15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Bynder

Bynderʼs Digital Asset Management software serves as a single source of truth for all brand, campaign, and product related assets.

Learn more about Bynder

Pros:

There's simple following highlights which could be improved. The custom API capacities.

Cons:

There are a few minor annoying things - for example, when showing a list of tasks it shows 20 on a page. Instead of being able to "show all" - you only have the option to "show more.

Bynder ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Bynder has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 215 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Bynder before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (215)

Denise
Denise
Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Bynder is our digital assets' authoritative database

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Bynder acts as a central repository for all of our digital assets, making it easier for everyone in the organization and our external partners to access the most up-to-date and accurate versions without wasting time searching for them or second-guessing whether or not they are viewing the most recent revisions. It establishes a system that can be used across all divisions and which can be relied upon to give up-to-date and comprehensive data on our digital holdings.

Pros:

Bynder is used all over our company. Bynder has been an extremely flexible option for us to better manage the distribution and use of all of our digital assets. Inefficient time and effort is wasted trying to locate needed digital files that have been dispersed among multiple computers, shared folders, and emails.

Cons:

There's no way to keep tabs on which files are being transferred, downloaded, etc. It was difficult to locate assets without knowing precisely where they were stored. To use several filters based on a single metaproperty. Minimization of computerized categorization.

Jessica
Jessica
Game Programmer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bynder is very user-friendly and configurable

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our sales and marketing digital asset management system and our graphics digital asset management system needed to be integrated. We required an easy-to-use and easy-to-manage solution. Bynder gives you access to everything.

Pros:

It was made clear by the Onboarding Manager exactly what needed to be done and when. They gave us with tools to evaluate and spreadsheets to help us verify the platform's suitability for our purposes. The weekly sessions were fruitful, and the "homework" tasks were manageable. The database is well-built, but it also allows for a great deal of customization.

Cons:

Metaproperties and permissions may have benefited from a bit more description of how they're used, especially how they're connected. Things didn't exactly go according to plan, so we had to go back a few times and reorganize.

Kathryn
Associate Manager of Creative Production in US
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Overall Product - Needs Continuous Improvement

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: The help-team is generally really responsive at the onset. But once the ticket has to go to engineering or product, I don't get any follow up on where my ticket stands or projected timelines for solving said problem.

Pros:

Overall I like this product, I think it's generally user friendly for me as the admin. I find it easy to organize my assets and my users. Some of the reasons I find it cumbersome are because users within my organization are asking the system to do things that it's not capable of. (ie, using it more as a shareable dropbox as opposed to a directory of assets)

Cons:

...that said... I find myself having to put in tickets to fix or implement things that feel like they should already be a part of the integration. For example, I asked the system to kick out a report. Within webdam, the report pulled up 4,000 assets that fit the criteria I searched for. However, when I kicked out the excel file, it only showed the first 1,000. What's the point of reporting if I can't see the whole report? Also, my department established a process in webdam for Regular users and it worked for a year or so and then suddenly stopped working due to changes made in the system. It's currently being sorted out now, but it was a frustrating discovery.

Ogarekpe
Implementation Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The ultimate solution for effortless digital asset management

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Bynder has been exceptional in streamlining our digital asset organization.

Pros:

I like its resourceful asset organization tools that simplify the process of locating assets whenever they are required. It has an intuitive interface which enables users at any technical level with DAM systems to use it comfortably and effectively.

Cons:

It would be very beneficial if its search functionality was improved to make it simpler to locate specific assets.

Mayank
CEO, Founder in Netherlands
Animation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Meets all project management needs of an animation studio

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Bynder is the platform where we manage our animation projects and meets our project management requirements in a perfect way so far except reporting tool.

Pros:

Bynder is the most user-friendly and easy to use project management platform with its relative extensive features such as video brand studio, workflow manager and digital asset management infrastructure.

Cons:

Although in overall Bynder is the most user-friendly and easy to use project management platform, it is hard to say that reports tool is that much user-friendly and sufficient to reflect all required statistical data.

Alternatives Considered: Digizuite DAM

Reasons for Choosing Bynder: Wrokflow module of Bynder was more suitable for creative content creation process.

Switched From: Digizuite DAM

Reasons for Switching to Bynder: Bynder's workflow manager was more suitable for tracking the animation development process.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intuitive and easy of use

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I really like the way it's setup, and the flexibility you have to customize the product for your brand. We've done away with network folders, we've made more people self sufficient. We now know what assets we have. Duplications are pretty non existent. Got rid of allot of manual work on websites; cropping images, replacing documents etc.

Pros:

I like the lack of folder structure, this combined with a good taxonomy, you'll find what you need in seconds.

Cons:

Integrations and flexibility with CMS, but it's getting better. The stability and lack of customization of the Analytics. The rest are just some small issues.

Caitlin
Executive Director, Operations in Qatar
Printing, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent service from the very start

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Bynder has a great UI/UX interface and is easy to use. Not only that, it allows for efficiencies within our business to find and share files amongst our global locations - something that was difficult and time consuming before. The onboarding process and setup was super simple and we had all the support we needed. It's flexible enough to customise, whilst still maintaining the great features Bynder offers.

Cons:

I think some features and integrations were cost prohibitive, but that's a product of the SaaS market we find ourselves in - the DAM itself is great value for money.

Alternatives Considered: Brandfolder

Reasons for Switching to Bynder: Wrike integration was the key driver, since we already had a Wrike Enterprise account this came at no cost.

IGOR
Marketing Technician in Portugal
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The safest place for your assets.

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: As a user of the platform, I'm very satisfied with the result, we have everything organized and catalogued just a click away. The platform is secure and solid.

Pros:

Easy and intuitive to use. Presets upload Meta information Fast Good integration

Cons:

The system for sharing assets with the external public should work out-of-box. There should be a security system to avoid using the upload preset incorrectly. Integration API

Ron
Ron
Ecommerce Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Sporting Goods, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functionality vs Speed

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are using Bynder as a digital assets manager to share images, campaign tools, and videos to our internal teams, dealers, distributors, and media associates. So far our outside visitors who use Bynder have found very few issues with the tool. However, others have found the interface daunting and difficult. We have had made huge concessions to our homepage to funnel visitors to our Bynder site forgoing many of the features.

Pros:

I have grown to like Bynder's filter system and understand its power in finding assets quickly.

Cons:

1. There are always issues with load time and responsiveness. 2. Setting up permission levels and functionality is a real chore. Maybe it is our needs, but the initial setup was not well-explained.

Lindsey Raye
Lindsey Raye
Senior Digital Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bynder keeps All assets safe

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Knowing that the material hosted in Bynder was allowed to use for marketing pieces

Cons:

Not as organized by particular departments

Pratham
Mean Stack Developer in India
Staffing & Recruiting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Straightforward and Organized Remote Working and Business Integration Tool

4.0 last year

Comments: Our whole marketing, social, and graphics teams can seamlessly exchange these files thanks to Bynder, which also helps us manage our photo library and other assets. Sharing your documents with outside services can feel less secure when you work with a platform like Microsoft. We get an additional degree of security from Bynder. We can be sure we are always working with final assets thanks to Bynder.

Pros:

The taxonomy system and the dashboard page really amazed me because Bynder has basically thought of everything. The derivatives feature of Bynder is something else I adore; it takes SUCH a massive burden off my shoulders that the system can automatically crop socially ready assets for me. Without the requirement for a VPN connection, all employees may discover work and have immediate access to our resources. Our productivity and file management both significantly enhance thanks to Bynder. Although setting up a DAM system can be frightening, the Bynder team has a great process that lets us do it quickly and without much difficulty.

Cons:

I wish I had had more time to spend during onboarding on a few modules. Although Taxonomy is really important, we spent a lot of time discussing it, therefore I wish we had spent a bit more time discussing some of the other elements. I want to Bynder had some organisational system to more closely resemble how each of us uses our PCs, hard discs, etc. I would like to see more pre-built API connectors and less expensive Adobe plug-ins. Another benefit would be facial recognition.

Jenn
Collateral Manager/Designer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly versatile interface and GREAT product!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have pushed BrandConnect "to the limit" a few times, and have experienced nothing but positive customer service and a "what can we do to make this happen?" attitude from the WebDAM team. They continue to evolve the interface so that it is becoming a fully-customizable portal, which is adaptable for different client needs. Dynamic Templates are the perfect way to allow users to customize marketing collateral, while still maintaining the approved messaging and Brand attributes we need, as well as Legal and regulatory requirements. Users have easy, organized access to all approved materials, and can customize and download from anywhere at any time - on their schedules! This has been a game-changer for us as a marketing tool and I look forward to leveraging all the enhancements they have on this year's roadmap. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars for features only because these have not yet been released but the fact that they are working on the updates and that this product will soon surpass all our expectations is AWESOME!

Pros:

Versatility, all the main features we need

Cons:

It isn't COMPLETELY customizable yet, but it is on the roadmap so that isn't even really a valid "con" - I had to search for one, because I love this platform and this vendor.

Bynder Response

7 years ago

Thanks for your detailed review Jenn. Great to hear we¿ve been a game-changer for your team! We definitely have some awesome features and products launching this year, we hope they exceed your expectations.

Kristin
Content Marketing Coordinator in US
Government Administration, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Making the most of Webdam

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I've been working with Webdam for the past 6 months and have received great customer service from Chris Marshall. In those 6 months, our organization activated our Brand Connect site and Chris was very helpful in making that happen. The ease of editing at the parent folder level is great. The only issue that I've experienced has been when I submit tickets that are never answered.

Pros:

Brand Connect, Ease of editing

Cons:

Search function - seems very old school

Bynder Response

7 years ago

Thanks for recognizing our CSM, Chris! Glad you¿re enjoying working with him as well as Brand Connect. Apologies for the unanswered tickets, we try to get to all tickets in a timely manner. If this happens in the future, please don¿t hesitate to escalate your issue to your CSM so we can get it resolved quickly. Additionally our help site, www.damsuccess.com, may be useful also.

Travis
Asset Manager in US
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Learning and loving this DAM software

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Our teams save time, energy, and frustration on a daily basis.

Pros:

We love WebDAM's ability to organize and display our marketing team's assets. They are searchable and there are so many flexible options for downloading, sharing, and collaborating. WebDAM is more flexible to our needs than I ever expected it would be.

Cons:

There is a lot to learn to make this software work for your needs, but anyone who has served as an admin for this should expect that. The Brand Portal is awesome but more difficult to implement. I wish there was a bit more support around that.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review for Bynder

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use to manage digital assets Integrations with Drupal and other third party software Ability to manage users and permissions Keyword searching Load time and speeds Customer service

Cons:

Sometimes glitchy features Lack of full customization on front-facing brand guidelines page New features are slow to employ

Alex
Corporate Marketing Brand Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent DAM system

5.0 11 years ago

Comments: Been using WebDAM for a couple of years now and love it. Helped us consolidate our product and beauty photography and other marketing assets into a single place and saved a ton of money and time. Previously, we had multiple agencies and marketing staff across multiple global business units continually looking for photos. Agency requests were expensive and time consuming, often for the same images. Now everyone can get to the same repository for the latest product and beauty shots. No more need for multiple copies all over the organization and we can see at a glance all the latest photos. Great search engine too. Pros:
Very cost effective and scalable. Easy to use interface on both front end and back end, powerful meta tagging and search. Like the ability to set up permissions and give discrete access to certain assets for different groups and users. Also ability to download smaller size JPGs from high res source images. Company is actively improving their system and recent changes are making it easier to use and more powerful.
Cons:
Began as an image management tool so the workflow is still geared toward images. Not using it for managing all our digital source files (i.e. InDesign source with links). We are beginning to put video files in our WebDAM system, but there's still some work to be done on video management.
Not really a pro or con, but setting up all the proper meta data is a major task if you haven't already done so. But once you do get all your tagging and taxonomy in place, the system gets even more powerful.

Ahmad Farhad
Chief Marketing Officer in US
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bynder, You Marketing Partner!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love Bynder, this wonderful software helps my business in any way like best marketing through content creation/management, creative management, video making, file storage, and many more. Thank Bynder!

Pros:

I use and like Bynder for my business digital or online presence. This software has different helpful tools such as creative management, video making, content creation/management, and many more nice features which helps my business widen its network.

Cons:

I like all the tools included in this software, I would love to see other new and amazing tools in upcoming versions.

Molly
Production Specialist/Digital Assets Administrator
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

WebDAM Review

3.0 12 years ago

Comments: Overall I would and do highly recommend WebDAM.

Pros:

WebDAM overall has greatly improved internal productivity by expanding our image storage and sharing capabilities. Our organization and overall asset management has also improved. The customizable users accounts have allowed flexibility in expanding our users to international field offices. The FTP transfer function facilitates large image transfers from users and photographers all over the world.

Cons:

There are some limitations in the back-end/Admin mode with image organization and management. More flexibility in ordering and re-ordering assets and folders, including moving assets as well as ease of batch tagging/captioning. It would also be nice to be able to sort and re-sort images in various ways on the front and back end--for example being able to view the entire database in chronological order as opposed to only one folder at a time. The front end date range search capability also doesn't seem to function properly. Also, being able to rate images and sort based on best favorites is desirable. Also, having more flexibility with watermarking (ie. having the ability to watermark certain images at certain times as opposed to a global setting.

Jordan
Account Manager in UK
Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best in class Digital Asset Management

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Bynder has been a critical tool for our team when it comes to managing our assets and easily finding the content and assets we need. The ease of use is unlike any other tool we've used and what used to take multiple emails and messages now takes a few clicks. The taxonomy and metadata setup and day-to-day use is straightforward and everyone on our team knows how to use the tool with minimal training and setup. We have been able to centralise all our existing content in one central place and have robust access controls in place for external stakeholders, something that is absolutely critical for our businesses. We no longer have to worry about the wrong files being shared with the wrong people - a real god-send.

Cons:

Nothing of note I can think of - wish we had implemented Bynder earlier.

Sanjana
Creative Manager in US
Civil Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

What's new

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love this site but would like to know what's new.

Cons:

I thought you had an app for this but not sure what happened since Bynder took over.

Maribel
Syndication Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Review of Web DAM Service

4.0 11 years ago

Comments: My name is Maribel Dato and I work with American Media, Inc.
We recently signed up with Web DAM to create a full e-commerce website solution to our syndication and licensing needs, so in other words, this site helps other clients that are typically business media to license or purchase rights to our content through the site that Web DAM solutions has created for us.
Overall the experience has been very good. We had the website up and running within 7 weeks which is what we expected as a development time. Our customer success rep has done a stellar job in assisting us with setting the account properly. One of the pros to having our website developed by the web DAM team is that we not only got the training from our account success manager but we also got videos and other interactive tools to learn the site systems. The only issues I've experienced are that when specific functionality questions or issues have come up, I don't always get an answer within the same day and sometimes I need to wait for the next upgrade of the Web DAM system or rollover in order for it to be fixed, which is not as practical as we'd wish when it comes to doing business with our own clients with the website. I hope to see many improvements from your services and in general we are very satisfied as customers with our new DAM site.

Ewan
Digital Media Coordinator in UK
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DAM made easy

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Really simple to use which has supported quick user adoption and helped us ensure our digital transformation could occur.

Cons:

Bynder has very few flaws but the rights management side could be stronger but this is due to the complexity of our digital assets.

Jelle
Software Engineer in Netherlands
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Innovative!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Bynder keeps getting good new features. Also the customer support is quick and effective. With those two combined, problems are quickly solved.

Cons:

I can't think of anything I don't really like about Bynder

Paul
Head of design and brand in UK
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New user to Bynder

4.0 last year

Comments: Its quite early to say, however having all our logos in one place has been instantly useful. It saves designers time and effort. Uploading photos takes time, but is worth doing well.

Pros:

Bynder is an easy to use DAM. It does all that is required very well. It becomes second nature in a very short amount of time. The team atBynder are very good and we have had a great onboarding experience.

Cons:

Although Bydner does everything well, some features found in other DAMS are absent. For example, Bynder does not search within images for text (for tagging) and Bynder studio does not support indesign files.How important these small features are to you will be a matter of personal preference.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good product that met our needs for a while

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It solved a lot of problems and was a great first step. Eventually we moved to a more sales-enablement focused platform that accomplished digital asset management plus sales enablement all integrated with Salesforce. But the marketing team was very happy with Bynder.

Pros:

Easy to manage and tag assets; version control of all assets; easy to share assets out with internal stakeholders, clients and prospects using collections.

Cons:

Until the end, we heard complaints from sales that it was too hard to find things. Too many results would come up and in no particular priority order.