15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Adobe Dreamweaver Reviews

About Adobe Dreamweaver

Website building solution that helps businesses create HTML emails, newsletters, blogs, about pages, e-commerce pages, and more.

Learn more about Adobe Dreamweaver

Pros:

This software is included with the Adobe Creative Cloud subscription.

Cons:

The interface was not very flexible and comes with white background as default settings.

Adobe Dreamweaver ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.4
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.1/10

Adobe Dreamweaver has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 98 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Adobe Dreamweaver before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (98)

Tobel
Tobel
IT technician in Uganda
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Dreamweaver Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I was able to successfully build my first stable site with the app despite being an a mature at Htlm. The there interfaces (live, design and code view) makes Adobe Dreamweaver the ideal product.

Pros:

Unlike other products in line, you are able to work off with your html edit, the API is so user friendly and more so easy for all code beginners. I say it's the most effective software for a mature site builders.

Cons:

Switching from design mode to code seems alittle out of line for tables.

Jeremy
Jeremy
Designer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Dreamweaver: A Good Place to Start

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Dreamweaver allowed me to deploy sites quickly in the early 00's while learning more complex coding skills.

Pros:

Dreamweaver is a perfect place for beginners to literally see how CSS and HTML editing affects a webpage. The Live Edit view is amazing, and you can have a pane of code open on the left, and see your website change on the right. Dreamweaver was key in launching my web design career. The automatic FTP-updating is excellent too.

Cons:

However, the application is quite bloated and heavy, and was slow to keep up with advances in CSS editing over the last 15 years. Again, if you have Adobe CC and you want to start coding, give this a try. I have since moved on to Sublime Text for web coding/editing.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Animation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Build your Website at ease with Adobe Dreamweaver

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It is realistic, it provides many and advanced features when designing, templates

Cons:

May take up a lot of space and memory of the pc, maybe difficult to use with proper training

Barbra
Web Developer in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Limited, limiting, and buggy as could be.

2.0 11 months ago

Comments: Between the highway robbery pricing model and the bugs and issues, I don't recommend this program to anyone. It's more trouble and expense than it's worth.

Pros:

I've been a Dreamweaver user since the Macromedia days, more than 20 years now. The convenience of being able to find your place in the code with just a click is hard to beat. That's the end of the list of pros.

Cons:

With each version of the program the quality drops. I noted that another reviewer said to works smoothly across all platforms. This is not at all true. The program on Mac is so bad that I now just use Notepad for simple things, because I won't have to struggle with Notepad. Dreamweaver is less buggy on Windows, but after all these years you'd think they'd have worked out the kinks. Support for webp, which was introduced in 2010, is still non-existent. The program will display webp images, but will not allow you to choose them from the file list because it doesn't actually recognize them as an image file. It's slow, and the cache is a constant issue that has to be addressed.

Chukwumezie
Web Designer in Nigeria
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

software for beginners

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It's a great software for beginners, it allows you to view side by side the codes and also the preview on browser

Cons:

It didn't have a lot of options when it comes to pre made templates.

Anil
Marketing Executive in Türkiye
Marketing & Advertising, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Website Development with Adobe Dreamweaver

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used Adobe Dreamweaver to build my website with HTML and CSS and analzye them with real time to understand its outputs. It is easy to use the app while creating such websites.

Pros:

Adobe Dreamweaver has lots of good feature while you are creating a website. You can use HTML and CSS while you are programming your website. It is handy that creating a website with it.

Cons:

Adobe Dreamweaver has lots of feature but it is quite expensive. You can use for many features that programming but there are other nice tool that you can use.

Martin
Martin
Owner, Chief Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software if you are already invested in the Adobe Creative Cloud way of working

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: I use it to build fairly simple brochure sites because working with large sites can slow the the app down a lot. Overall, I find it more useful than not, but it's a case of choosing the best app for the site I want to design and develop.

Pros:

It integrates well with the rest of the Creative Cloud apps.

Cons:

The UI. It's so crowded and creates a steeper learning curve than it needs to be.

Aleksandar
Aleksandar
CEO in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Industrial standard for website development

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Always professional products. No technology which cannot be used in site building. Every parameter has his place in one of numerous docks/menus of Adobe Dreamweaver UT. Never fail, but its price is too high when you buy if out of suite.

Pros:

There are no options, technology or request which cannot be fulfill with Adobe Dreamweaver suite. It work smooth, on every platform, with excellent integration with other Adobe tools in Suite. In my personal and professional opinion, there are no better and efficient UI in software industry than Adobe UI in general. It always work, always produce professional looking products, and community support is marvelous.

Cons:

When you buy from Adobe, you buy service, not product. You have to work and make money to pay another year of subscription. You cannot make pause, point your "software upgrade" budget to another company or solution, because you loose your license. My positive minds about Adobe are stay at CS6 versions.

Tshepo
Tshepo
Assistant Finance Administrator in Botswana
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Coding websites with auto correction

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It saves me a ton of time since I can see my code and a live view of what my website looks like in one screen.

Pros:

It guides me from making coding mistakes by highlighting the specific lines of code that contains errors and even suggests strings of code to use in some cases.

Cons:

It takes sometime to learn its user interface especially if you are accustomed to using other web editing software.

Gary
Gary
Web Designer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Adobe Dreamweaver - a genuine review from a daily user.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very satisfying to use, very quick to find code elements and the find and replace facility is very useful.

Pros:

This is a fantastic tool for building websites, creating CSS and for using find and replace, or even for simply and quickly finding a line of code within a website. It is useful for keeping a website in order, neat and tidy.

Cons:

Having to purchase the entire Adobe suite rather than just the two products that I use.

Tracey
Digital Strategy Manager in UK
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect for coders and non-coders

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've been using Dreamweaver since I first started in the web design business in 1999! Whilst I do a lot of work in WordPress these days I often go back to Dreamweaver to tweak some code and create HTML pages and emails.

Pros:

You don't need to be an HTML coder in order to use Dreamweaver. The option to be able to be able to do everything in Design View means you can see exactly how the web page will look. If you're an HTML coder it's great to be able to use the Design View but you can also dig into the code and make edits if you need to tweak something. It has an FTP function so you can quickly upload files when they've been saved.

Cons:

Occasionally it can't see certain files on the server and very occasionally it won't connect whereas a standalone FTP client will. I preferred it when you could buy the software on CD and didn't have to have an Adobe license.

Richard
Software Engineer in Uganda
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good for coding software

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, dreamweaver is a game changer in the field of website designing, simple to learn and easy to use.

Pros:

The split screen feature where I am able to view both code and design at once. I find it one of the best helpful features.

Cons:

If u don't have much experience, it may take you Time to learn how the software works. I wish they would provide in app tutorials like they do with Adobe Illustrator.

Sabbir
Web Developer in Bangladesh
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not for 2021

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Adobe Dreamweaver is backdated but you can use this IDE for Banner and email development.

Pros:

I use Dreamweaver only for email building cus it has a live view option and is easy to work with the table model.

Cons:

Slow performance, crash once in a week, don't have lots new features like Visual studios.

peter
IT Asset & Configuration Analyst , Service Catalog and Knowledge Manager in Ghana
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Love for Dreamweaver

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Using Dreamweaver was fun.

Pros:

I like the quick drag and drop features. You can drag and drop many elements instead of writing the codes. I love it integration feature , which enables one to integrate with databases. You can actually build and run application locally on your laptop then export to cloud when ready.

Cons:

Sometimes your connections to databases will not work even when you have done the right configuration. You are compelled to delete all the connections , turn off the application and re-lunch to configure before it starts to work again.

Joseph
webmaster in US
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bring your Dreams to Life

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It had a wide variety of features that web design easier even for a novice.

Cons:

I thought is was a bit expensive. And it works best on your own server than it does remotely.

David
COO in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dreamweaver :)

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

i liked the easy options for those who can't code. my html isn't too good so it helps.

Cons:

some shortcuts are not self explanatory and a lot of research is needed to use. needs tutorial.

Jakub
Webdesigner / Founder in Czechia
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The NOT IDE and NOT website builder

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Dreamweaver opens the door to Website building and even some advanced features for people who never coded. The main issue is it is not a "no code" software, but something between an editor and IDE and deployment platform. So after initial happiness the limits become clear rather quickly and I moved to proprietary code rather then fiddling with Dreamweaver.

Pros:

At first I liked the generated code coming from Dreamweaver but after getting more profound in coding I realized that there are several moments where the generic code gets in your way and becomes not as efficient as proprietary code.

Cons:

The generated code is done in a way where it works for Dreamweaver but trying to get any real programmer to work on the code becomes a problematic task. The code is nice, but todays standards and technologies are somewhere else.

Cha
It in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Adobe Dreamweaver is a dream.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The most impactful piece to Adobe Dreamweaver is the opportunity to code probably and develop the web pieces effectively.

Cons:

The are great pieces through and through as there wasn’t anything we disliked.

Sally
Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Dreamweaver User

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is a nice option within the Adobe family. I am not a coder so this comes in handy for people like me. You can design it visually and then see the code on the back end. I don't use it as much since Word Press and a lot of the template are providing more option but this product give me customizations I need.

Pros:

I like that it is included in Adobe Creative Cloud. It will also sync and update with the rest of my apps. I use Word Press for my websites but this is a great addition if I need custom code or something that Word Press is unable to provide in the template theme.

Cons:

It is not intuitive. But I would say not all Adobe products are intuitive. I had to watch videos and ask for help but once I got it, it has been great.

Chibuike
Chibuike
Head of Training in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Dreamweaver Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

I like the software most because of its ability to work on the live preview. Secondly, I can work on the pre-built template and check its responsiveness in live mode.

Cons:

It's not SaaS software. So if my laptop spoils or my project crashes I may not retrieve it or go back to where I stopped. Also, I can't use it to work on large projects because of its limited functions.

Murray
web developer in UK
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good over the years

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: its been a reliable partner but may be in its core getting outdated

Pros:

dreamweaver has generally been reliable and stable over the past 20 years but the increasing focus on addins is starting to render the core dreamweaver product pretty basic

Cons:

the need to get an addin to do just about any advanced development without having to hand code everything

Mohammed
Mohammed
Teacher in Bahrain
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Start coding with Dreamweaver

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

There is all what I need to make my sites

Cons:

Need someone have more than normal skills

Christian
Christian
Programmer Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Better and cheaper options out there

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use Adobe Dreamweaver sparingly when working on some older websites that I developed a while back. It’s built-in ability to work over FTP is on the main reasons I still use it.

Pros:

Dreamweaver is very stable as it’s been around for a long time and has the backing of Adobe.

Cons:

It’s been around a long time and could use some modernizing and feature bloat removed.

Gilbert
Graphic Designer in US
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great web design product if you are a fan of the Adobe CC style interface

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Dreamweaver was a great additional tool to use when starting of in web design. Allows you to use an interface to create designs, but also introduces you to code-based concepts which makes it easier if you decide to switch to 100% code-based web design.

Pros:

Solid integration of current web development features.

Cons:

The panel/menu based interface can be a little confusing and takes getting used to.

Duncan
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good web coding software

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have used Dreamweaver for many projects including Websites, emailers, banner ads etc

Pros:

Has a lot of built in features and good starting templates for websites and other projects

Cons:

Still need a good understanding of coding to use this software