15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Genius ERP

Genius Solutions offers a complete MRP software for small to mid-sized custom, make-to-order and engineer-to-order manufacturers.

Learn more about Genius ERP

Pros:

They provide a full team of support to help get it up and running. Their support team contiues to be there when needed.

Cons:

There are some screens that don't seem to ever remember the user preferences and need to be re-organized every time they are opened. A small but annoying thing to do every day.

Genius ERP ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Genius ERP has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 128 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Genius ERP before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (128)

Sebastien
Sebastien
Plant Director in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple and efficient

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use. Transactions are fast. Great support at the implantation. intuitive ERP

Cons:

I will appreciate more basic KPI to be delivered with the program. Also, more normalized terms between each transaction

Samantha
President & CEO in Canada
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Genius - Great Manufacturing ERP Software

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The whole process from implementation to Go Live has been a great one overall. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been amazing with us!! I did feel that we were left alone a bit too much during this process, however this in turn has made us much better at understanding the software overall. Our team has adopted the new system well. We are still working through some issues and need to figure out all of the nuances of a new system.

Pros:

Our whole manufacturing process is managed including inventory control. I really like that the team can look into a job and figure out at what stage certain items are at in the manufacturing process. The engineering side is great, and allows our team not to have to do duplicate entries. This also ensures that there is much less human error since the items are imported directly from Inventor to the Engineering Document. This in turn is transferred to the job. From the quoting side, we were doing our small quotes manually previously, and now we quote within the system and then when a PO is given we convert it. Therefor no extra entry is needed.

Cons:

The accounting side is not the greatest. You can tell that this was added to the software after. It is really hard to follow the transactions. There is potential for it to be better. I think that one of the biggest downfalls of the software is how buy and sell parts are handled with regards to inventory. The system was not created for this purpose, and therefore is has a big weakness on how this is controlled/handled. The scheduling is a very hard concept to understand and it takes time to get it to work. There are items that don't make sense at times and you have to dig to figure out why. It is not always clear to know why certain dates are given. The standard reports are not great.

Joe
Engineer in US
Oil & Energy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Genius ERP Review

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Performing a root cause analysis of the business as a whole, data re-entry errors was the root cause to many widespread issues for us. With this in mind, running the business on a relational database was the only way to break down data barriers between departments and create streamlined processes with live data. Using genius has increased our average office departments capacity over 30% that is creating time to work on more complex projects with a higher quality of work. Our integration team was amazing, they went above and beyond to understand the business and successfully customized genius to match our processes which was no small task. We were live 6 months after prototype approval, exceeded the original scope, and stayed right on budget.

Pros:

The engineering lifecycle module is extremely powerful for custom manufacturers where a BOM can be adjusted infinitely with various versions. Genius runs on SQL database vs crystal or not as powerful systems. With SQL you have access to report builder, with a little bit of training you can customize your own reports easily which is incredible for small companies with technically inclined people. Being the engineer, ETM is a powerful time saving tool (see cons) creating more time for designing and less ctrl+c ctrl+v across spreadsheets.

Cons:

The CAD2BOM tool (ETM) lacks in a few key areas. Overall, it is very powerful, but I feel there are a few things that would make it great. The point here is they need to keep refining it and use customer feedback and provide better customer service. Our integration with it was not great but we have made it work with various workarounds. Prepare to pay for every little thing, while a service contract has updates included in them, there are still fees for them to install those updates. Since genius is geared towards small companies, they should consider the surprise this will cause. When we were sold on the system and our budget implementation costs, we asked straightforward are there any other software’s or systems we will need to purchase for on-site deployment. We were told no, this includes everything. Come to find out there were several different types of SQL licenses required to run genius and the access for users. This was very misleading right from the beginning and started the creation of a very tense erp integration.

Genius Solutions Response

4 years ago

Hi Joe, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback. It's good to know that you are getting use out of our features that were designed and built for custom manufacturers like yourself. We are always trying to improve our product, and take customer feedback seriously, so I will make sure our product team is aware of your concerns. if you would like to get in touch with me at [email protected] we can talk more about your concerns. Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Josh
OPEX Manager in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Genius Fit for Custom Manufacturers

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The implementation process was shockingly smooth. We were expecting a lot of clean up and things to fix and found that to be very little. Compared to our previous ERP, getting to data and having it available without the need to drill down several levels to find it is a major improvement. The ability to filter data using drag and drop headers makes data processing much faster. Overall it has improved our business functions dramatically and we are only getting started. There are many features we are bringing on board that will further improve the value to the business. The technical team has also been easy to work with and responsive.

Pros:

The integration by far was the most seamless and easy process that we've gone through with an ERP implementation. Being a custom manufacturer, we needed an ERP designed for our type of business. From CAD to BOM capability, preliminary purchasing of long lead time parts, scheduling using the drum-buffer-rope method and the ability to access data for metrics and data driven process control, Genius had it all!

Cons:

There are some features that are not customizable. If you can't adapt your process to fit then you've got to figure out ways to use other features in a different manner to achieve the goal. Luckily we've been able to do that for most processes and still maintain a high level of efficiency. The software has a Gantt chart feature but its not printable in a format that can be shared. That for us is the biggest omission for software focused on custom manufacturing.

Greg
Consultant in US
Warehousing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Software and Functionality at a fraction of Big ERP Cost!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good. From signing the contract to go live with a small trailer manufacturer in NC was 2 months! Good training and experience in ERP helped that, but even if we added more complexity, we could have accomplished it in 4 months, tops.

Pros:

Having been in ERP space for 30+ years in Manufacturing Environments, I can attest that Genius ERP provides very robust functionality at a very competitive price. From BOM to Engineering Lifecycle to MRP and MPS, it really does it all. Their training is straightforward and their support is excellent! They also have scheduled "talk with an expert" sessions (~2x week) that enable you to get quick responses on issues of functionality. Being Cloud hosted means you don't have to invest in the infrastructure and sleep at night knowing your data is safe. Their security is as robust or simple as you'd like it to be. Lastly, if you're familiar with SQL databases, they have a very nice interface through their own Analytics Product and Power BI. Other nice features: Downloads of views of data to excel, Export/Import of major data sources; Robust custom fields; Report export to Excel, PDF, etc..; REST API to enable web based integrations.

Cons:

Being cloud hosted, we have to RDP into Azure (as opposed to a full-fledged html version) to get to a desktop (I believe this is on their roadmap). They do, however, have a Web Shop Floor interface that eliminates the need of the Remote Desktop for shop floor reporting. Lastly, because of the RDP, we have to rely on local default printers for printing (but there are many option for preview->pdf/excel). No OBC data access, but they do have a nice Power BI connector. Their General Ledger is servicable, but they tell you that from the outset. And I would never make a manufacturing ERP decision with the quality of the G/L being a major factor. Besides, you can get the data out of Genius via Analytics and/or PowerBI and cut/paste into Excel. File exchange (through Azure connectors) is accomplished by creating a share on Azure and local company and syncing the two. It's not immediate, but it is relatively timely. No local admin rights on the desktop, requiring a help desk ticket for any software install or upgrade. These are all relatively minor inconveniences, when you look at the core functionality of Genius.

Donnalynn
General manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Genius ERP_great product for the money

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our company has seen many tasks that were being duplicated in various spreadsheets eliminated. All the data needed by any department is now in one place - quoting, sales, production, inventory management. All the users can see what relates to their department and share easily with others. We are still "new" to Genius, only 8 months in. We still have many things we have not had a chance to learn or put into practice but each week we are finding new ways to save time and improve our results.

Pros:

Genius has many features we selected it for. It allows customizable BOMs that can continually be updated throughout the build by the engineering team. The Lifecycle engineering feature was core to our selecting the product. It has the flexibility to allow preliminary material buys before the design is complete, and still track these to the job. The material planning and control features are also easy to use and offer flexible solutions. We integrated Genius into our business in about 8 weeks. They provide a full team of support to help get it up and running! Their support team contiues to be there when needed.

Cons:

If anything is a bit weak in Genius it is the integrated accounting module. It is not as user friendly as our previous system ( QB). The trade-off though of being able to see live job or order costs outweigh any other concerns. All new products take time to get used to.

Genius Solutions Response

4 years ago

Hi Donnalyn, Thank you so much for this review! It's great to hear that in the short time you have been using our ERP it has been working really well for you we look forward to a long partnership with you!

Jamieson
Business Optimization in Canada
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Genius ERP for Mid Size Manufacturing

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: We have had excellent service and support since implementation. We have evolved and grown the user base, and Genius has been with us throughout the growth journey.

Pros:

Genius provides a multi module platform that is entirely integrated. It gives visibility through reports and dashboards, of performance metrics resulting for clocked hours, production costs, inventory management, accounting, estimating, quoting, and billing. It is fantastic for manufacturing environments.

Cons:

To have customized internally developed report, Microsoft Power BI is a requirement.

Ram
Manager - Digital Marketing in India
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great ERP Software for Enterprise Companies

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: I Highly recommend the Software and Support Genius has significantly reduced the time it takes to plan, Make offers and produce projects. We have a live view of project costs and customer history. We are very efficient in the production process and manage data electronically from one platform As a Manager am able to get the custom reports with the best dashboards and it helps me to take better decisions

Pros:

Genius ERP enabled us to integrate information modules into one user-friendly platform .Integrating our time on the production flooe with accounting, quoting, Scheduling, Invoicing, Production Planning, CRM and estimates, We have a single portal to view all information.

Cons:

Out of the Box solution is very good but custom reports needs to be generated. If you want to manage customization at home, you need to learn how to use Power BI

Nada
Nada
Production Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Defense & Space, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long time partners

4.0 last year

Comments: We have been with Genius since 2008! We are a medium sized flex manufacturing company. It's been an exciting journey for us as our resources were limited during implementation, so we had a rough start, however, over the last 5 years, we have been working with Genius to get the most out of our software and the team has been great to work with. I love the canteens! we have been able to get Realtime support from the team as well as other customers of Genius. We all share our best practices. The webinars are wonderful as well. We are getting ready to transition to V15 and our whole team has been excited about this.

Pros:

There are a few features that I love about the software so far: 1. very flexible. There are so many fields to add as much or as little data as you need to each module.2. For the exception of shop floor and data collection, all their modules are included in the price for the license.3. Existing reports such as the open order report, have so much information to be able to manage at a higher level with all the critical details available at your fingertips, so you don't have to go digging around to find info.4. The customer support and especially the canteens that they host are wonderful. They are able to work with you to help resolve issues you're having with the software and sometimes just the method or process. The Genius team is knowledgeable, so they are able to give solutions based on industry standards as well.

Cons:

There are some fields that don't actually connect to anything sometimes. These get fixed during upgrades, but without having someone on staff that really understands how a database works and can go look at the background structure to find the links, you are having to rely heavily on the Genius team.

Genius Solutions Response

12 months ago

Hi Nada, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you find the product flexible to fit your needs. Glad to hear that you are having the most out of the Canteens.

Angelina
Angelina
Structural Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Staffing & Recruiting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Genius ERP has enhanced excellent financial evaluation

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: It provides critical tools for setting reliable resource management database that is secure. The cost of managing resources has been reduced due to limited pressure for tracking expenditure. The company has acquired suitable application for accelerating growth.

Pros:

It monitors company financial documents to ensure they correspond effectively with expenditure. Auditing of the enterprise resources has been advanced with the digital data management system. It accounts for the assets owned by the company and the progress of investment projects.

Cons:

After evaluation for other resource management tools Genius ERP emerged to be the best. We have no regrets of having such an awesome product.

Kaleb
Managing Director in New Zealand
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The Genius Way

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: We are only a few months past go live but compared to our previous experience(s) it's been very smooth sailing and we still have plenty to do to maximize our ROI in this product. We are already seeing some big wins in reduced hours for purchasing and receiving and I expect over time we'll reduce our transaction costs by about 30% which is a good win in anyones eyes.

Pros:

There are some very well thought out features for HMLV manufacturers, the strength of the BoM's combined with the Engineering Lifecycle Documents gives a great tool-set for managing preliminary purchases and production. The UI is intuitive and easy to follow with excellent consistency between modules which makes it simple to work with.

Cons:

On the flip side there have been a couple of things that we have encountered that seemed at first to be less than genius when compared to other parts of the system. We found this was pretty frustrating but compared to what we were using previously it's a long way ahead. The genius approach is very regimented and while this could be deemed as inflexible it also adds to stability.

Genius Solutions Response

12 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with Genius. I'm glad that you could see some clear ROI in such a short time and I hope you find that we continue to be user-friendly for you.

Claudia
Finances Director in Canada
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Genius fits well

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We are manufacturing charging station for electrical vehicle; Our BOM are complex because they are including many parts. Genius MRP help us to plan and organize our production floor and controlling our inventory. It help us for traceability of products and component that have been use in the manufacture it. We're using Genius MRP for 2 years when we decided to integrate the financial suite. Since all our data are grouped in a single system, it is easier to find information; to possibility of drilling down greatly improves financial analysis.

Pros:

The software meets our needs; interfaces are intuitive, easy to use. People who work at Genius are competent and are able to understand our needs.

Cons:

Documentation and user guide are not always up-to-date; I knew that a new customer service department was now in place. This surely will help get answers quickly to questions of use.

chris
Logistics manager in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Genius Review

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall good experience, very customizable within custom reporting or adding custom fields to be used.

Pros:

Ease of use, Customer service and responsiveness to needs.

Cons:

Can be clunky on modules needing to open for information that may link from one transaction.

Genius Solutions Response

12 months ago

Hi Chris, I'm glad to hear our Customer Success team has been helpful and you're getting what you need out of our software. Thanks for the review.

Stuart
Engineering Manager in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Engineering Manager

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have had an excellent experience with Genius. Their personnel are very knowledgeable and professional. The software can be implemented to suit many different types of businesses.

Pros:

Flexible reports allow you to easily customized format and included the data you want in your report

Cons:

Operation of modules is not customizable, but new features are added regularly in new releases

Genius Solutions Response

5 years ago

Hi Stuart, Thanks so much for sharing your excellent experience with Genius ERP! I am glad to hear that our reporting feature is working well for you. Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate hearing from our customers! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Larry
Director of Technology in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Genius ERP

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: System resilience is very good. Overall, we depend on Genius for our daily operations and this has proven successful for our business.

Pros:

Product has a broad appeal across organizations, functions and processes.

Cons:

Security and data privacy are a real challenge. Controlling who can see labor hours and labor costs and the ability to derive hourly rates by employees is very complex and not intuitive. Once understood, however, the ability to control who sees what is powerful, but the learning curve is steep and complex.

Samuel
Software Engineer in Kenya
Farming, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reliable Project Governance Application

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: We have been able to track and manage most of our customer data. It has enabled the organization to plan and implement critical decisions on production life cycle.

Pros:

I was able to customize most of data entry fields. It is easy to use and set up across the enterprise. The customer support team was proactive and ready to offer any assistance when contacted.

Cons:

I have not experienced any operational challenges after deployment.

Jonathan
GM in Canada
Renewables & Environment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strong ERP tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We have been using Genius ERP now for over 4 years and are very happy with our choice. Very thorough and customizable. As there is plenty of features, we are still learning all there is to offer in Genius.

Cons:

I don't have any other experiences in implementation and training of ERP but we had to spend a lot of time with employees before the go live.

Phillip
Operations Manager in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Genius ERP as a custom manufacturer

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Genius was the only product I saw that had the built in capabilities of configurating BOM's in a way that worked for our product line. It was cost efficient and the Genius team brought lots of expertise to the table.

Cons:

It is a lot of work to get your team onboard with a new ERP like Genius. Patience is a key factor for implementation.

Serge
Vice-president Finance in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Genius Manufacturing Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to work with. It is a ERP system from the quote to payment of the invoice. We can use it for the manufacturing and for doing all the financial statements.

Cons:

Need for API, but Genius are going to that direction.

Genius Solutions Response

5 years ago

Hi Serge, We're glad to hear that our software is very useful to you and that you find it easy to work with. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Daniel
Directeur des finances in Canada
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We consider that we are only using Genius at 50-60% of its capacity.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Production planning and allocation of raw materials to jobs

Cons:

Not being able to charge the time and cost of our production employees to jobs.

Genius Solutions Response

4 years ago

Hi Daniel, Thanks for the review. Good to know our production planning module is working for you! I'll pass your concerns about not being able to charge time to jobs to our development team.

Allan
Business Analyst in New Zealand
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Genius ERP

4.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Out of the box this was suited for a high mix low volume manufacturing business. The API provides excellent functionality for integrating with our internal applications .

Cons:

The lack of documentation for the API endpoints

Claude
Claude
Concepteur mécanique in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customizable ERP Software

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Genius ERP software developpers really helped us by programming custom macros. There is no limit to customization.

Cons:

Unresolved bugs and enhancement request about speed slows down the workflow. Sometimes they should test more new features before launching.

Brenda
Accounting Assistant in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Program and Customer Service

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: My experience has been a positive one. When I email and ask for help, I receive the help promptly and efficiently

Pros:

I like the Accounting portion of Genius because it has the capability of gathering all of the reports that I need in my position. It is easy to learn and use

Cons:

There isnt a capability to print a GL Listing

guy
PDG in Canada
Railroad Manufacture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PDG

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

easy of use. Goog service and support technique. Good platform

Cons:

Manage the equivalent parts. Link white web site for suplier

Genius Solutions Response

5 years ago

Hi Guy, Thanks for leaving us a review! I am glad you find our system easy to use. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Huguens
IT Coordinator in Canada
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Old make good wine

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: have good relation with service and support when needed.

Pros:

easy to use, quick for new user learning curved.

Cons:

hard to debug, cannot upgrade without support.