VMware Cloud Director Availability Reviews

4.6 (22) Write a Review!

About VMware Cloud Director Availability

VMware Cloud Director Availability delivers simple, secure, self-serve and cost-effective onboarding, migration, and disaster recovery

Learn more about VMware Cloud Director Availability

Pros:

It matched our requirements of being cost effective and able to undertake full granular file and folder restores.

Cons:

The only downside about VMware Cloud Director Availability is the large storage space it consumes. It requires a lot of RAM space in order to function adequately.

VMware Cloud Director Availability ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

VMware Cloud Director Availability has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 22 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used VMware Cloud Director Availability before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (22)

Angella W.
Angella W.
Financial Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tool used to test new technologies and services.

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: In one case, good protection is achieved by providing automated recovery methods before disasters strike. It generates a lot of peace of mind to be able to count on this system in our organization, the characteristics are incredible.

Pros:

Simple and safe against any bugs, it can be downloaded fast and easy to use, it is stable because it is a multi-user software, which is very good to have.

Cons:

It is a complex platform as it requires a lot of local disk space to make it work, the benefits are very good, just minor limitations that are quickly overcome.

Philippe G.
CTO in France
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A very nice solution

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy to use, reliable, highly configurable, robust

Cons:

Alerting and monitoring not very easy to implement and follow

Mee J.
account in UK
Banking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

yes

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

good software and was very accessible and this has enhanced various skills

Cons:

price was abit much and thought that this can be improved

Duncan W.
Cloud Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Polished and Feature Rich

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: The product is very polished and feature rich and pre-integrated into the VMware ecosystem. There is also great documentation and network diagrams already out there which will speed up the project to deploy this to production. The migrations are included at no additional charge which is a huge benefit to adoption of our cloud platform.

Pros:

The deployment process was very smooth and takes less than an hour even with a fully distributed environment. Also, integration with Cloud Director and vCenter server was seamless and automatic, even with self-signed certificates which are the default.

Cons:

Cloud Director must be present on one of the sides of a protection. It would be nice to allow VCDA to function without VCD and support our standalone vSphere and VCF environments.

Alternatives Considered: Acronis Cyber Protect Cloud, Zerto Virtual Replication and Veeam Backup & Replication

Reasons for Switching to VMware Cloud Director Availability: Continuous replication instead of snapshot based replication provides less of an impact on customer workloads. The price was far cheaper than Zerto while still achieving near real-time RPOs.

Carroline achieng O.
Carroline achieng O.
Sales Consultant at Absa Life Assurance Kenya Limited, Absa Group in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Rich and outrageous Disaster recovery product for multiple environments

5.0 last month New

Comments: VMware Cloud Director Availability has provided me with the best experience anyone would ask for. The customer support is amazing and the dashboard is well organized which makes the entire architecture and user interface clean and understandable.

Pros:

The ability to reverse fail overs of apps is epic, reliable and very useful in recovering from data loss damages. It is rich in quality features and has an enormous accessibility making it possible for one to use it based on your needs. It offers an encrypted asynchronous replication Vmare Vsphere environment to ensure security.

Cons:

The only downside about VMware Cloud Director Availability is the large storage space it consumes. It requires a lot of RAM space in order to function adequately.

Rosie B.
Rosie B.
Technical Support Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vwware in the cloud, recovery and switching.

5.0 last month New

Comments: This software provides options to have failover workflows. Honestly, the implementation platform is when we had the most problems and it came to save us as a company.
We have simple encrypted replication, plus we recover data and protect operations for providers.

Pros:

It has an HTML 5 interface, plus a cloud embed. From the beginning I liked its variety of functions being able to use it easily from your phone. Cloud storage, with recovery from unexpected disasters, ensuring that our data will not be lost.

Cons:

It takes a bit of time to get used to it and know how to handle its functions correctly, but we didn't find anything negative about the features.

Chandra K.
Chandra K.
Data Management Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

VMware against disasters, a cloud-based system.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: VMware is easy to implement that has advanced functions when an untimely attack or disaster occurs, with the help of this software we can have a backup and have all our data safe through the cloud.
Incredible virtualization infrastructure, the best software.

Pros:

Easy, fast and reliable. It has the potential to be a scalable system. Encrypted replication. This fails over to disasters. The technical support helped us at the time, being new it was a bit confusing.

Cons:

Beginners have to go to the technical support, so they can enjoy all the features it offers without having any problem.

Larik jan V.
Larik jan V.
CTO in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Well integrated & easy to use product

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

A disaster recovery is literally some mouse clicks away; only a appliance installation is needed to setup the DR service

Cons:

Reporting and monitoring could be more extensive

Alternatives Considered: Zerto Virtual Replication

Verified Reviewer
Cyber security Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cloud solution with VMware reviews

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: It's very good product for cloud solution among all market products

Pros:

Coste effective, time saving and best for Virtualization and flexible for cloud applications. It's really reliable and scalable cloud solution for all type of applications

Cons:

Restrict the resources and freeze Take too much memory Cache handling issue

Francisco F.
VMware Specialist in Argentina
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best DraaS Solution for VMware environments

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Love the product.

Pros:

Easy to deploy. Easy to track. Easy to modify. Very low resource consumption

Cons:

Its only available for VMware environments.

Ezra C.
Cloud Infrastructure Engineer in Kenya
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DRaaS from Cloud Providers

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: The product has served me well for my customers with On Prem VMware workloads as well as my Cloud customers with AZs. Before i tried using multiple solutions that did not fit the bill

Pros:

Ease of use in all aspects, whether its installation, configuring policies, DR/Migration jobs

Cons:

Role Based Access for On-Premise users is yet to be implemented. This would be great for administrators, auditors, read only users etc.

Joe M.
IT Operations Manager in US
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

They avoid lip service and focus on the issue

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: It is a big step from the backup processes we have used before since we are able to restore the entire VMs easily using this solution.

Pros:

It matched our requirements of being cost effective and able to undertake full granular file and folder restores. The ease and speed of VMware Cloud Director Availability made it an obvious choice for us.

Cons:

The immediate cost benefits may have been compelling but since installation it is already delivering tangible technology and performance benefits for the organization

Michael B.
Michael B.
IT Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful disaster recovery

5.0 last month New

Comments: It provides very safe services with a good level of profitability. Its disaster recovery capability is very powerful.

Pros:

It is a simple platform to use because of the HTML 5 interface. The migration to clouds based on VMware Cloud Director has worked perfectly. It is optimally integrated into the company's infrastructure. It features robust recording of data at rest and in circulation.

Cons:

This is a very secure platform. So far I have no negative comments about its performance.

Sai K.
Technical Lead in Mauritius
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good product but it could improve in couple of areas

4.0 last week New

Comments: since we being cloud services and vmware cloud verified and we offer DRAAS for clients to have business continuity in case of disaster occurs

Pros:

ease of use and simple ui and easy to configuration

Cons:

when replication, sometimes it uses two or three folders at storage. one folder uses VM config and another folder will have hbr disks and another folder will have vmdk file. its bit confusion

Verified Reviewer
Support Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect for multi-cloud environments.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Everything can be configured according to our requirements for productivity and additional security, this is a suitable solution for the company.

Pros:

Control of robust multi-cloud environments, scalability, multi-layer security, it is also easy to configure and protects us against any unforeseen events that may occur in the entire data security environment.

Cons:

The implementation and data migration took time to complete because we did not have the necessary experience, but the technical support provided us with immediate help.

Ajoob S.
Ajoob S.
Engineer trainee in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best software for disaster recovery.

5.0 last month New

Pros:

One of the best software to protect datas from attacks and disasters. We can easily secure all our datas in the cloud backup. We can track all the activities and schedule backup is a great feature.

Cons:

No issues are found. Needs proper training for the best use of software.

Sally april W.
Sally april W.
Information Technology Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Semiconductors, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Robust migration and secure disaster recovery

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: It is a robust, versatile and efficient solution that offers a good level of protection and disaster recovery.

Pros:

It is easy to use and easily adapts to existing infrastructure. It has robust features for disaster recovery. It's easy to select the workloads you want to protect. Its native integration with VMware Cloud Director is very productive.

Cons:

I consider it necessary to provide more documentation for users without previous experience.

Dave A.
General Manager in US
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good invention cost effective solution

5.0 last month New

Pros:

İt is very robust scalable and configuration options awesome in the past i used different softwares its is cost efficient solution for all included disaster recovery software i like the failover testing so much it is good option understand its max capacity

Cons:

Generally it is good software but i want to use it for all platforms its limited with VMware environment we are using very different platforms sometimes it is not enough

Verified Reviewer
Associate consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

VMware cloud director availablity.

5.0 last week New

Comments: So far it is incredible to use and waiting for upgrades through updates in future.

Pros:

It's easy to use and provides most features at front end in console without having to navigate much.

Cons:

Pricing can be kept based on geography so it can attract lot of customers.

Ivan R.
VMWare Architect in Spain
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Interesting

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Is the best software close to VCD and the development is always live

Pros:

Easy to install, configure and use. The integration with VCD is perfect.

Cons:

The log reporting about the replication error. The scalability of tunnel appliance and limits.

Rajnesh T.
Technology Authority in UK
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Cloud Director Availability

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Good

Pros:

Easy Interface and support Helpful support team

Cons:

All good so far as per usage. We feel complex to transfer file onto Cloud Director but that can be because of our company policy of upload.

Toni L.
System Engineer in Spain
Telecommunications, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My opinion

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Funcionality and facility of use. A good product

Cons:

There is not an orchestrator for DR still.