Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About MantisBT

Written in PHP, this free issue tracking software is written under GNU protocol.

Learn more about MantisBT

Filter reviews (92)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used MantisBT before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (92)

Giorgia Z.
program manager in Italy
Machinery, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A useful tool for multiple functions

4 6 months ago

Comments: I'm using this tool to manager our quality system of a testing laboratory . And in particular I use mantis to manage system anomalies, to manage tests, and to manage the laboratory's instrument inventory.

Pros:

The best thing about the tool is that it is very flexible and allows it to be used for several very different applications. Within our company it's used as a database for anomaly management, for non-conformity and quality issues management, for patent portfolio management, for accredited test laboratory management.

Cons:

Nothing in particular, but a colleague of mine takes care of the "customization" of the tool according to our needs, but it is not entirely easy to implement these changes to the code. Obviously it's normal that it's like that and that to modify the code you need someone "expert" who knows the language in code

Diane R.
National Sales & Project Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keeps my world running smoothly

4 last year

Comments: I've been using the product for over five years and it does the job.

Pros:

I use this product daily to manage all tasks involved in multiple online development projects. It is easy to use, keeps everything organized in one place and is easy to update and customize to my needs.

Cons:

It currently meets my needs so no critique at this time. It would be great to have additional training on features we may not be aware of.

Pamela A.
IT Support Analyst in US
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MantisBT for Support Ticket Tracking

4 2 years ago

Comments: We use MantisBT for our Support Staff to report, track and research problems our customers have encountered with our software product. At the same time, it is also used by our software development team to report and track issues and enhancements with our software. Being able to correlate the two is something that other support tracking software cannot do.

Pros:

It is easy to use, customizable and works well for integrating issues between support and development teams.

Cons:

Not that it is truly a bad thing, but there are just so many fields as options, it can be overwhelming.

Verified Reviewer
CEO in Singapore
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ugly but free and works

5 3 years ago

Comments: I've been using Mantis in both companies I cofounded. Everyone was horrified at the UI, but I never had a single issue with managing it.

Pros:

Free Has everything for bug tracking and project management Simple enough to never break

Cons:

The UI is, as they'd put it in the action movies, "one ugly m.er" - aesthetics of a service elevator Configuration must be done by editing PHP files, not cool

Amit K.
Technical Lead in
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good Product for bug tracking

4 4 years ago

Comments: I am recommending to use Mantis

Pros:

I've had Mantis running since last 2 year without trouble. The reporter simply logs in and reports a problem. This is very easy to use. User can log his bug and track the status very easily. Best tool for bug tracking.

Cons:

I have no issue to use this product but design view is not good. Need to improve some graphical look and feel.

Ivica B.
owner in Serbia
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complicated life of tickets

4 last year

Comments: It is useful to complete all needed daily tasks but it is not the best solution.

Pros:

Possibility to link many tickets with the different options (parent-child, duplicate...)

Cons:

Overview of the tickets is sometimes a nightmare. There are many filters to apply on the list but sometimes the export didn't work as it should be.

Rushi B.
E-Commerce Specialist in Canada
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best for the Bigger Projects and Time consuming for the smaller one

4 3 years ago

Comments: Its the very good software as its free and I am Technical. Don't use it if you don't have Technical Knowledge.

Pros:

- Open Source and Free - Lots of Functionality to track and maintain the Bugs - Make the issues relationship and get the perfect estimation. - Great Reporting for the Ongoing Projects - Easy to upload on the server.

Cons:

- Take lots of Space on the server and if its shared hosting it will become super slow - The Layout is very much Outdated looks like 90's OLD Movie.

Ross D.
Web Developer in New Zealand
Graphic Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for basic project management

4 4 years ago

Pros:

If you are look for a basic bug tracking system for software development, this is one of the tools you might want to look at. Got all the basic things you need to start a project.

Cons:

Not as feature rich and as cutomizable as some other bug tracking/project management tools like jira.

Verified Reviewer
Vice President Of Technology in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mantis is a tried and true bug tracking software for teams.

4 3 years ago

Comments: Used by a team of developers and testers to report, track and resolve bugs/issues/defects.

Pros:

Very customizable, and allows full teams to us it. Features for the free version are still great. Automatic emails to team members.

Cons:

Interface is a little out dated and clunky. Could use a nice modern refresh with a bit of UX input.

Chethan M.
Technology Lead in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

MantisBT is a popular open source bug tracking tool and easier to use.

4 3 years ago

Pros:

MantisBT is a light and easy to use Bug tracking software. MantisBT has gained popularity as it is easy to install and can start using the same in few hours. MantisBT is a Web based tool built on PHP and MySQL platform. MantisBT has some nice features and the same are easy to configure for most of the MantisBT administrators. The MantisBT UI is comparatively easier to customize and the fields can be modified as per the organizations requirements. The notifications features makes the MantisBT bug tracking more effective. In MantisBT the Administrators can easily add users of different roles and it has very good Access control mechanism. The easy to use MantisBT UI requires a shorter learning curve for new users.Testers can easily raise the bugs, add supporting documents, assign to other users, add users using CSV file etc.

Cons:

MantisBT has several nice to have features but also has some demerits or disadvantages. MantisBT is comparatively slow. MantisBT UI is not so appealing. As MantisBT is open source there is always the security concerns and not so good Support team for quick help on the MantisBT software. One need to rely upon the Forums or user community for help or plugins.

David P.
Scrum Master in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good bug track tool

4 last year

Pros:

Customizable. Intuitive. It's very easy to use, and it's free. Really, If you don't have a bug track tool yet, give it à try.

Cons:

Reporting feature should be optimized. UI could be better, but maybe it's PHP related.

Helder M.
Helder M.
Tecnologia in Brazil
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

User Experience

4 2 years ago

Comments: My experience has been relatively good as I use it daily with my team.

Pros:

A very simple interface, very good graphical reports, daily use eclipse compatibility with my tech team.

Cons:

Very poor user support without questions can improve this issue as it makes daily development difficult

Verified Reviewer
Head Of Customer Experience in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Gets the job done

3 3 years ago

Pros:

as a non-dev, i found mantis pretty straightforward and easy to use. i could always go back and reference past tickets, plus submitting a new ticket was simple & fast. appreciated the status change logs for each ticket and the comment/conversation section kept me up to date on everything. email notifications for actions taken we also appreciated.

Cons:

having now moved to jira, all i can really say is that mantis is very bare-bones. it absolutely gets the job done but lacks some rich context fields/tracking. the UI and general look could use a facelift. i never understood how mantis worked for our dev tea, but speaking from the operations side of a start up i didn't truly have any complaints with mantis.

Verified Reviewer
Chief Software Architect in Hungary
Verified LinkedIn User
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I use it for tracking issues on software I develop

4 4 years ago

Comments: It's a free bug tracker software, nothing less, nothing more.

Pros:

Mantis BT is easy to maintain, it is free, it is fast and really easy to customize. Requirements are standard php/mysql.

Cons:

There are not so many plugins/extensions in the market. Also mobile applications for Android/iOS are missing (but still you can use the browser)

Daniel P.
Daniel P.
Consultor de BPM in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

If you want to control bugs, MantisBT is the best solution.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Suitable software to track errors, inform the team through fault reports. It is important to highlight that MantisBT has a free license that allows multiple options to carry the day to day of the software that is already in the test stage. For the user, it has a nice interface and the team can be notified of each stage of the test cycle.

Cons:

Your options are limited when it comes to customizing and creating new reports and more accurate tracking of manual test cases. Does not allow direct interaction between users.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Project Manager in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bug Tracking Extended

5 last month New

Comments: It does bug tracking well but the interface + features provided could improve inline with their competitors

Pros:

If Bug Tracking is what you want to do, MantisBT has you covered on all aspects of tracking an issue, from identification up to fixing and verification. The workflows and structure can be configured to how your team works and the team composition and it also has all the tracking/documenting features needed on a normal QA process. The Roadmap and Wiki features are great for management and planning aspects of bugs/issues and delivery.

Cons:

Installation (Standalone) and customization to fit your specific organization/project can be a bit of a hassle especially if you want specific workflows or if you rely on external integrations for bug tracking/reporting needs. For someone who is new to MantisBT, it will take some time to get used to the user interface + there won't be easy 'wizards/tips' to guide them through the flows.

Bharat S.
Bharat S.
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bug tracking tool

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Mantis is very easy bug tracking tool. Users can easily submit and tracking daily tasks and bug on mantis. Most of companies using this software to testing purpose. Tester assign bugs/issues found during testing over different project. A tester can attach screen shot, documents of bugs. Mantis feature are very simple to use.

Cons:

The User interface looks older. Bulk data uploading in mantis is not happen at once sometimes.

Syed A.
Senior Business Systems Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Syed Mantis Review

3 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using Mantis for my current company for almost 4 years. This software is being used for tracking and assigning issues/tickets to the team for different projects and you can follow up with your team members by manually going into the specific ticket what is due for that day etc. I gave Mantis 3 stars because there are limitations and have some boundaries.

Pros:

Easy to use. User friendly

Cons:

You don't have a way to track stuff automated way. Where you should receive notification if a person did not touch the ticket and the deadline is near. You have to go in and track all those things manually. Where a person who assigned the case and the person to whom the case is assigned both should receive automatic reminders and warnings.

Chetan K.
TeamLead in India
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mantis-Nice Bug tracking tool

5 5 years ago

Comments: Mantis BT is really good bug tracking tool. Its open source, web-based, free and very useful tool for managing bugs. Life cycle of an issue can be easily managed and tracked.
Health of the project can be view by checking the status of bugs. Send E-mail to each individual on status change of the task. A good tool to in a project.

Sanjeev K.
Sr. software eng. in
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good for issue tracking

5 4 years ago

Pros:

This product is good for small projects to track the issue. By using this, we can generates the reports on different filter basis. Also, log the discussion points during the progress of task.

Cons:

Filter is not customizable. But i will recommend this because it will give us a productive working facility.

Verified Reviewer
Quality Assurance Engineer in Portugal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Rock solid Bug Tracker

4 4 years ago

Pros:

- Simple installation and use. - Allows customization to address different project needs. - Useful integration with Testlink allowing to assign bugs to test cases

Cons:

- UI is very outdated. - The reporting tools are limited. - The installation files lack any kind of documentation.

Kirti K.
Senior Software Engineer in India
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User friendly bug tracking tool

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Mantis is open source and highly customizable bug tracking tool. It is very user friendly and has a simpler GUI.A must have tool for any project

Cons:

Reporting can be improved, user customization can be enhanced and integration with othet project management tool can be added

Verified Reviewer
Test Analyst in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It is a simple bug tracking tool and can be used in more than one project

4 2 years ago

Comments: Mantis is a good bug tracking tool, it is free and can be used in several projects.

Pros:

It is free, easy to use and has a simple workflow to track the bugs.

Cons:

The interface could be better to have a better user experience. Sometimes the icons get me confused.

Chad B.
Computer Repair Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A great tool for keeping track of various bugs and issues.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

The best part about Mantis is that it's free and open source. Our team of developers where able to implement it rather quickly into our information system to use as a bug/issue tracker. We like it so much we plan on widening the scope to use it for an online helpdesk ticket system for our district.

Cons:

With it being open source there are a few bugs here in there of it's own accord. Sometimes access permissions can get kind of wonky and there isn't an easy way to delegate only certain amount of access to a single person.

Rajesh B.
Senior Software Developer in India
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Bug tracker with categorization

5 3 years ago

Comments: It can be more interactive with more real status.

Pros:

It is awesome tool to track bugs and display them with bug level.It gives you clear picture of critical bugs and shows current status.you do not need to manage excel as it is more interactive.

Cons:

Multiple users can not add summary as it provides only a single section.User interface can be improved.