Middle school science teacher for 5 years; Instructional Technology Facilitator for 2 hears

Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Shane P.
Instructional Technology Facilitator
Education Management
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Nearpod is a high-quality, user-friendly, reliable presentation program that could be a valuable asset in every teachers classroom. There is a fee, but it's definitely worth the investment individually or at the school-wide level. For starters, it's easy to create slide decks, but what's amazing is that these presentations can be pushed to student devices or phones instantly and with ease. Students can then follow along and interact with the instructor. Other types of presentations can easily be converted and used within NearPod, too, so you don't have to reinvent good material. Just upload and begin pushing to students with ease. Next, audio and video files can be dropped in to decks which enables students to interact with the multimedia individually or in groups. Beyond that, and perhaps my favorite feature is the ability to collect real-time feedback from students through a wide variety of question types/formats. This enables the presenter to pace the lesson appropriately, follow-up with anyone who may be struggling, or engage students in conversation or clarifications based on the feedback. Next, NearPod has a database of phenomenal content available to educators. Large amounts are free. Some of the content even offers VR360 opportunities for students who are using capable devices. Last, I just appreciate that they are committed to improving their product - always taking steps forward, listening to user concerns, offering loudly support, and advancing.

Cons: It would be great if they could add on some sort of homework feature for students who may not have access to WiFi. I know they are exploring several potentials here, and I think they'll figure out a solution, but this would be helpful for flipping the classroom in Title One environments.

Big fan of Nearpod for Education

Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Shane P.
Instructional Technology Facilitator
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: All in all, I'm a big fan. I recommend it in the classroom and strongly suggest teachers explore using it. You must be in one-to-one setting.

Pros: I'm a big fan of Nearpod when giving presentations. Here are the pros I see:
- Allows students to become active participants in their education. Presenting instructional content is engaging with Nearpod, not just a one-way conversation.
- You have the ability to check for understanding with built-in questions.
- They have a ton of free resources that are great.
- Real-time assessment/feedback.
- They've even offered VR field trips that you can take your students on.
- It's easy to learn how to use it, navigate, and build presentations.
- You can also easily upload presentations from other platforms.

Cons: While I feel that the pros outweigh the cons, here are some problems I see:
- It is completely based on your wifi. If you have a weak internet, then Nearpod will be slow and lagging. If you add a lot of students to a presentation, it can also significantly slow down. (Although I realize that this is not necessarily Nearpod's fault - it is worth noting.)
- Even though you can check for understanding in real-time, you cannot do so anonymously. It would be nice if you can anonymously assess students from time-to-time.
- The subscription is steep - some may think it's worth it and the features are great, but it comes with a price that is a bit much.
- The coolness factor will eventually wear off with students.

Catholic emelentary use of nearpod

Reviewed on 19/06/2019
Renee H.
computer science teacher
Religious Institutions, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The product is so unique and fun that the students enjoy learning. There are so many academic benefits that I don't think I have enough room to list them all. It can be used in every classroom for all ages and subjects. I even got the school counselors using it with the middle school kids. Like any product, it takes time to make it your own, but it is time well spent.

Pros: I am able to take control of the student's computer screen so they are unable to move ahead or fall behind. I am able to see each student's answer as they submit it. If I want to I can share all responses or select the responses that work for the lesson. I see what each person is doing on their desktop or laptop computer. It saves the data and I can use it to triangulate future data. The students LOVE it and always ask if we can "do a nearpod" today.

Cons: It took me days to purchase a subscription and they tried to "upsell" me and I hate that. I just want to be able to order a subscription online. Instead, I had to call and get transferred, then their system was down and they could not process my credit card. They asked me to call back so I did and it still did not work. I only had the school credit card for a few hours and I was trying to teach. It should not have been so difficult. I almost quit trying but I really really wanted to use the product because it is amazing.

Nearpod is one of the easiest ways to engage students while presenting information.

Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Hope E.
Instructional Technology Coach
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Turns normal "sit and get" lessons into interactive and engaging activities for students. It has been very easy to use and easy to show others how to use it.

Pros: Nearpod has a library of pre-made lessons that teachers may use. Some are free, but others have a minimal cost. Nearpod is free to use, but the free version does have limited capabilities. The great thing about Nearpod is they offer you a 6 month trial if you complete a few steps and become a Nearpod Certified Educator. This process is extremely easy and it helps you to get to know the product. One of the best features is that you can use PowerPoints that you already have. You simply upload them, and then insert your activities. It is very intuitive and easy to use.
Another great feature is that they are constantly adding features. This company listens to it's customers and they are always making their product better.

Cons: The only complaint is that it is hard to find what you are looking for in their store. Sometime you have to try multiple searches to get a "hit".

Instruction Made Easy

Reviewed on 15/02/2019
Allison D.
Music Teacher
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I love how you can use just about any type of media with a Nearpod presentation. You are able to design directly in Nearpod with the slides or you can upload presentations from Microsoft or Google files.

Cons: I do experiencing some issues with saving from time to time. Nearpod does not seem to function well if you have more than 1 presentation in edit mode. Sometimes I like to work side by side to double check both presentations follow the same format. Unfortunately this means that Nearpod does not always save my work.

Nearpod in the classroom

Reviewed on 03/05/2019
James C.
Deputy Principal and Grade 6 Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, the interactive nature of Nearpod makes lessons engaging and fun for the pupils. The teacher is able to receive and give instant feedback to their students.

Pros: Nearpod is a very useful alternative to PowerPoint presentations that keep your students active in the lesson. Nearpod uses a basic PowerPoint presentation which is displayed on the pupils devices but gives you the option to add questions or make students draw on a diagram making it interactive. The teacher has a dashboard whereby you can view all your pupils responses and then single out responses to display for further discussion.

Cons: Making a presentation from scratch on the Nearpod site can be time consuming but if you already have a PowerPoint presentation that you can upload and then add to it, it is much better. Unfortunately, any animations in your original PowerPoint will be lost.

Self-Paced and Interactive Presentations

Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Nick A.
District Staff Development Coordinator
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall, it has done what I needed and allows me to control a presentation or push out some fun interactive elements to help keep students on their toes and assess quickly and efficiently.

Pros: Love the ability to create presentations or upload presentations I have previously created into NearPod and insert more interactive elements within them. There is a variety of question types and features. One really useful note is that you can control the presentation on your end, but have students or those attending your session view a different screen. This feature is great when designing virtual guided tours. I also appreciate that NearPod has integrated itself with Schoology LMS. Big bonus.

Cons: Honestly I don't have too much. The one gripe I have is that this is a great tool to enhance interaction and engagement, but relies on teacher-led instruction at the forefront. With a push toward self-directed/personalized learning, this may be a drawback. But this is a good tool to get you started with tech integration, or move toward VR as an element to your classroom.

Interactive Presentation App for Multiple Learning Intelligences

Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Sr. brittany H.
Chair of the Theology Department
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I am happy I have this resource to use in my classroom. I wish I had more time to develop more lessons.

Pros: I have been a Nearpod user since 2012 (almost the beginning). I have seen the program evolve over time into a more and more dynamic platform for teachers to update their presentations and add interactive elements like polls, quizzes, virtual 360 tours, videos, audio, and worksheets. The pre-made presentations that come with a site license can be a huge time saver.

Cons: With time, Nearpod has become more expensive. As a small school, we have had to make sacrifices to afford the site license. It can be hard getting faculty to feel comfortable using it because it is a new way of approaching presentations, but those who adopt them enjoy using it. It does require a time investment to build a lesson in Nearpod, but they are sharable and reusable.

Nearpod's games make studying fun for students

Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Ross M.
COO
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Nearpod is very good for introducing and presenting material to a group of people.

Pros: Nearpod has a fun drawing feature that allows students to be creative while answering questions. Nearpod is an interactive studying experience that allows teachers to view the knowledge of the students while allowing fun studying games. Some features are similar to Quizlet such as matching and the quiz feature. It is used in my child's Spanish class to help the students comprehend new vocabulary words.

Cons: I overall like this software, but sometimes it lags a little when people are submitting assignments. I wish there was a fullscreen feature on computers so that people are able to see it better. I feel like Quizlet is more helpful for studying, but Nearpod is very efficient on introducing new material.

An absolute MUST for classrooms with technology

Reviewed on 06/09/2019
Megan R.
Teacher
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Nearpod has made my job (I'm a teacher) so much easier!! I love how Nearpod offers student paced lessons or teacher led lessons. This is a great way to differentiate instruction and allow students to work at their own pace. I have used Nearpod in my classroom and during staff meetings. It's very easy to use and there are several lessons you can use if you don't want to make your own. Students can also use this as a presentation tool!

Cons: I do wish there was a way that I could switch from teacher led to student paced throughout my presentation.

Engaging Students with Nearpod

Reviewed on 05/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Instructional Technology Coach
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We pay for a Nearpod subscription in our district. We have unlimited access to the content library. This is our 3rd year using Nearpod and it has greatly increased student engagement.

Pros: Nearpod allows teachers to take normal presentations and change them into engaging lessons. They are constantly adding new features and they have a library of pre-made content. My teachers love Nearpod and it has changed the classroom experience.

Cons: For what it offers, the price is reasonable but it is still a little steep for some districts.

Mindblowing!

Reviewed on 19/07/2019
Aileen M.
Tutor
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: As a remote teacher, this is as good as it gets. Real-time assessment/feedback, usability is top notch, built-in questions are great, and the clean look and design is just a dream to use.

Cons: This is a costly product. You can be sure you get what you pay for, however.

Teaching hand in hand with technology

Reviewed on 12/01/2019
Silfrido G.
Instructor
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very good with the classes and live webinars.

Pros: I like the methodology used as teaching in the hand of technology, its audio and video tools, the facility to create interactive virtual classes with interaction of the student population adjusted to the programmatic content, the evaluation of the contents in optimal time, as well as the follow-up of the students.

Cons: The only limitation I see is the connection to the Internet, because the higher the level of technology, the greater the dependence on an optimal connection to the Internet. The rest are the benefits that I can comment on.

Best software to enhance student engagement

Reviewed on 02/08/2019
Marius V.
e-Learning designer
Higher Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It helped us to improve student engagement in a flipped classroom teaching strategy. Please buy the license and start using it. You will not regret it.

Pros: Easy to use.
Student paced mode enables you to make your presentation, a homework assignment with questions.
Great for Formative assessment.
VR and 3D images
Very good analytical data of every session

Cons: Nothing. It's really amazing. A bit pricey, but worth every cent.

Nearpod Revioew

Reviewed on 29/11/2018
Jj S.
Teacher/Coach
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall I would recommend Nearpod to people who do not want to have to reinvent the wheel when looking for ways to present new information to a class. Great in a 1 to 1 or lecture style classroom.

Pros: - They have a pretty extensive library of preexisting activities featuring a variety of topics.
- Compatible with 1 to 1 classrooms through a variety of classroom programs (google classroom, canvas, etc.)
- Great for introducing new topics in the classroom
- Great for whole class instruction

Cons: - I wish it had a way of compiling student results for each question
- Not all information in the presentations is relevant to what the students may need to know. You can edit the activity though to fit your needs.
- Have not found it to be useful for individual student activities

Get Closer to Success with Nearpod

Reviewed on 26/07/2019
Ayesha A.
Substitute Teacher
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: What I liked most about this software is that it includes a variety of interactive features that include built-in assessments. It's beneficial for elementary school educators like me who desire to enhance their teaching and students' learning.

Cons: What I liked least about this software is that it loads slowly if there are many users viewing your lesson. Nearpod is also not available to access offline.

Great tool for 1 to 1 classrooms

Reviewed on 21/08/2019
Jonathan K.
Educator
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The students are very responsive after using this in class.

Pros: This product is worth the time, energy, money! If your classroom is 1 to 1 with computers or tablets this is a great tool to have! The pre-set lessons and interactive 3D lessons are wonderful!

Cons: Using an iPhone with this product is not advised.

One of the Best EDTECH Apps Around- If you have fund for one app, pick this one!

Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Amber H.
Direc tor
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Nearpod has improved SO much over the past five years and really takes the feedback from teachers to heart. In large classrooms, it can sometimes be hard to hear from all students and Nearpod truly gives every one a voice! From polls to controlling the pace of the presentation, to quizzes and drawing, there are some many features to help bring content to life, while checking for understanding along the way.

Cons: Sometimes it is not clear what features are included with a premium subscription and what are not. Users are given a free trial when creating their account, and I think this can be misleading as users may then believe these features are also included.

Nearpod Review

Reviewed on 08/12/2016
Jennifer H.
Educational Technology Coordinator
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The teachers at my school love using Nearpod. We have some new teachers that are anxious to get on board as well. It's a great way to keep the students engaged, and take virtual field trips without even leaving the classroom.

Pros: There are a ton of published Nearpod lessons waiting for you to use, edit, and share. It's fairly easy to use when you're ready to create your own too!

Engaging and Scaffolding curriculum!

Reviewed on 27/09/2019
Rachel P.
Teacher
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Let me start by saying I am such an advocate for Nearpod! Want a student centered lesson? Nearpod! Want room for collaboration and student involvement? Nearpod! Want student paced lessons and immediate scores on quizzes? Nearpod! I also love that there are lessons already made you can buy if you're feeling lazy or don't want to reinvent the wheel.

Cons: What I don't like about this is the price - with the free version you only are able to save a few lessons, and don't have access to most of the interactive aspects. When I had a school account, it was amazing! But unfortunately, I don't think it is worth the high price. The free version is great!

Nearpod in elementary school

Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Jared T.
Assistant Principal
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: In our building, all grade level teachers have access and currently use the free lessons. We enjoy those so much we are currently exploring a paid subscription.

Pros: The interactive lessons are very engaging for students, and the varying paces allow the teacher to lead, or students to work at their individual paces.

Cons: Many of what used to be free lessons now cost to use.

Nearpod for Teaching

Reviewed on 04/10/2018
Terri H.
teacher
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: FUN!

Pros: This program is great for keeping all students engaged in learning. Active participation is easily obtained because the students are having FUN!

Cons: I wish there was a tutorial on the website

Engaged students

Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Elizabeth M.
Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This is the second year that our district buys licences for our teachers and we are pleased.

Pros: I like that I can hold ALL my students accountable for participating in my lessons. Often, when teachers ask questions in class, a few hands raise or the teacher calls on a particular student, but not all students are heard. Nearpod gives all students a voice.

Cons: I import Google Slides into Nearpod and I dislike having to redo the process when I want to change something on a slide. There is no editing access to the slides once it is imported into Nearpod.

Smart product for personalizing learning

Reviewed on 02/05/2019
Blair M.
Director of Personalized Learning
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It's been a helpful tool to help teachers meet the needs of all students.

Pros: It allows teachers to build experiences, such as a personalized lesson on a standard, that provide students with choice and voice. For instance, students can go through a lesson at their own pace, choose a lesson that's a good fit for them, and/or choose the type of work they complete to demonstrate proficiency via Nearpod lessons!

Cons: I wish there was more robust SIS integration.

Great interactive resource to keep students engaged digitially

Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Wendy S.
Teacher
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I work with students who are in a program because they have not been successful in the regular classroom. Nearpod is a tool that I have used successfully to keep them engaged. I like the several options for interactive activities.

Pros: I like that students are engaged in the lesson by using a iPad which is a preferred medium for them. I like that I can see student responses immediately for ongoing formative assessment. I like that there are free lessons to choose from and that they are customizable. I like the virtual field trip option.

Cons: There are many cool functions that are not available on the free account. Sometimes editing can feel "klunky" and takes a while. It could be more user friendly.