Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About Totara Learn

Replace the limitations of the traditional LMS with Totara's transformational learning platform trusted by millions worldwide.

Learn more about Totara Learn

Showing 40 reviews

Josefina V.
Consultor externo de SAP MM PM
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018

"Excellent tool for education and online training"

Pros: I have tried this platform and I think it is very complete, since it allows you to educate other people individually and train both employees and clients, very good

Cons: Despite being very good, its interface is not competitive with other platforms, they have to develop a better interface because this platform has potential

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Writer II
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018

"Our company implemented Totara through a third party reseller. We migrated from Moodle."

Pros: It is hosted off-site so we don't need to rely on our small Systems team. This is really the true value to me as an LMS administrator as previously it was impossible to upgrade our Moodle versions. Navigating to the courses is very simple. The look and feel is decent. So far it's been pretty stable.

Cons: I would like to see more features that are not already available in the free Moodle LMS system. I would like to see the Reporting features better implemented. I would also like to see support for plug-ins that are currently supported in free Moodle, particularly H5P.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2018
Amir E.
Director of Products
E-Learning
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Powerful and Flexible Enterprise Open Source LMS"

Comments: I have been using Totara since it started more than 6 years ago.
It has developed tremendously and has truly become a modern, powerful, flexible and reliable learning and performance system.
The Totara team are very responsive and keen to make the product move forward and the way they listen to and take to hear the needs of the user community is a great demonstration of the symbiosis of users, customers, developers and service providers.
Looking forward for fast future developments of the platform.

Pros: Lots of learning tools and options to cater for all kinds of learning approaches, blends and strategies
Flexible product with many options for configurating things via settings
Responsive support and development team

Cons: Some of the older features and architecture are based on Moodle which is less geared for enterprise learning. I know this may change in the upcoming future though

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Verified Reviewer
Manager, Talent Management
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"Totara LMS for small organizations"

Comments: Very positive - it was a first LMS for our company and the set up and implementation were smooth. Users did not have much difficulty using this (construction workers) and it has been easy to maintain.

Pros: I liked the ability to customize and make the system work for our needs. We were able to work with our vendor to add some functionality to fit our business.

Cons: From an admin role it helps to be a little techie/geeky. But the support from our vendor really helped get through that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Patrick W.
Server Admin / Web Developer
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016

"Totara Review"

Comments: I mostly work with the Totara LMS from a server admin and web developer point of view and so far my experience has been ok. Not the easiest / most simple system I work with or have worked with, but manageable. I'm not sure if it's a good thing or a bad thing, but I find the support material and documentation from Totara to be pretty lackluster for server admins. If I find answers to my questions, 99% of the time I find it on Moodle documentation or forums. Bad thing because for the price of Totara I would expect much better, good thing that I am able to utilize a very large community. I do spend quite a bit of time developing themes and plugins for Totara for our clients, and I do have to say that I like and support your decision use the native Bootstrap class names as well as using Grunt as the task runner since use Bootstrap and Grunt quite often with other projects. I look forward to migrating to Totara 9 towards the end of this year / beginning of next year.

Pros: Fairly simple server setup

Cons: Almost never does what our clients' needs 100% out of the box. Every implementation we do for a client requires custom made plugins to fill the gaps

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Jason M.
Director of Business Development
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Flexible, scalable, and won't break the bank"

Comments: Finally a commercially focused LMS that puts the user in control of the Learning experience and LMS functionality. Our organization has found Totara LMS to be feature rich and yet cost effective, while the open source aspect provides flexibility to mold the system where necessary to our specific needs. The UI is pretty basic, but again you have the flexibility to control even that and make it what you will.

Pros: Out of the box feature set and inherent flexibility of an open source platform.

Cons: The UI is very basic and outdated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Tony R.
Solution Architect
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Excellent Product"

Comments: Really good product, lots of good features which would cost a lot more from another vendor. Could do with more detailed release notes and help guides. For examaple, more written 'How to' guides

Pros: Cost

Cons: Lack of detailed release notes, how functionality should work, examples of using / implementing functioanlity

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Lakshminarayanan R.
Leader - Learning Technoologies
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Value for money"

Comments: Buying Totara LMS is value for money according to me. What attracts me for this value is,
1. Features list,
2. Ease of installation and configuration of the LMS
3. Flexible Analytics/Reporting
4. Integration possibilities (with other systems through webservices, SSO, LTI etc)
5. Great community/customer support (with regular releases)
6. Plug in-plug out customizations

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: User interface could be made attractive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Iris V.
Marketing Manager
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2017
Andrew R.
Product Manager
E-Learning, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/12/2018

"A standard LMS that is decent"

Pros: There wasn't a huge learning curve to this software which is always ideal in a workplace where disruption is the last thing that new software should bring. The tech stack seems pretty modern and the load times for the software were pretty good. The layout and UX is decent, perhaps slightly better than the run-of-the-mill LMS

Cons: Integrations and supported activities are lacking. It would be good if this were fully responsive (it seems like most is but some stuff still renders poorly). The price point is high for the value delivered; I think that it will be a tough sell if they try to increase rates upon renewal

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/12/2018
David S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016

"Totara LMS is great"

Comments: I have been using Totara since the first release and I have found it's flexibility and it's open source code to be very useful. The standard options and extensive feature set has allowed me to meet most requirements through configuration only, but when necessary the ability to add to, or edit the code to achieve non standard functionality has allowed us to tailor Totara to any need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016
Tanja B.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Easy to use with lots of standard features to use!"

Comments: Value for money. Standard features you'll only find in the big expensive LMS's. Easy to use for the learners. Clear overviews and reports. Lot's of possibilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020

"Good LMS choice for heavily customized use cases"

Comments: We are using it as a custom learning platform for our digital leadership development content. We have enjoyed using it to address the various business requirements of our end users and departments. We will continue to use it to address the evolving needs of the organization, because it is such a flexible system.

Pros: Totara is open source, so it is highly customizable based on your organization's use case. We are using it for leadership development content, and we have been able to implement custom themes to make the platform our own, and even co-brand content for our clients.

Cons: Its complexity and extensive functionality available can be a bit overwhelming, causing our users to mistakenly use a particular feature because it is very similar to one we built for custom use cases. It has required a ton of development to implement our processes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020
Jose V.
Product Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2018

"Very good option for elearning implementation"

Comments: We are currently considering use Totara LMS for both commercial and individual clients. Totara LMS is adaptable as we consider enough to be implemented in the academic sector as well as for team members training

Pros: We work on the instructional design for a micro master on leadership and excellence, and Totara LMS has wonderfull features that means we can take the elearning product even further, in considerably less time than starting from scratch

Cons: It can be difficult for us to get to grips with the LMS. Our administration team will need some class of training. Of course, the good news is that Totara LMS spend a great deal of time training and supporting their partners

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/04/2018
Lenka B.
Product Specialist
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Good features, but difficult setup"

Comments: Functionality of the product is good, but some features are very cumbersome to set up. This is improving continuously improving from one version to the next, but some areas eg. Learning Plans still have lot to be desired.

Pros: Features, support

Cons: Configuration of the features, unstable roadmap and release of new versions / features is taking a long tome

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Enrrique P.
Instructor
Telecommunications
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"Perfect application for corporate training and learning."

Comments: Have an application focused on business learning, with tools focused on the corporate area to prepare quality professionals who know the business and its function in the company is optimal.

Pros: Totara is one of the most complete learning applications for the business world, noting the great detail that it is free, extremely complete where you can manage face-to-face and non-face-to-face training, evaluate the performance of workers, create reports on the progress of each employee to evaluate their evolution, strengths and devilities and all with a very comfortable interface and all this for a fraction of the cost of a private application, as it is focused on the corporate area its functionalities are focused on the development of complete professionals, to teach them the rules of business and strengthen your company, use it!!!!

Cons: Being free may not have the service and attention problems of a proprietary software, this is why you need the support of software specialists for problems that may arise, or solve any inconvenience of the stability of the program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Wim V.
Competence Center Lead e-learning Technologies
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2019

"Totara for Securitas Aviation"

Pros: We recommended this software for one of our client to help them with their challenge. Totara offered us the required flexibility to setup and configure the system as required for the project.
The easy way to create and maintain the content, the wide variety of learning activities, the forums etc. made Totata the perfect solution.

Cons: The possibilities offered within the system are vast and thus require some time to understand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2019
Rory W.
project manager
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Totara LMS Review"

Comments: Totara LMS provides a low cost solution for our clients to be able to develop and roll out eLearning, automate classroom bookings and manage performance.

Pros: Ease of use for administrators

Cons: UI could be improved

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Carlos F.
Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017

"Excellent LMS, cost effective and full of features"

Pros: - All in one learning platform, customizable and it has some great features to manage teams and programs.

Cons: - Need some technical skills to fully exploit it. It can be hard at first but once it's up and running it will give you all the tools you need to manage learning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2017
Janine M.
Instructional Designer
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016

"Moodle supercharged!"

Comments: I have found Totara LMS to be as administrator focused as Moodle but is like Moodle on steroids! The feature set and reporting capabilities were very noticeable and welcome addition to my prior use of Moodle.

Pros: Feature set, flexibility, ability to host locally vs cloud, cost effective

Cons: The UI and general look and feel still feel very outdated compared to the latest web sites, technologies, and UI you expect today

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2016
Anna V.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2015

"Used dozens of LMS systems and this is the best by a country mile."

Comments: There are many LMS choices on the market and deciding which system to select is never easy, but we couldn't have made a better choice when we selected Totara LMS. Totara LMS stood out for its ease of use and reporting features. Navigating in the system is intuitive at all levels. The system is reliable, very flexible, innovative, open and convenient. The customer service has been fantastic and they have gone out of their way to problem solve on issues that have arisen during our setup. Highly recommended Totara LMS. Intuitive and affordable, with a great team behind it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/10/2015
Manoj K.
Lead content testing and compliance
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Great learning lms"

Comments: Have worked on many major lms and lcms in my professional experience. Working with Totara lms was really wonderful. Its features are helpful, and usability is very good.

Pros: Reports section, hr integration...

Cons: Nope...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Mariya P.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Solid LMS that needs some work"

Comments: As a Totara Partner, our company deals with Totara on a daily basis. We see some improvements in functionality and stability in Totara 2.9 and 9, compared to previous versions. It has a lot of features and gets a lot done. It's catching up with the latest infrastructure level updates, like php7, but we would like to see many more updates sooner. Also the forking from Moodle is a bit of a concern in terms of plugin compatibility, as Moodle community plugins repository is very diverse and having them become obsolete is not ideal, unless an alternative can be presented in a timely fashion.
Overall, I'm satisfied with the product and we definitely recommend it to all our prospective and existing clients that fit the need.

Pros: Learning plans, audience-based learning, hierarchies, dashboard

Cons: Bugs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Chandran B.
Lead
Animation, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2016

"Meet customer expectations"

Comments: Good product, but it get more difficult to setup. Functionality of this product is awesome. Also Some futures are very nice.

Pros: Support

Cons: Need clear roadmap

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2016
Divya B.
Senior Consultant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2018

"Very user friendly webiste"

Comments: It is an interesting tool which has helped me train and form networks

Pros: This is a great learning platform & is easy to navigate as well. Very good technology & over all an amazing platform to quickly learn

Cons: I would rate the over all experience as great and did not have any issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2018