Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About ActiveCollab

ActiveCollab is a project management software that gives you complete control over your work. Make Real Work happen now!

Learn more about ActiveCollab

Showing 375 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Communications Manager
Religious Institutions, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020

"Self hosted or hosted, an excellent team tool"

Comments: We have a global team that work on projects together, ActiveCollab keeps us progressing them.
We also use it for collaboration, requests and idea sharing.

Pros: We tried many alternatives, but the simplicity and the ability to self host won us over.
Task lists, Kanban Style boards, Time tracking, Notifying and Assigning all work well.

Cons: I feel the file sharing (or at least referencing a file you have already uploaded) could be simpler. Apart from that we're really happy.

Alternatives Considered: Basecamp, Asana and Trello

Switched From: Asana

Reasons for Switching to ActiveCollab: Primarily the ability to self host, and have a large team accessing without paying by user per month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020
Michael J.
Engineering Head
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019

"The Right Project Management Tool for Small to Medium Sized Team"

Comments: It's easy to use and worth the cost.

Pros: My team and I do really like the simplicity of the software. It helps us focus on doing the tasks rather than figuring out how to use the software correctly to assign tasks.

Cons: - Unmaintained mobile apps, both iOS and Android versions.
- No function to duplicate tasks list.
- Zipping attachments from a task to be downloaded, takes forever.
- Bulk actions on tasks seem to need an improvement on UX so that it's more user friendly to use. Currently, we need to scroll up and down to choose the actions.
- On the Reports page for Tasks, every time we choose a Custom Report, the columns and "sort by" are always reset.
- As admin, I can't see the full list of other user's Activities. I can only see the last 5 or something.
I might be able to give some more feedback. Do let me know if it helps improve your product :)

Alternatives Considered: Bitrix24 and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing ActiveCollab: Lack of bulk actions feature

Switched From: Trello

Reasons for Switching to ActiveCollab: Pricing term and cost effectiveness

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019
Joe C.
Account Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2020

"I can't say enough good things about ActiveCollab"

Comments: ActiveCollab keeps our company organized, on task and on budget. From tracking work and projects to tracking the financials surround ing those projects, we couldn't live without ActiveCollab. I love how ease to use it is and how easy to navigate it is.

Pros: Active collab is intuitive, easy to use and easy to navigate. There are MANY other project management tools out there and I've used a number of them. Active Collab is the best in my opinion in light of the integrations and ease of use.

Cons: There are a number of more in-depth features that are sometimes hard to find in ActiveCollab. Nothing a simple support ticket can't solve though.

Alternatives Considered: Basecamp, Wrike and monday.com

Reasons for Switching to ActiveCollab: Price and ease of use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2020
Mavares P.
Mavares P.
Docente Universitario
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018

"Manage and accompany to innovate"

Comments: Control of project operations

Pros: In such a complex world, where the time and control factor in operations makes a difference, it is vital to have a platform that allows access to many tasks that, otherwise, would involve and coordinate many people, this type of tools allows us to save costs and reduce involuntary human errors, in everything that refers to the necessary coordination between all the members of the project. The calendar allows to have all the tasks, meetings, and filter the tasks by projects, and if that were not enough, all this can be complemented with the participation of the members remotely, so that it is possible to follow the general state of the proyects. In case of any problem, the support team is attentive to clarify your doubts, there are still elements that we have not had the opportunity to explore, but that, surely, according to our needs we will be using them to solve the growing demands of our organizations.

Cons: As with many platforms, the versions that are used in tables or smart devices show some limitations, in relation to those that are handled by PC, it would be very important to preserve and maximize the benefits when you have other devices and not limit the functions that, After all, knowledge or traditional devices for solving problems are not always available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018
Alex F.
Partner
Photography, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2017

"Our Favorite CRM Program"

Comments: Creative Outfit Inc. uses Active Collab to manage our Projects, Tasks, Hours, R&D and more.
It has been more functional, effective & affordable than everything else we've tried.
The Support is also helpful & communicative during any Troubleshooting we've done.
We use Active Collab in the Office & On-Location via the Mobile App.
It is simply the BEST!

Pros: The range of options in the Dashboard are great for any Start-up.
Our Managers & Staff use almost All of the Features.

Cons: I wish there was 'Subscription' driven Hour Tracking.
So we could balance Time against an Account that Renews every Month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2017
Andreas S.
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019

"Flexible project management tool with many features"

Pros: The project management tool has many advantages and features. We've been using it for many years. A big advantage is the link with Slack and Google Drive. This gives us an optimal overview of every customer. In addition, our customers can create tasks independently and communicate with our entire team. Since the new version it is clearer and more intuitive. We can only recommend it and will continue to use it intensively.

Cons: The app itself is expandable and also the software for time recording is relatively unreliable.
The recurring tasks should include more options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019
Stuart S.
Stuart S.
CEO / Senior Producer
Media Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018

"ActiveCollab is worth it for us."

Comments: It does what we need for the most part, at a reasonable price.

Pros: ActiveCollab is pretty straight forward for our needs of project management.

Cons: We like being able to create templates for projects, however, there is no ability to copy a template and adjust it to be a different template. Every template needs to be made from scratch, and there's not an easy way to even copy and paste things from other templates. A lot of our templates are similar but have variations. We've contacted support multiple times and they like our idea, but they haven't done anything about it in about two years of asking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Blade M.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2017

"Great PM product from a progressive and adapting company."

Comments: When we first started with Active Collab (2 years ago), we we're so excited by the offering. I had tried tons of PM softwares - Mavenlink, Wrike, Trello, Basecamp, 10,000ft, Podio, Asana, Paymo - you name it and I had spent a few weeks with it. When we came into activecollab, we found it to be almost tailored to our exact needs. Project management with time tracking, project budgeting and estimating/invoicing features. It was the right amount of sophistication with each of these features where the software did the job well, but it also wasn't overkill. Once we started using the product, we we're thrilled with the support. From basic questions to feature requests, we found that the team at ActiveCollab has done a great job of building the product and supporting it along the way. We're excited by the new features that are constantly being added which are meeting the demands of diverse teams - KanBan and Gantt style project management being two fairly recent additions to the software. Overall, the software is very flexible. We are a small marketing agency and use it for tracking both project-based work as well as retainer-based clients where they are paying a fixed monthly fee for our services. We've found ways to make ActiveCollab accommodate both client types and have used it to manage a variety of project types - from events to website builds to multi-channel campaigns. We've been thrilled with ActiveCollab, it's pricing model, and the overall feature set of the product. Yes, softwares like Mavenlink have much more robust resource scheduling, or basecamp having a better client-facing experience, but those softwares are also missing things. Or are ridiculously expensive! ActiveCollab is the perfect blend of features and price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2017
Eileen O.
Consultant
Libraries, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2019

"Great tool for project management"

Comments: It's enabled us to stay organized and on track of the time sensitive development process for our online training program.

Pros: We use ActiveCollab to keep track of our online course development process. So the easy-to-navigate interface is huge. The fact that people are alerted at different points along the development path is also very helpful.

Cons: Keeping track of trainers is a but cludgy. We use Notes but it would be great if there were a dedicated section for tracking info about people (not necessarily ActiveCollab users). Being able to opt in or out of certain interface features would also be nice (we never use invoicing, for instance, so would just as soon not see it).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/02/2019
Christopher G.
Principal
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018

"This is a pretty good overall PM system for what it costs as it tracks main project requirements."

Comments: The best aspect is that it is low cost project management system for smaller companies like mine. It also is easy to train new employees how to use it.

Pros: I like mostly that the software has a simple layout, and has a pretty small learning curve. I also like how it integrates to other web apps like quickbooks and slack, etc.

Cons: I wish the software had a more robust system for storing contacts as well as an integration with outlook contacts. It would be

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018
Andrew I.
Marketing Director
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2020

"Active Collab Review"

Comments: Well needed platform mainly used to organize projects within the team and rank priorities, completion of specific tasks per project.

Pros: The platform is simple to use and divides projects into folders that allows you to have checklists and collaboration within a team and clients. Overall, very simple to use and edit project status, etc.

Cons: When there are many different folders and specific initiatives, it can become somewhat lengthy to navigate through the platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2020
Verified Reviewer
Digital Communications Manager
Religious Institutions, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018

"ActivCollab has been invaluable for our global team."

Pros: ActivCollab is really easy to pick up.
As a newly formed global team it has made our lives so much easier. We tried Asana and Basecamp before settling on ActivCollab due to the fact that its not overcomplicated and meets our needs.
Support are always quick to reply and fix bugs and have even taken on board feedback and implemented suggested changes too.

Cons: It would be nice to be able to use emojis!
We've experienced the occasional glitch but they usually get fixed quickly once we report them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018
Rumbani N.
Senior Graphics and Visual Effects Designer
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2019

"I did'nt know I'd appreciate ActiveCollab so much"

Comments: It was annoying in the beginning because I just wasn't accustomed to it but it didn't take long to adjust to it.

Pros: Definitely a great organisational tool. I used to miss my deadlines before but with the daily reminder emails and the initiative to make specific tabs for stuff that overdue, and yet to be due really helps kkeep me on track.

Cons: It was a bit of an acquired taste in the beginning especially that I had never used it before. Not really a con. Depending on the speed of the internet, some days it won't even open.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2019
Emanuele D.
Administrator
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2017

"Overall a good product with Great value for money"

Comments: We landed on Active Collab after a long process during which we tried several competitor's products. As an advertising agency our goal was to have a slim, fast and complete system to manage our projects that range from small projects to national campaigns.
We use the self hosted version that was very easy to have it up and running with very thorough help from AC help desk.
One of its main pros is the price, in this range it beats hands down all the credible competitor.
Using AC has also allowed us to drop many other services we were using and concentrate all our communications and activities in one simple and friendly environment.

Pros: Price, features, ease of use

Cons: non the best GUI, somewhat confusing at time. The mobile APP ( we have android ) is still al long way from being useful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2017
Noëll T.
Noëll T.
Eigenaar
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2017

"Easy to use"

Pros: I have to say that Active Collab is a great alternative to people who have tried Basecamp in the past. It connects employees with clients and let them easily collaborate on their project. It works out of the box and has great customer service in case there's a problem.

Cons: There's always a downside on a management platform, but with Active Collab I actually haven't found one. The apps are fast and easy to use, the system is easy to operate and the server requirements are pretty standard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
Owner / Operator
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2018

"Good software for managing remote teams"

Comments: We recently worked with a design group that only communicated through ActiveCollab. I will say the experience at first was pretty frustrating, having to jump out of Outlook where you would normally send an email to log into another system to simply send a message. That frustration aside, the system works really well and allows for all parties on a project to coordinate well together. Since I am only the end user I cannot speak to their pricing, but all in all I think the software does what it sets out to do and works really well. I am actually considering recommending this to other clients we have.

Pros: - Emails team members tagged on a post automatically
- Allows you to attach documents and screen shots directly inside a conversation
- Allows you to assign tasks to specific people
- Allows staff to keep their emails private with outside vendors

Cons: - As an end user that was forced to use this product on a project it was difficult to get used to the work flow and to understand, where and how to start a new thread
- Not easy to see how to clear or finish a task when one has been assigned to you

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director of Product and Commercial Operations
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018

"I have has an amazing experience with ActiveCollab."

Pros: I love how easy it is for a team to pick up the platform and how simple it is to keep track of tasks.

Cons: I dislike their time tracking system and use Hubstaff as an alternative. Hubstaff ability is incredibly important but seems to be an added expense. I would pay more to have this all in one platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Babak S.
CEO & Creative Director
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018

"it can be the pillar for every Designer team"

Comments: we can review our projects & invoices super fast

Pros: Easy use
good features
brilliance support team
the best performance with slow internet connections
project process is perfect and every that we need is in it

Cons: report process it's a little hard
doesn't support RTL languages
the calendar is harder to another calendar like google cal.
many problems with fastspring
if in the AC corp. web site add some perfect and correct example for projects it can be better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018
Verified Reviewer
QA Automation Lead
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2019

"navdeep review for Active Collab"

Comments: over all this is good tool

Pros: Active Collab helps you to manage all your project very easily. Its a powerful, yet simple project management tool . It has user friendly interface which is the best part of this product.

Cons: The reporting system is not that strong as compare to other tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Project Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017

"ActiveCollab - Easiest for clients and tracking smaller projects"

Pros: This is a super user friendly tool that we selected based on how easy it would be for our less technical clients to use. (We didn't want a huge learning curve after switching from Basecamp).

Cons: Sub-tasks can't have any details attached to them at all, and you can't close out dupes easily (you can only mark them as duplicate, and I don't see how that's helpful). If you have tasks that are dependent or related, you can't batch them up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2017
Marco G.
Key account and CFO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018

"Excellent overall experience"

Pros: It's quick and easy to use. It's available on premise, update are constantly prices and very safe to apply.

Cons: Lack of some gantt-like feature to ease integration with custom invoicing and accounting system. Lack of plugin system for integration. Kind of poor advanced report system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2018
Rachel C.
Project Coordinator
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020

"Convoluted structure is a hindrance to workflow"

Comments: We ended up transferring from ActiveCollab to Teamwork fairly quickly because it caused some business problems for us. Issues were missed (especially subtasks), and we lacked the reporting structure we needed to keep a good grasp of resourcing and individual task progress. The time logging structure was also a pain point compared to alternate software options we've since pursued.

Pros: While I will say I don't like much about this software, the budget and description location/transparency works well for the task workflow. It is fairly easy to include all necessary information in an individual task, but detail tracking and dependencies are where this ease of use falls off.

Cons: The relationship between tasks and subtasks is a pain point and lacks clarity/definition. Sometimes there would be dropoff when trying to upload attachments, and they would not actually post to the task. ActiveCollab doesn't have a great reporting structure (compared to Jira) for our specific needs, and that ended up being a hindrance to workflow. For as complicated as the reporting section looked, I felt it was lacking. While it isn't a functionality issue, I also dislike the visual design of the software - it feels antiquated and can be draining for such a frequently used tool. Time logging was difficult compared to the software we moved to later.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
Project Engineer
Consumer Goods, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018

"A great way to manage task oriented projects with my team."

Comments: Help with project management and organization, as well as, keeping support departments on task.

Pros: I great way to keep customers and support departments up to speed, and on task on many ongoing projects at once. I also rely on the the time tracking feature heavily.

Cons: The way we utilize the software is constantly evolving and improving. I have not had any negative experiences so far that have not been solved with additional training from support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018
Simon G.
Simon G.
Président / Cofondateur
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019

"Great app for project management and team/client collaboration."

Pros: AC is easy to use, even for non techno clients. The interface is intuitive and modern. The new version is really fast. We like the Client+ feature allowing to assign task to clients.

Cons: We have some small issues with file upload from time to time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
Online Advertising Specialist
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018

"We use AC as our primary pm tool in our digital agency (20+ people strong)"

Pros: It's simple and functions well as a task manager. I can't judge the project management functionality.

Cons: Nothing serious to complain about :) but I missed the Zapier integrations which disappeared after the launch of the new version (they are back now).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018