachel
Associate Professor of History in US
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functional but not awesome

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It works for managing courses cheaply, but it doesn’t have the flash of blackboard or the convenience of Canvas

Pros:

It’s user friendly. You can train on its uses really quickly. The assignments sync to the gradebook

Cons:

The gradebook is clunky, the chat is basically useless, and grading discussion boards is a nightmare.

Margarita
Professor in Germany
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am using the Software since 5 years

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Sakai is extremely flexible and highly configurable. Collaborative features. The scalability of the system is ensured through the usage of modern Java EE technologies.

Cons:

The documentation of the developers is not good enough. The new Gradebook is not good for big classes.

Harrison
Business Analyst in US
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect Education Software

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Sakai is great because it is very easy to pick up and use. It does not require a huge learning curve at all. It is also very easy for instructors to post assignments and interact with students. It has many features which makes viewing grades and turning in assignments online a piece of cake.

Cons:

I have no complaints at all about Sakai. It is easy to use, is packed with features, and works flawlessly.

Rae
Business Administrator in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not my favorite LMS

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The Sakai interface is very a straightforward, hierarchical one. It appears clean and easy to navigate, but I would say it is not as aesthetically pleasing as other LMSs. It does have similar functionalities, such as quizzes, testing, discussion boards, and resource sharing. Many of the LMS add-ins are available for Sakai, as well.

Cons:

I'd say my least favorite aspect of the Sakai LMS is its bland appearance. Some of the other LMS's such as Blackboard create a much more welcoming feeling when signing in, with all of the colors and customization that is available for the administrators.

Tanvi
Senior Associate Software Engineer in US
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good Learning Management Portal with Room for improvement

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Managing the course membership seems to be a cake walk. Based on my role and restrictions imposed by each course, I could access only the material that I was supposed to. For eg, the professor would schedule an assignment to be available for me only after the specified time. Tracking progress with respect to the assignments graded gives a good gist of the progress made in the course.

Cons:

As a TA, I learnt that the grading is time consuming as compared to Canvas. Sakai opens a grading sheet for each assignment for each student and then allows us to put grades and comments. To grade the next student, we have to go back and then select the next student to be given grades for the assignment. A simple feature like Next Button can also help in saving time while grading.

John
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Chemicals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Inferior to Canvas

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Sakai has a very basic loadout that doesn't clutter the screen with unnecessary information.

Cons:

Compared to Canvas, Sakai became an inferior software. Difficult to look at (especially for those who had dyslexia and couldn't understand tabled information easily) and the time the software took to actually update information was slow (on the order of an hour or to at times).

Tousif
Tousif
Graduate Teaching Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I thing Sakai in a better platform to manage a course

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I love Sakai more than Canvas. I used Blackboard for a very brief period of time. I must say Sakai is the best among these three.

Pros:

All of the crucial features of Sakai are easily discoverable. I managed two courses with 100+ students each very easily. Sakai has the feature to upload MS excel files on it which automatically gets filled in the system. Student communication is also quite easy and effective in Sakai.

Cons:

I am not sure how much Sakai costs since I am an end user. It may be pricey. However, our university recently moved to Canvas. Finance could be a reason why.

Sean
CEO in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good software for undergraduate and graduate students

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

For the most part, it is very easy to navigate. You can add items to your favorites so that you can access content quickly. When combined with other integrations (Box, Ponopto, etc.) it becomes a powerful tool!

Cons:

The UI is pretty old. It could really use a refresh as it looks like it came out of Windows 95. However, that's a pretty minor thing to complain about.

Carol
Adjunct Instrutor/Course Creator in US
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Student-teacher interface lacking....

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: The features on this LMS are limited when compared to competitors.

Pros:

It is fairly easy to use. Instructors can start chat topics.

Cons:

I used Sakai for about two years before my company switched to a competitor. The interface is not visually pleasing. The interface between students and teachers is minimal - email, time-delayed chat, and forums make for a dull experience. You must cut and paste your rubric into the grading page.

prathibha
sys admin in US
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

usage

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it offers good features and the pricing is good

Pros:

A course can be easily setup. The installation is straight forward and the application is easy to maintain.

Cons:

It needs enhancements when it comes to certain interfaces. There are also minor bugs, just like any other application

Arram
Arram
Registrar service specialist 2 in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Product is good when searching

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

If you need to search something, this product is great. Has everything laid out

Cons:

It’s pretty hard to navigate through so u will need to have some training before diving in.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One stop shop for online education

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I used this platform as a doctoral student to access resources, syllabi, post assignments, read announcements, and engage in online/hybrid class discussions.

Pros:

Once you log into Sakai CLE, you really can use it for anything you'd need as an online student

Cons:

Sakai CLE took a little bit of a learning curve to navigate through, but once you figured it out, it was easy