About Yodeck

$7.99/mo! Drag & Drop editor hundreds of free templates! Supports Images, Video, Calendar, Social media & more! 24/7 worldwide support.

Learn more about Yodeck

Pros:

It is intuitive once you are over the learning curve. The company goes to great lengths to make sure all the industry standard tools are integrated.

Cons:

The initial set up was a little confusing - linking the playlist to the layout didn't feel intiuitive.

Yodeck ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Yodeck has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 592 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Yodeck before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (592)

Lawrence
Lawrence
Consultant in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Facilities Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Product platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am extremely satisfied with Yodeck as both a digital signage and management platform.

Pros:

I was looking for a digital marketing platform that I could promote to a particular niche market and Yodeck provided most of the features I was looking for. Ease of management, workspaces and user privileges all make this ideal.

Cons:

The only problem I experienced was with the scheduling module. Not being able to set a schedule to occur on a particular day for a period means a lot of additional manual scheduling.

Alternatives Considered: piSignage

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: The backend management had more features and was easier to understand. Also the user management aspect, combined with work spaces will allow me to give some control to my users while not allowing them to completely mess up the system.

Richard
Technical Director in UK
Performing Arts, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good easy to use digital signage solution with low cost hardware

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

That you can roll your own players from raspberry PIs which we had many on a shelf from other projects. We lover the birthday widget for our younger members

Cons:

Occasionally we've had an odd issue with visual noise on uploaded videos, but never had the time to investigate if it's our problem or Yodesk's.

Ken
Ken
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Not worth it

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: Poor

Pros:

Product relativity Easy to use but due to lack of features

Cons:

Little options for widget. Customer support lousy. No good direction.

Flipnode Response

2 years ago

Hi Ken, we would like to apologize for the delay in shipping out your Players. Due to the COVID-19 situation, there was a delay in our suppliers shipping out orders. Now, our suppliers have caught up with all pending orders. Our customer support did the best they could to speed things up, I am sorry that we could not serve you as best as possible but it was out of our control. Concerning features, Yodeck is constantly being developed, so a feature that you might be missing might be released soon. Send over a ticket with your requirements and we can get back to you with estimations on when your required features will be released. If you feel that Yodeck cannot serve your requirements now or in the near future, please reach out and request a refund. Thank you, The Yodeck Team

Louis
Senior IT Technician in UK
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top tier system

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

The documentation, layout of the system and ease of integration makes the system really practical in a busy environment where there are lots of systems to manage. I have implemented Yodeck at both schools i have worked in, and from when I first started using it, I have consistently seen updates to the UI and features.

Cons:

I think there needs to be better diversity in Widgets. I think they hold huge potential to really standing out the system from the rest. For example, we are a Microsoft school so would benefit greatly from those features. Other custom API widgets would also be amazing so we really can personalise it. The layout system can be improved with integration with widgets too. For Example, the weather widget is hard to fit correctly in the top right hand corners as the grid limitations of the widget is greater than the size of the widget, so it makes it difficult to be precise with positioning.

Alternatives Considered: ScreenCloud and OptiSigns

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: Price and experience with the system previously. The raspberry Pi integration and use also benefits us rather than a webos verison.

Tomasz
ICT beheerder in Netherlands
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Honestly priced, well built

5.0 last month New

Comments: SaaS that offers quite a lot and yet is very reasonably priced. Dashboard is quite intuitive; everything is just a few clicks away. Support is fast, kind and knowledgeable.

Pros:

Ease of adding / integrating new player is stuff of legends. Very enjoyable experience.

Cons:

not many options to do own branding other than becoming a partner

Alternatives Considered: Screenly and OptiSigns

Reasons for Choosing Yodeck: Software is buggy and does not use SSL. Yet, not a single update in YEARS - for both the player and server (we have a self-hosted version), which is only accessible via Chrome and only http. Unfortunately Chrome does not allow ignoring HSTS anymore for chosen domains, so our frontend server became inaccessible. Moreover, the only officially supported player is Windows based (forcing a €600 MFF PC purchase every time a new player is needed). Our mails are ignored.

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: while second-best contender (OptiSigns) offered more integrations out of the box and more and better options already in the mid-tier: branded portal, remote OS troubleshooting and API in the highest tier. Their Yodeck vs OptiSigns comparison is dishonest. They also do not offer 1 fully functional player license for free to fully test the solution, like Yodeck does. Also I liked Yodeck's dashboard more

Tim
Systems Administrator in US
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Yodeck is a no-nonsense digital signage solution with powerful features and simple players

5.0 last week New

Comments: Yodeck is a great experience! Customer service has been very responsive during the purchase and implementation process.

Pros:

We like Yodeck's intuitive user interface and simple, Raspberry Pi based players. Yodeck also presented as a great value when compared to similar signage solutions.

Cons:

We have not found any significant problems, and rollout has been smooth.

Alternatives Considered: Play Digital Signage, Mvix Digital Signage and XOGO Decision Signage

Switched From: WebDT Content Manager

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: Yodeck was the best value for the features we wanted.

Thomas
Admin in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Works nicely

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Couldn't be happier.

Pros:

One can create layouts with widgets. These widgets allow for a super good customization.

Cons:

Setting up WiFi by changing the setting.txt file on the SD-Card didn't work.

Alternatives Considered: Play Digital Signage

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: It is more affordable to grow into the software. Entry price point is lower.

Loxsan
Informatik in Switzerland
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best overall

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy to Access. all needed functions are included.

Cons:

Light Mode. i prefer Darkmode more than light mode.

Alternatives Considered: Grassfish IXM platform and Screenly

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: Better and all i need are included. Free screen to test everthing.

Jeremy
Jeremy
Manager in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great product, easy to use and to setup

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We use Yodeck to display schedule and upcoming events. Before Yodeck we were using a computer connected to a display but I was impossible to remote manage it easily.

Pros:

The fact that it was compatible with our existing raspberry pi was important. We did not have to buy new hardware. It was easy to setup and it's easy for use to manage our content that's changing daily without daily intervention. I can schedule everything that I want in advance and don't think about it again during the week.

Cons:

Honestly everything is working for me as expected, it does what I want and it's easy to use.

Igor
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Digital Signage Platform!

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Great tech support!

Pros:

Very easy to implement and manage. End users with hardly any IT skills are able to manage the content with minimal training.

Cons:

Not Yodeck fault, but as of lately any Raspberry players are in short supply and very expensive

Christian
Head of Marketing in Germany
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Digital signeage made easy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With Yodeck we can not only entertain and inform our customers in the waiting areas, but also have the opportunity to provide this service for our customers. Thanks to the highly scalable structure of the system, not only can small individual solutions be created, but customers with multiple locations and company departments can also be wonderfully supplied. We are currently working on connecting the shops of several petrol stations to our system built with Yodeck. The test operations for this are already running extremely promisingly.

Pros:

The fact that each individual display can be provided with individual content or combined into groups and locations ensures that a wide range of solutions can be implemented. The schedules and playlists are a particularly powerful tool for delivering the right content to the right place at the right time. With yodeck this is solved much more efficiently than we know from other systems. User roles and work areas make it possible for technically less experienced people to provide content for the displays without jeopardizing the security and functionality of the entire system. Anyone who knows other solutions knows that this cannot be taken for granted. We are happy to now not only be able to use the various possibilities ourselves, but also to have found an extremely interesting new product for our customers.

Cons:

In the beginning, some processes were much more complex, not clearly explained, poorly labeled or misleadingly translated. In addition, some functions that were important to us were missing. However, since the software is continuously being improved, these problems could gradually be resolved, so that Yodeck has now become a powerful tool at a fair price that flexibly adapts to the needs of the users. For digital menu boards, we would like to be able to show and hide content in an animated manner and to move it across the screen with keyframes, a timeline or such.

Andries
System admin in Netherlands
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The ultimate digital signage tool!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are Yodeck for roster and student/staff information displays flawlessly for almost 4 years now.

Pros:

- Value for money: tried different, much more expensive solutions, Yodeck beats 'em all! - Use any Raspberry Pi as a player, even 4K display resolutions (using Pi 4), free players for all screens when using annual subscription. - Very intuitive to set up and use. When ordering with player you can setup in advance, just connect the player to your screen and you are all set! Plug & Play! - Cloud based and central management from any device with internet connection.

Cons:

No support for dutch language. No problem for me personally but some users would like this.

Alternatives Considered: Xibo

Switched From: Xibo

Christopher
Store Manager in US
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Super Easy To use and Setup !!!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We upload the latest news videos from youtube for our industry. we also use it to play product videos as well as sales videos to help promote our products and sales. We have even made some animated logos to go between each video for our company.

Pros:

Its so easy to setup and use, simply drag and drop any videos you need and upload them to the Yodeck server, their server then verifies that it is a usable format if not then it will automatically convert it to a usable format that Yodeck recognizes. you can even customize schedules by location. we have 2 stores and both stores have different hours. We have the Sorry we are closed sign pop up when we close by time wise and it helps to get those last minute customers finished up, we have even loaded up some music to help our staff close and clean the store each night. Easily add Banners and even custom tikcer tapes to any of your screens. play videos and slides with ease. you can even set when a video or sale should expire and when new sales start if you are ahead of the game and have them made up already.

Cons:

I only wish there were more widgets and not just graphical widgets. I wish that there was a ability to have closed captioning with uploaded videos as well so people across the room can see and read what is being said on the videos that we upload. not even sure if this is possible but it would be a nice addition.

Flipnode Response

3 years ago

Hello Christopher, Thank you very much for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. With respect to you widget suggestion, I wanted to inform you that you can visit the "I suggest you.." section in our support center, where you can post suggestions for new features or upvote exiting ones. http://support.yodeck.com/forums/301815-general The most popular suggestions are highly probable to be entered in our development cycle and be available in upcoming releases.

Austin
Blogger in Canada
Civic & Social Organization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Blair House Community Bulletin Board

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: At the age of 70 my age and IQ I was able to create a system that improves so many people's lives with a easy learning curve for free and still have the energy engagement page displayed.

Pros:

I have a blog for the Blair House a seniors residence in Ottawa Ontario Canada and this Yodeck software has given me the ability to display in real time The bus schedule for our bus stops ( 4 in total ), plus the weather, Emergency warnings system, Our Community Events Calendar, Covid 19 status all edited from my home pc or cell phone. In Canada we are a bilingual country English and French so all the webpages have to be repeated in both languages. easy as can be. The building is an Ottawa Community Housing building with an energy engagement program that consists of a monitor in the lobby that informs tenants of how much energy is being used ( electricity and gas) and compares it with other similar buildings . Now the information is of some value to the tenants as they do not have to wait outside in the rain or cold to catch a bus. I was somewhat concerned about the new Raspberry Pi 4 that replaced the Pi 3 as to how much work it would be to upgrade it involved 8 letters and a hyphen WOW works fine! This is by far one of the best Raspberry projects that I have come across thumbs up.

Cons:

In the Ottawa Community Housing building we have a large percentage of people that do not speak either of Our official languages and it would be nice to incorporate Google Translate into this platform. I would like to see a camera on the raspberry Pi that could scan a QR code that when displayed would translate to the appropriate language. It is very important to try to create a hands free environment in this time of Covid.

Randy
IT Administrator in US
Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Yodeck is a great solution for digital signage.

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I have be using Yodeck for multiple locations for more than 3 years, and I am extremely satisfied with its capability.

Pros:

The software is very easy to use. The flexibility to partition the display into custom size area with a variety of content and sources (external websites, YouTube, weather widgets, scrolling text, etc.)

Cons:

I have not found an way to acknowledge or hide cookie and location messages that websites require users to confirm.

Alternatives Considered: ScreenCloud and Mvix Digital Signage

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: We don't have a large budget and we use the signage for sharing information with employees and visitors. I have found Yodeck to be the best value in the market. We have not experienced any outages because of the software/device. Yodeck had all of the features that we need, and a lot more.

Verified Reviewer
Sr. Technical Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect Balance of Features/Reliability/Price for Digital Signage

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Using it for a nationwide digital signage network. Content is web based. Very Happy with performance and pricing.

Pros:

Best digital signage platform for displaying websites and HTML5 content. Raspberry Pi 4 expanded RAM options make a huge difference for complex visualizations!

Cons:

A little technical to set up for the average user. Its worth the tradeoff for power in my opinion though.

Alternatives Considered: OnSign TV

Reasons for Choosing Yodeck: Pricing, and support for web content.

Switched From: OnSign TV

Richard
Assistant Principal in UK
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Digital signage for large secondary school

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Support is excellent, always prompt and friendly.

Pros:

All cloud based to simple to update and sync to players. We've replaced our entire digital signage screens with TVs running Yodecks behind them. We've also managed to create one incorporated with a free to air setup TV box so staff can enjoy TV whilst we overlay important messages. Around the school site we use them to display messages for students, live feeds from Twitter, the weather, time and news. Very powerful and very easy to use and manage.

Cons:

Nothing. Every works well for us. Plenty of guides online helping if you get stuck too.

Alternatives Considered: Screenly

Reasons for Choosing Yodeck: Wanted the ability to use normal TV screens and update remotely.

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: Trialed YoDeck and worked brilliantly for us.

John
Creative Director in US
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A+ Cloud Based Signage !

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use Yodeck to control advertising on 70+ tvs aligned horizontally and vertically in several states and a multitude of cities. I have tried several other providers for cloud based signage and Yodeck is lightyears ahead of the competition in terms of ease of use, responsiveness, price and customer service. Switching from the competition was one of the best business decisions I've ever made and it has benefitted our team and company greatly.

Pros:

Yodeck is amazingly powerful and surprisingly affordable. The web-based interface is very easy to learn, and very responsive. I love the ability to see which devices are located in different regions of the United States and the depth of the preferences/settings is, honestly, amazing.

Cons:

I have not had one issue that wasn't resolved by customer service within 20 minutes, and I wish every establishment had half of the customer service as Yodeck does! It would be nice to have a standalone app in addition to a web-based option, but that is a personal preference and doesn't negatively impact what Yodeck does.

Cody
Director of Operations in US
Restaurants, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best digital signage solution on the market.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Yodeck has been a game changer for our organization. The features and capabilities you receive for the price is the best we have seen in the digital signage space.

Pros:

I am very familiar with various technology and the software is easily implemented and very user friendly. Even if you are not as technologically inclined the setup and maintenance is very straightforward. The main reason we went with yodeck is due to the remote management which streamlines new content across all of our locations.

Cons:

I found the transitions between content on the screens to be a bit choppy. We now upload a single powerpoint converted to mp4 which prevents choppy transitions between slides. Although I believe it was updated since we started with yodeck but I haven't found the need to move away from our current method.

Sam
Technical Administrator in Italy
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Yodeck - All you need for digital signage

5.0 last week New

Pros:

I was searching for a digital signage in order to project trailer and show scheduler for our cinema. Yodeck was the optimal solution. Based on Raspberry Pi, cheap hardware that you can manage as you want, Yodeck gives you full remote configuration of you system: you can upload any media (audio/video/image) or you can also link directly youtube videos or webpages! What I most liked is the possibility to create diffent playlist, mixing layouts with different kind of media, and scheduling the playlist whenever I want, switching automatically playlist in various time of the day. The update from the portal is very simple and the monitor will syncronize with the contents scheduled in very short time. Very nice also the alerts that notice you that you monitor is offline, so you can check the status with very short downtime. The installation is very easy: yodeck gives you the os image for the raspberry: the only thing you have to do is install the image and follow the instructions. So, I am very satisfied with this solution (we have been using it for more than 3 years and we never had problems) and I advice it for who need a simple but powerfull system for digital signage.

Cons:

Maybe is not very intuitive the part about making a layout on the screen and then checking how it comes on the monitor, but with but with a few attempts everybody will manage to configure all

Ben
Business Analyst in Australia
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The most flexible, powerful and best priced platform I have found

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: It's been a dream. I am not one to give full marks on reviews, I am naturally a critical person. But Yodeck earned this one.

Pros:

1. Very customisable screen layout 2. Can run scripts when loading webpages to navigate or login! 3. Extremely reliable setup due to running on rasberry pi device instead of smart tv app, which I found far less reliable.

Cons:

1. I would like a way to send and display notifications/message/alerts to the screen, both manually and via an API. (however, maybe I haven't been able to find that solution in Yodeck yet, there are a lot of apps) 2. the chargebee app needs updating, but that might be the partner's responsibility

Christopher
Instructional Technologist in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use digital signage solution for Raspberry PI

5.0 last year

Comments: We use Yodeck as an information system in a public high school cafeteria. Students are presented with PSA images, lunch menus, sports schedules, weather reports and a synchronized clock. The system runs 24 hours a day has has done so without error for more than a year now.

Pros:

Coming from Samsung Magicinfo, Yodeck was far superior in almost every aspect. Wide varieties of media are playable as part of the slide deck, including PDF, images, videos and remote HTML. Our screen sat dead waiting for a solution before we found Yodeck.

Cons:

The software does require a connection to the home server to operate, would be nice to have a fully offline mode. I haven't had a chance to test how the system would work in a fully offline environment.

Alternatives Considered: Screenly and piSignage

Reasons for Choosing Yodeck: Poor support from Samsung forced a change to new software.

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: Compatibility with our PI boxes, outstanding user interface, great customer support.

Rich
Quality Manager in US
Food Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect for our needs!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The best part about Yodeck is that I can get a message out to our employees in under five minutes. I can't imagine a better system for our needs.

Pros:

We are a small manufacturing plant that needed a convenient way of passing messages along to all of our staff that work at all times of the day. I simply create slides in PowerPoint and quickly upload them to Yodeck. The software is extremely easy to use and fits our needs perfectly.

Cons:

I have tried implementing some of the widgets and they don't always fit the screen, and sometimes don't work so it is hard to depend on them enough to use them.

Alternatives Considered: Screenscape and EZ Screen

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: Free monthly option for using only one screen. Hardware is a Raspberry Pi, which I have prior experience with.

Barry
Corporate Director, Marketing & Communications in US
Building Materials, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple, effective, and scalable

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: I've used Yodeck for several weeks now (not months) and have built out templates for most of our screens. It has given me a good look at the limitations (and there are a few), but I have found it overall very easy to use and the support is fantastic (and FAST to respond).

Pros:

We have about 15 screens in 4 locations and need an easy way to administrate them all without requiring a dedicated PC at each screen. We checked out several options and Yodeck's pricing and interface seemed best for our needs.

Cons:

I wish a few features that are pending were already in place (layouts within playlists, for instance).

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft PowerPoint and Screenly

Reasons for Choosing Yodeck: cost, administration, implementation options, scalability

Switched From: Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Switching to Yodeck: cost, administration, implementation options, scalability

Jeff
Executive Director/CEO in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

FOUND: Cost effective and simple to use platform!

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: We had an old system that only played a standard set of information uploaded to one central computer. It was time consuming and problematic. I saw a similar system at a friend's location and did some research and found Yodeck to be cost effective and simple to install. Now, not only can I make changes wherever I happen to be, but I can tailor content to all the different areas and even to different screens as I so choose. It has been a game changer for us and we love it!

Pros:

the simplicity of installation, working in the system along with the cost effective pricing were all a huge draw for me. When I received my systems, it was just as advertised! Everything up and running, a little learning about how to work the system and now we are up and going providing more information to our constituents than ever before in ways that make sense to their location onsite!

Cons:

There is a slight learning curve on the back-end, but honestly, if you spend any time at all on it, you can pick it up quick.