NetApp OnTap is crucial for our daily business

Reviewed on 15/01/2019
James H.
Network Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My overall experience with NetApp OnTap has been great. When it was implemented we consolidated geographically dispersed storage systems into several NetApp clusters in 2 datacenters. Having all of our data manageable in one pane of glass has been great.

Pros: OnTap provides great tools for managing and administering our storage infrastructure. The best feature is the OnTap Unified Manager which puts all of your storage information in a single pane of glass.

Cons: When using OnTap, there is a learning curve if you are coming from other storage providers such as Dell or HP. It was not very easy to get right into and figure out, but NetApp does offer training to help with this.

Versatile but challenging

Reviewed on 09/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Supervisor of Network Administration
Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Stable & versatile, but you need to have an advanced degree to administer or monitor.

Pros: NetApp has always risen to the top of the list in terms of versatility and reliability. We’ve always appreciated having the options to connect to our data however we need (CIFS, iSCSI, NFS), and over the 6 years we’ve had it in operation, it’s been extremely stable & reliable.

Cons: Administration has been a challenge. Their On Command dashboard has improved over the years, but still leaves much to be desired. Not very intuitive, and can be difficult to navigate. You need a separate VM for performance monitoring, and it is also cumbersome to use. And our worse frustration is system upgrades. Through their support website, you can generate a detailed upgrade guide, but it’s 28 pages long, full of dozens of complicated CLI commands. It should not be this difficult. Other vendors have one click upgrades.

NetApp is a flexible storage that is easy to use

Reviewed on 01/02/2018
Adrian M.
Senior Storage Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: easy data management

Pros: the rapid recovery of data by using snapshots, the new data management by using fabric pool and the integration with all the tools that they provide

Cons: the low marketing ans specifically that sometimes in price NetApp can't compete with another major storage brands

I have been administrating Netapps storage servers for nearly 20 years.

Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Chris L.
Sr. UNIX Systems Admin
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It just works!
Sold stable predictable performance and availability.
Consistent time proven upgrade paths.

Cons: The need for "forklift" upgrades as hardware approaches and of life.
High support costs that increase drastically at the end of the initial contract period.

The Ontap OS is great. Very simple and easy to use

Reviewed on 30/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Consultant
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Creating flex clones is a great help in test or development environments. Also a great way to quickly and easily restore data

Cons: compared to other storage vendors Netapp is not always able to compete with the pricing that they have to offer

Netapp Cluster Engineer/User

Reviewed on 02/04/2019
Joby K.
Senior Storage Engineer
Computer Hardware, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Storage allocation/monitoring.

Pros: Ontap software is user friendly, easy to customize and set up alerts

Cons: Older version wasn't as user friendly, cluster mode version is much better.

Good Storage System

Reviewed on 13/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
MIS Manager
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Work well so far with intensive IOPS load. Running VDI on this storage and there is no IOPS bottleneck

Cons: Expensive solution and software add-on can cause a bomb.

Great storage, too complicated

Reviewed on 20/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Administrative Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: A lot of features, very efficient, saves money

Cons: very hard to set up and configure, moderate learning curve.

We use ONTAP to support our Virtual Machines in our school district

Reviewed on 27/03/2018
Stefan C.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Provides the needed flexibility for our VM environment

Pros: Nice user interface. Stable product. Recovery using snapshots a big plus. Flexibility in volume creation for unix and windows environments.

Cons: Cumbersome navigation to some of the configuration parameters . Learning curve somewhat steep on some functions.

OnTap is a great interface for your SAN

Reviewed on 01/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Network Administrator
Restaurants, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We use OnTap to manage our Netapp SANS

Pros: OnTap is easy to use to setup and manage any NetApp SAN. It's intuitive and quick and easy to deploy more storage.

Cons: It uses Adobe Flash which sometimes crashed when using it.