15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Grant Lifecycle Manager Reviews

About Grant Lifecycle Manager

Foundant GLM is a powerful online grantmaking solution, with an intuitive platform, and guaranteed dedication to clients success.

Learn more about Grant Lifecycle Manager

Pros:

This system made our grant process so simple for our users, both applicants and evaluators. We went from the stone age of paper to the simplicity of a completely integrated system.

Cons:

I have adapted to the system, and I don't think there is anything I don't like.

Grant Lifecycle Manager ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Grant Lifecycle Manager has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 50 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Grant Lifecycle Manager before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (50)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding grant software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall our organization seems to be fully satisfied with this software to streamline our grant management process for over 5 years now. Training is always available and customer service is amazing.

Pros:

Great tool to manage grant data and streamline the overall grant process. We issue grants to multiple organizations in a year so this eases the process on both the reviewer and applicant side. Customer service is very responsive and helpful. Online applications and registration are user friendly and very helpful tools. Exceptional grant management software for any size company. Fairly easy base for learning and offers a pretty intuitive platform.

Cons:

Report features and customer management tools need to be improved or implemented.

Foundant Technologies Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on Grant Lifecycle Manager. We'll share your thoughts on tools with our team, as we're always working to improve based on client feedback.

Patricia
Manager of Grants and Due Diligence in US
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Foundant Grant Management System

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Using the GMS for our foundation has been very helpful in keeping our documents organized and available for all to view; the grantees love the ease of the application we have developed within the system and it's streamlined the whole process of evaluations.

Pros:

We chose the GMS from Foundant due to the ability to customize our platform to how we use it. We were not locked into a specific format.

Cons:

As of now, I do not see any area that would need improvement. We are a small foundation and may not use all the capabilities that the GMS provides, as other larger foundations would. But I know that if there was something that I thought would be a good addition to the produce, Foundant would either let me know it already exists and direct me to it, or put it in their 'suggestion' area.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Patricia! We are happy to know that Grant Lifecycle Manager has allowed you to customize your platform to fit your needs!

Symone
Programs Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It's Ok at best.

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like that applicants have to create accounts in order to apply, and that I can include descriptions for various kinds of applications.

Cons:

I don't like that applicants can create duplicate submissions for one application. This makes reviewing applications difficult and creates more work for our staff on the back end. I don't like that once you "close" an application you can't "hide" it also. This makes managing the program on the back end overwhelming.

Peggy
Research/Administrative Assistant in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Foundant Technologies has the best customer service!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have had a very positive experience with Foundant from the beginning. They have excellent customer service that has made the process easy from the beginning and helps me to address any issues that come up as an ongoing user.

Pros:

The Foundant software was easy to learn thanks to a great onboarding program with tutorials and a dedicated Client Success Manager. In addition to my CSM, there is a support team that can be reached by phone, email, or chat. My questions have always been answered promptly. Foundant also listens to their clients and makes changes/upgrades based on client needs. Educational webinars are offered on a regular basis.

Cons:

Some features are not available with the standard license.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Peggy! We are happy to know that Grant Lifecycle Manager was easy to learn and that you're happy with our customer service!

Laura
Director of Communications in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to work with

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I compared over 10 different sites and software programs before partnering with Foundant. By far, Foundant had what we needed. They have enough bells and whistles to do what we need, but not so many that I get overwhelmed or bogged down. Foundant has a great training program that enabled me to build the site and maintain it - which says a lot since I am not a computer wizard. I have updated our application and processes annually and was able to very easily add a process for our COVID work. The best thing about Foundant is their people. Whether I call, chat or email the response is always quick and efficient. In addition to using the site to do grant management work, we have also extended it to receive PRI applications. I love that the system is adaptable.

Cons:

Nothing. If hard pressed, I would say it took more than a minute to figure out how to do reports. But once I understood the building blocks, I was able to create reports for different audiences.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Laura! We're happy to see that GLM is easy to work with and that you have enjoyed working with our people!

Joan
Grant Chair in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Near & Far Aid's experience with Foundant GLM

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been great and very responsive. She helped us sort through the most efficient way to get our processes up and running and anticipated some things we might want to do in the future so that we could incorporate them even before we might need them.
We also did a large data migration project with our legacy data and our migration manager Taylor was extremely helpful.

Pros:

I liked that after the in-depth training, our CSM was able to easily and relatively quickly recreate our previous grant application into the Foundant system

Cons:

The training in the beginning that we do as self study takes a bit to grasp onto but once I got through the first few modules it all started to be intuitive and make logical sense.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review Joan! We are happy that your migration to Grant Lifecycle Manager went smoothly.

Allison
Community Outreach in US
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

This is a wonderful product!

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: I have been very pleased with GLM. I have recommended it repeatedly.

Pros:

The training with [sensitive content hidden] was incredible. He was more helpful than we could've imagined.

Cons:

Since I'm only going through the processes every few months, it's easy to forget the steps when I'm approving grants.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Allison! We are so happy to hear that you are pleased with GLM.

Joan
Operations Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Operations Manager

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Great historical record of grants. Applicants like the system. Overall, we are satisfied with GLM. Appreciate the online training sessions.

Pros:

Flexibility/adaptability. Completeness of the grant making process. Fits well with integration of systems for our organization.

Cons:

It's starting to feel like you need to be a techy to use some features, especially reporting.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Joan! We are so happy to hear about your satisfaction with GLM!

Anne
Grants and Operations Manager in US
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Grant Lifecycle Manager

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been great. Customer Service has always been helpful when we have an issue or concern. It is a very easy system to learn and when onboarding new staff, I always get positive feedback.

Pros:

I like that the applicant or grantee can easily log in and complete forms and or applications easily. We get great feedback from your nonprofit organizations we support.

Cons:

I have adapted to the system, and I don't think there is anything I don't like.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Anne! We are happy to hear that GLM is helping to make your application process easier.

Cate
Grants Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We Love Foundant!

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Love it!

Pros:

The ease of use for both us in the office and our grant partners. We love the customizable forms that has made our move to a more trust-based grant making seamless. The system is easy to move around in and we can always find what we're looking for.

Cons:

It would be nice to have the ability to tag certain organizations that we've added comments to. For example, an organization that we've added a comment to that will be important for us, or those who come behind us, to see.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for the review Cate! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy using GLM for your grant management needs.

Margret
Grants Administrator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Grants Administrator Review of Foundant

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We have the Standard license and it easily handles all aspects of grant making. The software is logical, intuitive and easy to learn. All applications, grant and payment history, evaluations, emails sent from within the system, and follow up reporting are kept in one system and are easily retrievable. This helps me work very efficiently. The Shared Documents feature is very useful to make information available to groups of users. Foundant is a huge time saver compared to how we handled grants in the past. Because it is online, you can access the system from anywhere and work anytime. Their customer support is consistently outstanding, always friendly and happy to help. I have also gotten lots of very favorable comments from our users who say that Foundant is easier to use than many other systems they have to deal with. A great feature is Guidestar, which allows me to verify an organization's IRS status instantly and maintains a record of these verifications. I am completely happy with Foundant and wholeheartedly recommend it.

Cons:

I really have very little that I don't like. A minor drawback is that the system cannot fully integrate our board meeting process, because we have a very set process. Using Shared Documents, I am able to still maintain and preserve our board meeting material in the system.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Margret! We are happy to know that Grant Lifecycle Manager is helping your organization become more efficient!

Beth
Beth
Executive Manager in US Virgin Islands
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Product for Managing Grants

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Using Foundant has organized our grant-making process substantially. We are able to ensure accurate and up to date reporting and collect consistent and useful data. Setting up automation for reporting has taken a lot of work off our hands, and made everything much easier. It also allows us to have all important information and documents related to specific grants stored in the same place, which is easy for all users to access. Overall a really great product.

Pros:

The pricing of this software compared to others is very reasonable, especially for a small nonprofit where cost is crucial. I would recommend that you already have your grant-making process pretty organized before starting to work with the system - though signing up and getting everything in the system definitely forced us to work everything out as far as process goes, which was helpful. The support that we received from our account manager as well as support staff via chat was extremely helpful, I used the chat almost daily in the beginning! The chat feature is really great because you rarely have to wait for assistance. We really love the reporting and customization options, especially being able to set up automatic emails for when reports are due, past due, assigned, etc. This system has helped us collect consistent data across various projects, which makes reporting much easier. There are a ton of reporting options available, though we have yet to use a lot of that section. Also love that we can have multiple people reviewing and giving feedback on applications. They are always making updates which are useful, I recommend reading the update highlights when they come out, I always learn something new! Overall this is a wonderful product that has exponentially improved our grant-making and management.

Cons:

It did take us a little while to figure out how best to use the software, but I think this was because we also had to set up our processes. After a month or so of using it we were pretty comfortable. The only issue we run into is when we accept applications from organizations as well as individuals, because the system is really only designed for organizations to apply. We were able to work around it, but it would be nice if the system was designed to include both types already. We also have had a few issues with duplicate organizations being created, despite setting up a warning message to users, but deleting the duplicates are easy enough. It would also be helpful to be able to move grants between processes, right now you have to delete the entire application and re-enter it manually in another process. But overall, the pros far outweigh the cons.

Foundant Technologies Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your thoughtful review, Beth! We appreciate your time leaving such thorough feedback about Grant Lifecycle Manager.

Amy
Grants Program Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

User Friendly and Intuitive Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I chose this software 6 years ago over several others that we reviewed. It is perfect for our foundation size and the staff and support team are awesome. The support response time is very fast and if needed, I can get a live body on the phone which was not available from our previous software provider.

Pros:

The ability to customize applications, evaluations, and follow up reports is great. Most of our grant awards are not a One Size Fits All.

Cons:

As a data nerd, the reporting feature is not as strong as I wish it to be. The ability to design reports is limited.

Foundant Technologies Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your review, Amy! We are happy to know that you are enjoying the features of our GLM software.

Susan
Director, Cultural Affairs in US
Performing Arts, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

User friendly and exceptional customer service.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: When I am recommending Grant Lifecycle Manager to other county agencies, I specifically mention your customer service because it is so rare to find such outstanding service at every stage in the process from sales to finance to training. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our training rep, is consistently exceptional. She is courteous, knowledgeable, and responsive. I miss her now that our regular sessions are done.

Pros:

This software is user friendly, and has allowed for a more efficient grant management process. We especially like being able to generate reports within the system, and that there's no more paper applications or evaluations is a big plus.

Cons:

In the past we had a one-page paper contract that we mailed to our grantees for completion/signature and then forwarded onto Purchasing as support material when entering the purchase requisition. When we switched to the new system, naturally we wanted to create an online contract. However, because of the new layout, each contract was multiple pages. Since we have 40 grantees, this was too much to print out, scan and email to our Purchasing Dept. In the end, we were able to work around it by creating a modified information one-pager that served our purpose.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Susan! We are happy to know that Grant Lifecycle Manager has allowed for a more efficient grant management process and that you're enjoying our reporting functionality.

Karla
Grants Administrator in US
Philanthropy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Foundant!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My work at GreaterGood as the Grants Administrator requires me to work in Foundant all day. I find it to be easy to navigate and user friendly for our applicants and partners. Whenever I have questions, Foundant Support is excellent in assisting me. Our Client Success Managers, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and now [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], have been excellent.

Pros:

Foundant is very user friendly for both our staff and applicants. All of our grants are by invitation only. We provide detailed instructions to our applicants to register in Foundant and apply. We have separate processes for the many grants we provide. I like that the processes can be customized for each type of grant. We take the Follow Up Reports very seriously. We share the reported info and impact with our donors.

Cons:

My only struggle is sometimes with Reports. Foundant Support is always very helpful with helping me figure out what to do.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review of GLM Karla! We are happy to hear that our product is user-friendly for both your staff and applicants!

Jennifer
Operations Associate in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Foundant has made grant management so easy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience has been a positive one. Both Applicants and Reviewers seem to have no issues with the system.

Pros:

I love the fact that you can copy a process. This saves so much time - there is no need for re-creating. The somewhat new feature of the option of chatting is fabulous! Again, a time saver. It allows me to multi-task. The system is user friendly.

Cons:

I would say the only piece that I cannot give the most accolades to would be the reporting. It seems to be a little clunky or it could just be the user, me. I was a little disappointed to learn that there is not a good fit for all of the roles that we need to assign to our staff members that are involved in an RFP process. Specifically, we have a someone who needs to create and edit reports but I did not want to give him full admin rights, which is what I ended up doing. Something in between would be nice. We have not utilized integration with other apps so far, but if possible, it would be nice to have the following directly connected: https://apps.irs.gov/app/eos/ and https://www.fdacs.gov/. Also, it would be nice if we could have the ability to create 3 evaluation forms since a lot of our RFPs involve a 3rd evaluation phase.

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Jennifer! We are happy to know that Grant Lifecycle Manager has helped save you time and that you're enjoying our chat functionality!

Dayna
Grants Administration Associate in US
Philanthropy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Foundant GLM Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been EXTREMELY pleased with our overall GLM experience. The support Foundant offers is beyond amazing.

Pros:

This software is very user friendly. We surveyed our grantees after implementing GLM and received all positive reviews.

Cons:

Reporting and Data Sets continue to be challenging. It makes sense when I'm at training classes but when I sit down to create a report the confusion sets in. Even though reporting is challenging I still prefer Foundant GLM over any other software product out there!

Foundant Technologies Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review, Dayna! We are happy to know that Grant Lifecycle Manager has helped your organization and that you're happy with our customer service!

Erin
Assistant to the Pres. & COO in US
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Grant Lifecycle Manager Review

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Its been a great system to use and we have invited other foundations we work with to also join Foundant, which they have.

Pros:

It is easy to use and navigate. Training was easy. Tech support is fantastic!

Cons:

reporting is very difficult. No graphs. I wish some of the documents could transfer to word or excel better.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Erin! We are so happy to hear you are satisfied with GLM!

Britta
Grants & Operations Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Foundant GLM Ease of Use

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

The customer service is always top notch. When I have questions I am always met with help by friendly kind people who walk me through the specifics. The integration of DocuSign has been helpful and I look forward to continuing to use this feature. The help buttons are very useful too and direct you to the information you need to continue moving your work forward.

Cons:

Sometimes it isn't intuitive when working with reports.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for the review Britta! We are so proud to hear that you are happy with our customer service!

Gena
Deputy Director in US
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

How GLM works for our Arts Council

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Top notch! I really enjoy the interface and customer support has always been excellent.

Pros:

It gives us the ability to provide multiple opportunities to our community and keeps us organized.

Cons:

GLM is very robust. As a smaller organization I know we don't engage with a lot of what the site has to offer. Mostly because of need (or lack of need in this case).

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Gena! We are happy to hear GLM is helping your organization stay organized!

Liz
Foundation Assistant in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding. I highly recommend GLM for grant management at any volume.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

GLM is a fairly intuitive tool for managing grant workflow. If you are having trouble, Foundant supplies a vast knowledge base to learn how to use the software step-by-step. Their customer service is outstanding. Foundant listens to user feedback and incorporates requested features into the software development pipeline. Recent improvements, such as track-able automatic emails, have resulted in increased efficiency in my workplace.

Cons:

At it's core, GLM is a database and subject to certain restrictions. That said, there are very few elements that are 100% fixed in the system-- I have no complaints.

Foundant Technologies Response

6 years ago

We really appreciate your thoughtful review, Liz! Your feedback is always welcome as we continue to ensure we've built a system that enables grantmakers to work efficiently.

Susan
Grants Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to Learn, Great Tech Support, & Saves Time

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: We are a very small foundation, all of us multi-task, and Grant Lifecycle Manager helps us maximize our time communicating and tracking grantees and processes.

Pros:

Wonderful tech support. If there is anything I have forgotten or need help on, a chat with tech support almost always solves it. I never have to wait very long for someone to chat with me and walk me through a solution.

Cons:

None that I can think of. Since we use certain features only once a year, it is easy to forget certain features. But that is an easy fix: I just chat with tech support or look up the help articles and I'm okay.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Susan! We are so happy to hear that GLM is maximizing your time and impact.

Amie
Program Associate in US
Philanthropy, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect for us

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

Great customer service, support, and education. User-friendly and intuitive. Has all the tools I need.

Cons:

Nonprofit agency users can only be listed once in the software due to the fact that each user is allowed only one email address/login. Some of our users work for multiple organizations and need more than one login.

Foundant Technologies Response

7 months ago

Thank you for your review Amie! We pride ourselves on customer service, support, and education and we are so happy to hear that you appreciate it!

Jennifer
Director, Trustee in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Working with Foundant has greatly improved what we do and how we do it.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Foundant has changed the work we do for the better!

Pros:

Foundant streamlines our grant cycle and database. It also allows our team to access applications remotely, which makes our work easier.

Cons:

We still need CRM software. I'd love to see Foundant integrate CRM into their platform so that our left hand can better connect with our right hand, so to speak. We still have to do our CRM-type of work using a separate site and it gets clunky having two separate databases doing two different things.

Foundant Technologies Response

6 years ago

Thank you so much for your review, Jennifer! Your feedback is appreciated. We look forward to chatting with you further to learn more about the CRM capabilities you'd like to see in GLM.

Dana
Executive Assistant/Grant Administrator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software and customer service

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Customer service is great with quick response times to questions from the support team. customer service agent does an amazing job for us to educate and suggest best practices/processes for our unique family foundations. We review with him annually, but can easily email him anytime for other assistance.

Cons:

Reporting features are much improved, but since we only use a few times a year, I often have to ask for assistance to customize.

Foundant Technologies Response

6 years ago

Thank you so much for your review, Dana! We shared your kind words with Andy. Your feedback on reporting is helpful as we continue to make updates that meet the needs of our clients.