15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

About Coast

Coast is a smart Visa fuel card and expense management solution that helps companies control, track and optimize fleet and fuel spend.

Learn more about Coast

Pros:

Easy to work with, quick responses. Made applications process easy.

Cons:

The only problem I can think of is that we have a fleet of trucks. When we signed up, I assigned the cards to specific vehicles.

Coast ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.9
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.8/10

Coast has an overall rating of 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 54 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Coast before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (54)

Steven
Marketing Director in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Huge advantage for our company

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

We switched from Wex to Coast this year after discovering them at a tradeshow in February. It has made a huge difference for our teams working in the field. Being able to control specific categories of spending and approve purchases in real-time has helped us keep an eye on our spending while speeding up the process in the field.

Cons:

There are some minor quirks that are annoying like not being able to buy food and drinks at a gas station and no native support for QB Enterprise but otherwise, it is a great tool.

Shane
Owner in US
Facilities Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing Fleet Cards

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: The coast onboarding experience and was simple and pleasant. All the employees we’ve interacted with at Coast have been a joy and extremely supportive.

Pros:

Coast has really helped us get our fleet spending on track and organized as well as under control! The customer service and perks with Coast are legendary and like no other competitor I’ve found offers. Highly recommended!

Cons:

The reporting for mileage isn’t as easy to read as I’d like for maintenance on vehicles.

Coast Response

11 months ago

Thanks Shane – we're delighted to hear that Coast is helping you you stay in control of your fleet spending! Please email us at [email protected] to confirm your email.

John
President in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fleet Cards

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Easy to work with, quick responses. Made applications process easy.

Cons:

I dont have anything bad to say about them.

Andy
VP in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Fuel Management Card

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Really like the reporting, transaction, locations of transactions, and alerts. Best thing is that it can be used at any gas station that takes a credit card

Cons:

Card we have is not a tap, but instead a chip you have to insert.

Thomas
CFO in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Coast - A Great Improvement in Fleet Fuel and misc payments

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very High. Monthly Billing is easily downloaded and sorted in Excel to provide a summary for input into our accounting system. Security is such that we don't have to worry about lost cards or skimming. Customer Service is easily reachable - speaks good English and has resolved any questions quickly

Pros:

Security of charges thru the 3 step process. We recently had a couple cards skimmed at a local station. Thanks to the security setup the skimmer was unable to use the stolen information for any actual charges. No need to replace cards either since the security process works!

Cons:

Drivers that don't follow the detailed instructions in signing in properly and thinking they have a card problem.

Kaity
General Manager in US
Renewables & Environment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best Gas Card that We have Found!

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: We have had a great experience with Coast so far! The customer support is great, and we have no issues to report.

Pros:

The website is straightforward and easy to use, and they don't nickel and dime you over everything. The "cash back" on your purchases pays for your administrative costs. Coast is so much better than our last gas card company.

Cons:

Some of the charts in the dashboard to see where and when gas was bought don't have as much information as I would like. I am sure they record the information, I just haven't been able to find it yet!

Carlo
Director of Operations in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Love Coast

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Coast is easy to use. I am able to add all of my drivers into their system. The fact that we only pay a fee for the cards we use that month. Plus we get a fuel rebate. We never got that with our previous vendor.

Cons:

I don't have anything that I don't like about Coast. Coast has been excellent partner for my business.

Hutch
Managing Director-Owner in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

BEST "Fuel-Expense Management" System

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: It has been overall amazing. There is not a negative for COAST that I can share. They have done a GREAT job implementing changes as they hear them.

Pros:

The ease of having access by the minute to your business everyday spend!

Cons:

Some of the self induced procedures to use the card. Honestly there is none.

Marlin
IT Director in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Initial Coast Card Review

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

We love how you can have the cards function as a fleet gas card only for some team members while also allowing other cards to function as standard credit cards. We also really like the level of control we have within our system. We can allow anyone, of only a few people the ability to request approval for a transaction that is outside the allowed parameters, whether that's the spending limit, time limit, or even a category that's not allowed.

Cons:

Currently, coast does not integrate with Quickbooks Desktop. This means we need to enter each transaction individually until that integration is finished. Also, we would love to have a way for someone to request preapproval for a category or transaction instead of always needing to first have the transaction declined before they can request approval for an override.

Marilda
AR AP in US
Packaging & Containers, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Company

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Up until now, Cost has been an excellent company to work with. We haven't faced any problems, and their customer support has been exceptional. The credit approval process was quicker than we anticipated, and the cards were dispatched promptly. Overall, we are extremely satisfied with their services.

Pros:

The customer support and website are excellent. They provide a user-friendly platform that makes it easy to track expenses and payments.

Cons:

We haven't experienced any issues so far, and we are satisfied with Coast.

Lori
Owner in US
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Recommendation for utilizing Coast

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Working with Coast has been a refreshing change compared to our last provider. They are very responsive and this process works well to meet our daily needs.

Pros:

It is nice to be able to trust I am receiving an accurate monthly statement. The statement is easy to read and I don't waste time deciphering my charges.

Cons:

The only problem I can think of is that we have a fleet of trucks. When we signed up, I assigned the cards to specific vehicles. However, the way our company functions, our technicians who have the cards do not always drive the same vehicle which has led to some confusion.

Tammie
Account Manager in US
Building Materials, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best Fleet Fuel Company Ever!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Coast is an exceptional program with minimal fees and a ton of savings! We were experiencing the biggest difficulty with the flexibility in fueling locations with our previous fleet management company and since switching to Coast all of our worries have been eliminated! Our drivers have been elated with the ease and efficiency with our new Coast program and we have even been the recipient of a bonus from recommending them to other companies that have also made the switch!

Pros:

Switching to Coast has allowed our fleet the convenience of accessing so many more gas stations, helping reduce the costs. The platform is user friendly and a breeze to set up! We have been so pleased with our decision to switch our fleet to Coast!

Cons:

There hasn't been one aspect of this program that has let us down or provided difficulty in any way. We researched numerous fuel Fleet companies and Coast is by far the best and most flexible Fleet card out there!

Kevin
Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Goast Gas Review

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Since the card is technically a Visa it is accepted at all gas stations. Our company doesn't allow anything but gas purchases, but this card can be used for other purchases as well. It just requires authorization from the company administrator to set up.

Cons:

If you had solid reports available, I would have given you a higher ranking. Lack of reports, and flexibility with reports, with the ability to separate the information definitely is the downside to Coast.

Chris
Controller in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Fuel Card & More

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall, our experience has been great. Approval was fast, cards shipped quickly, and we were able to get our drivers up and going immediately. Being able to uniquely control fuel purchases as well as other categories (like parking) has been a game changer for our workflows.

Pros:

Coast is a modern, mobile friendly fuel and fleet purchasing card. We are able to control not only fuel spend, but other merchant categories that our drivers may need to use the card for. The Dashboard and UI are intuitive and easy to use. Changes to policies or transaction limits can be made real time and allow us to adapt to our drivers' needs

Cons:

We don't have any complaints with Coast so far. They have been upfront about what their platform could and couldn't do and have rolled out updates to in response to our feedback

Julie
Executive Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Perfect for our non-profit fuel fleet needs & budget

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent customer service between our Rep., [sensitive content hidden], calling into customer support line and via service ticket. Also, the cost benefits.

Pros:

Friendly, informative, live customer support ALWAYS available over the phone. Also having an assigned Rep. for e-mail correspondence and any account related issues. The cost per card can't be beat, plus percentage back on non-fuel purchases/maintenance.

Cons:

Only issue is being flagged for gas station sales (such as windshield wiper fluid). Be a bonus if these transactions could be separated as a retailer via gas stations.

Paige
Owner in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to Setup, Easy to Use

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Great! would recommend to any company that is looking for a card to use only for gas.

Pros:

Fast to setup and the customer support that was readily available if I needed anything while setting up our fuel management cards for our employees/vans. I like that I can opt for text alerts when cards are used and also the account dashboard is easy to understand. Love that I can set parameters on when the cards can be used to help offset the chance an employee would use it for personal reasons. Also, that the card can only be used at a pump.

Cons:

So far, I have no complaints. We have only had a few issues in where the card wouldn't process at the pump - but I think that was user error or the pump itself.

Natascha
Administrator in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Transformative

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Coast has transformed our fuel management and spending habits! The user friendly platform makes me confident in recommending it to even the most technically challenged individual. Statements are easy to understand. Customer service is spectacular. I do like the occasional check ups on how we like Coast, makes me feel like our opinion matters. I always recommend Coast over the competition

Pros:

Ease of transition and user friendly interface

Cons:

I wish it integrated with Quickbooks Online.

Mike
President/PPO in US
Security & Investigations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

COAST Fuel Card System is easy to set-up and use

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: The thing that hooked me was the minimal requirement of paperwork to get started. Also, I am able to call this U.S.-based company and speak with someone in a timely manner. And they always know how to solve any little issues.

Pros:

Communication - [sensitive content hidden] always replies in a timely manner. Email and phone communication has always been easy with Coast. Your company stands out as being easy to work with just because of the good communication.

Cons:

The $1 charge per declined card use was a surprise. We monitor the spending, so I don't see why we need to be charged for declined attempts to use the card by our employees who are still learning the parameters, and how to use the system.

Coast Response

5 months ago

Hi Mike! Good news and happy to be able to clarify here – Coast does not charge for declined transactions. Sometimes merchants place a $1 temporary hold on while the transaction is pending, however, once the transaction is processed in full and declined, the $1 charge is removed. That $1 is a not a fee and does not affect your available credit

Richard
CFO in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

General

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Because we are small, we don't need the detailed tracking functions. We just want all communications to go to one person.

Pros:

Accepted everywhere. No PIN requred. Easy to use.

Cons:

Each card is tied to a specific e-mail address and cell phone number. Would prefer to be able to use a general e-mail address and cell phone number so that all communications goes to one place rather than a specific person.

Michael
C.E.O in US
Environmental Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great service

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Over all, it is very good card to have compared to other cards that we've used.

Pros:

I like that it gives 5 cents for every mile on gas. Also like that you can use it for not just gas. And like that it has all information regarding each card.

Cons:

Wish it had where the gas is being refilled or where the card is being use in regard to location.

Jennifer
Management in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

5 Stars!

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Theft was discovered and stopped thanks to switching to Coast. We can now see all spending and how much fuel each vehicle is using as well to help with budgeting.

Pros:

Coast is so easy to use and keeps track of everything for us. We can login at any time and quickly find answers. It is extremely secure and leaves us with no worries. Highly recommend!

Cons:

We have been happy with everything so far!

Blake
Fleet Manager/Accounts Receivable in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Coast Card is a phenomenal operational tool

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Coast offers precise category controls, spending limits that can be dialed per user, with efficient and effective visibility of all the necessary data for daily operations and oversight. The cards offer safety via a novel text message system, eliminating driver input at the pump, and streamlining data capture with memos and receipts. The text system also allows for some more dynamic use of the card, offering one time authorizations for purchases outside of spend categories.

Cons:

The only limiting functions of Coast for our team are the change at the technician level for training and use, and the 1% declines because of vendor issues. These seem to be extremely low level problems that have simple workarounds, and the backend support that is always instantly available makes these issues non-existent.

Bill
CEO in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Coast Review

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Our experience with Coast has been excellent - the customer service goes above and beyond to help us manage our coast cards and their users.

Pros:

The ability to control spending across a different purchasing groups is critical for our operations.

Cons:

Because we've begun using coast for more of our purchasing, it would make cashflow easier if payments became available faster to cycle back into spending.

Dauphin
CEO in US
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best fuel card

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Smooth. I️ wasn’t even looking for a fuel card replacement but the difference in coast and the simplicity of deployment appealed to me so much that I️ made the switch.

Pros:

Traditional fuel cards are cumbersome, take lots of management, and have poor data quality. Coast is easy to deploy, easy to use, and more secure than traditional cards.

Cons:

It does what we need it to do well. I️ really don’t have any critiques I️ can think of.

Kim
Owner in US
Oil & Energy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New user and Coast fan

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: All of the team members we have worked with have been very responsive and knowledgeable.

Pros:

Being able to track fuel card use throughout the day helps us manage our spend and our crews. Being able to make payments which post quickly helps us manage our cash flow.

Cons:

Our integration was pretty seamless. We had one payment that didn't post quickly to our acount, but it is being researched now.