very good server software

Reviewed on 16/01/2018
Yogendra kumar S.
Network Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It save my time.It is very helpful for virtual server.Most server computers use this program and are quite successful. Especially the presentation of the presentations at the same time, the transfer of files fast, the ease of printing and most importantly the ease of handling more than 50 computers with the biggest privileges.

Pros: I like all the features of this software . We use this server software for a variety of applications. I haven't had any issues with it thus far.it has supportable on all flatform like other devices.There are great number of resources and training available wordwide. That is the strong part, and you can always go and read blogs and ask your questions on forms. There is always support.Best web server ever is IIS. My company can publish sites and services into IIS. It is fast and securable server.If you want to save your money you can configure different virtual servers. In this perceptive it is no important to buy new servers.

Cons: There are a lot of elements of Azure, cloud system of MIcrosoft. It is important for MIcrosoft to remain in market where cloud rules.The only difficulty I have had with this software is the ease of use when using other software with it

The overall cost of engagement is high however the product itself is very good offering full R and P

Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Katty R.
Developer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Microsoft provided good support on site and remotely to help us get started . Partners were available to implement on a fast time scale.

Pros: The new platform is called Microsoft R Server, and is compatible with Windows, Linux, Hadoop and Teradata software. There are five servers, If you are familiar with Microsoft products you need more than that to deploy this Analytics solution. For those who want to deploy this, Microsoft delivered a free version of R Server for developers.

Cons: I would have expected better support from Microsoft, especially since this is a new initiative that we are exploring. Their response time on queries are not acceptable and that is my biggest concern.

Small office - easy to manage network

Reviewed on 13/10/2016
Susan Z.
paralegal / network administrator
Legal Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have a small legal office with small budget for technology. MS Server R2 is easily setup, and stable, and gives us security and control over our network, both internally and externally.

Pros: It does everything I need

Cons: More cloud integration than I am comfortable with, but this is just my insecurity, not a reflection of product.

Habitual and proven assistant

Reviewed on 06/12/2018
Artem T.
Global CFO
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Like all Microsoft products, the application has a wide range of functions and good integration with all other applications. The experience of my use of the program left only positive impressions. I recommend for implementation in small companies with up to 500 employees.

Cons: There are minor nuances in the work that can not even be called flaws. In fairness, I note that, in fact, they are the reverse side of the merits of the program.

Time-tested assistant

Reviewed on 31/12/2018
Rebecca S.
Senior Vice President
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We prefer Microsoft R Server, because it has a convenient system for processing graphic data, and also provides the possibility of multi-threaded processing. There is full integration with the SQL Server tool.

Cons: The interface would be nice to improve a little and make it easier to read. When using Microsoft R Server there is an excessive load on the computer processor.

It provides flexibility in our duties and make easier all the activities that we do in our daily day

Reviewed on 26/03/2018
Pablo samuel M.
Sys Administrator
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The easy way that this software has been made up, gives the opportunity to learn faster and become a expert in that area.

Pros: The easy way that we can manage the software and all the functionalities are awesome. The support has improved a lot.

Cons: Recently the premier support has increased the cost and this is something that can be improved, but it has been the opposite.

Excellent functional development environment

Reviewed on 08/12/2018
Artem Z.
Junior .NET Developer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I use the Microsoft R Server development environment to work with the R programming language. The tool allows you to process various statistical data. Full integration with SQL Server tool is available.

Cons: Firstly, while working with Microsoft R Server, the computer processor is heavily loaded: when working with large amounts of data, system performance decreases. Secondly, due to the large number of integrations with other applications, the security level is reduced.

Platform for data analysis and building applications

Reviewed on 11/04/2019
Yuriy K.
Lead PHP/ Senior PHP
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We use Microsoft R Server to create mobile applications. The code is written in the R programming language. Particularly pleased with the possibilities of the platform, such as creating applications with AI, data analytics, predictive modeling.

Cons: It is generally better for a beginner not to run this software on his own - you need a lot of experience. In addition, I can not name other minuses - an excellent program performed by professionals in their field.

Microsoft packs thousands of features in their system

Reviewed on 13/10/2016
Micah D.
Network Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Microsoft did a awesome job at packing tons of features in their server OS to make your network run the way you want worry free. Great product and would high suggest it to anyone. Has a little bit of a learning curve but that expected with something this intense.

Pros: Great software, full of features, stable system, worry free.

Cons: Learning curve

Convenient platform for statistical analysis

Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Maxim K.
CTO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: In our company, we use the free open source Microsoft R Server platform to perform statistical analysis. The service is based on the R programming language. There is full integration with SQL Server 2016.

Cons: The first drawback of Microsoft R Server that I want to mention is the low level of security due to integration with a large number of cloud solutions. The second minus is a difficult interface to master.

The best shared drive folder of all time

Reviewed on 16/05/2017
Marta B.
Lien Coordinator
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Sharing files between offices, organizing patient files, and keeping patient files as a second backup

Pros: I love this folder. This folder allows our offices to work together by being able to find shared files easily. You are able to create folders to separate and organize, just like any Microsoft program.

Cons: The only difficulty I have had with this software is the ease of use when using other software with it. Not entirely R drives fault.

Multifunctional development environment

Reviewed on 30/12/2018
Ross R.
Business Development Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like R Server primarily because it, like other Microsoft applications, has a huge number of functions and integration options, allowing you to conveniently process various statistical data.

Cons: The interface would not hurt to simplify a bit. The technical support service is not competent enough, so I would like to see more informative educational materials in the future.

Good server software

Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Igor V.
Android Developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: This software allows us to work together, easily find common files and share them between different teams. Extensive integration with many other programs to increase the available functionality.

Cons: Often a long time has to wait for a response from the support service. Too few educational materials, which is why the study of Microsoft R Server was slow.

RN Review

Reviewed on 16/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
RN
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We use Microsoft server daily at work. It makes things seamless with communicating with other employees and I enjoy using the program.

Cons: Nothing! I have no issues with it at all.

This is not Windows 2012 Server, it's R Server...

Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Gerson M.
IT Consultant
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Fascinating product and interesting language. Highly recommended for developers.

Pros: The new platform is called Microsoft R Server, and is compatible with Windows, Linux, Hadoop and Teradata software.
There are five servers:
Microsoft R Server for Hadoop on Red Hat
Microsoft R Server for Teradata DB
Microsoft R Server for Red Hat Linux
Microsoft R Server for SuSE Linux
RRE for Windows
If you are familiar with Microsoft products you need more than that to deploy this Analytics solution. You need to have a big percentage of your infrastructure with Microsoft products to make the most of this product.
For those who want to deploy this, Microsoft delivered a free version of R Server for developers. This might be the future for developers and System Analysts. Be prepared.

Cons: Open R is free... Microsoft R Server is not. However, the connection between R Server and Microsoft family will make this more appealing.

High Price

Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Tarlan A.
Administrator
Individual & Family Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Yes I agree that server is expensive for me. But it is adorable because each of administrators can configure it. For that reason although it is expensive but we use and advised to small companies

The most customizable server os for beginners with graphical user interface

Reviewed on 01/02/2017
Afgan A.
Technology integration specialist
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I am using Microsoft Server 2012 with Google Cloud Platform. Easy to set up and manage. There are a lot of resources online as well. If you have any trouble you can fix it by searching on the web. Overall, bit on expensive side, but great for professionals. But if your company is small and don't have a budget that high you can use cloud solutions such as GSuite.

Pros: For professional use

Cons: Not so easy to start learning

Whats the best Mircosoft to use

Reviewed on 05/07/2019
Amy G.
office manager
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: the problems i have is having to restarting my computer

Pros: It very easy to learn how to use and install as well.

Cons: sometimes i have to rest the computer due to the software

Efficient data analytics

Reviewed on 28/04/2019
Galina S.
Chief Talent Acquisition Officer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Nothing more convenient to track the actions of users on our sites, we have not yet found. With the help of the service, you can understand what products and services users like, and offer them appropriate advertising. An indispensable software for data analysis.

Cons: It is not suitable for beginners. It should be added to this that the software is relatively new - there are almost no courses and guides for use, especially in a language other than English. Support responds long to requests.

Server Upgrade for Church

Reviewed on 02/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Business Administrator
Religious Institutions, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Good, I think I would have opted for the Cloud Based software if I'd know that was the future.

Pros: No more SQL's. Ease of adding new users, server updates are easy to do and can down and install later to not affect users. Has "health reports" for the server to make you aware of issues with backups, etc.

Cons: DNS (network connections) information isn't as easy to use and set up. Manual is difficult for the average administrator, several pages. Need more condensed light version of manual that can be read quickly.

Using on Remote Desktop

Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Dev
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: customizable to your needs, easily managable

Cons: Hard to get used to compared to other operating systems

Service is indispensable for assessing the effectiveness of sites

Reviewed on 30/04/2019
Bernard O.
Chairman
Financial Services, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: If you need to know how users rate our sites, what they don’t like and which tabs they never enter at all, we include Microsoft R Office, a system for analyzing data. In addition, based on the preferences of users, the software automatically offers appropriate advertising.

Cons: Difficult to learn service. In addition, it appeared quite recently - the developers are constantly adding new tools, which may already confuse the novice.

The program is definitely worth a look

Reviewed on 31/07/2019
Andrey O.
Vice President of Development
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Our company uses Microsoft R Server for machine learning. We chose this particular program, because there is a large set of vector and mathematical libraries that facilitate the work of programmers.

Cons: You need to learn the R language to work with the program. Therefore, I would not recommend it to small and medium-sized companies to perform some small tasks. Developers who know R are expensive in the labor market.

Good, but difficult to learn product

Reviewed on 22/04/2019
Vasil L.
Investment fund manager
Investment Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: We use this software to develop applications for mobile devices. I liked the opportunity to create programs with artificial intelligence and predictive modeling. Scale easily with Azure.

Cons: Due to the high complexity during the study, I had to resort to third-party help, the user interface needs to be improved, and the service also weighs heavily on the computer's processor.

Very good, but lacking versatility

Reviewed on 07/12/2018
Mariia P.
HR Team Lead
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: To begin with, the application is highly specialized, but it copes quite well with its functions. Very convenient system for processing graphic data, there is the possibility of multi-threaded processing. I recommend to try.

Cons: During the use of the service, I did not have time to detect any significant shortcomings. I am familiar with the product not so long ago. But over the past few weeks, he has established himself well. Developers need to slightly refine the principles of implementation in our realities.