Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About SIMUL8

Make confident, impactful decisions with the world's fastest, most intuitive and effective simulation platform for desktop and the web.

Learn more about SIMUL8

Showing 59 reviews

Bruno S.
Student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2021

"Easy way of simulation"

Comments: My overall experience is very good, and is important to note that there is a free license for students which is an amazing opportunity.

Pros: Simul8 is very easy and intuitive to implement my system and convert in a simulation, based on LCD´s and the final DCA. All the work items are easy to introduce and connect between them, which saves a lot of time and reduce the probability of errors.

Cons: The Simul8 is amazing but still can improve regarding the graphics. In fact, still use pixels items which reduced the probability to present a Simul8 system during a pitch or professional report.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to SIMUL8: Alternatives can be excel, where you must make everything by hand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2021
Iris O.
Analyst
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020

"Great support staff. But poor documentation."

Pros: I value the availability of the support chat function. The support staff are very forthcoming and helpful.

Cons: I need to use the visual logic functionality for most of my modelling. But the documentation for this is lacking. Comprehensive documentation, tutorials and documented examples would improve the experience significantly.
The VL interface is also quite frustrating as compared to normal programming languages. Finding commands is difficult, and the use of the interface is not intuitive.

Vendor Response

by SIMUL8 on 08/01/2021

Hi Iris,

Thanks for your valuable feedback! We'd really appreciate your input to help us make improvements in these areas.

One of our support team will be in touch shortly to check in.

Thanks again,

The Simul8 team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020
Ben V.
Continuous Improvement Leader Sr.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2019

"Easy, fast, and powerful simulations."

Comments: Overall experience has been great. I have shared this tool with many other sites in Plexus as well as other non-competitive companies as a great asset.

Pros: The best part about Simul8 is how easy it is to pick up. I have easily trained many people how to become powerful users in a short time period to where they can create customer level simulations.

Cons: There are very few minor flaws in the software that are very industry specific. None that are worth mentioning due to insignificance.

Alternatives Considered: Simio

Reasons for Switching to SIMUL8: The price, ease to learn, and quickness to build were unmatched. Other simulations focused too much on aesthetics.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2019
Stella J.
Chief Information Officer
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2020

"Powerful simulation program with an incredible support"

Comments: Simul8 provides extensive tools to create simulations and meets our needs about visual representation of the data.

Pros: Simul8 is probably the the most comprehensive yet easiest to explore simulation creation program in the market. User interface is highly optimized to enable the user reflect the paper version of the model to the visual graph.

Cons: Simul8 has great 2D visualization tools however it fails when it comes to 3D visualization requirements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2020
Alicia M.
Course Leader
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2021

"Best customer and technical support in industry"

Comments: I use the software as a teaching tool but my students always work in a practical project for the final part of their course.

Pros: The software is intuitive and easy to use. Being visual means customers will clearly see what the model is doing and will be able to interact with the modeller to improve the model and make it more adequate for the needs of the customer. But the BEST thing about this software is their technical and customer support. It is best to none. And this is vital when you are using software like this. Simul8 is a company that makes each user valued and for this reason is always ready to help you with any questions you might have. If I could give it 10 marks, I would.

Cons: Their online help needs improving but in the end if you don't find online what you are looking for, you can always ask their technical support who are more than happy to fully explain to you what the problem is, or how to do what you need to do

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2021
Brian H.
Simulation Specialist
Industrial Automation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017

"SIMUL8 for Manufacturing Applications"

Comments: Having over 24 years in the simulation field, I have used several different simulation packages. SIMUL8 has surfaced at the top of the list for several reasons: Low cost per seat, Ease of learning the tool, Power & Functionality of basic simulation objects, Ease of data import/export, Ease of analyzing results. SIMUL8 has proven to meet typical manufacturing design objectives such as:
1) Bottleneck Analysis and applying "Theory of Constraints" to designing and improving manufacturing operations.
2) Determining the optimal number of carriers within a material handling system (i.e. Power & Free, Electric Monorail, etc)
3) Determining optimal operator & resource utilization; including operating patterns & shift patterns.
4) Optimizing mixed model assembly lines; including scheduling and sequencing objectives.
I have learned staying with proven basic simulation objects works best when building models. SIMUL8's "Visual Logic" contains enough commands and logical constructs to capture coding conditional events throughout complex areas within the process. Basically, learning how to apply basic "IF-Then" statements in conjunction with commands is all it takes to tap into its power. Cons: Limited graphics & annotation, Save often as model can lock-up, Operator Travel Links can become corrupt. Good point is with time... you can usually find work-around's to avoid some of the listed shortfalls.

Pros: I stay with the basic simulation building blocks and design and implement complex manufacturing designs.

Cons: Annotation and screen graphics are lacking. Operator travel links can become corrupt.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017
Naoum T.
Researcher
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2018

"A great software for discrete event simulation modeling"

Comments: I have been using Simul8 for the past four years. I certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a powerful and fast tool for simulation purposes. Its usability, functionality and plethora of options and characteristics alongisde the fact that it is very easy to learn and use, with a GUI that allows newcomers to quickly start building models, make it an excellent choice. The support documentations and customer support team can cover any questions and details in view of advanced modeling characteristics and questions.

Pros: Very easy to learn and use, great range of functionality options

Cons: Nothing specific with the versions I have used, the product has been updated through the years to keep up with the current needs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2018
Robert J.
Project Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2019

"I like Simul8"

Comments: I haven't needed any help

Pros: It is easy to use, easy to learn, very flexible

Cons: If you are into fancy graphics, which I am not, this could be better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2019
Richard M.
Director
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2020

"Review"

Comments: Technically good, licensing difficult.

Pros: Relatively easy to set up and use. Provides a good feature set for our industry.

Cons: Licensing format. The license is not available in a network / floating license. As we do project work we need to maintain a number of people as current on the software, but only need a single license from a workload perspective. Every other software I've used simply uses a key to activate and deactivate a license on someone's machine. Needing to ask Simul8 to move the install is very clunky and had we known this would be the case would probably have influenced us away from buying it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/03/2020
Frank Z.
President
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2016

"Healthcare Simulation"

Comments: I have been using different versions of Simul8 over the past ten years. Although the versions I am using do not have the sophisticated animation capabilities of other packages, the software is relatively easy to use and modify for specific situations.

Pros: Price: conceptually easy to understand logic; relatively quick.

Cons: Modeling random arrivals by hour is surprisingly complex in the version I have (2010). 3D animation not available in the version I am using.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2016
Dave W.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/09/2016

"Great Tool, Very Powerful!"

Comments: I work in Healthcase and there are many opportunities to use this software. It's a much better package than some of the others we have reviewed.

Pros: Powerful, flexible and visually appealing to our audience.

Cons: This software has significant resolution issues when used on higher resolution laptops. Menu's are cut off and in some cases, are completely inaccessable. Also, getting a current update for the software usually means filing a ticket with the help desk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/09/2016
Anthi N.
Student
Higher Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019

"Great software both for beginners and professionals"

Comments: Simul8 helped eliminate inefficiencies and find bottlenecks in current business processes. It also gave us the opportunity to evaluate future plans and predict their future profitability.

Pros: The fact that Simul8 gives you opportunity to visualize any process and its very easy to use.

Cons: Sometimes it's a bit challenging to create your own distribution, however there are ways to go around the issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019
Arsalan G.
Healthcare planner and researcher
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2021

"A great tool for simulation"

Pros: Costumer service has been highly satisfactory. The support team takes time to review all the problems with the client.

Cons: Interpretation of the results can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2021
Steve H.
Sales Engineering Consultant
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/05/2021

"Simul8 for eCom fulfillment"

Comments: I am making heavy use to the VL capability. Most of my Activities have an attached VL routine. I am simulating Robots and Operators in pick aisles using WMS simulated pick lists. Testing Optimization algorithms for efficient Robot travel, Operator travel, and Robot "swarming" to meet Operators at a pick face.

Pros: Very flexible, fast, user friendly, and intuitive.

Cons: A little buggy. Crashes several times a week. Memory overflow seems to be the biggest cause. Also, multi Activity changes can cause crashes.

Alternatives Considered: Visual Components

Reasons for Switching to SIMUL8: Functionality and price.

Vendor Response

by SIMUL8 on 01/06/2021

Thanks for the great review! A member of our team will be in touch so we can look into your valued feedback.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/05/2021
Isaac M.
Director of Operations
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019

"Intuitive Software and Outstanding Training Resources"

Comments: SIMUL8 customer support and training staff are outstanding! This support is what sets SIMUL8 apart and allows basic users to create models to support business decisions.

Pros: This software was extremely intuitive and easy to get up and running fast on your first model. I also highly recommend their in-person training classes. The training staff are approachable and take the time to personally meet you at your skill level to help you understand and complete models.

Cons: None for my personal use. I have seen some competitive products 3D floor layouts visuals that look slicker, but I don’t find this beneficial for my application of discrete event modeling. This could be my technical understanding of the software and not the software capability.

Alternatives Considered: Arena and FlexSim

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2019
Reece H.
Technical Fellow
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2016

"Powerful, Flexible, Easy to Use"

Comments: I work for a medical device company, and our customers are physicians and hospitals. I have used this software to simulate how cath labs and device follow-up clinics operate, and how they can increase efficiency. I have published results in a peer reviewed medical journal and used output to influence internal strategies. The method (discrete event simulation) and the tool (SIMUL8) form an intuitive and powerful message. The support from the company is top notch. The software downloads, installs and operates easily. I don't often need help, but when I run into problems they immediately point me in the right direction for resolution, often going beyond what I ask for to point out better/more efficient ways of solving the problem than I had considered.

Pros: Flexibility - I can simuate most anything I can imagine Ease of use - I tried other simulators and could barely get simple simulations to work, with SIMUL8 I had reasonable simulations going within days of completing the training Power/Efficiency - I have simulated hundreds of thousands of virtual patients in a single simulation on a Windows laptop

Cons: The documentation of some of the more esoteric functions can be a little thin. This is easily overcome with a quick message to the support desk where they immediately give a good explanation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/08/2016
Anteneh Y.
Manufacturing system analyst
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020

"Simulation building tool to rapidly analyze and optimize manufacturing systems performances"

Comments: Manufacturing systems modelling, analysis and optimization.

Pros: SIMUL8 model building blocks are simple to use but are packed with a lot of customizable attributes to model machines and other resources that are common in manufacturing systems. The SIMUL8 programming language (Visual Logic) gives additional customization capability and control of the simulation details. Moreover, Visual Logic programming environment offers simple interfaces and procedures to build the code.
Sharing simulation online is an excellent feature to review simulation models with collaborating teams.

Cons: So far the support of the software to build 3D simulation models is limited. It can be a requirement for some users who are interested to visualize a realistic representation of the real systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020
Martin M.
Managing Pricipal
Government Administration, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017

"What a great product and company"

Comments: 5 STAR

Pros: A mature and stable product, fast and intuitive. Customer support is first rate. ***** I searched for a few years to find this product and it has exceeded my expectations.

Cons: Regular changes in pricing models and new charges for new bolt ons is a little frustrating (hard to budegt)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017
Ernest M.
LEan/Six Sigma Black Belt Process Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2016

"Excellent Simulation Package"

Comments: We have experience with Process Map, Arena, , iGrafx, ProMap, and have tested others. Simul8 represents, for us, the best value for capability and value for support from the one we know. It is very easy to start with and has great depth and breadth to grow into. The ability to distribute models to users with a free viewer, providing some functionality to the end-user/customer while maintaining data integrity is unmatched by any other package, and allows us to deploy simulation more efficiently and cost-effectively than any other package, with no hidden fees in the future.

Pros: ease of use, great power as you grow into it, 3D capability, functional user deployment that does not require resources to maintain.

Cons: sometimes crippling problem with modern high-resolution monitors that is not being resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2016
Molly W.
Health Systems Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2016

"Great software and company"

Comments: We have been using Simul8 at our organization for about 3 years. The software, in its simplest form, is easy enough for a novice user to pick up and create a quick simulation, but it also provides a variety of features to make your simulation as complex as you need it to be. I have found Simul8's customer support to be top-notch, responding within hours. They have helped with both technical questions, as well as more conceptual questions. The company is always looking for ways to improve their software and provide regular updates to enhance the functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2016
Ao T.
Engineering Manager
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020

"Amazing Customer Service, more complex case study please ?"

Comments: The customer service is super good. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been extremely helpful with my question.
Also, I do love how specific the explanations are in the "help" section; I can learn a lot already through that.

Pros: I can model up the most real data to determine the flow of a process; it's easy to convince the other business partners

Cons: Examples are great, but examples can be more complex so the users can learn on their own; for example, the airport label example, one passenger with one luggage on the label section; what if the passenger with 2-3 luggage, and how do we separate them in different queues. If we can see some complex simulation set up (case study) will be super; it will well educate the users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2020
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical Engineer
Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019

"Good, but lacks some features"

Pros: The software is user friendly. Furthermore, it is easy to get training because it is offered in many different formats.

Cons: Other software offers more features and has better visualizations when compared with Simul8.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019
Marin M.
Lecturer and senior research associate
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2019

"Excellent product"

Comments: I have been using SIMUL8 to study transport system behavior. It is a very useful tool for tactical management and performance assessment.

Pros: It is extremely user-friendly, very practical, follows the principles of queueing theory

Cons: Some of the functions are not shyncronises which causes the functional panel to freeze

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/08/2019
Ana V.
Continuous Improvement Intern
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2021

"Review Simul"

Comments: I have struggled a lot, in managing to do some constraints

Pros: I like the data that gives after a simulation, the results

Cons: I don´t think is easy to use, maybe because I didn´t get a proper capacitation, but I think there is a lot of features that is complicated to implement

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2021
Isabella G.
Isabella G.
Student
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2019

"Review"

Pros: I like most about this software is the Customer Support.

Cons: I like least about this software is the difficulty of use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2019