15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About EpicCare

Epic electronic health record software creates comprehensive patient medical records and enables personalized care.

Learn more about EpicCare

Pros:

I use epic to review charts and I also use it as a billing software. We are extremely pleased with how efficient this product is.

Cons:

It can be very overwhelming at times. Hard to grasp some of the functionalities and the different templates that epic has.

EpicCare ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

EpicCare has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 366 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used EpicCare before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (366)

Kyle
Kyle
Medical Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Possibilities are unlimited

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have been using EpicCare EMR for over 2 years not and there isn't much bad i can say about it. Compared to most other EMR software out there it is far ahead of its competition. It's simplistic yet versatile design has made everyday challenges much easier for both healthcare employees and its patients.

Pros:

Epic is extremely versatile in its ability to provide a lot of functions to its users in the healthcare settings. With its new updates setting up orders for patients have never been easier. From medication reconciliation to appointment scheduling to its organization of encounters and medical history, there isn't much epic cannot due.

Cons:

Customer support/service is not very receptive to user friendly changes that are requested when it comes to simple tasks that could be made easier by the input of a button or checkbox in certain areas. Downtime for service is can also be problematic if it needs to be performed during work hours which has happened a few times.

chrys
physician in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

EpicCare EMR- easy patient care management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: EpicCare EMR has definitely been an upgrade from our previously used EMR. I love the ease of use, the clean and modern design, the ability to customize to my needs

Pros:

I love that EpicCare EMR is easily searchable, it provides lots of options for customization, both in terms of utility and view. It also has a sort of memory of your more recently entered orders, which makes it easy to reorder

Cons:

Even though EpicCare EMR is searchable, sometimes it is hard to find what you need

Zarmin
Biller in US
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for medical records

4.0 last month New

Comments: Great experience since we were able to scan all the documents into system for the doctors & staff

Pros:

Great for medical records since we were getting rid of paper filing

Cons:

Nothing really except the system became slow. Maybe because of the work/paper load.

Robert
physician in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Worst EHR imaginable; run away

1.0 2 months ago New

Comments: miserable
Burns me out
Hard to believe that anyone has a positive review

Pros:

I like nothing about this piece of garbage

Cons:

functionality Ease of use Impossible to navigate

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best EMR system available for inpatient

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: I have worked with many EMR in the last 10 years. EPIC is easily the best EMR available for inpatient and outpatient setting

Pros:

Easy to use for all users both for tech savy and the older generations Like the smooth transitions and customization to each end hser

Cons:

How it can be different from institution to institution so if work at multiple sites it is slight different at each place.

Bryan
Medic in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Difficult to start

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: After the difficult start up and training on Epic its a great product and i am happy to use it

Pros:

Its an all around great EHR it keeps patient flowing and everything a provider needs in one place easy charting for patient care

Cons:

Difficult to start learning it takes time

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Epic1

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is a great software and is highly recommended for all who work in healthcare as it is very advanced

Pros:

It is super advanced and is very smart. It has so many features and once learned, is a very high level software

Cons:

It’s not the most user friendly as it does require you to complete sims and learning to learn this software

Rebekka
RN in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Epic is... EPIC

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have used EPIC during several hospital rotations as a travel nurse. It's always a relief to know I'll have EPIC as it's the easiest computer system I have used.

Pros:

Easy to use, quick charting that takes very little effort. Lab results with normal values are fantastic.

Cons:

Orders can be difficult to read or find what you expect in the right place. "Expand all" should be default cause there can be a lot of hidden information!

Aiya
Research Coordinator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User-friendly Service

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

EpicCare is easy to navigate and is visually appealing. The simplicity in its design makes it very user-friendly and provides efficiency.

Cons:

I do not particularly like that there is no user guide to show all the features EpicCare offers. I am aware that EpicCare has numerous tools and resources that can especially be useful in my role as a Research Coordinator. It is difficult finding those tools and learning how to best use them without guidance.

Karina
Karina
Physical therapists in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Always evolving to meet the needs of clinicians and patients

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Epic has regular updates to make charting more efficient and easier.

Cons:

There are limits to using the smart phrases in the SOAP note template for daily notes.

Nick
Nick
Associate in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The BEST EMR out there

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Having used another EMR (in addition to paper charting), this is by far the best product out there. Navigating different clinical unit censuses and consult lists is simple (and you can customize what information is listed within these lists). Within the medical record, tabs make it easy to navigate between lab results, demographic information, and chart notes. It is quick and easy to do a chart review and, in fact, Epic denotes which notes are new since your last review of a patient's chart, so you don't have to spend time looking for new information. Flowsheets, templates, and free-text options make it easy to format information in the way that is appropriate for you or your department's practice. Flowsheets can also be tied to a particular note (and can be easily imported) so that you can see both from one screen. SmartTexts can also be created for phrases or data you use frequently so that you can utilize a shortcut rather than typing those things repeatedly. Reports can easily be created to pull data from patient lists and Epic does a great job customizing layouts that are best for your particular organization.

Pros:

Best layout, easy to navigate, quick documentation

Cons:

Epic is consistently working on new functionalities and layouts, and sometimes the implementation of new things with the EMR becomes laborious to relearn when there is little added benefit.

MJ
ICC in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Complete Medical Medical Overview of the Patient

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I like using this software as the roadmap for the entire healthcare institution. This section is not large enough to write about the expansive overview of the healthcare web capability that EpicCare EMR provides for our institution. It is a great evolving product that evolves as healthcare styles evolves.

Pros:

It is easy to use, once you get the appropriate training and practice. I like that is a great investigative tool to search for timelines in the past. It is the one stop shop for all patient complete history, and it is interchangeable with other institutions with the same software. Tip top secure capability and traceable history of patient profile access. Patient linked via MyChart gets a sense of autonomy to manage appointments, communicate with healthcare team and review medical notes.

Cons:

It is very busy due to all tiers embedded in the software based on access levels, however, you can get to pic what you choose to see based on your personal workload, or access needed. Ample training is needed and repetitive practice for the non-tech savvy.

Barry
Psychologist in US
Mental Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive but complicated

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, it was an excellent communication tool with other parts And providers and customer service representatives of the huge system within which I worked

Pros:

There is a tremendous amount of functionality and ability to check various parts of the medical record. It can be set up with drop-down menus that provide frequently used choices in the record. There is the ability to create personalized phrases one can push into a clinical note.

Cons:

I do not know if it was a bottleneck with our a team that was to fine-tune the epic product, or whether it was the epic troubleshooting team, but it took a very long time to correct glitches or to add features when there was an update of the program. This may be nitpicking, but for me, it would’ve been helpful to be able to run several different windows side-by-side within a particular medical record, in order to quickly go back and forth either to cut and paste items or two I’ll check on various values or previous interventions in the record over time

Alexander
Clinical Research in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It could be worse

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Okay, let's be honest: Most EMR software is lousy. It's got dozens of features bolted together ad-hoc, without any real thought behind UI or UX. The result is a confusing mess. And most vendors don't mind it being so confusing, as long as the functionality is there, because then they can charge for enterprise training and service contracts. Epic is no different. It's got lots of functionality, for sure. If you can find it. But once you do, it really does enable you to keep tabs on everything pretty well. The best features include the CareAnywhere views and shortcuts into PACS systems.

Cons:

The worst features? The horrible color themes and lack of customization therein. The inconsistency in customizability -- there's a "wrench icon" practically everywhere, which allows you to tweak certain settings. Yet some things are impossible -- like rearranging columns in the Chart Review section. Also, the Inbox functions are really terrible.

Naja
Student in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

EPIC EMR User friend medical records system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: In general epicure EMR patient health information medical record system is a great tool to integrate into large hospital systems. Especially for streamlined and easy to use integration of an medical record system. In addition because it has been used broadly by many large healthcare systems many people are trained on how to use epic and in addition they are able to translate their knowledge of other electronic medical record systems to the use of EpicCare system

Pros:

In general some of the pros about the software is that it is very easy to use and it is very accessible from anywhere as long as you have an account. In addition allows you to access your patients medical records from a secure browser and system from remote locations. In addition it’s very easy to explore specific patient information as needed for data purposes.

Cons:

The things that I like least about the software are that you do have to go through extensive training to be permitted to utilize the system. Although I do understand from the perspective of integration of patient health information it’s very important that users are knowledgeable on how to properly use the system.

Megan
doctor in US
Medical Practice, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

once you learn all the shortcuts, life couldn't be easier

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: a much more advanced EMR than many of the others out there and has so much potential to make the day to day easier.

Pros:

EPIC is a complex EMR with lots of functionality and as annoying as that can be sometimes, it also makes it very helpful. I love the aesthetics of the program becasue that adds to the ease of use, I love the ability to personalize and filter to make aspects of what is impotant to you more easily accessible, and I love that it tends to translate better between hospital systems than other EMRs I've worked with.

Cons:

there's a lot to this program so it takes a while to parse through and figure out what's important and what's superfluous. there's also no easy handbook for all the shortcuts and tips and tricks so a lot of what makes this program easy comes from word of mouth or programming settings that others figured out and have been passed down.

Erin
Office Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EpicCare EMR

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is great and I enjoy working with EPIC daily.

Pros:

I do not have the full functionality of the software but do have the access needed to perform day to day requests. I am on the front end of the EMR. I work with a lab that is interfaced with EPIC but I Do have access to view charts. I like being able to confirm our results are filing to the patients charts. I also enjoy being able to review encounters for resulting purposes that will facilitate our company to make the best decision as to care for the patient.

Cons:

I, as mentioned can view the charts but unable to view scanned documents. I had this option towards the beginning of my access but have since been unable to pull up any scanned documents for the last two years. It is fine we just call the ordering providers office for the documents needed.

Zachary
Clinical Director in France
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easiest, most intuitive charting software I've used to date

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall i am very happy with EPIC care, but i would like to see continued design improvements.

Pros:

The ease with which I can customize the charting features and interconnect outside patient info is key. Also, patient's love the connectedness of mychart and the messaging feature.

Cons:

EPIC still seems to be less user-friendly than non-EMR software. Consider social media or HubSpot. They all have workflows and usage features that are slightly more aesthetic and user friendly.

Katalin
supervisor in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

National Leader in EMR

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Fantastic - I would choose this EMR over every other one I've worked with!

Pros:

It is intuitive, easy to use, easy to teach new staff members, and the support has been stellar. Epic is a national, if not worldwide leader in EMR implementation. Their product is superior to other EMR products in use.

Cons:

Some functionality is not obvious and when shared over several campuses, sometimes one campus will obtain the knowledge and it is not shared through the enterprise. This is certainly an enterprise issue, but Epic could send information blasts that help users learn the smaller details of the system, to be shared with all users, to take full advantage of the amazing product

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Oh so easy to use

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Being both a builder and a user of several ehrs I do believe that this product is is very user-friendly. I am in a nurse informaticist. And the features and functionality available truly help arcare providers be able to care for and document the care they give.

Cons:

I do believe there are several kinds and maybe it's just with what has happened within our organization but there is an ability to have too many variations in documentation which leads to discrepancy. Additionally from what I understand from the AC and am there is not a good way to search for these discrepancies in the system once they are built. The AC and am's that are sent to support future go lives as in our instance where we added on 14 new hospitals they did not have the level of experience to support our organization.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long time user/adminstrator

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Epic offers endless features for end users. The system is excellent in preventing medical errors, ease of documentation, and overall efficient patient care.

Cons:

Frequent, sometimes unnecessary, updates to the software. Difficult to elicit information from the organization sometimes

Kyoko
Nurse Practitioner in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am looking forward to having improved Epic version

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Please see above

Pros:

Its connected to the medical records/test results done in other places through care everywhere and crisp. It's EMR-much much better and safer than hand written medical records.

Cons:

It is not connected to JH ambra images and report. Too many icons/tabs on the page, and it is difficult to navigate. Call center messages under In-Basket messages; very difficult to see who is writing what in a chronological order. I rather would like the option deleted. I can't review the patients' charts with Haiku. Once "documentation" is open by mistake, I have to type in "opened by error" or something similar (which gets recorded permanently unnecessarily), otherwise, it remains under my In basket messages as incomplete chart for good.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Epic for medical use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use this system everyday at work in a medical clinic. I work in the lab so I have my own sub category within the system, but I can still view the other schedules which makes my job a lot easier; rather than run around trying to find information, I can access it from my computer. I have a tab to see what labs a patient has had and I can look up their previous encounters (even telephone ones) to see what they were told to have drawn if their labs weren't ordered.

Pros:

It's easy to use and as I learn more about it, it becomes even easier. For instance, there are multiple ways to access the same things, I find the redundancy makes for quick shortcut access. I also like that I can message people within the system which comes in handy.

Cons:

Well I hadn't given it much thought until now, but maybe just the parts I don't have access to. Because I like the system and learning about it, it's a bummer when I can't access bits of a chart, but I know it's for security and confidentially, which is totally necessary. In reality, parts I can't access I don't need and I understand that. I don't have any real complaints about the system.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best EMR, bar none

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using EPIC for several years now as a medical scribe. It is, by far, the best EMR software of any that I've used. If cost is not an issue, I would highly recommend it.

Pros:

EPIC is extremely powerful from a clinician's standpoint. Notewriting is quick and easy, orders are easy to place, and there are shortcuts for everything, cutting down the time it takes to write notes considerably. In addition, EPIC links to other organizations that use EPIC, making it much easier to acquire outside records.

Cons:

It's completely dependent on a working internet connection. If your internet connection goes down while you're using EPIC, you'll have issues with doing anything.

Tim
EHR System Analyst in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Title Says It All: EPIC

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love the layout, the cost is astronomical, but the payoff for simplicity is even higher!

Pros:

The EHR system Epic is not only one of the most diverse, but also among the most comprehensive EMR systems I've worked with to date. As an analyst, I help to build this system to custom fit for my health network, which is very easy, and made easier by the support we get from the Epic system itself!

Cons:

Price point is always a touchy subject with Epic. You really need to be able to afford it while getting the accommodations to meets your systems' requirements. The biggest con is that Epic relies on you going to their standard format, meaning less customization.