15 years helping British businesses
choose better software

Adobe PDF Library Reviews

About Adobe PDF Library

Automate the creation, manipulation and management of PDFs for enterprise applications & get to market faster with Adobe PDF Library.

Learn more about Adobe PDF Library

Pros:

Consistent APIs, excellent quality of PDF documents across variety of PDF versions.

Cons:

Difficult to deploy the Java version to various platforms.

Adobe PDF Library ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Adobe PDF Library has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 23 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Adobe PDF Library before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (23)

Constantin
Constantin
Developer in Benin
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Adobe-library_review

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

This software is very rich providing a large range of tools. Very practical while converting pdf, managing contents and signing documents.

Cons:

Not available for Android or iPhone, very difficult for beginners, lack of language switch (takes only English into account)

Mona
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

This is the best PDF software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This experience has been positive, I’m satisfied. Signing documents without pen and paper or face to face meetings has saved time and propelled us into a better way of getting work done.
This has saved the day many times when I received PDFs from clients and sometimes even from our attorneys that have tons of errors. I don’t know how else I would have fixed them.
Like I said, Adobe is the creator of the PDF and will likely always be the best way to generate and edit them. The person or company who created something will almost always know more about it than another company who came along later.

Pros:

Adobe created the Portable Document Format or PDF. This is the best PDF generator, reader, and editor. It’s the best way to print PDFs. This can be used with Adobe software like Adobe acrobat, giving it more uses. Sign documents without using pen and paper, cleanly without errors. If a PDF does have errors Adobe PDF library is able to fix them. Convert or compress a file. All of the current updates in the PDF world are present.

Cons:

This is expensive. Some people think it’s hard to use, the Java version has given me temporary problems. Signing documents is faster with newer APIs.

Julien
R&D Project Manager in France
Printing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A must have for everyone dealing with PDF

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We usually are able to do what we want. Except for big pdf (or poorly formatted) where sometimes we find some operations very slow.

Pros:

Low level API Good documentation Easy to implement

Cons:

Very slow for some operations Very slow with huge PDF (sometimes it takes more than a day to merge several PDF and save the result)

Saikrishna
Lead Software Engineer in India
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datalogics API Review.

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: It is very good, I can easily use the API's by the manuals/

Pros:

Easy to use, Understandable API's for writing and reading the document.

Cons:

Some documents can not be opened. When opened by Adobe they are automatically repaired and ignored some others. Some of these auto error correction have to be implemented in case of PDF Rendering libraries.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good to have tool for PDF modification

5.0 last year

Comments: The overall experience of using Adobe PDF Library for more than 2 years is quite good and I will continue using it until I found a better tool for PDF modification than Adobe PDF Library.

Pros:

The main reason why I like Adobe PDF Library the most is because it's quite fast and easy to use and it also provides a large number of tools that are good to have for PDF modification. It gives high-quality PDFs as output so I will never get bored of using Adobe PDF Library.

Cons:

I do not dislike anything that is related to Adobe PDF Library.

cindy
manager in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

adobe is awesome, they are the best in the business

5.0 last year

Pros:

Quality, user friendly cost effective for the money

Cons:

none since it works so well the cons are negligible

Marty
Marty
Software Eng in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Defacto Standard

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Been using the PDF library for over 10 years now. We use it to make custom documents as a plugin. Have used it to implement all sorts of PDF related features from custom image clipping to accessibility text for hearing impaired.

Pros:

Generates good clean PDF's, Very handy in cleaning up bad PDF's as well. Really this is the standard that everyone else try's to measure up to. The software has very good handling of PDF Documents many times it can load bad PDF's and fix the errors in them as well as clean up PDF document data for better optimization.

Cons:

Expensive, I guess you get what you pay for sometimes but its a huge reason why many people will/cannot use it.

Lia
Lead Software Engineer in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Consistent APIs, excellent quality

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: AdobePDFLibrary solved our problems handling PDF documents as background processes in multi-user automated environment.

Pros:

Consistent APIs, excellent quality of PDF documents across variety of PDF versions.

Cons:

Processing PDF document including ECMA script.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful tool for document management

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

My favorite features of Adobe PDF Library is that it is a 1 stop shop where documents are able to be created, edited and automated to streamline the PDF workflows. It also supports file conversion.

Cons:

This solution works well, however, it takes some time to get familiar with the interface, it's functions and capabilities.

charith
Electrical engineer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Shipbuilding, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best and powerful PDF tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As an electrical engineer, I deal with many PDF documents related to the day to day works and assigned projects. Therefore Adobe PDF library is one of the products that make easy my workload. Also, it allows users to do almost every related to PDF file editing, viewing.

Pros:

It included many features to view PDf and it automates the printing process very easy with a lot of Pdf documents. It included many options to change pdf. Also, it can use to extract data from PDF.

Cons:

At the beginning it hard to understand how to use some features.

Anatoliy
Software Engineer in US
Printing, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best on the market for what it does

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Uses same core libraries as Acrobat and therefore gets as close as possible to the "golden standard" of PDF handling software. Wrappers add a nice higher level of abstraction that simplifies working with PDFs at low level.

Cons:

Even though overall quality level is pretty high there are bugs, just like in any complex system.

Thomas
Consultant in France
Airlines/Aviation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Performant and reliable

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Compliance with the PDF standard, functionality, available on different platforms

Cons:

complexity, lack of documentation in the beginning (several years ago)

Gabriela
Production Assistant in US
Insurance, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Edit any document without wasting paper

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Becoming more productive by being able to take care of all the miscellaneous changes in our documents makes a huge difference.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to edit any document in a very short time without needing to print anything, make the adjustment and scan it back in the computer. Also, it's super helpful when it comes to using signatures on any of the documents that require that.

Cons:

There's nothing crossing my mind that I can honestly say I disliked about this product.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It just works

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We use this software to open, annotate and print PDFs from larger applications. The software is reliable and robust, with very little serious bugs or issues. It just works - quietly and efficiently.

Cons:

We have not encountered any significant issues that haven't been rapidly dealt with by the software's supplier.

Stefan
CTO in Sweden
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pdf rendering

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We can render any PDF to CMYK images using any media profiles. The only PDF library that supports this.

Pros:

Compability and flexibility. The possibility to use custom ICC media profiles

Cons:

Difficult to deploy the Java version to various platforms

taher
khatib in Türkiye
Airlines/Aviation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A wonderful application that I recommend using

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Easy to use and edit, an ideal application for document work

Cons:

There are no negatives, it is a very important application

Naomi
Project manager in UK
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great resource if expensive

5.0 last year

Pros:

Very new to using this as a non expert but highly useful in incorporating PDF functionality into other applications.

Cons:

Only that Adobe services are costly for a relatively small organisation. Guidance could be less technical for novice users.

Ummar
Ummar
Hosting Manager in Pakistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Well Designed SDK for IT architects

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Adobe PDF Library contains core technology used by it's the old acrobat reader which was proven to be the front line in same category.

Cons:

Older Version does not support era glyph, and newer versions are not supported by win 7.

Andreas
Junio Software Developer in Germany
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Rating for Adobe PDF Library

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great use in consideration of time-to-market.

Pros:

Distinct functionality of this software - understandable manipulation of PDFs.

Cons:

Partly... complex combination of parameters.

Martin oswaldo
Ingeniero de soporte técnico. in Mexico
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Sencillo y clasico

5.0 last year

Comments: Visualizar documentos, convertir y compartir en un mismo programa.

Pros:

Toda una trayectoria de muchos años la cual nos hace confiar en que es un producto de calidad, tiene muchos controles, pero fáciles de utilizar.

Cons:

Tal vez hay motores de PDF que son mas livianos y consumen menos memoria al utilizarlos.

Sergio
Técnico de Informática in Portugal
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Melhor ferramenta para usar quando se trata de PDF

4.0 last year

Comments: No geral a feramente está a ser muito útil na empresa e temos tirado proveito dela todos dias na conversão de PDF e gerenciamento dos mesmo.

Pros:

O que mais gosto no Adobe PDF Library é a possibilidade de gerir todos os meus ficheiros PDF e poder converter os mesmo e nos documentos mais importantes assina-los.

Cons:

O seu uso poderia ser mais acessível. Em certas opções pode ser um bocado complexo.

Jhordann
Jhordann
INGENIERO CIVIL in Peru
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Software de biblioteca

4.0 last year

Comments: Utilizada en una variedad de industrias, incluyendo la impresión, la publicación, el procesamiento de pagos, la gestión de documentos y mucho más. Es una solución confiable y versátil que brinda a los desarrolladores un control completo sobre los archivos PDF y les permite crear soluciones de software personalizadas para satisfacer sus necesidades específicas.

Pros:

Permite a los desarrolladores crear, editar y manipular archivos PDF. Es una herramienta potente y confiable que brinda un control completo sobre el formato y el contenido de los archivos PDF.

Cons:

No estar satisfechos con la curva de aprendizaje o la complejidad del programa, así como con la necesidad de conocimientos técnicos avanzados para utilizarlo de manera efectiva.

Jesus Emmanuel
Ingeniero de soporte al tecnico in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excelente app para manejar PDF

5.0 last year

Pros:

Me encanta que puedes manejar, maniobrar y editar archivos pdf

Cons:

Hay mucha competencia para esta app en el mercado.