15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About ContructEX

Newforma helps over 1,200 AEC firms manage their project information and complete 3 million projects globally.

Learn more about ContructEX

Pros:

Easily file emails (which are visible to other project team members/managers), track RFIs, submittal, reports, other project documents from one interface.

Cons:

I use both the company server and Newforma, so sometimes I forget to upload items into the software as it is already on the company server.

ContructEX ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

ContructEX has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 25 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ContructEX before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (25)

Stephen  Olawale
Stephen Olawale
ARCHITECT in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TOOL FOR INFORMATION SHARING,COLLABORATION AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: it is very good has an information gathering center, our consultant uses it to send drawings that can be viewed in either 2D or 3D view

Pros:

what I did like about the product is that it help save emails and create links to the emails from different professionals working on the same project, making job cost , machinery tracking, creating material schedules easy, it helps project managers to manage submitted files so he can create a good and effective work schedules.

Cons:

the user interface is not user friendly and not easy to navigate, and also the product pricing structure.

Brian
Chief Information Officer in US
Civil Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for project collaboration

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Newforma is great for keeping track and sharing project documents including contracts, drawings, emails, and photos. The Cloud connector is essential for working remotely. New connectors for Bluebeam, Procore and now Teams make this an essential tool to tie in all the tools used with your clients.

Cons:

Licensing is fairly expensive. Updates are infrequent, though the past couple updates have been better. I think the company might've had a rough patch, and hopefully coming out of it.

Cody
Architectural Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Newforma - Outdated Project Management

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: There are plenty other project management programs with more features that are helpful for both designers or constructors. Newforma does well enough as a project management program but offers nothing new that other providers are.

Pros:

Newforma works appropriately as a database and a structure for filing multiple projects and managing their information. Its basic use as a project management program and file transfer tool does work well enough.

Cons:

Newforma looks and feels outdated right off the bat and it can be difficult to find what you're looking for as its buttons and options are not always intuitive. It files information in an outdated way as just a data dumping ground and the search functions are not thorough and sorting interrelated information is not easy.

Cheikh
Projet Center Revieuw in Senegal
Computer Hardware, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good software for project collaboration

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Project Center has helped me a lot in collaboration with my team.

Pros:

Project Center is the basic use as a project management and file transfer tool. Project Center allows you to save e-mails and to create links to different areas managing the same study project. Thus very easy to use especially when it comes to sending files and generating reports.

Cons:

Slow operating system plus the search functions are not deepened. The cost of the licence is a little expensive so it is worth reviewing it in comparison with other software.

April
April
Project Architect in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Newforma

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is a great tool to use for all phases of a project. Document Control is one of the most used and desired tool within my company

Cons:

There are so many different ways to do so many different things. Also there is a double log-in that is confusing and cumbersome for all users.Too many apps available.

Brian
Architect in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: So far it's been great, relatively easy to use. Has a lot of good features. Newforma had great integration with my email and project files.

Rachel
Architect in US
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good for tracking

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I gained a new appreciation for Newforma after spending a week trying to track submittals and RFIs without it. I like the meticulousness that it enforces.

Cons:

In general, I find the interface to be extremely clunky and unintuitive to use.

Sam
Senior VDC Engineer in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Project Management tool for Architects and Engineers Has come a long way throughout the years

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Newforma has a number of nice tools. From Email management, to be able to view drawings (3D or 2D), and they also have a Construction solution called Newforma Project Center that gives you ability to management your submittals, RFI, etc.

Cons:

The Cons for this is probably it's pricing structure. It also could give itself a new interface update, sometimes it is a little difficult to navigate through everything.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Share Mass Quantities of Information with Ease

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Being able to share mass quantities of information all in one place and with an unlimited number of people. Access to project information is all in one place.

Cons:

The interface is a bit boring and cumbersome. It could be more visually appealing and user friendly.

Gulshan
Associate Project Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Project workflow tool

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We can easily handle project workflow. Every phase can be managed in desired manner. Happy customers till now.

Cons:

After using free trial organisation purchased this but i think its costly than other.

Mark
Associate Architect in US
Architecture & Planning, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ran Construction Administration for multiple projects over multiple years with this.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The construction administration and project management tools were amazing. I've since moved to a firm that doesn't use Newforma, I desperately miss all the features that made my life easier, and I try to get them to move up to it daily.

Pros:

Being able to instantly track just about anything in the CA process of a project at the touch of a button, being able to find any email (and attachment) that was ever written by anyone in your organization about a project, and being able to print out tailored reports easily and quickly.

Cons:

There was a bit of a learning curve while initially adopting the program, and we did a lot of ASI's. The nature of ASI's are fluid, their topics, numbering and scope sometimes change, some are written up then not needed, Newforma didn't have a lot of flexibility to handle these types of changes.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best collaboration tools for Project Analysts a

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: On average, the software is a very useful and accurate tool and must be upgraded to boost it's speed.

Pros:

This software is very efficient in helping me garther daily information. I love it because of the accuracy that come with its use. It is very flexible in terms of usage. This software helps me send files to my project team , generate reports and other project documents with ease.

Cons:

The difficulty attached to navigating through the software is sometimes a headache. System runs slow and I and my team would have to perform some tasks manually at times.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very powerful organization and collaboration tool

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Project team (internal and external) Collaboration

Pros:

All modules add efficiency to my daily work. I'd highly recommend it for any project-based work or delivery. Easily file emails (which are visible to other project team members/managers), track RFIs, submittal, reports, other project documents from one interface.

Cons:

Can be a resource (memory) hog sometimes, slow to open sometimes. Newforma Viewer is slower than other PDF softwares, so I don't use it.

Michael
Shop Drawing Coordinator in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's a wonderful document management software

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: There is a clear path for all of the documents for any given project.

Pros:

Ease of use, intuitive UI and comprehensive customer support. As long as the software is managed, it is pretty bulletproof.

Cons:

When users do not utilize all of the functionality. There are so many functions that make the flow of documents so seamless.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An extremely valuable program with potential to be great with an update to fix current problems.

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This program is extremely valuable in the Architecture industry. In an age where everything needs to be documented for legal purposes Newforma makes it painless.

Cons:

Newforma however is often buggy and slow to fix problems if ever, especially involving their Microsoft Outlook integration.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Project managment and distribution center

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Excellent for storage and organization, has room for improvements on day to day file usage and markups

Pros:

Single source for all project information including contacts, emails, file transfers, and continuing project management from design through construction

Cons:

Viewer and loading times can be tedious, especially when used to other viewers. Email searches can be difficult

Elthon
Elthon
Freelancer in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for Organization and Project Management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The application helped me a lot in project management with my partners and for a better return to our clients.

Pros:

It is an easy-to-use tool that can manage multiple projects efficiently and can create links to other professionals that are within the same project.

Cons:

It should have better updates to improve performance and speed in navigating the interface.

Comfort
Reviewer in Kazakhstan
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Newforma

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It helped a great deal in the administration and management of clients data. The storage was great experience and easy.

Pros:

It is great for storage and supportive of link creations.

Cons:

Its not fast and its a bit shallow. An upgrade is needed for this product, to make it efficient.

Yassin
Software Engineer in Palestine
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very useful and powerful tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like it because it is very easy and helpful in architicture and provides many functions in one platform. Newforma is amazing in sharing

Cons:

Neoforma sometimes becomes slow but it is not a big problem

Blaise
Project Engineer in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very unfriendly toward outside users

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are using this for a data center job because our architect uses it.

Pros:

Tracking ability and export ability for tracking purposes.

Cons:

If you do not have a license, you are relegated to the web based client which is very glitchy and does not have user friendly sorting features.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Too Much Effort

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall a good software to use but does require some effort to set up.

Pros:

Easily save emails and attach links to emails.

Cons:

Searching for files is not always intutive and different versions of files are available for editing rather than only the latest version.

Edward
Senior Engineer in US
Civil Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Too Much to Learn

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I'm not solving any problems yet.

Pros:

The "back" button works very well in retracing my steps.

Cons:

Interface is not intuitive. Usually you can "figure out" how to use software. Seems like this would take about a week of training. Too much clicking and hoping. Seems like this software is bloated and tries to do too much and causes cognitive overload for this user. It takes two screens to see the full width of the interface. Maybe it will sort itself out with continued use, but my first experience with this software was horrible.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good software - Optional for your business

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is a good software to keep records organized and neat.

Pros:

I liked how easy it is to access records with this software. In the environmental services industry, you need to have records up to 5 years back so its a good space to put everything for the clients.

Cons:

I use both the company server and Newforma, so sometimes I forget to upload items into the software as it is already on the company server.

Mike
engineer in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Newforma

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Creates a simple file management system for collaborating companies.

Cons:

Sending files can be slow at times, but not a major slow down.

Wilson
IT in Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

More info

3.0 9 years ago

Comments: We are a Canadian construction company looking for an integrated solution