15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Dacast

Live streaming solution that helps businesses to publish, transcode, organize, monetize, and analyze live and on-demand video content.

Learn more about Dacast

Pros:

It works - but it didn't quite fit 100% of my needs, so the ability to talk to someone was ace.

Cons:

VOD - recorded live streams have multiple 'holes' in them, most recordings have 10-20 minute holes missing in the recording.

Dacast ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Dacast has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 228 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Dacast before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (228)

Victor M
Victor M
MR in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An excellent product that has it all; well, almost everything

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I would summarize it as: Excellent provider, excellent service, excellent cost-benefit ratio. Excellent business partner

Pros:

Very easy to use interface. Excellent seaworthiness. Excellent results and performance. Optimization of resources and transparency of information resources.

Cons:

This is the only area of ​​opportunity that we find in the service. There are currently many plugins and add-ons that other providers can be added almost immediately. We are sure that the Dacast team will be able to work on these integrations soon. A specific example was the real-time CHAT service that should be optimized as soon as possible

Gus
Multimedia Manager in US
Restaurants, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Little Rough Around the Edges, but Fantastic Value for Money

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Dacast helps our team keep focus and lets us fully control our content, while keeping videos private and only accessible to our team. I've been quiet pleased with how seamlessly we were able to integrate it into our training materials in the place of YouTube.

Pros:

Dacast is a great platform for hosting and live streaming videos. You can control the style of the video player without any third party branding or recommended videos like YouTube has. It creates a lot more streamlined and focused viewing experience for employee training videos.

Cons:

The overall polish of Dacast could be improved. Changes to video info isn't always saved the first time. Uploads don't always finish uploading the first time. Processing to full HD quality can take a while too. The product works well overall, but it could use that extra bit of fine tuning.

Daniel
Project manager in Spain
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good for basic

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Is been really good on terms of usability and implementation, even with the api change was easy to adapt. Fast integration but not made for big companies or growing companies.

Pros:

- The easy implementation. - Quality is quite good for the price - Access control with unique ID is great. - The data for stream is well explain

Cons:

Lack of functionalities such as: - live chat and reactions - quality 2k - video buffer for streams - auto save the streams for make videos with Besides that, the payment annually should be tried at least 4 days before to cancel the account in case something happend.

DaCast Response

2 years ago

Hi Daniel, than you for leaving us a review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the platform. You are right about the functions for live chat and reactions. This is something our product team is working on since Dacast originally focused more on broadcasting. For live chat integration we recommend 3rd party apps such as rumble talk which users find easy to set up. If you have any further questions please let me know and I would be happy to assist you.

Juan C
Minister in US
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Quick & Easy Setup for your Church

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, we have been using Dacast's Streaming Starter Package since July 2020 and have had zero issues. I am extremely pleased with the service and that our church members are able to watch Online, via Facebook and other Social Media, or by hosted page from our Website. Additionally,

Pros:

I am new to Webcasting, and was apprehensive initially when deciding on a streaming service. However, once I tried Dacast and saw how simple, quick, and easy it was to use I was convinced. I love that we have the ability stream our church services and that Dacast works with OBS which is what we use to create our streams. Additionally, after streaming, we have the added capability of hosting our recording as a Video On Demand option for those that were not able to catch the live stream. Also, the other reason that I chose Dacast was that our streaming and video hosting service is not competing with millions of others on free or publicly accessible options. It does require an investment upfront (I am using the starter package) and have not run out of capacity nor has anybody that connects has filed any sort of complaints. This service functions as advertised and I think it is well worth the investment, especially for teams that are new to web .

Cons:

Where I believe the product could use some improvements is on the Analytics area. I think that there should be some options or features that allow us to track specific users. In our case, I would love it if I could assign some sort of "Credential" or "ID" to users so that when they either watch online or watch "recordings", I could be able to track who where the users. There are other reports, hwo

Brian
Videographer, Editor, Partner in US
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Dacast meets our small business needs

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our clients aren't made of money, so we needed a streaming platform that would allow us to stream community/local events and not lose money on the deal. Customer service is good. The platform is not super polished compared to some competitors, but we've seen many improvements over the last 2 years.

Pros:

We needed a simple and affordable platform for live streaming events. While Dacast isn't perfect, the streams are reliable and that is very important to us. There is not much else to say, it meets our needs!

Cons:

Connection times to viewers to the streams have been long (30 seconds to minutes to connect) even with the most recent update to their platform. Reviewing data for how many viewers watched each event is clumsy, especially when we have back-to-back events on the same channel, but still want to see the data separated. Splash screens take a long time to load on the streaming pages. Backoffice tasks can be accidently missed because each section of settings requires you to press a save button at the bottom of the page. Subscription details aren't explain very well, for example if you purchase a certain package you get data but it's parcelled out over the year, not given to you all at once to use. This results in overage charges but fortunately you can enable protection to add data automatically when you run out so your streams never go down.

jason
CEO in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great people. Great service.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We needed the ability to allow our entire user base to be able to upload video game performance videos directly into the service. This means many thousands of different people from anywhere in the world, with incredibly large video uploads. We were able to accomplish this. There is nothing more to say.

Pros:

Bottom line is that it works. It's consistent. It's straightforward. The support available is prompt, understanding and interested in supplying the best product and service they can.

Cons:

I have no complaints. The software and company have completely met my expectations. I am not exaggerating.

DaCast Response

5 years ago

Hi Jason! Thanks a lot for your review. We are so pleased to keep on working with you and will definitely keep on serving you for many more adventures!

Martin
Director in UK
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Live Streaming

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall a very positive experience and has transformed our business, especially through the Pandemic.
We had a glitch earler this year with the payment account and this was ironed out very quickly and efficiently :)

Pros:

Reliability and ease of use. Works with no fuss and the if there is ever a problem the online help is very effective.

Cons:

No issues whatsoever. I was sceptical about the online help, but this has turned out to be very good indeed.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Works as expected

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good so far, as I said befor low latancy and easy to use.

Pros:

low latancy, easy to use. Works really well, never had a critical problem.

Cons:

Sometimes the user interface needs some fixing

Mykea
Mykea
Technical Support Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome platform better price than Vimeo but wasn’t our best fit

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Pricing & storage was the biggest attraction point for our ends.

Cons:

Bandwidth cost became a concern due to viewership integrating with the software we were using.

Ashley
Ashley
Operations Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Think Tanks, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent entry-level introduction to Live Streaming behind a paywall

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were able to offer live videos of our event to out of town guests at a cost where our in person guests wouldn't have been offended and try our a new service that we could benefit from a good ROI.

Pros:

This was my organizations first time trying to profit off of a live-stream and the paywall feature DaCast offers was the perfect fit. They have the ability to social share to Facebook and Twitter as well as embed the videos into our own website! Customer service is always available and promptly responds when I was setting up the account.

Cons:

The videos were sometimes slow to load. Setting up the channel to save or download the videos after were also not very clear and ultimately resulted in us losing one video.

DaCast Response

5 years ago

Thank you Ashley for your review. Happy to read it. We are taking your feedback into consideration for our upcoming upgraded video platform. Have a nice weekend!

Olaf
Pastor in US
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great solution for small church

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Positive and seemless

Pros:

Ease of use and responsive customer service team

Cons:

some glitches in user interface with storage amounts which don't affect use

Bridget
Owner in US
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good alternative to Vimeo and Zoom

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I think it is a great software that help me start live streaming my photography classes. I am thinking of incorporating the paywall feature and running a membership in the future so it'll be nice to have an easy transition and I'm already saving my old broadcasts

Pros:

It was easy to embed the live stream feed into my website. I did have to look up how to resize the box but it wasn't that hard.

Cons:

No chat box feature or live chat. I installed a plug-in to my website so I could have people submit questions etc. I understand that's not really part of the video service, but I'm using you as an alternative to a zoom broadcast so I can send traffic to my website while running free webinars. A chat function that everyone can see would be a nice add-on.

Stu
Producer/Host in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Overall, a Very Good Organization with Excellent Customer Service

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I am very happy with the streaming quality and the reliability now that they have most of the issues worked out. It is the best value for the money spent and I expect to remain with DaCast as long as my programming continues to stream on the Internet.

Pros:

The pricing structure is probably the best thing about DaCast. It's affordable (unlike many of their competitors), and their customer service is top notch. My rep usually gets back to me within an hour after I e-mail him, and their tech support people are always available to chat regardless of the time...and they are very helpful. If they can't resolve a problem, they send it to their higher-ups and it gets taken care of pretty quickly.

Cons:

Some of the CDNs have buffering issues depending on where they are, but they seem to have repaired these over the past few months. The analytics reports have also been a problem in the past, but they too seem to have been remedied of late. The PPV on demand interface is a bit cumbersome and difficult for some non-tech-savvy customers of mine to navigate. That would be the only issue I wish DaCast could simplify...it's a really big deal to log in once an account has been created and they don't allow for users to change their passwords - if forgotten, DaCast issues them a randomly-generated new one and they are difficult to remember. I also don't like the fact that clients must wait until an accumulation of $100 or more via PPV sales is reached before they can transfer funds from DaCast...and the first transaction takes 35 days. That is ridiculous.

DaCast Response

6 years ago

Hello Stu, thanks a lot for your review, and thank you even more for your comment, we are always eager to improve and will consider it! Happy streaming.

Nicola
Managing Director in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best video streaming software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using DaCast and its software to stream video for 10 years and never had an issue. Our website has a video stream that runs 24/7 and includes both live and recorded video. During that 10 years of constant streaming we have only had 3 technical issues that stopped the stream and each time the issue was resolved immediately. The set up is extremely easy and if assistance is need the customer service team is very responsive and helpful.

Pros:

The quality of the stream is very high and the backend design is intuitive and easy to navigate. The software is easy to install, set up and use. If help is need the customer support team is terrific and available to help. The ability to monetize the stream is easy and has many options which is very important for our company as we do "ticketed" live events.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike, which is why we have been customers for 10 years.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

There Are Better Simpler Products Out There

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Too much time/resources spent for the value. Would not recommend.

Pros:

I liked the fact that DaCast allows streamers to add a Paywall option.

Cons:

The software is advanced and requires additional downloads. Not very user friendly. If you're testing the free trial, don't even try to add a PayWall option. There is no payout option. Payouts are only provided for subscription customers. Was too complicated for our teams budget. We would get the same desired effect using more Audience-Friendly platforms (Facebook Live, Livestream). Have tested other options, and this was by far the most complex with the least benefit.

DaCast Response

5 years ago

Hello anonymous reviewer! I am very concerned about your review, as I do not believe you have spent enough time on our platform (our free trial being only 30 days) to get a hold on it. For your information: unfortunately we do not have a payout option for our free trials, that is mainly to prevent frauds. As a free trial is by its essence, free, we cannot take the risk of people streaming and making pay for a fraudulent content without our approval! Hope you understand :) Also, not true, DaCast is a 100% SAAS software and you do not require any additional download. I would really enjoy understanding what you need the streaming for. As Facebook Live does not have a paywall feature, as Livestream is pricing more than we do (their paywall is costly and is an additional download), and as you look to have a tight budget, do not hesitate to give us your exact needs, so we can discuss it and see how we can help. Best streaming!

Joey
Volunteer in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Thanks

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It’s been a solid A. Phone support great even though I was on a free trial. Website has embedded livestream and I’m broadcasting on Periscope and Facebook every Sunday

Pros:

The honesty of the website, I was asked to broadcast a livestream of our church services on a budget to embed on our website and social media. After reviewing several different outlets that claimed one thing and did not come through or require a credit card and wouldn’t disclose the price until you signed up for a free trial, I stumbled upon DaCast. The phone service was exceptional as I was stumped trying to find the right option the free trial didn’t require a credit card and now I have an exact dollar amount needed to complete the task

Cons:

I wish there was an option with their own encoder. However they have worked with several other encoding software companies including OBS and the one I chose VMix to meet our needs

DaCast Response

5 years ago

Thank you Joey, it is such a pleasure to read your review. Please note that we do have our own encoder which is a customized version of OBS which allows you to do low latency streaming; if you want to try, we would be happy to let you. Happy streaming and talk to you soon!

Robert
Station Manager in US
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Seamless Integration with Reliable Performance

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: COVID nearly killed our performance hall. The move to virtual and now to live& virtual has been highly profitable and has increased our audience numbers and loyalty. We are also very impressed with tech support, they are knowledgeable, quick to respond, and most of all, patient with those of us who are new to live streaming.

Pros:

We broadcast live events to over 100+ virtual ticket holders. Errors, glitches and dropped feeds would not be tolerated and result in numerous ticket refunds. In the several years we have used and relied on Dacast there has been 100% uptime with not one error or dropped feed. Our virtual audience loves the reliability.

Cons:

Testing the feed is not very intuitive. However, since the reliability is so strong we have learned to trust that everything is right on performance night.

Dubravko
System IT Administrator in Croatia
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I'm using it for 3 years now and I'm fully happy with DaCast! Value for money is the best that I was able to find, setting up only took few minutes and I'm using it for streaming TV program for 3 years without any problems.

Pros:

Easy to use, affordable, stable and support is always ready to provide assistance

Cons:

I would suggest only few modification on user interface (website) in order to have the most useful options in a single page.

DaCast Response

5 years ago

Hi Dubravko! Thanks a lot for your review, we all enjoy your support. Happy streaming!

Robert
Rabbi in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Mixed Feelings

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is a good platform but as I search I am surely finding more for my buck with a couple other companies.

Pros:

Real time rather easy to menuever through

Cons:

They don't seem very concerned when you have an issue and it takes a week to solve or you get no response or a response we will get back

Barry
Director in Australia
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

DaCast is easy to use and provides a great, dependable and very stable stream for my online TV station.

Cons:

Does not provide a schedulable 24/7 playout for setting up a traditional TV-style station

DaCast Response

5 years ago

Hey Barry! Happy to read that, thanks a lot for your comment! We take the comment for the TV style playout

Jostein
IT Coordinator in Norway
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The whole package

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We're streaming network cameras in a ski resort, live 24/7.

Pros:

Intuitive controlpanels and very easy to set up with support for practically everything that streams. Dacast has had no downtime we can remember either. Customer support 24/7 and extremely helpful. The customer support went above and beyond for us one day helping us with encoder software, which they don't have to do.

Cons:

There is a big gap between their low data plan and medium data plans, specifically something targeted at people who stream alot but doesnt monetize their streams.

DaCast Response

6 years ago

Hi Jostein, Thank you for your review. We have noted your comments about our different plans and we are going to make some changes this year on this. Happy streaming!

Tony
CEO in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Service

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: it has been a great experience

Pros:

easy to set up and to live stream. and like that it saves the video for on deman

Cons:

sometimes connection with my live stream while using multiple streaming platforms

Gabriel
partner in Albania
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dacast is very reliable

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Dacast is very reliable , great costumer support, great dashboard. I only can say positive things about the service.

Cons:

Latency. If the latency can come down to 1 second or less, will be super.

Alejandro
Webmaster in Guatemala
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We work with Dacast for over a Year sadly the streaming is poor now

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: Few months ago it was really great but lately the streaming service has been decreasing in quality.

Pros:

Excelent Support, nice platform and easy to understand, great features that can be a really good tool.

Cons:

Even with all of the features the streaming experience has been so poor lately, for that price you expect stability and quality transmission but none of that happens. If you are looking for stability reliability and quality, sadly this is not the option for you right now. There are another options for less price that covers all of those needs.

DaCast Response

6 years ago

Hi Alejandro, It is unfortunate that you did not contact your account executive or our 24/7 support team to report your issue as we have no record of it. We would have been very happy to help and solve your issue. It is too bad that you will not get a chance to try out our new features coming up but if you change your mind, let us know and we will make sure you can try all of them. Good luck with your future streaming events!

Erik
Manager, Broadcast Production & Operations in US
Media Production, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lowered video streaming costs and improved quality with DaCast

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Low cost video streaming solution

Pros:

The cost of DaCast is much lower than other video streaming CDNs. Instead of a high monthly rate, we buy streaming data usage each year, and haven't gone over our data rate. For organizations that need a private streaming solution, DaCast is a great option.

Cons:

The delay is higher than with YouTube. We experience about a 45 second delay on the roundtrip from our encoder, up to the cloud, and back to the streaming player. For most things we do, this hasn't been a problem, just something to be aware of.

DaCast Response

7 years ago

Hi Erik, Thank you for your review, we enjoy doing business with you! Please note that we have a low latency streaming solution available (10s latency in average) starting Pro plans and above. Feel free to reach out to your account executive to discuss it if you're interested (we have on-going promos so that could be a good timing). Have a great week end and talk to you soon. Elise Product & Marketing Manager