Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Dayforce HCM

Cloud-based HCM platform bringing together payroll, time + attendance, and HR for organisations with between 500 and 50,000 employees.

Learn more about Dayforce HCM

Showing 659 reviews

Diane R.
Diane R.
Payroll Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our experience with Day force has been great from Implementation on. We never felt alone.

5 4 years ago

Comments: Before Dayfore, we were using three different systems. One for payroll, one for time and attendance, and another for HR. We had to import data from one system to another so there was the potential of data dropping off. We were able to combine three systems into one with Dayforce. Since Ceridian uses one solution, once an employee is hired they are visible in all parts of the system immediately. No more waiting for overnight updates. Ceridian cut my payroll processing time by 40%, which allows me more time to audit my work. There are some great audit reports built into the system, which I run every payroll. They point to problems with can be corrected before we finalize for the week. The ability to run wage and tax registers, and W2's anytime of the year, allows me to fix any potential problems, which in turn make year end a breeze. My employees now are able to manage some of their own data, which alleviates the burden off HR and Payroll and allows the employee to update their records when it is convenient for them.

Pros:

I love that it is one solution. No more imports, no more worries about data dropping off. The test portal allows us to set up new deductions and earnings, and test them before putting them into production. The future dating feature works really well. It allows us to enter increase early and test them in a future payroll to see how the employees pay check will look, and gives us more time to audit our changes thus relieving some of the stress that comes with year end. The education portal is a big plus. It allows us to learn at our own pace, and to schedule that classes that are helpful for each administrative role.

Helen D.
Payroll & Benefits Mgr in US
Wholesale, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce - Implementation Beware

3 2 years ago

Comments: Bumpy at best. Some days I actually say I miss ADP.

Pros:

I like the 'one' database aspect the best.

Cons:

Implementation was very lacking. Nearly a disaster. I am over 2 years in and still have not been able to get everything we originally intended to do up and running.

Alternatives Considered: Paylocity and UKG Ready

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM: ADP was unable to accommodate some things we needed and they were not flexible to find other ways to help us.

Switched From: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: Recruiting module was most robust (the one module we do NOT have running and will probably abandon at this point). We also liked the GL feature - which does work well and was implemented by the one rockstar of our implementation team.

Anna J.
Payroll and Benefits Manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Happy Customer

5 2 years ago

Comments: Our payroll is much easier, HR processing is a bit harder than prior and reporting is good but complex.

Pros:

Flexibility, customer support, sales team, leadership

Cons:

Complexity. The software is so powerful that it becomes quite confusing .

Alternatives Considered: UKG Pro

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM: We were at the lowest version and forced to upgrade or change and we decided to leave

Switched From: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: The company history and background

Verified Reviewer
HR Operations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Dayforce HCM Software

4 2 years ago

Comments: So far going smoothly but some disconnect with the implementation consultant.

Pros:

It has a lot of features that will keep all employees and managers happy throughout the use.

Cons:

Lot of at times unclear connecting steps and very long process.

Alternatives Considered: UKG Pro and Paylocity

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM: Putting everything on one platform and report reviews.

Switched From: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: Just had the best fit overall

Maribeth T.
Accounting/HR System Analyst in US
Paper & Forest Products, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dayforce HCM Review

4 2 years ago

Comments: We have been able to become more paperless with Dayforce. For the most part, payroll processes correctly each pay period. Open Enrollment saved lots of time and paper and the employees seemed to really like the process. I think as we learn to use all of the functionality of the system, we will find more benefits and cost-savings. We are just disappointed that we did not get this information/recommendations from our implementation team. And the fact that modules that should have been live and working properly at the time of implementation are still not functional has been extremely frustrating. Our HR Admins are doing more work now, than they did before implementing Dayforce , where Attendance Management is concerned.

Pros:

The system has lots of flexibility and functionality - unfortunately our implementation did not go very well (we are still working on it over a year after going live) so I don't believe we are using the system to its full capacity. The user experience is really friendly. Our current employees and onboarding employees like the system.

Cons:

It seems that the implementation team wants to cut you off long before the system is running as expected. It's wonderful that Ceridian is working on so many great, new, cutting-edge options but our users (PR/HRAdmins, Managers) just want the current functionality to work properly. We are still submitting lots of tickets to support on a weekly basis and we have found the quality of support to be herky-jerky. Some of the reps are really good and others seem to just want to get the case off their plate without full resolution of the issue.

Stephen S.
HRIS Administrator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Dayforce HCM

5 5 years ago

Comments: Having used Dayforce HCM for over 5 years, I can honestly say that it is an incredible piece of software that is ever-expanding, and the developers are always hard at work creating more modules. As opposed to previous systems where it required multiple file feeds internally, which would constantly update one place such as the HR record, but would not update in Payroll, Self Service, Benefits, or wouldn't update in any of them; with Dayforce however, there are no longer such data integrity issues, as it uses one database to house it all. It also also far easier on the eyes than some previous systems, and the ad-hoc reporting along with topic builder make creating custom reports quite easy (once you get the gist of how it works - there is a learning curve if you don't take the training - but if you're savvy, it's quite robust). The key with Dayforce is IMPLEMENTATION. If you are not diligent, clear, and thorough with the discovery stage and throughout implementation, it will haunt you down the road. Make a team, dedicate someone to nothing but testing and making sure you've got it doing what each team/department/manager/user needs it to do, just do something to make sure you are comfortable with the application and get what you need, otherwise you will spend a lot of time fixing issues with upset employees . Ceridian has grown their teams vastly, so the support reps can be hit and miss, but if you are techy and willing to learn the system, it is far superior to the others out there, and can be very low maintenance.

Pros:

One database means data is always consistent throughout modules. The flexibility within the configuration is unmatched. Beautiful appearance and very user-friendly.

Cons:

The switch from SilverLight to HTML has been slow and each release has been somewhat buggy initially after upgrading.

Joanne K.
Manager, Human Resources in Canada
Building Materials, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DayforceHCM - One Year After Implementation

5 5 years ago

Comments: Pros - Our previous system basically operated on a "point in time" basis; historical information was kept in hard copy in employee files. Reporting from the payroll system was difficult and in many cases required expensive custom reports to be written by the service provider. Approximately 65% of our employees do not have access to the company email account, consequently requests for vacation payments, time off requests, address changes, tax changes, bank account changes were sent to HR by the employee's manager. Employees monitor their own personal information in Dayforce such as salary, job title, etc. ; they have access to forms; managers have access to a multitude of reports to help them manage their workforce. The HR/Payroll team have the ability to provide executive reports almost instantaneously - time spent producing management reports has been significantly reduced. Company policies and agreements have been uploaded into Dayforce eliminating the need to produce hard copy documents - this includes handbooks, links to benefit websites, corporate forms (eg. Code of Conduct) which saves time and money - no hard copies required. Time spent in payroll has not reduced, however, quality has increased significantly - more time is spent in value added auditing rather than paper processing. Compliance with legislation is much easier to manage. Immeasurable ROI on employee satisfaction - we spend more time talking to our employees; Dayforce has facilitated a closer relationship between HR and employees - they feel like they are part of something big, because they can see it! HR and Payroll is no longer a mysterious machine somewhere in corporate office. The Ceridian learning tools are awesome - although we do not have all of the modules, providing access to the Ceridian University gives us opportunities to attend sessions and experience other activities that our organization may want to consider. Con: We do not have enough time to explore/implement the many features available. Overall Satusfaction: Dayforce provides everything we need! Recommendation to Other Buyers - Dayforce HCM is powerful and I highly recommend it for human resource management.

Khristan P.
Training & Development Manager in
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Empowering Team Members

4 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, we have truly benefited from partnering with Dayforce. Our team members are excited about the user friendliness of the program, the accessibility from their mobile devices and the functions that empower them to submit requests & changes electronically. Our managers have raved about being able to schedule within labor guidelines and team member availability. Time Off requests are easier to track, schedule, approve/decline. Personal Action Form items that require approval are now electronic, which has smoothed out our process. We have seen a decrease in the amount of paperwork that was being processed & tracked, we have seen an increase in managerial productivity, we have seen a time savings in our payroll processing and an improvement in our reporting capabilities.

Pros:

• Our team members are excited about the user friendliness of the program, • Great to have accessibility from their mobile devices and the functions that empower them to submit requests & changes electronically. • Managers have raved about being able to schedule within labor guidelines and team member availability. • Time Off requests are easier to track, schedule, approve/decline. • Personal Action Form items that require approval are now electronic, which has smoothed out our process. • We have seen a decrease in the amount of paperwork that was being processed & tracked, we have seen an increase in managerial productivity, • We have seen a time savings in our payroll processing and an improvement in our reporting capabilities.

Cons:

Implementation might drive you crazy, but your team will be elated & productivity improved. It would have been helpful to know more about what was required & expected for implementation so we could have made better decisions with assigning responsibilities during the implementation process.

Randy R.
Payroll/HRIS Manager in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dayforce HCM great for Payroll and HRIS

4 4 years ago

Comments: Dayforce works great under the right circumstances, but they still have some work to do to gain a bigger market share.

Pros:

Dayforce HCM (DF) is a great product for payroll, which is the company's core offering. They have incorporated other HRIS modules into DF, some of which work extremely well. Dayforce does a great job of using only one employee record for everything, so there are no internal interfaces, and all changes are made real time. The company keeps up to date on all regulatory changes, and is quick to roll out updates and fixes to the software, which are seamless because they happen in the cloud. Works great for both our US and Canadian populations.

Cons:

Dayforce does not process payroll in Mexico, so we cannot use it for the sole solution in North America. The reporting on data is sometimes difficult; the tool is pretty robust, but some common-sense reports are almost impossible to build, due to the cumbersome process of linking data fields together. This is getting better, but still lacking. Support response times are usually timely, but support personnel are not always knowledgeable enough to fix the issue right away. Any extra work on the product is always billable, and never cheap. Due to the design of the product, any changes to the company's organizational structure will almost certainly result in a long, expensive project to update the product.

Joy T.
Corporate Director of ops and hr in US
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Transformation

5 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience was good. Our implementation team kept us on track and asked us questions to understand our business and processes and recommend best practices for us. I would and have recommended Dayforce to others.

Pros:

Our business was heavily paper driven prior to using Dayforce. We had an older payroll system, no benefits administration, a separate time and attendance system outside of payroll, a manual recruiting and manual learning process. What I like most about Dayforce is that it’s a single platform that will house all important employee information is together. I no longer have managers calling to ask if someone has vacation time available, or if someone took a class. It’s visible to managers at the touch of a button. Dayforce has also allowed us to customize our system to the features we want and need. We are using payroll, WFM, Time and attendance, benefits, recruitment, performance management, compensation, on boarding and learning. It has allowed us to transform the way we do our jobs by eliminating all the paper forms and empowering our employees and managers.

Cons:

The downside is that each module that we purchased is a separate cost. This is a good and bad thing, we only pay for what we need, but since I want everything we need to pay for it.

Matthew L.
Regional Sales Support Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good intention, but poor execution

4 8 months ago

Comments: I like our older system, TimeForce by Qquest much better. It was much more user friendly.

Pros:

This product attempts to gather all HR themed items in one location. That is beneficial. Timesheets, schedules, pay stubs, benefits, etc.

Cons:

Much of the software appears outdated. Organization is at a minimal, it's like they kept adding things and never organized it well. Locations for certain aspects are all over the place, and rarely makes sense where to find. Forms are not very clear. Training videos are outdated and show clearly older versions of the software. Work Schedules for my employees are never correct, I then correct it, but it keeps going back to incorrect schedule data, so I just ignore it and figure my employees know when they are working. For my employees, the clock-in, clock-out time sheets are horrible, it shows them nothing in regards to when they clocked in, when they clocked out, and how about a running total for hours for the week?...forget about it. From a manager stand-point, viewing my employees time sheets isn't good, as it doesn't total worked hours from time off hours to holiday hours, etc....so I always have to manually add up their hours to make sure correct. Lots of time wasted...

Michelle C.
Sr. Manager, HRIS/Payroll in
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Intuitive System

5 4 years ago

Comments: We implemented this system almost a year ago throughout our whole organization and we LOVE it! Our team members appreciate having some of the power in their hands to be able to see their schedules on the mobile app, request time off on the mobile app, managers can approve request on the mobile app, and the system is very easy to navigate. If we had to make the choice again, we would not change a thing!

Pros:

Dayforce is very intuitive, which is one of the reasons we decided on Dayforce. We looked at the system from the perspective of the team member, who would use it, but most likely not daily. How would they be able to navigate the system? What would be their challenges? We found that Dayforce was able to rise to the challenge and provide many tools that would help our team members out along the way. One of them we like is the great mobile app that appeals to the millennials. Being able to check schedules, time worked, request time off, etc. on the mobile app has been a huge success for the team members as well as the managers who would get the calls to find out what the schedule is, or how much time off is available.

Cons:

The reporting for someone not as advanced is great, but for those that are more advanced it can be challenging. To be fair, they do have a lot of standard reports that you can tweak, but for those that like to get in and pull various reports, I don't think they have a good way of letting you know what the tables are and where to pull the data from.

Natalie W.
HR Generalist/Payroll in US
Public Safety, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

reporting & scheduling

4 2 years ago

Comments: Good - working through the issues with support

Pros:

reports should be able to put numbers in two decimal places managers should be able to edit schedules on the same screen as timesheets

Cons:

reports - creating employee change report - runs be change date not date range of change.

Alternatives Considered: UKG Pro

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM: Management decision

Switched From: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: Manager decision

Kelly A.
Compensation & Payroll Supervisor in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Dayforce was the best decision we ever made!

5 2 years ago

Comments: Our overall Dayforce experience has been a good one. Customer Support has been great.

Pros:

What I like most about Dayforce is that it has streamlined our processes and cut down on the amount of time we spend processing payroll, onboarding, recruiting. Reporting is much easier to use and create than HPW. Our employees are very happy with how user friendly the system is. I think we have more employees engaged now than ever. The mobile app has been a big help as well.

Cons:

Implementation. It was challenging, but once we got through it we felt very accomplished.

Alternatives Considered: UKG Pro and Paycom

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: Better product, long time customer (prior HPW customer)

Linda R.
Procedure Control Manager in US
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dayforce HCM - Managing My Benefits

5 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, this is my favorite payroll and benefits management software that I have used throughout my career. I hope that our HR department feels the same.

Pros:

As an end user I really enjoy Dayforce HCM. The software is very user friendly and easy to learn how to navigate. I like that it has straight forward buttons/menu options that clearly designate the areas you are trying to access. i.e. Benefits (all of your benefit documents and management), Careers (opening job postings), Earnings (payroll information) etc. Requesting time off, accessing paystubs, and messaging supervisors is very easy.

Cons:

The least desirable quality about this software is that it takes a long time to load. For employees who are hourly and rely on it to manage their timesheets, this presents a problem. If you don't have it loaded and ready to go at the end of the day, other employees can end up waiting 1-2minutes for your timecard to load, while they are already clocked out.

Bryan W.
Senior Manager, IT & Operations in Canada
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce - A Terrific HCM Experience

5 2 years ago

Comments: We love it, my controller loves it, and my HR manager cannot live without it. She considers it essential software.

Pros:

Prior to using Dayforce, our staff relied upon our controller to manage their time off, sick days and other HR related issues. Dayforce not only allowed our controller to free up her time, but as promised, put the control back into our employees hands, empowering them to monitor their individual HR related tasks.

Cons:

While excellent in it's functionality, some users complain about the slow load times. As a SASS based software, this may be a problem with my internet connection at busy times. In reality, this represents a very small problem, and is a very small price to pay for an otherwise excellent program.

Ivory Y.
payroll and hris manager in US
Sports, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce Rocks

4 2 years ago

Comments: Dayforce allowed us to bring together HR accounting, payroll and recruiting under one platform! Great!

Pros:

This is a total human capital management system

Cons:

Silverlight functions phasing out means we are losing some of the user friendly functions

Alternatives Considered: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: Customer support

Sharon B.
Comp/Ben Mgr in US
Machinery, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce has improved alot

5 2 years ago

Comments: Ceridian encourages input from clients and will redesign around client requests. The support model is great and easy via computer or phone.

Pros:

Employee/Manager (end user) access is user-friendly. The payroll processing is highly easy to audit prior to submission of payroll. Can see the calculations prior to committing. The Benefits platform is adaptable and can be configured for complex benefits. I love the ability to have Ceridian send the carrier files.

Cons:

Some of the functionality is not usable because it is able to be customized.

Sherry M.
Payroll Manager in US
Environmental Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I drink the Ceridian Kool Aid

4 2 years ago

Comments: Great

Pros:

Everything in one place, employee experience

Cons:

Entitlements, Job Step Rates pulling into status Screen

Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Benefits and ACA Compliance

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Dayforce HCM has been an effective single solution for us. It has allowed us to leverage technology, replacing manual paper-based processes. The PPACA module has effectively allowed us to remain compliant with ACA. The mobile app is also widely used by our nearly 2000 associates. Lastly, Ceridian continually seeks to improve the product, often leveraging customer feedback.

Cons:

Ceridian Dayforce HCM has experienced continual growth since we partnered in 2013, resulting in internal movements with our support teams. This movement has created relearning at times for those changes.

Susan M.
HR Manager in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Intuitive and Easy

4 4 years ago

Comments: Most systems are easy, this system would be great for a large company with one dedicated COBRA administrator or for a single person department that just needs a little help with the demands/regulations for COBRA notification. I never worry that I am out of compliance when I use Ceridian.

Pros:

We use it as a TPA of COBRA, and it is very much aligned to help with a one person department. Once you add someone to the system you can use it from hire notice to COBRA notice smoothly. I like the portal, and find that they developers definitely had hard core HR knowledge. They handle everything as long as the data is accurate, we only moved away from this platform when the insurance broker took over COBRA admin for us.

Cons:

In the perfect world i could afford to have it integrate with the current ATS, but that is not the case. Also, the reports can be clunky but once you set up your favorites and schedule them you can expect them to run well.

Shasta I.
HR Supervisor in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Needs some improvement

4 2 years ago

Pros:

How everything is combined into one program. visibility to users and management at multiple locations

Cons:

No FMLA or OJI tracking capabilities that tie into timekeeping

Alternatives Considered: UKG Pro

Switched From: ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM: Everything being centralized

Angie P.
HR Manager in Canada
Banking
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dayforce product review

4.5 6 years ago

Pros:

Very user friendly and easy to use, especially for employees who are proficient in technology. Timesheet and scheduling modules provide a great snap shot of employees approvals, balances and work schedule. One of my favorite features is the ability to delegate user access and privileges for holiday coverage.

Cons:

Slow client solution response times. If you are requesting a special report or task, it can take awhile to have that request completed. I had to wait over a month for my custom compensation report. Solution response time for any issues that impact the business are a lot quicker (a couple of business days) however I would still prefer it was quicker.

Lori K.
Payroll Specialist in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Dayforce is one system for all your HCM & HRIS needs!

5 4 years ago

Pros:

It makes my job fun and saves me time. My company has saved hundreds of dollars from our previous system. I love that you can book time away from work in Dayforce and an email will be sent to the manager for approval. I love that the program does everything I need for payroll and it's compliant with all current legislation.

Cons:

My least favorite thing about Dayforce is they are weening themselves off of Silverlight. I know this is necessary as Silverlight is no longer being supported by Microsoft. It did have better graphics with Silverlight, but it hasn't hurt the functionality by going to HTML.

Patricia P.
Manager,Training & Administration in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Features and so easy to use!

4 2 years ago

Comments: We're trying to mandate more use of the system and app - looking to go paperless and Dayforce is going to help

Pros:

Flexibility - you are able to use the program very easily. I especially like the payroll function that allows me to verify before I process

Cons:

Sometimes there are a to of steps to configuration that really aren't intuitive