Easy to use - intuitive Administration\Control Panel

Reviewed on 19/09/2019
William M.
Software Developer
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We have a legacy home grown application that is over 20 years old and on old technology (Mainframe\COBOL\CICS). It is tricky to integrate it with newer technology and one unexpected consequence of this is that it is difficult to retain younger workers with the older technology applications. Area by area we have been moving them off of the old and onto the new and the user experience is far superior. Greater search capabilities and options to integrate with modern applications.

Pros: I like how easy it is to get up and running. Within hours, we were able to install the product, connect to Documentum and have a basic working User Interface.

Cons: It's a testament to the product that have to nit-pick to find anything. Exporting and importing the overall configuration is all or nothing so there is no way to make minor development changes without exporting\importing everything. We have a few configuration settings that are customized by environment (i.e. test\model\prod) that I have to change manually each time I import changes from Test to Model and Model to Prod. I would prefer more granular export\import capabilities when developing to only export\import the object I am changing. For instance, Dashboards and Custom Actions allow exactly the kind of capabilities that I prefer. That and the "cleaner look" lead me to using Dashboards much more frequently - almost exclusively. There are a few features in the more traditional Explorer UI that it would be nice to have in the Dashboard\Portal UI like drag and drop, etc.

Great tool, great support!

Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Tim P.
Associate Director
Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The flexibility of CARA is astounding and we have had many successes in adapting the tool to our internal business processes and ensuring that it is meeting the needs of all stakeholders.

Cons: We are still on an older version but looking forward to upgrading soon and enjoying all the improvements in speed and functionality that have been made.

CARA is an amazing office tool!!

Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Michelle D.
Manager, Retail Pricing
Retail, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Getting out of the paper world, greater organization and tools that help us prioritize with ease. It was easy in the paper world to lose track of things on occasion but with CARA that's no longer an issue.

Pros: Its taken us from piles of paper on our desks to entirely electronic documents and provides a better, easily searchable file retention system. We can reference old documents as necessary with ease with its user friendly navigation. Its also great because we can partner with top notch CARA experts to customize options to help our specific office needs. They are always accommodating and ready to help.

Cons: Sometimes its slow when searching but honestly its nothing that's a show stopper and could be because we haven't upgraded as of yet.

New to Content Management? CARA makes it easy for you!

Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Anshika B.
Project Lead
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I am a satisfied user of CARA
1.Easy to access via browser
2.Drag & Drop features
3.Easy movement of documents across folders
4.Highly configurable watermarks & overlays
5.Taxonomy, Category, Dashboard, Views & Capabilities - Very thoughtful features

Pros: As an End User - Easy of use
As an admin - Ease of configuration & customisation, Readily available upgrade packages

Cons: There are certain product issues at times which CARA support is unable to help in troubleshooting as they would ask for a replication scenario but that isn't available always!
Suggestion: Its an evolving product I understand & the venture with Box should be fruitful too. The suggestion that I have is, the partner companies should have easy access to rapid deploy packages. Quarterly meetings would also help build strong relationships with both clients & implementation partners.

An Extremely Versatile Tool

Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Jeff L.
Lead Analyst
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We're using CARA for various use cases, including replacing a legacy reporting tool, minor workflow for several business lines, and basic search and view functions.

Pros: Speed of new set ups and the versatility of the tool. We're still finding new ways to utilize it.

Cons: Dashboard reports are lacking some features that we would like to see, but new ones are being added all the time.

CARA is the ECM real Face

Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Ashraf E.
ECM Architect
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Exceptional

Pros: Ease of use, Ease of setup, Ease of deployment, Ease of Migration, Ease of configurations, Ease of Integration and Ease of dealing with the vendor.

Cons: Documentation can be a little better, more details need to be included

Cara - a new way to work with your dara

Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Anees R.
Technical lead
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I have never seen a large amount of user perception change when we move from firstdoc to Cara. Cara is fast, intuitive and easy administrative tool.

Pros: Very user friendly
Highly intuitive
Highly configurable
Easy deployment
Easy integration
Good support

Cons: Less experienced in regulatory area
Less documentation focussed
Less product testing

CARA is 100% a better product than the Webtop & Firstdoc

Reviewed on 10/09/2019
Senthil V.
Software Administrator
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is fast, ease of use and very good for Admin to troubleshoot and multitasking unlike the previous content management tools like Webtop,D2, Firstdoc.

Cons: Need a good annotation service to be added to CARA.

no flaws

Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Stephanie A.
businesswomen
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: They are stable, and highly configurable product. It is truly a great product and designed with the user in mind.

Review from an irregular user

Reviewed on 11/09/2019
Nathalie O.
Senior Associate
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is very easy to learn how to use it and the videos received from the vendor although lengthy were useful

Cons: There were some features like dragging and dropping that were not present at the time