15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Bugzilla

Ideal for website developers, the bug tracking system helps users manage and track change requests, bug modification and more.

Learn more about Bugzilla

Pros:

Bugzilla not only by default provides one window solution for bug tracking but also since it is open source solution i can customize it for my need.

Cons:

Lack of mobile based UI. Steep learning curve in administration tasks.

Bugzilla ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Bugzilla has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 135 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Bugzilla before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (135)

Ramon Israel
Ramon Israel
Project Manager in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best value for your money.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I really like bugzilla for error management, as a testing company, something it gets hard to merge our internal operation to external operantion´s customers, so far with Bugzilla this task gets very easy.

Pros:

It is very scallable. Easy to manage. Easy to deploy. Easy to share to internal team and customers.

Cons:

From my experience it was not very easy to install, as it is an open software, I needed to pay for a third party for deployment. So far, this allows it to be very easy and it is quite cheap (250 USD per year for 5GB storage).

yossi
Head of QA in Israel
Security & Investigations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

the easiest way to track bugs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: i love the fast ability to activate it and use it. basic functionality can be moderated and it is very close and similar to Jira

Pros:

i love the fact that installment is easy and fast and users can start working within the hour. when you manage large scale teams, you don't want to "burn time" on setting things up. the fact it is common and familiar makes it easy for new users to start using it fast and there is no ramp-up time to learn it

Cons:

as a security company, there is always fear of loosing info, or being hacked. need an ability to be able to download all the boards and use them offline

Chetan
Chetan
Customer Experience Director in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Better alternatives available

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience with Bugzilla was good. Back then there was no JIRA (or atleast it wasn't as popular as it is now) or ZOHO, and hence the adoption was a no-brainer. Since the rise of Atlassian and JIRA, the market share has completely been wiped away, barring a few customers/companies who still run it. And the beauty of FOSS has helped them retain some of their loyal users. The interface is very light, deployment is easy and no maintenance is needed unless there's a security upgrade coming.

Pros:

When I used Bugzilla early on in my career, and I am speaking about 10 years ago, it was my first issue tracking software as a QA Engineer. The simplicity of the tool really got me further interested in the Quality career. While there are many sophisticated tools out there for issue management, a few things that work in it's favor is the community support, free-and-open-source (FOSS) and the ease of deployment. Their email alerts are very useful and detailed. Their reports were pretty good back in the day.

Cons:

Their limited pace in the development and continuous improvement of the tool has been the reason for it losing it's marketshare. The most recent version was last deployed in 2016 (yes, 6 years ago), and in this time, if you are not up to date with the most recent and relevant asks, somebody is bound to take over your marketshare. That said, the company I work with still uses it (alongwith paid support) to ensure we are keeping track of long-running projects.

Ramindu
Ramindu
Software Technical Lead in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bugzilla: The grandad of modern bug tracking software

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Bugzilla has been a part of our organization's roster of bug tracking tools for as far as I can remember, and has always been simple, effective and up to the mark in terms of managing large applications with a large number of issues being reported by an active QA team all day, every day.

Pros:

Bugzilla has always been, and always will be one of the best and most well-known bug tracking tools. It is so well-known that it will get used as the basic yardstick against which other newer tools are measured. That being said, Bugzilla provides a simple interface which gets you towards getting your job done, which is to report/fix bugs, in a hurry. The controls are intuitive and self-explanatory. You don't need a huge manual to figure it out.

Cons:

Throughout the years Bugzilla has been quite clunky at times with saved bug reports not getting saved, search not working properly etc., but the modern version has next to no issues.

shelly
tester in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bugzilla : The ultimate bug tracking tool

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overall experience is that it is a good tool for defect tracking and gives user the flexibility of uploading test results in .jpg , .png and video format.

Pros:

The most important Pro of bugzilla is the ease of use. Freshers can easily get a hand of it and focus on testing rather than learning a tool to report the bugs found.

Cons:

Major drawback is it lacks the way to track exploratory testing results and can't automatically add test case execution results.It takes a lot of time to fill up all the bug description form.

ravi
ravi
Associate Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best tool for tracking issues

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A handy tool for beginners, good tracking of the issues and all the emails are sent perfectly for every issue. We have resolved many issues of some of our softwares with it's help. The team is happy with the information tracking on issues.

Pros:

We can link so many people to an issue and any findings will be reported to all the people in the email list. The database capabilities are very optimized. I think there is no match to bugzilla when it comes to pricing, an open source alternative to our worries. We have some great login options availaible with bugzilla.

Cons:

Weak support with third party tools and low integration is making it fade. However a large community always has answers to your questions, but some questions still goes unanswered.

Gagandeep
Gagandeep
Associate Project Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Bugzilla use for bug tracking and its open source tool.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I am using Bugzilla in my day to day activity. Its up to the marks. It can manage my daily activity of bugs.

Pros:

Bugzilla is a bug tracking tool. It is an open source project for mozilla. Its best for test case management. We dont need to buy the license for bugzilla. Its completely free. Some of the key features are; Wide range of formats for bug lists. We can track the time. Informative report. Watch other user options. Last but not the least, we can use lot of Add-on.

Cons:

UI is not much user friendly like old fashioned and unattractive. And kind of bit slow. Other than that its really good and ofcourse free.

Darshan
Darshan
Linux and Virtualization specialist. in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best tool to keep a track of bug

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Bugzilla is the integral part of our devops team, We used in on daily basis to keep a track of bugs being filed

Pros:

One of the best open source tools available in market to keep a track on bugs being logged, Track there progress until the fix being applied

Cons:

Being a community edition Bugzilla still lags in terms of extensions & API's available for integration with third party tools

Slobodan
Slobodan
Customer Support Specialist in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bug tracking tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Since it is open source bug tracking tool it is not bad at all. While it has wide range of features for incident tracking it fails to bend a little bit and be adoptable to user needs.

Pros:

Simple UI, Cloud integration, Stability, duplicate bug detection

Cons:

Search results often fail to match searched criteria, not able to attach several files at the same time

Sarath
Sarath
Automation Test Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Great bug Tracking Software tool

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Bugzilla tool has always been is one of the best bug tracking tool, i used this tool around 2 years Easy to logging issue and tracking this tool every one easy to understanding

Cons:

Bugzilla bug tracking tool lot of features is available, but some attachment file size limited

Eric
Chief Product Officer in US
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Bugzilla was my app of choice until I found out how much was missing

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's plug and play and works in the way that makes sense for most people.

Pros:

The ease of use and status-focus allows Bugzilla to be extremely approachable and for a tiny team, it works well. I never have had to explain it to anyone; engineers just pick it up instant.

Cons:

Reporting is a limitation for Bugzilla. For me, to keep close track of workflows, Bugzilla just fails me and it's why I changed to another system.

Ross
PM in US
Entertainment, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good, but a bit outdated on-prem issue-tracking solution

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's a robust issue-tracking suite with all the features you'd need: admin-side control over exposed fields and forms, workflows, good security, watching issues, notifications, etc. Fairly inexpensive if you're willing to go through the trouble of installing and maintaining it on your own servers.

Cons:

In a world where everyone is moving towards the cloud, on-prem solutions seem outdated, lack the required level of integrations with other cloud software and require skills that are harder to find for deployment and maintenance. The UI also feels a bit from the 90ies and won't make your developers or QA community particularly happy. Overall, I find that the learning curve of Bugzilla is a bit longer than that of cloud-based systems like Jira.

MANJU
QA in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool for bug management and tracking.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, Bugzilla is a great tool for bug tracking and management, and it is available as an open source tool.

Pros:

It is an open source tool for bug tracking and management. We can customize as per our requirements. It offers an advanced search option, it is very useful to find required data from the list. We can receive email notifications for the updates in bug. Also supports different type of charts and reports.

Cons:

It would be nice to improve the mobile UI, now it is a little difficult to handle. Also, the customization needs an expert support.

Gangani
Gangani
Senior QA engineer in Sri Lanka
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Issue tracking System

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: When doing QA , to log tested functions issues i used this tool. When creating an issues at the same time project relevant parties get update at the same time.

Pros:

- Can customize the screen ( Issue log in page) - Can generate reports easily - Easy to manage

Cons:

When creating an issue, for same category have to log on by one , if can enter multiple entries for 1 issues id it will be grate...

François
DBA in Canada
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Manage your bugs, features and development cycles right here.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use it daily and in a validated environment, it does support our regulated needs.

Pros:

Mature software, good management of bug history, versions, for multiple products, very customizeable as well.

Cons:

Automated testing not supported as built-in functions. We managed to do it with an add-on but the graohical interface for this is not intuitive.

Manoj
TA in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I am using Bugzilla for past 7-8 years for defect life cycle.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Being a free tool it is easy for small companies to adapt with ease.

Pros:

Easy to use search options of searching any defect Sorting search results with severities and other fields.

Cons:

Difficult to analyse logging of the defect with respect to different logs that being attached and managing these attachments with history.

Hemant
PV Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A good tool to manage the software development.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The tool, Bugzilla is very useful and helpful for bug tracking. It is quite easy to file defects/issues, track the bugs based. We can easily update the assignee, dev, and we can create multiple sub-releases. We can easily update filters and reports can be fetched easily.

Cons:

More fields can be included to make the tracking easy. Overall the quality of the bug tracking software is good.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We used the product for tracking all of our software development bugs

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I was able to log bugs quickly for my team

Pros:

It was quick and easy to report our bugs. I was able to enter the info necessary in a quick manner without spending a lot of time filling out unnecessary fields

Cons:

I did find the interface to be a bit out of date. It seemed very 90's to me. I also had a hard time getting the reports out of the system

Hitesh
Associate Test Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bugzilla one of the best tools to log bugs

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Bugzilla is a free and open-source tool suitable for small and large projects. It can be integrated with business mail to track the status of individual logged bugs.

Pros:

Bugzilla one of the best tools in the market to logs bugs. Bugzilla can be integrated with any project management tool. Duplicate efforts can be avoided. Easy to track and manage the bugs in the project.

Cons:

The UI can be improved. Little difficult to customize as per project needs. Difficult to attach large files while reporting bugs.

Giovani
Project Manager in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ideal for bug tracking management

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We used Bugzilla in several projects and found out it is best used in projects where only maintenance is needed. It has a strong focus on bug tracking and resolution.

Cons:

It was difficult to customize Bugzilla to use it in projects starting from scratch. We eventually moved to Jira.

AMR
technical lead in Egypt
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

iam happy by using Bugzilla

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

great performance and emailing system on it

Cons:

the user interface and colors need to be more attractive :)

Roman
QA Manager in Israel
Internet, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bugzilla review

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

BugZilla one of the best free issue trackers

Cons:

No UI skins today UI in new projects are more buitifull

Eric
SW QA
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

It does what it needs to do

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It can easily be customized and the states are clear. Functionality-wise, it worked well for tracking task items.

Cons:

The UI is a bit outdated. I definitely had a decent amount of trouble importing test cases from CSV, so the ease of use here should improve.

Thomas
Director in Hong Kong
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great and easy to use, but productivity-wise needs improvement

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Debugging and testing software.

Pros:

Very cheap, perpetual license, and comes with a wide range of common features.

Cons:

Because raising issues is a very frequent task, I find it not very convenient, especially when I didn't find shortcut keys.

Aparanji
Qa lead
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Bugzilla is awesome

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I am using this tool from past five years and I love it