15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About MOVEit

Effectively secures, automates, manages, and protects critical data as well as processes and workflows.

Learn more about MOVEit

Pros:

It also give immense flexibility to be integrated with other softwares. It is highly used for running tasks related to file transfer, renaming them and even archiving them.

Cons:

If I were to leave my position, this keeps an audit record that my supervisor and potential future replacement could have access to even if they did not have access to my MOVEit account.

MOVEit ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

MOVEit has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 93 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MOVEit before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (93)

Timothy
Timothy
Senior Infrastructure Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Airlines/Aviation
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top notch products and company.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: A consistent and dependable platform for worldclass managed file transfer.

Pros:

I give Ipswitch and their products the highest marks in all categories. They are very strong and consistent in all area's and are what I like to call "the full meal deal".

Cons:

The looming threat that they could go public someday and risk losing that personal touch we have become accomstomed with.

Sean
IT Support Analyst II in US
Financial Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of MoveIt Automation

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The biggest benefit I have seen is the ability to give people control to do their work without having to install a program on their PC. By giving them access to the Web interface it make deployment to users easy.

Pros:

The feature I like the most is the ability to have tasks start other tasks so that you can create processes that require little to no intervention.

Cons:

The one thing I do not like is not having the ability to sort files when you browse them using MoveIt. Some times you need to find files for a specific date but because MoveIt sorts by name it make it hard to find files in large file repositories.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good start but a little lacking

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Managed file transfer is something that can be difficult to do an even more difficult to do right. MOVEit is a good start and they offer 80 percent of any features that a company may need. The ability to finely control the flow of documents that are transmitted to us was the best feature.

Cons:

They were not able to handle a very high volume of files being transferred. This was a deal breaker for us but they were good otherwise.

Progress Software Response

5 years ago

Thank you for the honest feedback back. I have passed this information on to our Product Management group.

Donna
Application Development Analyst III in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Progress MOVEit is one stop solution for file transfers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Enterprise consolidated file transfer mechanism.

Pros:

MOVEit is easy to use and easy to train

Cons:

File Activity Report displays host friendly name not true connection. If Friendlyname is not specific you dont know the true connection that is occuring.

Jeff
Applications and programming Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MOVEit does exactly what we need it to do.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been very pleased with MOVEit. It is relatively inexpensive and give us exactly what we need. Prior to MOVEit we had file transfer tasks housed on multiple servers around the organization and each one of these transfers was custom scripted. We've used MOVEit to centralize all file transfers to a central location that is managed by a team that is well versed in our data governance policies. This has allowed us to easily manage, monitor, and report what data is leaving our organization via file transfers. A secondary benefit of MOVEit is it's ease of use. Our MOVEit administrators can setup a new automated and scheduled task in a few minutes with no scripting needed. But when more complicated data manipulations are needed we also can easily incorporate a custom script into the MOVEit task. This ease of use is key to our small team managing 1500 file transfer tasks.

Pros:

MOVEit is extremely simple to use but still offers robust and extensive functionality. We currently have about 1500 file transfer and/or manipulation tasks setup in MOVEit. Most of these are scheduled and run without human intervention. It is a stable product that rarely has issues. In the 5+ years we've owned it we've only had one instance where we needed a patch from support. MOVEit drag and drop task builder allows the team to setup a new task in a matter of minutes.

Cons:

There's not much we don't like about MOVEit. But it would be nice to have a smoother transfer of tasks from a testing environment to production. We've also builtbri

Robert
Infrastructure Engineer in US
Chemicals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Swiss army knife of file transfer

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We bought and installed MoveIT Central to do some quick internal and external file moving that our Unix team couldn't (wouldn't?) do. It wasn't expensive so it fit in the budget. Once we got it going, we quickly realized that it would do WAY more than we thought, and inside of about a year, we had EVERY other transfer script and workflow moved over to it, with full logging, security, and notifications (which we didn't have before). Then we purchased MoveIT DMZ (Transfer?) and we replaced all of our other FTP/SFTP functions as well. We even replaced our Ad-Hoc collaboration solutions with it.

Pros:

The best part of this software is the fact that you can configure and put into production a secure file transfer in minutes, and you'll be able to do everything that's been requested. You'll spend more time telling everybody that it's done than the time you spent doing it.

Cons:

I love the scripting feature, however I'd like to see the company include more pre-written scripts in the base software package. Until they do that, you'll likely be writing your own. It's not hard, but if you want that kind of capability, you'll need to learn how to do it.

Samuel
Applications Support Analyst in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MOVEit Automation is an effective platform for providing for our SFTP connectivity needs.

5.0 last year

Comments: MOVEit helps for us to solve problems with needing to securely transfer files to vendors in an automated manner. With MOVEit, we are able to send files in a given directory to a vendor on a scheduled basis (ex: once daily at 8AM).

Pros:

It is easy to make use of MOVEit Automation to automate file transfer jobs between our network and outside vendors. I also appreciate that we can incorporate notification emails in the event of task failure/success.

Cons:

One downside to MOVEit is that I've found it difficult to, for example, create a task that cleans up file folders that are older than three weeks. I spoke with a Progress support agent regarding this, and he stated that this wasn't something that is natively supported, but it could possibly be accomplished with some scripting. If such a feature were to be added to the native MOVEit Automation platform, it would be much easier to clean up old archive files within a given directory.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moveit Transfer and Automatin

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Although both products place me in the middle of any two given entities, they also allow me to bridge the gap between sender and consumer for critical operations, including payroll and bank transactions.

Pros:

Transfer is super-secure, and able to handle large volumes of file activity. Automation is feature-rich and the user interface allows for easy file transfer troubleshooting.

Cons:

Automation requires Tomcat knowledge if you want to secure with a certificate. Transfer reporting options could be more robust.

Irfanudeen
Irfanudeen
Business Development Executive in India
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simply transfer your files under secure environment

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use Progress MOVEit in my both professional and personal space because of its reliablility, security, simple to use, and safety features. It helps me in trust-building with my customers, they were relax that their sensitive data like KYC documents transmits under secure environment.

Pros:

Progress MOVEit is highly secure, so we can share sensitive business data. The deployment of the application is very simple and highly user-friendly. The mobile version supports in both android and ios platform, which really helps a lot in the handy access of files and transfers.

Cons:

Need more installed scripts for the highly safe and secure file transmission. Need to improve the user interface in the mobile version.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable file transfer

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Secure and reliable data exchange with clients.

Pros:

The high availability and consistency in which this software process files

Cons:

In some cases, my team had challenges getting the software fully setup and streamlined. Installation issues required some effort to navigate through.

Andre
Manager, Information Technology in US
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Once it is set up, it is a solid product. We've been using it for years and have had minimal issues with it.

Pros:

The fact that secure file transfer and secure e-mail is in the same product.

Cons:

The support/troubleshooting could be a little better when issues are identified.

Cassie
System Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MoveIT makes file move management a breeze

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: MoveIT reduces the need for scripting and monitoring scheduled tasks across our organization. Logs clearly show file names and times. In addition, the ability to set jobs to move only new files reduces the chance of errors.

Pros:

The ease of use and administration. MoveIt is a one-stop shop for all of our file move management, is easy to maintain and has logging built in when and if needed. In addition, MoveIT allows for custom PowerShell scripting, which expands the possibilities and covers all of our needs.

Cons:

When vulnerabilities are found, you have to get security to provide the output to progress support. Most commonly, this is the version of the MySQL connector. But, again, these should be relatively straightforward requests.

Jacqueline
Enterprise Application Architect in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moveit Solution

5.0 last year

Pros:

The best thing about Moveit is it's ease of use and reliability. It is extremely functional and holds up our production environment. It is a vital part of our overall solution and we have not had any issues with it.

Cons:

We have had no concerns with Moveit. It integrates easily with Vendor software.

Daniel
Technical Support Specialist in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MOVEit is a feature rich product suite with quality support materials

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: MOVEit is robust and reliable. It doesn't give us many problems if any. We can trust that no matter what else is going on in our environments, file transfer can be trusted to up and running.

Pros:

I appreciate the quantity and quality of the documentation available for MOVEit. Even though it is a highly complex product, it is possible to confidently configure much of it yourself without much assistance just by familiarizing yourself with the administrator's guide.

Cons:

My organization ran into an issue when trying to integrate MOVEit Transfer with VMWare NSX-V. In order to make an SFTP connection, VMWare required the server key to use elliptical curve (ECDSA) but MOVEit only allows for RSA. There was no way around this limitation so we had to setup a completely isolated FTP environment to handle this use case.

Ivy
COO in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MoveIt Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's important for our technology stack but I feel like it was not deployed using best practices.

Pros:

The automation feature is the most useful for our platform.

Cons:

This required a lot of integration on our part and it's unclear if we had best practices when deploying.

Michael
AVP Corporate Information Systems in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent well polished product

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience has been excellent. We have used the software for many years and it keeps getting better!

Pros:

Ease of use Reliability - Set it and forget it for the most part Well polished interface

Cons:

Support for certain types of issues could be better (eg. Database related performance issues)

Maggie
Manager, Technology in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall Experience

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been good, consistent, and reliable.

Pros:

Fairly easy to use. Once we implemented our operational end users found it to be helpful and valuable eliminating manual steps of workflows

Cons:

At times it is difficult to determine what certain MoveIt jobs do.

Natalie
System Support Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moveit

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall I like it and it seems once you know how it works, it is pretty easy for people to navigate.

Pros:

I like that it is secure and is easy to walk users through (usually)

Cons:

We sometimes have difficulties with users resetting their passwords

Clayton
Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very nice tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far the experience has been very positive. We hope that as we continue to transition all of our file transfers to this tool we will continue to have no issues.

Pros:

Ease of use. Front end UI is very user friendly

Cons:

Unzipping feature could not handle volume we where trying to use it for. Had to build another Home grown tool because server kept crashing.

Matthew
Matthew
Sr. Systems Engineer - Availability in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for scheduled tasks!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like the ability to schedule jobs and have them record what is moved in a database where we can see historically what has happened with our customers' import/export tasks. The ability to email on success/failure events and the flexibility of task configuration is great.

Cons:

The upgrade process between versions is not as easy as I would like. We encountered multiple problems and had to get professional services to assist. License configuration with regards to PGP encryption has also been problematic and overly complicated, but I hear that has been streamlined for newer customers.

AleJANDRO
Director of IT in US
Airlines/Aviation, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

FUCTIONALITIES

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: easy to deploy and end-user friendly

Pros:

We use a lot the automation, which make the processes easy to use

Cons:

the solution is not as cheap as other products

Erik
System Admin in US
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Product with Great Results

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use and the quality of the product. Not an overly expensive utility for us to use and solved our MFT issues

Cons:

Cant think of any issues with the product to be honest

Akshay
Editor-In-Chief in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My experience with Progress MOVEit

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: MOVEit was simple to set up, and their customer service gave all of the information we required. The solution has allowed us to eliminate all batch file-based moving activities across our organization.

Pros:

MOVEit is relatively simple to use but at the same time, offers robust and extensive functionality. The majority of our file transfers and manipulation tasks are pre-programmed and run without the need for human intervention. It is a reliable product with few flaws. The drag-and-drop task builder in MOVEit allows the team to create a new assignment in minutes.

Cons:

My team experienced some difficulties getting the program fully configured and simplified in several circumstances. It took considerable effort to work through the installation concerns.

Christophe
IT Director in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use it to move financial reports to outside parties.
Saved countless hours and potential errors

Pros:

Easy to use, intuitive GUI Works well API allows for custom app development if desired

Cons:

Software/SSL certificate updates a bit complicated

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, Extremely reliable, Secure

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Being able to bypass email for sending large files was our primary goal.

Pros:

The software is very easy for sending or receiving large files that would otherwise not be allowed via email. The software has great security systems in place that stop bots and brute force attacks. Many different connectivity options.

Cons:

Would like to see better client software for syncing and sending files. Drag and drop of files or folders is needed.