15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Sports Connect

The leading provider of online registration, sports websites and league management tools for youth sports organizations.

Learn more about Sports Connect

Pros:

Customer service is an actual person who answers the phone after the prompt and assists you fully until your issue or concern is satisfied and a solution is found.

Cons:

It was slow to load when we initially loaded it but after it was loaded we haven't had any other problems with it.

Sports Connect ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Sports Connect has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 177 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sports Connect before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (177)

T Michael
T Michael
Vice President of the Board in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for our special needs little league

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It allows us to collect information for both players and volunteers in one area. The ease of use to update players information from an admin standpoint is super easy as well. Exporting of spreadsheets is simple and thorough. Best is it's free to us.

Cons:

Designing the website site is very clunky and not as user friendly as it should be. You can also only attach one file to a bulk email which is annoying.

Mandy
Assistant Director in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Superior Service in Product and Customer Service

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overall, this has been the BEST decision my league has made with regard to sports software management. I have shared our experience with other leagues in my network and encouraged them to sign up with Sports Connect as well! I'd do it again and again!

Pros:

Customer service is an actual person who answers the phone after the prompt and assists you fully until your issue or concern is satisfied and a solution is found. You are not limited to a time frame like other sports management services we used in the past. The website is user friendly to set up, manage and browse. Registration has so many options for several different situations. Sports Connect is integrated with GameChanger too!

Cons:

I have two separate organizations that I need to interact with on a daily basis and the system allows me to log in to only one platform at a time. I wish I could simply toggle between the two without being kicked out of one when I log in to the other.

Stack Sports Response

4 months ago

Hi Mandy, Your review of Sports Connect made us smile so big. Thank you for being a valued partner. -Your Sports Connect Team

John
Board President in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love Sports Connect

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Been using since way back in 2015 when it was still Blue Sombrero. Really love the software and the ease of taking registration fees and even donations. Ability to use text and email have been good additions. The actual Teams pages can take time but we just do not do that.

Pros:

Relatively easy to use for the parent to register their players and the continuity from year to year is good. Really like the ability to update/copy divisions from year to year with auto date change. Also like the ability to schedule league games automatically.

Cons:

more difficult to setup beginning of year Divisions. Really disappointed in the tryouts option. Would be nice to have way players listed on tryouts list and not have to be registered and then go back and reallocate to a team and possible ask for more registration fee.

Stack Sports Response

last week

John, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sports Connect. If you have additional feedback on how to improve tryout registration, please email [email protected]. Thank you for your almost 10 years of partnership! -Your Sports Connect Team

Paul
President in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

May be good for youth sports, overly complicated for everything else.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Blue Sombrero was very exciting when we first started and their was hope of it being able to work for adult recreational leagues. We've become disenfranchised with the over complexity of the system as it adds more features and tools for youth leagues and never fixes the issues for adult recreational leagues. Also, it greatly needs a UI simplification. Our users are lost on the volunteer registration process, but it also doesn't make sense for recreational league. It has become overbuilt on features and no longer user friendly. Slow down the development and focus on the end-user and administrators experience (SIMPLICITY). And the new team manager app doesn't appear to be connected at all to bluesombrero, which was very confusing. You have a power house of useful tools that could be leveraged better if you could develop a way for admins to customize the tools to work for them. GIve us more control and it could still be fantastic. Another feature to consider is adding a rewards or gamification for repeat playing. Giving admins the ability to disable multiple registrations per account (our adults aren't signing waivers, because their girlfriends/captains are registering on their behalf, creating a liability issue). At present, we're looking at shifting to an in-house simplified registration system, since we don't think Bluesombrero is going to work for our expansion plans. ---The support staff has always been fantastic and super responsive. That is definitely fantastic!

Pros:

-Free -game scheduling and game notification emails -discount codes -donation option on checkout

Cons:

-over built (it needs a major simplifying UI overhaul). We had to spend hours creating an in-house training manual for our staff on how to setup a league and manage it. -sold by support on implementing use for adult leagues, it never happened after 3 years and assume it is dead now -simple fixes could make this work for everyone. For example, I recently set up foxy cart for donations and they have a whole configuration section on language. I asked for two UI changes more than once years ago that are still important #1 discount codes and team codes need different names...team "ID" makes more sense. Users get confused between the two. The other is changing the name of "coaches" to "captains" for recreational leagues. We also have numerous users get lost on the volunteer/coach section altogether and then they give up. -no support for alternate payment accounts (Stripe for example would be helpful) -Verifying standings is hard to get to. I have to go to team central, which isn't always easy an admin. Then look for any ties and manually break them, since the system doesn't usually get them all right. -It would be nice if discount codes could have a percent off or a giftcard option.

Dwaine
CEO in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

What a great product

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Great product that has made communication easier.

Pros:

Easy to set up and operate. Adding other admins and team communication has improved.

Cons:

Ads no one can show me how to to shut them off for the entire organization

Stack Sports Response

2 months ago

Dwaine, Thank you so much for your review of Sports Connect. We are so happy to have you as our partner. -Your Sports Connect team

Michael
Vice President, Kings United FC in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

All inclusive Sports Management System

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: From setup, to development, and deployment all processes were easy and straightforward. At times, when shriner support was needed the call/emails were answered in a timely manner and the resources provided answered the questions the first time.

Pros:

Sports connect ease of use from building program website to team management, payments, and registration are very user friendly and give the end user an engaging but simple process.

Cons:

I would like to see development of adding the ability to assign the same registrant to multiple teams in a division. This has been the only pain point within the application.

Stack Sports Response

4 months ago

Hi Michael, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sports Connect. We are so thankful for your partnership. Thank you also for the enhancement idea. -Your Sports Connect Team

Glenn
Soccer Director in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sports connect works for us

5.0 last month New

Comments: Very positive. We have a small organization that is 100% run by volunteers. Anything that makes us more effective and efficient is welcome.

Pros:

I like the fact that i can set up my registrations, and just let them work for me. No more in person signup debacles or bounced checks. So much easier

Cons:

They do not reset the amount of fees collected after we end our season, nor can we split monies coming in from different sports.

Stack Sports Response

4 weeks ago

Hi Glen, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with Sports Connect. We enjoy hearing from you. -Your Sports Connect team

James
James
Associate Professor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product. Like all software, there is room for improvement

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Are sales and product team were great. We a very smooth experience with our reps. Scheduling meetings and demos were easy. The tech support team was also good in helping us edit our domain registration.

Pros:

I like the value. The only costs that you incur are credit card processing fees for online payments. However, it is on par with standard credit card processing fees other systems such as paypal or other sports management software. The nice features are - custom registration questions - multiple family discounts - pre-generated reports for governing bodies ( eg LittleLeague.org ) - Scheduling tools - Ability to bulk edit registration open/close dates for all divisions - Good user role options - Ability to edit and save the pre-generated reports - Plenty of layout designs and colors to choose from. Each layout template offers different features for different levels of users. It is is especially easy to use if you have ever used DotNetNuke.

Ken
Executive Director in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ken's review

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Good but sometimes we have issues. Not always easy to use

Pros:

Connectivity ease. Connection with the app too.

Cons:

Not so user friendly for the layman. We often don't understand when things go wrong.

Stack Sports Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Ken, Thank you so much for your review. We are always looking at ways to make Sports Connect easier to use. Please drop us a line at [email protected] if you have a moment to set up some time to talk about your thoughts further. Thank you for taking the time to review Sports Connect! -Your Sports Connect team

Bruce
PR Media Information consultant in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sports Connect is a must!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Sports Connect is a viable, cost effective product that is great for your sporting association. The multiple functions it can handle makes easy work of sports administration.

Cons:

The site administration can be a little troublesome to learn at first, but the many tutorials and excellent customer support will get you going in no time.

Stack Sports Response

3 weeks ago

Hi Bruce, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate you. -Your Sports Connect team

Aleecia
Registrar in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Streamlined All-Inclusive Platform

5.0 last year

Comments: The platform has been easy to use and is very intuitive. The tech support webinars are great resources but for new clients adopting a new platform, it would be great to have an option to schedule a check in to make sure everything is working as it should and resolve technical issues. I got a little frustrated feeling like e-mail was my only way to get technical support. That said, tech support was incredibly helpful as we got up and running.

Pros:

We deployed SportsConnect after years of using a competitor’s platform and found it to be really easy to set up, navigate and use. We received lots of compliments from our users too. The features we liked the most were integrated background checks, volunteer applications that could be completed when parents registered their kids, and the overall streamlined experience.

Cons:

We struggled most with the accounting; it’s difficult to follow when players are transferred to a different division with same fee and reports reflect a refund is due, even for our treasurer who has accounting background. It would also be great to be able to stack discount codes and Have the ability to apply payment plans to special fees at the time of registration. Also, I thought the GameChanger integration would be a timesaver but our scorekeeper had trouble with resyncing games when there were schedule updates.

Stack Sports Response

last year

Hi Aleecia, Thank you so much for such a well-thought out review of our platform. You bring up some great enhancements as well. We are so thankful for your partnership. I am sending you an email with our phone number if you want to save that for when you need to speak with someone next. - Your Sports Connect Team

Ana
Director of Referee Instruction and Communications in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AYSO administration

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Its ok to handle a smaller organization but with a National organziation that is ever evolving and numerous new users daily, there is too much that needs adjusting based on needs of individual regions.

Pros:

The aspect and options for the registration process is great. Easy to manage and create. Visually appealing and we love that information is stored as needed and other information is deleted for privacy purposes.

Cons:

Website is hard to manage when creating bulk emails. The edit function needs tremendous attention on functionality when trying to fromat simple templates. Also when creating teams and submitting to our sister peogram affinity sports. There is a huge disconnect with certifications not transferring or other missing information.

Stack Sports Response

4 months ago

Hi Ana, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of Sports Connect. We value our AYSO partnership tremendously and I will make sure that your feedback gets shared with our internal teams. -Your Sports Connect Team

Joe
Communications Officer in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best decision made for our little league orginization

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Dont know where to start, its a long list...
Free customizable website
Online player registration system
Volunteer registration system
Order management
Team creation and management
Easy to use game/practice scheduling system
Customizable reports for league, players, finances and more
League wide or custom targeted emails and texting
Free online apparel store with custom graphics
And tons more...

Pros:

Easy to use, comprehensive and free league management software. Vendor is constantly adding new content and features. Offers a lot of flexibility for entry level website administrators as well as advanced webmasters. The technical support is the best I've experienced in 20 years of service. Email or phone and you will get your issue resolved in a fast, professional (and sometimes quirky) manner. The software has allowed our baseball/softball league to easily manage hundreds of registrations year after year, including all the pains that come with a youth sports program. We can add, remove, refund and move registrations around with ease. Team building and scheduling is a breeze. Best of all, the system automatically updated parents when changes are made thru their team portals, email or text. I would highly recommend this product.

Cons:

It wasn't around 5-6 years earlier. Cant image all the time and aggravation that could've been avoided! ;)

Steven
President in US
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not a cost advantage for non-profit organizations

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: They were great until they got greedy.

Pros:

The features were very useful in most aspects.

Cons:

We worked very hard with selling this product to a very large non-profit athletic organization for kids in multiple sports. We help non-profits by supplying them with very low fees for credit card processing. Now our non-profit for Kids programs were forced to switch to Sports Connect's own credit card processing which is very expensive and takes funds away from the programs. This is not taking care of your customers as you advertise. These programs for kids are needed badly in our cities and Sports Connect should be satisfied with profits from the software, not from milking the credit card processing!

Obie
President in US
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dixie Softball likes Sports Connect

5.0 last year

Comments: I communication with Sports Connect and the quickness of response is of utmost importance.

Pros:

Everything is good with our association with Sports Connect

Cons:

There is nothing we liked least about Sports Connect

Stack Sports Response

last year

Obie, Thank you so much for your many years of partnership and this stellar review. We are lucky to get to work closely with you and it feels great to play a small part in supporting you and Dixie Softball in growing the game of softball and getting more girls involved in the sport. We are excited to continue to support you and partner with you so that you can provide opportunities for girls to play softball! -Your Sports Connect Team

Jamie
Club Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top Rated Customer Support and User Friendly

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is user friendly - no web design or programming experience necessary. Customer support via phone, email or online Is great! They are responsive and solve the problem. It lets parents know exactly what programs are available for their players as soon as they log in. We have plenty of flexibility to design the registration and payment plans to fit our requirements - we are not limited to a few basic templates. The price can't be beaten!

Cons:

The website requires a rotator with 4 topics and we typically don't ever need more than 2-3 so the last one or 2 are always just unneeded filler. We are only able to list one main contact on the home page. Every. Single. Save. Requires the page to refresh. It can be a pain. I wish the report exports would save as the name of what is being exported instead of something generic.

Joseph
Customer Service & Recreational Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Stafford Soccer Customer Management review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Outstanding product with 100% support to the user. Even customers that call and provide us feedback are extremely pleased with support services.

Pros:

Any time there is an issue we have 100% confidence that the customer care is there for us. Other times where we are unsure how to use the system the portal training and or Contacting [SENSITIVE CONTENT] the team is amazing and support is outstanding! Software is pretty easy to use and navigating through the system has been very user friendly.

Cons:

So far, no issues. Little things like adding a clear all button on search function and being able to edit accounts as an administrator rather than sending a roster to SC to clear would be helpful.

Jim
President in US
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Large league

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Free to organization - passes fees to individual users

Cons:

Difficult to schedule tournaments. Difficult to produce schedules with both weekday and weekend games.

Stack Sports Response

4 months ago

Hi Jim, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sports Connect. We value your feedback greatly and appreciate your partnership. Partner feedback is the backbone of how we make decisions as a team. We will need to have you look at Stack Tourney our new tournament solution and let us know what you think! -Your Sports Connect Team

Dave
President in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sports Connect for Stafford Springs Soccer Club

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: It works well for player and volunteer registration, and website communications. It is super convenient to comply with the upstream player and volunteer affiliation in CT.

Pros:

Ease of registration, both administration and member use. Linkage with CJSA statewide soccer registration system.

Cons:

Player assignment limitation. Player cannot be assigned to multiple teams. Clunky team management for individual teams / coaches.

Stack Sports Response

4 months ago

Hi Dave, A huge thank you for taking the time to write an online review for Sports Connect. We are honored to have you as our partner. -Your Sports Connect Team

Gail
President in US
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Little League user

4.0 last year

Pros:

Ease of online registration, reports, communication with team and integration with Team Manager App.

Cons:

Customer support is much harder this past year. Prior a phone number was available, now it is submitting a ticket, waiting days to get an email back, and then they say it isn’t an issue, when it clearly is still active issue and have to email them back again.

Stack Sports Response

last year

Hi Gail, Thank you so much for partnering with Sports Connect and sharing feedback with our team. If you want to speak with our team, we do still offer phone support; I sent you a message with that phone number! Also, I wanted to let you know, we are actively working on ways to improve our support response time. - Your Sports Connect Team

Becky
Administrator in US
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super service

5.0 last year

Comments: Good user experience

Pros:

Ease of using site, most functions are very simple to understand

Cons:

No things to report in this particular area

Stack Sports Response

last year

Hi Becky, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sports Connect. We value your partnership. - Your Sports Connect Team

Joyce
Owner in US
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great value and support

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It helped me automate my financial things and the calendar helped keep parents stay up with practices and tournaments. They have great customer support and wanted us to be successful.

Pros:

The software was easy to use and the support was excellent. I like that it got my teams organized and I was able to automate my parents monthly payments. It was easy to move players to different teams the next year.

Cons:

It was structured on the financial side so I couldn't change things I needed to change. I needed to add credits and payments for additional things. It had limitations on the feature side but most of it was great.

Brian
Non Profit President in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Blue Sombrero is the perfect software for our organization.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The variety of web page layouts and how everything is crisp and clear. The layouts make the website look updated and visually pleasing to users making our organizations first impression to new players a good one. Registrations are easy to set up and users like the easy way it is set up and allows for partial payments. We run multiple registrations for our regular season, camps and fundraisers all at the same time without anyone getting confused.

Cons:

The online store option is not the greatest and wish they had a logo editing option to allow for a logo that has black outline to be edited for if it is placed on a black garment. The text message option is a little difficult to use and get messages out to members as they are not automatically activated when they sign up.

Stack Sports Response

6 years ago

Thank you for the review and feedback, Brian! Happy to hear about your experience and always good to hear from admins like yourself.

Steve
Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall it's been a great experience. Much easier than my previous website provider.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The countless layouts to choose from. I like to color options and the social media additions. The adding and deleting of information is easy, no real need to create new stuff.

Cons:

The roster system. It's too complicated and I end up having to addany of the registrants manually. The process needs to parent friendly.on the front side.

Anthony
Coach in US
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great job!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great experience.

Pros:

Ease of use, all of the features are very convenient to use.

Cons:

No dislikes to mention, the value is great.